DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on 07/20/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2022-0089564 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II in the reply filed on 08/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2 – 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subcombination, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/19/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 1212a (Figs. 2, 3, 4) and 1221a (Figs. 6, 8). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 26 line 3 recites “fifth joint 1224” should be amended to read “fifth joint 223”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 – 14 and 16 – 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites “the rotary shaft” in line 6, although the line is understood by the Examiner to mean “a rotary shaft” as the “rotary shaft” was not previously defined, the Examiner suggests the line be amended to read “a rotary shaft” for the purpose of providing proper antecedent bases for the claimed terms;
Claims 11 and 12 recite “the manipulator” in various lines, although the line is understood by the Examiner to mean “the uterine manipulator” as previously defined, the Examiner suggests the line be amended to read “the uterine manipulator” for the purpose of maintaining consistent language throughout the claims;
Claim 11 recites “a yaw in a direction, which the end tip faces, is adjusted.”, which comprises a period and is not grammatically correct, therefore, the Examiner suggests the line be amended to read “a yaw in a direction in which the end tip faces is adjusted”;
Claim 12 recites “the locking shaft of the fifth joint” in at least three locations, although the lines are understood by the Examiner to mean “the locking shaft crossing the fifth joint” as the locking shaft is not defined to be “of the fifth joint”, the Examiner suggests the lines be amended to recite “the locking shaft crossing the fifth joint” for the purpose of maintaining consistent language throughout the claims;
Claim 13 recites “a rear end of an end tip” in line 2, although the line is understood by the Examiner to mean “a rear end of the end tip” as the “end tip” was previously defined, the Examiner suggests the line be amended to recite “the end tip” for the purpose of maintaining consistent language throughout the claims;
Claim 14 recites the limitation “an additional connection member” prior to the limitation “a connection member”, the Examiner suggests the limitation “an additional connection member” be positioned after the “a connection member” limitation;
Claim 16 recites “a pitch operation of rotating the robot” in line 4, however the line is not grammatically correct, and the Examiner suggests the line be amended to read “a pitch operation for rotating the robot”;
Claims 16, 17, and 18 recite “the robot” in various lines, although the line is understood by the Examiner to mean “the uterine manipulator robot” as previously defined and repeated throughout other claims, the Examiner suggests the lines be amended to recite “the uterine manipulator robot” for the purpose of maintaining consistent language throughout the claims;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the generic placeholder is “an elastic member” in claim 15, which is coupled to the functional language “configured to behave in correspondence to a pitch operation and a yaw operation of the operation module”. Furthermore, there are no structural modifiers either preceding or following the generic placeholders. For the purpose of examination, the “elastic member” in claim 17 will be read as a spring (which is the disclosed corresponding structure, as described in paragraph [0124] of the instant specification) or an equivalent structure (which is any structure that performs the identical function of the generic placeholder(s) specified in the claim in substantially the same way).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Traina (US 2020/0246058 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Traina discloses a surgical instrument (surgical instrument 200) capable of being a uterine manipulator (Examiner’s note: it should be understood that a preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67,190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d150,152,88. With that said the surgical instrument is capable of, and thus configured to, manipulating a uterus) comprising:
an operation module (monopolar tool 150) including an end tip (paragraphs [0077], [0091], and Figs. 7,8); and
an operation structure (support hub 116) including an end member (grommet 117) provided with the operation module at a front end thereof (paragraph [0091] and Figs. 7,8), and a pitch operation part (portion of system shown in Figs. 22, 23) allowing a pitch operation (pitch rotation – about the B-axis shown in Figs. 6, 22, 23) of rotating the end member about a first axis (B-axis) such that a pitch in a direction which the end tip faces is adjusted (paragraphs [0089 – 0090] and Figs. 22, 23),
wherein the pitch operation part (portion of system shown in Figs. 22, 23) includes:
