DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-23 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the fourth action on the merits.
As of the date of this action, information disclosure statements (IDS) have been filed on 1/17/2025, 3/19/2025, 4/4/2025, 5/29/2025, 1/8/2026, 2/2/2026, 3/26/2026, 4/21/2026, 6/24/2026, and 7/24/2026 and have been reviewed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10, 12, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villa (PGPub #2024/0308655) in view of Karem et al. (PGPub #2019/0263515), Krasnoff (PGPub #2020/0346736), and Leong (PGPub #2020/0301446).
Regarding claim 1, Villa teaches an autonomous aircraft configured for vertical takeoff and landing, the autonomous aircraft comprising: a fuselage (202); a pair of wings (204, and 206) coupled to opposite sides of the fuselage (202, 204, and 206 as seen in figure 3); a plurality of lift fan assemblies (132, 134, 136, and 138) coupled to the pair of wings (132, 134, 136, 138, 204, and 206 as seen in figure 3), wherein the plurality of lift fan assemblies are configured to create a vertical lift (132, 134, 136, and 138 as seen in figure 3); a plurality of tilting fan assemblies (118, 124, 128, and 130) configured to move between a vertical lift position and a forward flight position (118, 124, 128, and 130 as seen in figures 3, and 4); a plurality of support structures (208, 210, 212, and 214) coupled to the pair of wings (204, 206, 208, 210, 212, and 214), wherein each lift fan assembly among the plurality of lift fan assemblies is non-tiltably mounted to a first end of each support structure (132, 134, 136, 138, 208, 210, 212, and 214 as seen in figure 3), and each tilting fan assembly among the plurality of tilting fan assemblies is mounted to a second end of each support structure via a tilting mechanism (118, 124, 128, 130, 208, 210, 212, and 214 as seen in figure 3, 118, 124, 128, 130 and the booms as seen in figure 4, and Paragraphs 32, and 33, for the fan assemblies to be controllably tiltably mounted to the ends of the booms there must inherently be a tilt mechanism to allow the fans to tilt relative to the booms), wherein the plurality of lift fan assemblies are provided at a trailing edge of the pair of wings (132, 134, 136, 138, 204, 206, 208, 210, 212, and 214 as seen in figure 3) and the plurality of tilting fan assemblies are provided at a leading edge of the pair of wings (118, 124, 128, 130, 204, 206, 208, 210, 212, and 214 as seen in figure 3); one or more sensors coupled to the autonomous aircraft and configured to collect flight data (Paragraphs 26, and 58); and a control system (Paragraph 25) configured to perform receive an input (Paragraph 26, for the control system to be able to autonomously control the aircraft there must inherently be a flight plan that the system is performing that is received as an input), the input including a flight plan (Paragraph 26, for the control system to be able to autonomously control the aircraft there must inherently be a flight plan that the system is performing that is received as an input), receive the flight data from the one or more sensors (Paragraphs 26, and 58), and autonomously control the plurality of tilting fan assemblies between the vertical lift position and the forward flight position (Paragraphs 26, 27, and 33) to autonomously execute the flight plan to arrive at a predetermined destination (Paragraphs 26, 27, 58, 59, 64, 68, and 69, this teaches that the control system can autonomously operate to help direct the aircraft using GPS and mapping data). But does not explicitly teach each wing comprising a downward winglet; wherein the downward winglet of each wing is provided below a rotation plane of the plurality of lift fan assemblies, and that the control system is configured to receive the input from a remote entity; the input including the flight plan and a takeoff instruction, and the control system continuously monitors the position of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies in view of the flight plan to ensure that: the plurality of tilting fan assemblies are in the forward flight position during the forward flight of the aircraft, and the plurality of tilting fan assemblies that are in the vertical lift position during liftoff, hover or landing of the aircraft.
