DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 have been considered for patentability.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a first direction” and “a second direction” is indefinite because Claim 1 already claims “a first direction” and “a second direction”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: like Claim 11 above, “the second direction” is indefinite because Claim 1 claims “a second direction” and Claim 11 claims “a second direction”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: like Claim 11 and 12 above, “the second direction” is indefinite because Claim 1 claims “a second direction” and Claim 11 claims “a second direction”. Furthermore, “the third connection portion” lacks proper antecedent basis as “a third connection portion” was not introduced until Claim 10, which Claim 13 does not depend. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Luo et al. (WO 2021/121164) (using US Publication 2022/0321683 for citation) (both cited in applicant’s IDS submitted on 01/17/2025).
In re Claim 1, Luo discloses an electronic device comprising: a first housing 1; a second housing 2; at least one hinge module 3 (or more specifically 32) disposed between the first housing and the second housing and configured to rotatably connect the first housing and the second housing to each other; a flexible circuit board 4 disposed in the first housing and the second housing; a hinge bracket 311/312 including a first surface to which the at least one hinge module 3 is coupled and a second surface facing in a first direction opposite to a second direction in which the first surface faces (paragraphs 0117, 0120, 0122-0124; Figures 4, 17 and 20); and a hinge cover 313 detachably disposed on the second surface, wherein the flexible circuit board 4 is disposed on an area of the first surface spaced apart from the hinge module 32, and the hinge bracket 312 is disposed to intervene between the flexible circuit board 4 and the hinge cover 313.
In re Claim 6, Luo discloses wherein a plurality of hinge modules 32 are provided, and wherein the plurality of hinge modules 32 are spaced apart from each other on the first surface of hinge bracket 311, 312. Luo, Figures 3 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Luo et al. (WO 2021/121164) (using US Publication 2022/0321683 for citation) (both cited in applicant’s IDS submitted on 01/17/2025) in view of Lee et al. (US Publication 2015/0233162).
In re Claim 2, Luo discloses wherein the hinge bracket 312 includes at least one seating area (See Figures 11 and 12) configured to accommodate at least a portion of the flexible circuit board 4. Luo does not explicitly disclose wherein the seating area includes groove-shaped depression extending from the first surface toward the second surface. However, Lee discloses a groove shaped depression 291a for insertion of a flexible printed circuit board 291. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of electronic device housings to have provided a groove like that disclosed in Lee with the hinge bracket as otherwise disclosed in Luo to ensure that the flexible printed circuit board was protected from damage from external shock and vibrations as well as to ensure the flexible printed circuit board stayed in the correct location along the bracket out of the hinge module’s area of operation.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Luo et al. (WO 2021/121164) (using US Publication 2022/0321683 for citation) (both cited in applicant’s IDS submitted on 01/17/2025) in view of Chen et al. (US Publication 2010/0170226).
In re Claim 7, Luo discloses the limitations as noted above but does not explicitly disclose a connection assembly disposed between the hinge bracket and the hinge cover. However, Chen discloses a connection assembly 104 disposed between a bracket 101 and a cover 102, wherein the cover 102 includes at least one release hole 102e formed through to overlap a portion of the connection assembly 104.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of electronic device housings to have provided a connection assembly as disclosed in Chen with the apparatus as otherwise disclosed in Luo to facilitate attachment and removal of the hinge cover by operating a latch instead of removing threaded fasteners. Luo expressly contemplates threading fasteners between the hinge bracket and the hinge cover (Luo, paragraph 0133) while Chen identifies the benefits of using a latch controlled removable cover (Chen, paragraphs 0005-0019) and provides a latch permitting attachment and release (Id. at paragraphs 0030-0038).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Luo et al. (WO 2021/121164) (using US Publication 2022/0321683 for citation) (both cited in applicant’s IDS submitted on 01/17/2025) in view of Wu et al. (US Publication 2012/0068589).