a first joint (pulleys 411, 413, 415, 417) disposed to be rotatable while an upward/downward direction is taken as a rotation axis thereof (Figs. 6 – 10, 22, 23);
a second joint (pulleys 419, 421, 423) disposed on a front side of the first joint (Figs. 6 – 10, 22, 23), and disposed to be rotatable while the upward/downward direction is taken as a rotation axis thereof (Figs. 6 – 10, 22, 23);
a first connection part (one of the drive members 380a) configured to rotate the second joint by transmitting a rotational force of the first joint to the second joint when the first joint is rotated (paragraphs [0103 – 0106] and Figs. 20 – 23);
a third joint (protruding surfaces 114g, 116g) disposed on a front side of the second joint (paragraph [0103] and Figs. 6 – 23), provided with the end member at a front end thereof (Figs. 6 – 23), and disposed to be rotatable while a leftward/rightward direction is taken as a rotation axis thereof (Figs. 22, 23); and
a second connection part (one of the drive members 380b) configured to rotate the third joint by transmitting a rotational force of the second joint to the third joint when the second joint is rotated (paragraphs [0103 – 0106] and Figs. 20 – 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Traina (US 2020/0246058 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Traina discloses a uterine manipulator robot (robotic system 1) comprising:
the uterine manipulator of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and
a driving part (drive unit 110) configured to drive the operation structure (paragraph [0058]),
wherein the uterine manipulator further includes:
a handle part (driving nuts of the housing assembly 210) connected (connected via the drive members 380a/b) to the rotary shaft (proximal pulley pin 112c) of the first joint (pulleys 411, 413, 415, 417), and configured to manipulate rotation of the first joint about a rotation axis thereof (paragraph [0096]), and
wherein the driving part (drive unit 110) includes:
a seating part (robotic surgical assembly 100), on which a rear end of the uterine manipulator is seated (Fig. 2B); and
a pitch manipulation part (drive unit 110) configured to rotate the handle part seated on the seating part (paragraph [0080]).
However, Triana is silent regarding (i) wherein the pitch manipulation part is automatic.
As to the above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pitch manipulation part of Triana to be automatic, as it is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to replace a manual activity with an automatic means which accomplishes the same result, and such a replacement does not distinguish the inventive device over the prior art. (See In reVenner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958)).
Regarding claim 11, as discussed above, Triana makes obvious the system of claim 10 above. Additionally, Traina discloses wherein the manipulator further includes a yaw operation part allowing a yaw operation (distal hub 114) about a second axis (A-axis) being perpendicular to the first axis (B-axis) of the end member such that a yaw in a direction (paragraph [0089] and Fig. 6), in which the end tip faces, is adjusted; and wherein the uterine manipulator robot further includes a yaw operation manipulating part (driving member 380c) (paragraph [0101]).
Claims 1, 10, 13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prior et al (US 2019/0083133 A1) and in view of Traina (US 2020/0246058 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Prior discloses a uterine manipulator (uterine manipulator 100) (abstract, paragraphs [0027 – 0036], [0052 – 0056], and Fig. 1A,B,6) comprising:
an operation module (distal assembly 560) including an end tip (tissue anchor 596) (paragraphs [0052 – 0054] and Fig. 1A,B,6); and
an operation structure (shaft 510) including an end member (distal end portion 514) provided with the operation module at a front end thereof (paragraph [0053] and Fig. 6), and a pitch operation part (proximal pivot 540 and distal pivot 545) allowing a pitch operation (up / down rotation) of rotating the end member (distal end portion 514) about a first axis (axis through pivot 545) such that a pitch in a direction which the end tip faces is adjusted (paragraphs [0053 – 0054] and Fig. 6).
However, Prior is silent regarding (i) the particulars of the pitch operation parts, wherein the pitch operation part includes: a first joint disposed to be rotatable while an upward/downward direction is taken as a rotation axis thereof, a second joint disposed on a front side of the first joint, and disposed to be rotatable while the upward/downward direction is taken as a rotation axis thereof, a first connection part configured to rotate the second joint by transmitting a rotational force of the first joint to the second joint when the first joint is rotated, a third joint disposed on a front side of the second joint, provided with the end member at a front end thereof, and disposed to be rotatable while a leftward/rightward direction is taken as a rotation axis thereof, and a second connection part configured to rotate the third joint by transmitting a rotational force of the second joint to the third joint when the second joint is rotated.
