DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s communication received on 01/17/2025 for application number 19/030,862. The Office herby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2025, 03/12/2025 is in accordance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-6, 9-11, 13-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,201,270. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other: Table 1 shows comparison between the instant claims and the U.S. Patent 12,201,270 B1 claims.
Re. Claim 1 and 18:
A system for imaging tissue of a subject, the system comprising: an illumination source; and an imaging apparatus that comprises an electronic rolling shutter imager, the imaging apparatus being configured for: sequentially resetting rows of pixels of the rolling shutter imager from a first row to a last row, sequentially reading charge accumulated at the rows of pixels from the first row to the last row, wherein the first row is read after resetting the last row, controlling the illumination source to illuminate the tissue of the subject for an illumination period that lasts longer than a vertical blanking period, wherein the vertical blanking period is the period from the resetting of the last row to the reading of the first row, and generating an image frame from the readings of charge accumulated at the rows of pixels, wherein at least one reading of charge accumulated at a row of pixels is removed or replaced to generate the image frame, wherein the imaging apparatus is configured for adjusting a gain of the rolling shutter imager based on readings of charge accumulated at the rows of pixels during a previous frame.
Re. Claim 1, A system for imaging tissue of a subject, the system comprising: an illumination source; and an imaging apparatus that comprises an electronic rolling shutter imager, the imaging apparatus being configured for: sequentially resetting rows of pixels of the rolling shutter imager from a first row to a last row, sequentially reading charge accumulated at the rows of pixels from the first row to the last row, wherein the first row is read after resetting the last row, controlling the illumination source to illuminate the tissue of the subject for an illumination period that lasts longer than a vertical blanking period, wherein the vertical blanking period is the period from the resetting of the last row to the reading of the first row, and wherein the illumination period ends at or after an end of the vertical blanking period, and generating an image frame from the readings of charge accumulated at the rows of pixels, wherein at least one reading of charge accumulated at a row of pixels is removed or replaced to generate the image frame.
Re. Claim 2, The system of claim 1, wherein the imaging apparatus comprises a camera control unit connected to an imaging head that includes the rolling shutter imager.
Re. Claim 2, The system of claim 1, wherein the imaging apparatus comprises a camera control unit connected to an imaging head that includes the rolling shutter imager.
Re. Claim 3, The system of claim 1, wherein the illumination source is configured for pulse width modulated illumination and the camera control unit generates a pulse width modulation waveform for controlling the illumination source.
Re. Claim 3, The system of claim 1, wherein the illumination source is configured for pulse width modulated illumination and the camera control unit generates a pulse width modulation waveform for controlling the illumination source.
Re. Claim 4 and 19, The system of claim 1, wherein the illumination period begins prior to the resetting of the last row.
Re. Claim 5 and 20, The system of claim 1, wherein the illumination period ends after the reading of the first row.
Re. Claim 4, The system of claim 1, wherein the illumination period begins prior to the resetting of the last row.
Re. Claim 5, The system of claim 1, wherein the illumination period ends after the reading of the first row.
Re. Claim 6 and 21, The system of claim 1, wherein the illumination period begins at least when the vertical blanking period begins.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the illumination period begins at least when the vertical blanking period begins.
Re. Claim 9 and 24, The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one reading of charge accumulated at a row of pixels is replaced by at least one predetermined value to generate the image frame.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one reading of charge accumulated at a row of pixels is replaced by at least one predetermined value to generate the image frame.
Re. Claim 10 and 25, The system of claim 1, wherein at least one reading of charge accumulated at a row of pixels is removed by cropping to generate the image frame.
Re. Claim 10, The system of claim 1, wherein at least one reading of charge accumulated at a row of pixels is removed by cropping to generate the image frame.
Re. Claim 11 and 26 The system of claim 1, wherein the imaging apparatus is configured for controlling the illumination source to illuminate the tissue of the subject with fluorescence excitation light at least during a subsequent vertical blanking period and generating a fluorescence image frame based on light emitted from the tissue of the subject in response to the fluorescence excitation light.
Re. Claim 11, The system of claim 1, wherein the imaging apparatus is configured for controlling the illumination source to illuminate the tissue of the subject with fluorescence excitation light at least during a subsequent vertical blanking period and generating a fluorescence image frame based on light emitted from the tissue of the subject in response to the fluorescence excitation light.
13. The system of claim 1, wherein controlling the illumination source to illuminate the tissue of the subject with illumination light comprises controlling the illumination source to pulse the illumination light.
Re. Claim 13, The system of claim 1, wherein controlling the illumination source to illuminate the tissue of the subject with illumination light comprises controlling the illumination source to pulse the illumination light.