However, Karem does teach each wing comprising a downward winglet (The winglets as seen in figure 15B); wherein the downward winglet of each wing is provided below a rotation plane of the plurality of lift fan assemblies (The winglets and rotors as seen in figure 15B). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the wings have downward winglets that are below the rotation planes of the rotors because Villa and Karem are both VTOL aircraft with wing mounted rotors that can be vertical. The motivation for having the wings have downward winglets that are below the rotation planes of the rotors is that it helps to reduce the interactions between the wings and rotors. But Karem does not teach that the control system is configured to receive the input from a remote entity; the input including the flight plan and a takeoff instruction, and the control system continuously monitors the position of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies in view of the flight plan to ensure that: the plurality of tilting fan assemblies are in the forward flight position during the forward flight of the aircraft, and the plurality of tilting fan assemblies that are in the vertical lift position during liftoff, hover or landing of the aircraft.
However, Krasnoff does teach that the control system is configured to receive the input from a remote entity (Paragraphs 121, 122, and 157); the input including the flight plan and a takeoff instruction (Paragraphs 120-122, and 157). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control system receive the flight plan and takeoff instructions remotely because Villa and Krasnoff are both tilt rotor VTOL aircraft with control systems. The motivation for having the control system receive the flight plan and takeoff instructions remotely is that it allows the aircraft to fully operate without a crew onboard which can decrease the weight of the system and expand the operating capabilities while allowing the aircraft to perform a complete flight process. But does not teach that the control system continuously monitors the position of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies in view of the flight plan to ensure that: the plurality of tilting fan assemblies are in the forward flight position during the forward flight of the aircraft, and the plurality of tilting fan assemblies that are in the vertical lift position during liftoff, hover or landing of the aircraft.
However, Leong does teach the control system continuously monitors the position of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies in view of the flight plan (Paragraphs 52, and 53) to ensure that: the plurality of tilting fan assemblies are in the forward flight position during the forward flight of the aircraft (Paragraphs 52, and 53, this teaches that the system monitors the position and adjusts the fan angles as needed until they reach the desired position, which is inherently a forward flight position for a forward flight phase), and the plurality of tilting fan assemblies that are in the vertical lift position during liftoff, hover or landing of the aircraft (Paragraphs 52, and 53, this teaches that the system monitors the position and adjusts the fan angles as needed until they reach the desired position, which is inherently a vertical flight position for a vertical flight phase). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control system constantly monitor the position of the fans to ensure that they are in the correct position given the current flight phase because Villa and Leong are both tilting VTOL aircraft. The motivation for having the control system constantly monitor the position of the fans to ensure that they are in the correct position given the current flight phase is that it helps to ensure that the aircraft is in the desired orientation to help to maintain stability in the aircraft and ensure that it can perform the desired maneuvers.
Regarding claim 2, Villa as modified by Karem, Krasnoff, and Leong teaches the autonomous aircraft of claim 1, further comprising: one or more battery units (104, and 108 of Villa) including a plurality of battery cells (Paragraph 112 of Villa) configured to power the plurality of tilting fan assemblies and the plurality of lift fan assemblies (Paragraph 9 of Villa).
Regarding claim 3, Villa as modified by Karem, Krasnoff, and Leong teaches the autonomous aircraft of claim 1, wherein the pair of wings are coupled to the fuselage in a high-wing configuration (The wings and fuselage as seen in figure 5 of Villa).
Regarding claim 4, Villa as modified by Karem, Krasnoff, and Leong teaches the autonomous aircraft of claim 1, wherein the plurality of lift fan assemblies are mounted in a fixed position relative to the pair of wings to move the autonomous aircraft in a vertical direction (132, 134, 136, 138, 204, and 206 as seen in figures 3, and 4, and Paragraph 36 of Villa).
Regarding claim 5, Villa as modified by Karem, Krasnoff, and Leong teaches the autonomous aircraft of claim 1, wherein one or more of the plurality of lift fan assemblies are configurable to stop operating during a forward flight of the autonomous aircraft (Paragraph 36 of Villa).
Regarding claim 6, Villa as modified by Krasnoff, and Leong teaches the autonomous aircraft of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of lift fan assemblies comprise an electric motor-driven rotor (Paragraph 9 of Villa).