As to the above, Traina discloses a surgical instrument (surgical instrument 200; which equates to the uterine manipulator 100 of Prior) comprising an operation module (monopolar tool 150; which equates to the distal assembly of Prior) including an end tip (paragraphs [0077], [0091], and Figs. 7,8), an operation structure (support hub 116; which equates to the shaft 510 of Prior) including an end member (grommet 117; which equates to the distal pivot part 545 of the shaft of Prior) provided with the operation module at a front end thereof (paragraph [0091] and Figs. 7,8), and a pitch operation part (portion of system shown in Figs. 22, 23; which equates to the proximal and distal pivot parts 540 and 545 of Prior) allowing a pitch operation (pitch rotation – about the B-axis shown in Figs. 6, 22, 23) of rotating the end member about a first axis (B-axis) such that a pitch in a direction which the end tip faces is adjusted (paragraphs [0089 – 0090] and Figs. 22, 23), wherein the pitch operation part (portion of system shown in Figs. 22, 23) includes:
a first joint (pulleys 411, 413, 415, 417) disposed to be rotatable while an upward/downward direction is taken as a rotation axis thereof (Figs. 6 – 10, 22, 23);
a second joint (pulleys 419, 421, 423) disposed on a front side of the first joint (Figs. 6 – 10, 22, 23), and disposed to be rotatable while the upward/downward direction is taken as a rotation axis thereof (Figs. 6 – 10, 22, 23);
a first connection part (one of the drive members 380a) configured to rotate the second joint by transmitting a rotational force of the first joint to the second joint when the first joint is rotated (paragraphs [0103 – 0106] and Figs. 20 – 23);
a third joint (protruding surfaces 114g, 116g) disposed on a front side of the second joint (paragraph [0103] and Figs. 6 – 23), provided with the end member at a front end thereof (Figs. 6 – 23), and disposed to be rotatable while a leftward/rightward direction is taken as a rotation axis thereof (Figs. 22, 23); and
a second connection part (one of the drive members 380b) configured to rotate the third joint by transmitting a rotational force of the second joint to the third joint when the second joint is rotated (paragraphs [0103 – 0106] and Figs. 20 – 23).
It should be understood that Prior and Triana are known references in the art that teach surgical instruments comprising an end-effector and the ability to cause a pitch operation movement of the end-effector (paragraphs [0052 – 0054] and Fig. 1A,B,6 – Prior ; paragraphs [0089 – 0090] and Figs. 22, 23 – Traina); and the Examiner contends that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have substituted one pitch operation assembly for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and resulted in the modified instrument of Prior being able to function as intended to properly adjust / move colpotomy cup of Prior in the pitch direction as intended because the pitch operation of Triana is configured to move the end-effector of Triana in the pitch direction. The examiner notes the rejection above is based on KSR int’l Co. V. Teleflex inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), rational B, outlined in MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 10, as discussed above, the combination of Prior and Triana makes obvious the uterine manipulator of claim 1.
However, the current combination is silent regarding (i) a uterine manipulator robot comprising the uterine manipulator of claim 1, a driving part configured to drive the operation structure, wherein the uterine manipulator further includes a handle part connected to the rotary shaft of the first joint, and configured to manipulate rotation of the first joint about a rotation axis thereof, and wherein the driving part includes a seating part, on which a rear end of the uterine manipulator is seated, an automatic pitch manipulation part configured to rotate the handle part seated on the seating part.