In re Claim 14, Luo discloses an electronic device comprising: a first housing 1; a second housing 2; at least one hinge module 3, 32 disposed between the first housing and the second housing and configured to rotatably connect the first housing and the second housing to each other (Figure 1); a hinge bracket 312 including a first surface to which the at least one hinge module 32 is coupled; a flexible circuit board 4 disposed to cross the hinge bracket 312 in the first housing and the second housing; a hinge cover 313 disposed to face the second surface.
Luo does not explicitly disclose at least one connection opening formed in an area spaced apart from the hinge module to penetrate from the first surface to a second surface facing in a direction opposite to a direction in which the first surface faces. Luo further does not explicitly disclose at least one connection assembly disposed between the hinge bracket and the hinge cover to overlap the connection opening and detachably connecting the hinge cover to the hinge bracket.
However, Wu discloses at least one connection opening 144 formed in bracket 142 and penetrating through a first surface to a second surface facing in a direction opposite to a direction in which the first surface faces. Wu further discloses at least one connection assembly 330 to overlap the connection opening 144 and detachably connecting a cover 20 to the hinge bracket 142.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of electronic device housings to have provided a detachably connectable cover mechanism as disclosed in Wu with the apparatus as otherwise disclosed in Luo to facilitate attachment and removal of the hinge cover by operating a latch instead of removing threaded fasteners. Luo expressly contemplates threading fasteners between the hinge bracket and the hinge cover (Luo, paragraph 0133) while Wu identifies the time required to assemble and disassemble a screw-fastened electronic device cover (Wu, paragraph 0004) and provides a latch permitting attachment and release (Id. at paragraphs 0024-0025).
Additional Prior Art
Dong et al. (US Publication 2010/0327712) discloses a cover mounted release assembly 50 having a release member 53 that engages inclined surfaces 557 to move latch members 55 and release a detachable cover 30 from a housing 10. Dong, paragraphs 0013-0019; Figures 2-4.
Chen et al. (US Publication 2012/0050963) discloses a cover latching mechanism in which cooperating inclined surfaces convert movement of a release button 32 into transverse movement of a latch slider 42 disengaging the slider from a cover hook 212 to permit removal of the cover 20. Chen, paragraphs 0018-0022; Figures 2-5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 8-13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The specific limitations of “wherein the seating area includes: an opening formed to penetrate from the first surface to the second surface; and at least one plate member formed to close the opening and accommodate at least a portion of the flexible circuit board” in Claim 3 are not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record in the examiner’s opinion.
The specific limitations of " wherein the connection assembly is coupled to a portion of the hinge cover, wherein the connection assembly includes: a latch member including a first connection portion extending toward the hinge bracket; and a release member at least partially contacting the latch member, and wherein the hinge bracket includes a second connection portion protruding to be engaged with the first connection portion on the first surface of the hinge bracket” in Claim 8 are not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record in the examiner's opinion.
The specific limitations of " wherein the connection assembly is coupled to a portion of the hinge bracket , wherein the connection assembly includes: a latch member including a first connection portion extending toward the hinge cover; and a release member at least partially contacting the latch member, and wherein the hinge cover includes a third connection portion protruding to be engaged with the first connection portion on one surface facing the hinge bracket” in Claim 10 are not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record in the examiner's opinion.
The specific limitations of " wherein the hinge cover includes at least one release hole formed through to overlap a portion of the connection assembly” in Claim 15 are not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record in the examiner's opinion
In regard to Claim 15, Luo as modified by Wu discloses the limitations of Claim 14. However, in the examiner’s opinion it would not have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have then modified Luo/Wu with the connection assembly as taught by Chen. The modification of Luo in view of Wu and Chen would need to disclose both limitations of Claim 14 and Claim 15 (i.e. an opening in the bracket to overlap with the cover opening). While the modification of Luo in view of Chen alone would disclose and render obvious an opening in the cover for a latch as taught by Chen, the addition of a release hole in the hinge cover while also having the connection opening in the hinge bracket would require impermissible hindsight given the disclosures and suggestions in Luo, Wu and/or Chen respectively.
Conclusion
/ADRIAN S WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841