Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 24-31 of U.S. Patent No. 11,472,622, claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 10,759,585, claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,801,987, claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,240,675, claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 9,669,983, and claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,234,075. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim a woven bag with angled cuts
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 16/930,975, claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/031,538, and claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/459,299. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim a woven bag with angled cuts. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallander (US 2013/0279833) in further view of Bannister (US 2009/0159192).
Regarding claim 1, Wallander discloses bag comprising: a front wall (Fig. 2, at 19), a back wall (Fig. 2, at 11), a first side wall (22), and a second side wall (23), each comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the back wall comprises a seam (at 17a) which comprises overlapping portions of the back wall, wherein a first end of the back wall defines a first edge and comprises a cut-out (29) extending inwardly from the first edge of the first end of the back wall, and a second end of the back wall defines a second edge and comprises a tab (Fig. 2, at 32, or at 17b) extending outwardly from the second edge of the second end of the back wall, and wherein at least one of a portion of the cut- out or a portion of the tab defines an angle between 150 and 750 with respect to the first end of the back wall. See Fig. 2. Wallander does not disclose the material as claimed.
Bannister, which is drawn to a bag, discloses each of a front wall, a back wall, a first side wall and a second side wall comprise (i) a first layer comprising a woven polymer ([0037]) and (ii) a second layer (7 or 8) comprising a polymer film. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have the walls of Wallander be as disclosed by Bannister in order to have strong yet flexible bag.
Regarding claim 2, the first side wall comprises a first front side wall (front of gusset) and a first back side wall (back of gusset) that connect a first side of the front wall to a first side of the back wall and the second side wall comprises a second front side wall and a second back side wall that connect a second side of the front wall to a second side of the back wall. See Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 3, Wallander does not disclose a step configuration. Bannister discloses a first end of a bag comprising a step cut configuration (Fig. 3) formed from the first end of each of the first front side wall and the second front side wall extending farther than the first end of the front wall, the first end of each of the first back side wall and the second back side wall extending farther than the first end of each of the first front side wall and the second front side wall, and the first end of the back wall extending farther than the first end of each of the first back side wall and the second back side wall, and the step cut configuration having a plurality of connections, each connection of the plurality of connections being formed to extend between and to connect one of: a first edge of the back wall, the first edge of the first back side wall, a first edge of the first front side wall, and a first edge of the front wall with a respective second edge of the back wall, second edge of the first back side wall, and second edge of the first front side wall. See Figs. 3-4A. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have a step configuration on the bag of Wallander, as disclosed by Bannister, in order to facilitate the folding of portions of the bag.
Regarding claim 4, as modified above, a first connection of the plurality of connections (Fig. 4, at 4A) has a first height and a second connection of the plurality of connections (Fig. 4, at 4B) has a second height, the first height being different from the second height. See Bannister, Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 5, Bannister discloses the claimed invention except for the differing widths. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have a width of the first front side wall differ from a width of the first back side wall, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 7, as modified above, the first layer comprises polypropylene, high density polyethylene, low density polyethylene, polyester, or any combination thereof. See Bannister, [0037].
Regarding claim 8, as modified above, the second layer comprises polypropylene, polyethylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polyamide, or a combination thereof or paper. See Bannister, [0037].
Regarding claim 9, Wallander, as modified above, discloses a bag comprising: a front wall (Fig. 2, at 19), a back wall (Fig. 2, at 11), a first side wall (22), and a second side wall (23), each comprising a first end and a second end, wherein a first portion of the back wall overlaps a second portion of the back wall to form a seam (at 17a), the first end of the back wall defining a first edge, and the second end of the back wall defining a second edge, wherein the first end of the back wall includes a cut-out portion (29) proximal to the seam and extending inwardly from the first edge of the first end of the back wall, and the second end of the back wall includes a tab portion (Fig. 2, at 32, or at 17b) proximal to the seam and extending outwardly from the second edge of the second end of the back wall, wherein at least one of the first end or the second end of the back wall includes a connection (at 12b, or 32) extending between and connecting the first edge and the cut-out portion or extending between and connecting the second edge and the tab portion, and wherein each of the front wall, back wall, first side wall and second side wall comprise (i) a first layer comprising a woven polymer and (ii) a second layer comprising a polymer film (Bannister, [[0037]).