As to the above, Triana further teaches a manipulator robot (robotic system 1) for manipulating the surgical instrument comprising the surgical instrument (surgical instrument 200; which equates to the uterine manipulator 100 of Prior) comprising a driving part (drive unit 110) configured to drive the operation structure (paragraph [0058]), wherein the uterine manipulator (surgical instrument 200; which equates to the uterine manipulator 100 of Prior) further includes a handle part (driving nuts of the housing assembly 210) connected (connected via the drive members 380a/b) to the rotary shaft (proximal pulley pin 112c) of the first joint (pulleys 411, 413, 415, 417), and configured to manipulate rotation of the first joint about a rotation axis thereof (paragraph [0096]), and wherein the driving part (drive unit 110) includes a seating part (robotic surgical assembly 100), on which a rear end of the uterine manipulator is seated (Fig. 2B) and a pitch manipulation part (drive unit 110) configured to rotate the handle part seated on the seating part (paragraph [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the uterine manipulator of Prior in vie of Traina to incorporate the robotic system of Traina for the purpose of providing the operator with operational means that is smoother and more accurate in moving the surgical instrument than manual operation of the surgical instrument.
However, the combination of Prior and Triana is silent regarding (i) wherein the pitch manipulation part is automatic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pitch manipulation part of Prior in view of Triana to be automatic, as it is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to replace a manual activity with an automatic means which accomplishes the same result, and such a replacement does not distinguish the inventive device over the prior art. (See In reVenner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958)).
Regarding claim 13, as discussed above, the combination of Prior and Triana makes obvious the uterine manipulator robot of claim 10. The combination further teaches wherein the operation module (distal assembly 560 – Prior) further includes a cup (colpotomy cup 570 – Prior) surrounding a rear end of an end tip (paragraph [0055] and Fig. 6 – Prior), and a needle (anchor 596 and tip 592 – Prior) provided inside the cup (Examiner’s note: anchor 596 is within the cup), and wherein the uterine manipulator robot further includes a needle insertion part (button 522 – Prior) configured to move the needle forward (paragraph [0058] – Prior).
However, the combination of Prior and Triana is silent regarding (i) wherein the needle insertion part is automatic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the needle insertion part of Prior in view of Triana to be automatic, as it is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to replace a manual activity with an automatic means which accomplishes the same result, and such a replacement does not distinguish the inventive device over the prior art. (See In reVenner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958)).
Regarding claim 16, as discussed above, the combination of Prior and Triana makes obvious the uterine manipulator robot of claim 10. The combination further teaches a uterine manipulator system comprising the uterine manipulator robot of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above) and an additional pitch operation part (motor causing pitch – Traina) allowing a pitch operation of rotating the robot about the first axis such that a pitch in a direction which the end tip faces is adjusted (Examiner’s note: the control device 4 of Traina allows the control of the robotic arms which hold the instrument to move in any number of directions, which includes the pitch direction – paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 17, as discussed above, the combination of Prior and Triana makes obvious the uterine manipulator robot of claim 10. The combination further teaches a roll operation part (motor causing pitch – Traina) allowing a roll operation (rotation) of rotating the robot while a forward/rearward direction is taken as a rotation axis thereof (paragraphs [0058 – 0059]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prior et al (US 2019/0083133 A1) in view of Traina (US 2020/0246058 A1), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Foley et al (US 2012/0078080 A1).
Regarding claim 18, as discussed above, the combination of Prior and Traina teaches the device of claim 16.
However, the combination is silent regarding (i) a first rail structure configured to move the robot upward and downward and a second rail structure configured to move the robot forward and rearward.
As to the above, Foley teaches a surgical robotic system for a surgical instrument comprising a first rail structure (sled 400) configured to move the robot upward and downward (paragraphs [0049 – 0350] and a second rail structure (lateral rail structures 422/424) configured to move the robot forward and rearward (paragraphs [0320 – 0321] and Fig. 22) for the purpose of being able to more accurately position the tip of the surgical instrument.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Prior in view of Traina to incorporate rails, based on the teachings of Foley for the purpose of being able to more accurately position the surgical instrument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Related Prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Prior et al (US 2021/0353330 A1) and Prior et al (US 2021/0282871 A1) teach uterine manipulator robotic systems; Blaire et al (US 20080208210 A1), Auerbach et al (US 2010/0305578 A1), and Rowden et al (US 5,409,496) teach uterine manipulators with pitch operations.
Conclusion
/Andrew Restaino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771