Regarding claim 10, Villa as modified by Karem, Krasnoff, and Leong teaches the autonomous aircraft of claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to: automatically control the position of the tilting fan assemblies based on flight data received by sensors coupled to the autonomous aircraft (Paragraphs 26, 27, and 58 of Villa).
Regarding claim 12, Villa as modified by Karem, Krasnoff, and Leong teaches the autonomous aircraft of claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to control: at least a subset of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies simultaneously (112, and 114 as seen in figure 1, 118, 124, 128, and 130 as seen in figures 3, and 4, and Paragraph 33 of Villa).
Regarding claim 21, Villa as modified by Karem, Krasnoff, and Leong teaches the autonomous aircraft of claim 1, but Villa does not explicitly teach that the control system is further configured to communicate the flight data collected by the one or more sensors to the remote entity. However, Krasnoff does teach that the control system is further configured to communicate the flight data collected by the one or more sensors to the remote entity (Paragraph 157). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control system communicate the flight data to the remote entity because Villa and Krasnoff are both tilt rotor VTOL aircraft with control systems. The motivation for having the control system communicate the flight data to the remote entity is that it allows the remote entity to monitor the state of the aircraft and provide updated instructions.
Regarding claim 22, Villa as modified by Karem, Krasnoff, and Leong teaches the autonomous aircraft of claim 1, but Villa does not teach that the control system is further configured to check an orientation of the autonomous aircraft prior to transitioning to the forward flight. However, Leong does teach that the control system is further configured to check an orientation of the autonomous aircraft prior to transitioning to the forward flight (Paragraphs 52, and 53, this teaches that the system continuously monitors the angular position including prior to transitioning to forward flight). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control system check the orientation of the aircraft prior to transitioning because Villa and Leong are both tilting VTOL aircraft. The motivation for having the control system check the orientation of the aircraft prior to transitioning is that it can help to ensure that the system is in the proper orientation to be able to change the current flight phase.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villa (PGPub #2024/0308655) as modified by Karem et al. (PGPub #2019/0263515), Krasnoff (PGPub #2020/0346736), and Leong (PGPub #2020/0301446) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iqbal et al. (PGPub #2021/0206487).
Regarding claim 8, Villa as modified by Karem, Krasnoff, and Leong teaches the autonomous aircraft of claim 1, wherein at least two tilting fan assemblies are coupled to each of the pair of wings (118, 124, 128, 130, 204, and 206 as seen in figure 3 of Villa), and wherein a combined number of lift fan assemblies and tilting fan assemblies is at least 8 (118, 124, 128, 130, 132, 134, 136, and 138 as seen in figure 3 of Villa). But Villa does not teach that there are at least three tilting fan assemblies coupled to each of the pair of wings, and that the combined number of lift fan assemblies and tilting fan assemblies is at least 12.
However, Iqbal does teach that there are at least three tilting fan assemblies coupled to each of the pair of wings (10, and 20 as seen in figure 1), and that the combined number of lift fan assemblies and tilting fan assemblies is at least 12 (20, and 30 as seen in figure 1). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have three tilt fans mounted to each wing and 12 total fan assemblies because Villa and Iqbal are both tilt rotor VTOL aircraft with fans mounted to the end of booms. The motivation for having three tilt fans mounted to each wing and 12 total fan assemblies is that it increases the total amount of thrust that the aircraft can generate and distributes the thrust over a greater number of rotors to help the aircraft perform better in the event of a rotor failure.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villa (PGPub #2024/0308655) as modified by Karem et al. (PGPub #2019/0263515), Krasnoff (PGPub #2020/0346736), and Leong (PGPub #2020/0301446) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Noppel et al. (PGPub #2020/0354049).
Regarding claim 11, Villa as modified by Karem, Krasnoff, and Leong teaches the autonomous aircraft of claim 1, but Villa does not teach that the control system is configured to: control a first tilting fan assembly and a second tilting fan assembly among the plurality of tilting fan assemblies independently from each other. However, Noppel does teach that the control system is configured to: control a first tilting fan assembly and a second tilting fan assembly among the plurality of tilting fan assemblies independently from each other (Paragraph 10). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control system independently control the fan assemblies because Villa and Noppel are both tilt rotor VTOL aircraft with control systems. The motivation for having the control system independently control the fan assemblies is that it allows the control system to more precisely control the movements of the aircraft and can help improve stability.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villa (PGPub #2024/0308655) as modified by Karem et al. (PGPub #2019/0263515), Krasnoff (PGPub #2020/0346736), and Leong (PGPub #2020/0301446) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kroo et al. (PGPub #2018/0086448).