Regarding claim 10, the first side wall comprises a first front side wall and a first back side wall that connect a first side of the front wall to a first side of the back wall and the second side wall comprises a second front side wall and a second back side wall that connect a second side of the front wall to a second side of the back wall. See Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 11, Bannister discloses the claimed invention except for the differing widths. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have a width of the first front side wall differ from a width of the first back side wall, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 12, as modified above, the first end of the bag comprises a step cut configuration formed from the first end of each of the first front side wall and the second front side wall extending farther than the first end of the front wall, the first end of each of the first back side wall and the second back side wall extending farther than the first end of each of the first front side wall and the second front side wall, and the first end of the back wall extending farther than the first end of each of the first back side wall and the second back side wall, and the step cut configuration having a plurality of connections, each connection of the plurality of connections being formed to extend between and to connect one of: the first edge of the back wall, a first edge of the first back side wall, a first edge of the first front side wall, and a first edge of the front wall with the second edge of the back wall, a second edge of the first back side wall, and a second edge of the first front side wall, wherein the plurality of connections comprise a first curved connection having a first radius and a second curved connection having a second radius, and wherein the first radius differs from the second radius. See Bannister, Figs. 3-4A.
Claim(s) 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallander and Bannister as applied above in further view of Rogers (US 2009/0148081).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Bannister does not disclose an opening as claimed. Rogers, which is drawn to a bag, discloses an easy open or easy access feature (28), the easy open or easy access features comprising a weakened area. See Figs. 1-2. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use an easy open feature as disclosed by Rogers on the bag of Bannister in order to facilitate access to contents within the bag.
Claim(s) 14-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (US 3,508,701) in further view of Bannister (US 2009/0159192).
Regarding claim 14, Saito discloses a bag comprising: a front wall (2), a back wall (3), a first side wall (4), and a second side wall (5), each comprising a first end and a second end; wherein the first side wall comprises a first front side wall and a first back side wall that connect a first side of the front wall to a first side of the back wall and the second side wall comprises a second front side wall and a second back side wall that connect a second side of the front wall to a second side of the back wall; wherein the first end of the bag comprises a step cut configuration (Fig. 1, at 6-11) formed from the first end of each of the first front side wall and the second front side wall extending farther than the first end of the front wall, the first end of each of the first back side wall and the second back side wall extending farther than the first end of each of the first front side wall and the second front side wall, and the first end of the back wall extending farther than the first end of each of the first back side wall and the second back side wall, the step cut configuration having a plurality of connections, each connection of the plurality of connections being formed to extend between and to connect one of: a first edge of the back wall, a first edge of the first back side wall, a first edge of the first front side wall, and a first edge of the front wall with a respective second edge of the back wall, second edge of the first back side wall, and second edge of the first front side wall; wherein each of the plurality of connections define an angle between 15° and 75° with respect to the first end of the front wall; and wherein a first angle of the plurality of connections differs from a second angle of the of the plurality of connections. See above, and Fig. 1. Saito does not disclose the material as claimed.
Bannister, which is drawn to a bag, discloses each of a front wall, a back wall, a first side wall and a second side wall comprise (i) a first layer comprising a woven polymer ([0037]) and (ii) a second layer (7 or 8) comprising a polymer film. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have the walls of Saito be as disclosed by Bannister in order to have strong yet flexible bag.
Regarding claims 15-17, 19 and 20, Saito, as modified above, sufficiently discloses the claimed invention. See Fig. 1.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito and Bannister as applied above in further view of Rogers (US 2009/0148081).
Regarding claim 18, Bannister does not disclose an opening as claimed. Rogers, which is drawn to a bag, discloses an easy open or easy access feature (28), the easy open or easy access features comprising a weakened area. See Figs. 1-2. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use an easy open feature as disclosed by Rogers on the bag of Bannister in order to facilitate access to contents within the bag.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEREK J BATTISTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734