Re. Claim 14 and 30, The system of claim 13, wherein the imaging apparatus is configured for controlling a pulse width of the pulsed illumination light based on readings of charge accumulated at the rows of pixels during a previous frame.
Re. Claim 15, The system of claim 14, wherein the imaging apparatus is configured for controlling a pulse width of the pulsed illumination light based on readings of charge accumulated at the rows of pixels during a previous frame.
15. The system of claim 1, wherein the imaging apparatus is an endoscopic imager.
Re. Claim 17, The system of claim 1, wherein the imaging apparatus is an endoscopic imager.
Re. Claim 16 and 32, The system of claim 1, wherein the rolling shutter imager comprises a mechanical shutter and the mechanical shutter remains at least partially open from before the illumination period begins until after the illumination period ends.
Re. Claim 18, The system of claim 1, wherein the rolling shutter imager comprises a mechanical shutter and the mechanical shutter remains at least partially open from before the illumination period begins until after the illumination period ends.
Re. Claim 17. The system of claim 16, wherein the imaging apparatus is configured for reducing an amount of light received at the rolling shutter imager by operating the mechanical shutter.
Re. Claim 19, The system of claim 18, wherein the imaging apparatus is configured for reducing an amount of light received at the rolling shutter imager by operating the mechanical shutter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al., [US Pub. No.: 2014/0225998 A1] in view of Jiang et al., [US Pub. No.: 2014/0313386 A1].
Re. Claim 1, Dai et al., [US Pub. No.: 2014/0225998 A1] discloses:
A method of imaging tissue of a subject using an electronic rolling shutter imager [The endoscope probe includes a CMOS pixel array 502 that is to use an electrical rolling shutter to acquire images |0041], the method comprising: sequentially resetting rows of pixels of the rolling shutter imager from a first row to a last row [Rows are reset one by one sequentially to a last row |Fig. 10];
sequentially reading charge accumulated at the rows of pixels from the first row to the last row [Rows are readout one by one sequentially |Fig. 10], wherein the first row is read after resetting the last row [after a previous is read after resetting the last row | Fig. 10];
illuminating the tissue of the subject with illumination light for an illumination period that lasts longer than a vertical blanking period [light source 1322 for illuminating an subject… the duration of light may be controlled by the light duration control unit 1363 exerting control over an on/off control 1355 of the light source 1322… the duration of the vertical blanking period may be changed (e.g., increased or decreased). |Fig.13, 0084, 0086], wherein the vertical blanking period is the period from the resetting of the last row to the reading of the first row [vertical blanking period from reset of the last row to the reading of the first row | Fig. 11, el 1136];
and generating an image frame from the readings of charge accumulated at the rows of pixels [accumulates charge and the time when the last row of pixels photo-generates and accumulates charge within the same image frame such that the first and last rows of pixels may image the object in motion when it is located at different positions.|0045],
Dai does not distinctly disclose:
wherein at least one reading of charge accumulated at a row of pixels is removed or replaced to generate the image frame.
However, in the same field endeavor Jiang discloses:
wherein at least one reading of charge accumulated at a row of pixels is removed or replaced to generate the image frame [readout row is removed from image frame generation |0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dai with Jiang to provide a blooming protection to a CMOS imager having a pixel array of a plurality of pixels arranged in rows and columns, where the CMOS imager is operable to capture high dynamic range images using a rolling shutter[Abstract].
Re. Claim 2, Dai discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the imaging apparatus comprises a camera control unit connected to an imaging head that includes the rolling shutter imager [The CMOS pixel array 102 commonly uses an electrical rolling shutter. During the image acquisition process, the CMOS pixel array may be exposed to constant and/or continuous light 107 and the electrical rolling shutter may control the amount of exposure that the pixels of the CMOS pixel array are subjected to under the constant/continuous light. |0008].
Re. Claim 3, Dai discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the illumination source is configured for pulse width modulated illumination and the camera control unit generates a pulse width modulation waveform for controlling the illumination source [The light duration period 1510 of the illumination pattern 1501 at the left side of FIG. 15 is continuous. To reduce the duration of light, instead of providing continuous light, the light duration control unit 1363 may control the light source 1322 to provide light in a series of pulses 1530, shown as the illumination pattern 1502 at the right side of FIG. 15. The resulting light duration period 1520 of pattern 1502 contains less illumination time than the light duration period 1510 of pattern 1501. |Fig. 15, 0032, 0087].
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 4-32 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
HOWARD D. BROWN JR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2488
/HOWARD D BROWN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2488