Regarding claim 23, Villa as modified by Karem, Krasnoff, and Leong teaches the autonomous aircraft of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the control system is further configured to effectuate a transition to the forward flight by: confirming a desired altitude greater than a threshold is attained; and simultaneously performing: rotating the plurality of tilting fan assemblies substantially continuously to the forward flight position, adjusting power to the plurality of lift fan assemblies to maintain stability, and increasing forward airspeed as the plurality of tilting fan assemblies are rotated into the forward flight position. However, Kroo does teach that the control system is further configured to effectuate a transition to the forward flight by: confirming a desired altitude greater than a threshold is attained (Paragraph 31); and simultaneously performing: rotating the plurality of tilting fan assemblies substantially continuously to the forward flight position (Paragraph 31), adjusting power to the plurality of lift fan assemblies to maintain stability (Paragraph 31), and increasing forward airspeed as the plurality of tilting fan assemblies are rotated into the forward flight position (Paragraph 31). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system, when starting to transition, confirm a desired altitude and rotate and adjust the propulsion assemblies to move to forward flight because Villa and Kroo are both tilt rotor aircraft with control systems. The motivation for having the system, when starting to transition, confirm a desired altitude and rotate and adjust the propulsion assemblies to move to forward flight is that it helps to ensure that the system is capable of safely and effectively able to transition to a different flight phase.
Claims 13-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villa (PGPub #2024/0308655) in view of Karem et al. (PGPub #2019/0263515), Noppel et al. (PGPub #2020/0354049), and Leong (PGPub #2020/0301446).
Regarding claim 13, Villa teaches a method for controlling one or more tilting fan assemblies of an autonomous aircraft comprising a plurality of support structures (208, 210, 212, and 214) coupled to a pair of wings of the autonomous aircraft (204, 206, 208, 210, 212, and 214), wherein each lift fan assembly among a plurality of lift fan assemblies (132, 134, 136, and 138) is non-tiltably mounted to a first end of each support structure (132, 134, 136, 138, 208, 210, 212, and 214 as seen in figure 3), and each tilting fan assembly among a plurality of tilting fan assemblies (118, 124, 128, and 130) is mounted to a second end of each support structure via a tilting mechanism (118, 124, 128, 130, 208, 210, 212, and 214 as seen in figure 3, 118, 124, 128, 130 and the booms as seen in figure 4, and Paragraphs 32, and 33, for the fan assemblies to be controllably tiltably mounted to the ends of the booms there must inherently be a tilt mechanism to allow the fans to tilt relative to the booms) configured to move between a vertical lift position and a forward flight position (118, 124, 128, and 130 as seen in figures 3, and 4), wherein the plurality of lift fan assemblies are provided at a trailing edge of the pair of wings (132, 134, 136, 138, 204, and 206 as seen in figure 3) and the plurality of tilting fan assemblies are provided at a leading edge of the pair of wings (118, 124, 128, 130, 204, 206, 208, 210, 212, and 214 as seen in figure 3), the method comprising: receiving, by a control system coupled to the autonomous aircraft (Paragraph 25), a flight instruction (Paragraphs 8, 25, and 26, autonomous aircraft inherently have flight instructions to be able to autonomously operate), receiving by the control system, flight data from one or more sensors coupled to the autonomous aircraft configured to collect the flight data (Paragraphs 26, and 58); automatically initiating, by the control system, one of a takeoff sequence, a hover sequence, or a landing sequence by autonomously controlling, by the control system, one or more of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies between the vertical lift position and the forward flight position in response to the flight instruction and based on the flight data (Paragraphs 8, 25, 26, 33, 58, and 59, this teaches that the control system can adjust the tilting fans between vertical and horizontal positions as needed, and as the autonomous system moves through the necessary flight modes of an autonomous VTOL flight it will inherently control the positions of the fans); autonomously controlling, by the control system, the plurality of lift fan assemblies based on the flight data and the flight instruction to autonomously execute the flight instruction (Paragraphs 8, 25, 26, 33, 58, and 59, this teaches that the control system can adjust the tilting fans between vertical and horizontal positions as needed, and as the autonomous system moves through the necessary flight modes of an autonomous VTOL flight it will inherently control the positions of the fans). But does not teach each wing comprising a downward winglet, wherein the downward winglet of each wing is provided below a rotation plane of the plurality of lift fan assemblies, and that the flight instructions are from a remote entity; wherein the flight instructions comprises an instruction to take off; determining, by the control system, a position of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies coupled to the autonomous aircraft; and continuously monitoring, by the control system, the position of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies in view of the flight instruction to ensure that: the plurality of tilting fan assemblies are in the forward flight position during the forward flight of the aircraft, and the plurality of tilting fan assemblies that are in the vertical lift position during liftoff, hover or landing of the aircraft.
However, Karem does teach each wing comprising a downward winglet (The winglets as seen in figure 15B); wherein the downward winglet of each wing is provided below a rotation plane of the plurality of lift fan assemblies (The winglets and rotors as seen in figure 15B). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the wings have downward winglets that are below the rotation planes of the rotors because Villa and Karem are both VTOL aircraft with wing mounted rotors that can be vertical. The motivation for having the wings have downward winglets that are below the rotation planes of the rotors is that it helps to reduce the interactions between the wings and rotors. But Karem does not teach that the flight instructions are from a remote entity; wherein the flight instructions comprises an instruction to take off; determining, by the control system, a position of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies coupled to the autonomous aircraft; and continuously monitoring, by the control system, the position of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies in view of the flight instruction to ensure that: the plurality of tilting fan assemblies are in the forward flight position during the forward flight of the aircraft, and the plurality of tilting fan assemblies that are in the vertical lift position during liftoff, hover or landing of the aircraft.
However, Noppel does teach that the flight instructions are from a remote entity (Paragraphs 106, 107, and 146, this teaches that the system can receive the flight instructions from a remote entity and that those flight instructions can include autonomous take-off); wherein the flight instructions comprises an instruction to take off (Paragraph 146). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control system receive the flight plan and takeoff instructions remotely because Villa and Noppel are both tilt rotor VTOL aircraft with control systems. The motivation for having the control system receive the flight plan and takeoff instructions remotely is that it allows the aircraft to fully operate without a crew onboard which can decrease the weight of the system and expand the operating capabilities while allowing the aircraft to perform a complete flight process. But Noppel does not teach determining, by the control system, a position of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies coupled to the autonomous aircraft; and continuously monitoring, by the control system, the position of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies in view of the flight instruction to ensure that: the plurality of tilting fan assemblies are in the forward flight position during the forward flight of the aircraft, and the plurality of tilting fan assemblies that are in the vertical lift position during liftoff, hover or landing of the aircraft.
However, Leong does teach determining, by the control system, a position of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies coupled to the autonomous aircraft (Paragraphs 52, and 53); and continuously monitoring, by the control system, the position of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies in view of the flight instruction (Paragraphs 52, and 53) to ensure that: the plurality of tilting fan assemblies are in the forward flight position during the forward flight of the aircraft (Paragraphs 52, and 53, this teaches that the system monitors the position and adjusts the fan angles as needed until they reach the desired position, which is inherently a forward flight position for a forward flight phase), and the plurality of tilting fan assemblies that are in the vertical lift position during liftoff, hover or landing of the aircraft ((Paragraphs 52, and 53, this teaches that the system monitors the position and adjusts the fan angles as needed until they reach the desired position, which is inherently a vertical flight position for a vertical flight phase). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control system determine, and constantly monitor the position of the fans to ensure that they are in the correct position given the current flight phase because Villa and Leong are both tilting VTOL aircraft. The motivation for having the control system determine, and constantly monitor the position of the fans to ensure that they are in the correct position given the current flight phase is that it helps to ensure that the aircraft is in the desired orientation to help to maintain stability in the aircraft and ensure that it can perform the desired maneuvers.
Regarding claim 14, Villa as modified by Karem, Noppel, and Leong teaches the method of claim 13, but Villa does not teach controlling, by the control system, a first tilting fan assembly and a second tilting fan assembly among the plurality of tilting fan assemblies independently from each other. However, Noppel does teach controlling, by the control system, a first tilting fan assembly and a second tilting fan assembly among the plurality of tilting fan assemblies independently from each other (Paragraph 10). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control system independently control the fan assemblies because Villa and Noppel are both tilt rotor VTOL aircraft with control systems. The motivation for having the control system independently control the fan assemblies is that it allows the control system to more precisely control the movements of the aircraft and can help improve stability.
Regarding claim 15, Villa as modified by Karem, Noppel, and Leong teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising: controlling, by the control system, at least a subset of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies simultaneously (112, and 114 as seen in figure 1, 118, 124, 128, and 130 as seen in figures 3, and 4, and Paragraph 33 of Villa, as can be seen the tilting fans can be moved between the flight phase as a group).
Regarding claim 17, Villa as modified by Karem, Noppel, and Leong teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the flight instruction is a hover instruction (Paragraphs 38, and 39 of Villa, this teaches that the aircraft can operate in a hover mode), and wherein the control system initiates the hover sequence by performing steps comprising: controlling the one or more of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies to maintain the vertical lift position (Paragraphs 38, and 39 of Villa).
Regarding claim 18, Villa as modified by Karem, Noppel, and Leong teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the flight instruction is an instruction to switch to forward flight (Paragraphs 33, and 36, this teaches that the aircraft can operate in a cruise mode), and wherein the control system initiates a forward flight sequence by performing steps comprising: controlling the one or more of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies to the forward flight position (Paragraphs 33, 35, and 36 of Villa).
Regarding claim 19, Villa as modified by Karem, Noppel, and Leong teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising: controlling the plurality of lift fan assemblies to stop operating during the forward flight of the autonomous aircraft thereby stopping all fan assemblies downstream from the pair of wings (Paragraph 36 of Villa).
Regarding claim 20, Villa as modified by Karem, Noppel, and Leong teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising: receiving, by the control system, flight data from one or more sensors coupled to the autonomous aircraft (Paragraphs 26, 27, and 58 of Villa); and controlling the position of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies based on the flight data received from the one or more sensors coupled to the autonomous aircraft (Paragraphs 26, 27, and 58 of Villa).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villa (PGPub #2024/0308655) as modified by Karem et al. (PGPub #2019/0263515), Noppel et al. (PGPub #2020/0354049), and Leong (PGPub #2020/0301446) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Baharav et al. (PGPub #2022/0009626).
Regarding claim 16, Villa as modified by Karem, Noppel, and Leong teaches the method of claim 13, but does not teach that the flight instruction is a takeoff instruction, and wherein the control system initiates the takeoff sequence by performing steps comprising: determining whether each of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies is in the vertical lift position; and controlling the one or more of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies to the vertical lift position. However, Baharav does teach that the flight instruction is a takeoff instruction (Paragraph 254, this teaches that the system can be instructed to perform a takeoff), and wherein the control system initiates the takeoff sequence by performing steps comprising: determining whether each of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies is in the vertical lift position (Paragraphs 253, and 254, this teaches that the system initially places the fans in a horizontal position for taxiing, then when it comes time to vertically take off the system knows that the fans are in the horizontal position and need to be tilted); and controlling the one or more of the plurality of tilting fan assemblies to the vertical lift position (Paragraph 254). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system determine the position of the fans and then move them to a vertical position for takeoff because Villa and Baharav are both tilt rotor VTOL aircraft. The motivation for having the system determine the position of the fans and then move them to a vertical position for takeoff is that it helps to ensure that the system only tries to takeoff when the fan system is in the proper orientation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM L GMOSER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647