Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 24-31 of U.S. Patent No. 11,472,622, claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 10,759,585, claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,801,987, claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,240,675, claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 9,669,983, and claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,234,075. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim a woven bag with angled cuts
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 16/930,975, claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/031,538, and claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/459,299. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim a woven bag with angled cuts. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bannister (US 2009/0159192).
Regarding claim 1, Bannister discloses a bag comprising: a front wall (21), a back wall (21), a first side wall (23A, 23B), and a second side wall (other 23A, 23B), each comprising a first end and a second end; wherein the back wall comprises a seam (24A) which comprises overlapping portions of the back wall, wherein a first end of the seam comprises a cut-out (top of 23A) and a second end of the seam comprises a tab (bottom of 23A), and wherein at least one of the cut-out or the tab is cut at a linear angle between 15° and 75° (Fig. 4A) with respect to the first end of the back wall; and wherein each of the front wall, the back wall, the first side wall and the second side wall comprise (i) a first layer comprising a woven polymer ([0037]) and (ii) a second layer (7 or 8) comprising a polymer film. See Figs. 1-4A.
Regarding claim 2, the first side wall comprises a first front side wall (23A) and a first back side wall (23B) that connect a first side of the front wall to a first side of the back wall and the second side wall comprises a second front side wall and a second back side wall that connect a second side of the front wall to a second side of the back wall. See Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 3, a first end of the bag comprises a step cut configuration (Fig. 3) formed from the first end of each of the first front side wall and the second front side wall extending farther than the first end of the front wall, the first end of each of the first back side wall and the second back side wall extending farther than the first end of each of the first front side wall and the second front side wall, and the first end of the back wall extending farther than the first end of each of the first back side wall and the second back side wall, and the step cut configuration having a plurality of connections, each connection of the plurality of connections being formed to extend between and to connect one of: a first edge of the back wall, a first edge of the first back side wall, a first edge of the first front side wall, and a first edge of the front wall with a respective second edge of the back wall, second edge of the first back side wall, and second edge of the first front side wall. See Figs. 3-4A.
Regarding claim 4, a first connection of the plurality of connections (Fig. 4, at 4A) has a first height and a second connection of the plurality of connections (Fig. 4, at 4B) has a second height, the first height being different from the second height. See Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 7, the first layer comprises polypropylene, high density polyethylene, low density polyethylene, polyester, or any combination thereof. See [0037].
Regarding claim 8, the second layer comprises polypropylene, polyethylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polyamide, or a combination thereof or paper. See [0037].
Regarding claim 9, Bannister discloses a bag comprising: a front wall, a back wall, a first side wall, and a second side wall, each comprising a first end and a second end; wherein the first side wall comprises a first front side wall and a first back side wall that connect a first side of the front wall to a first side of the back wall and the second side wall comprises a second front side wall and a second back side wall that connect a second side of the front wall to a second side of the back wall; wherein each of the front wall, back wall, first side wall and second side wall comprise (i) a first layer comprising a woven polymer and (ii) a second layer comprising a polymer film; wherein a first end of the bag comprises a step cut configuration formed from the first end of each of the first front side wall and the second front side wall extending farther than the first end of the front wall, the first end of each of the first back side wall and the second back side wall extending farther than the first end of each of the first front side wall and the second front side wall, and the first end of the back wall extending farther than the first end of each of the first back side wall and the second back side wall, and the step cut configuration having a plurality of connections, each connection of the plurality of connections being formed to extend between and to connect one of: a first edge of the back wall, a first edge of the first back side wall, a first edge of the first front side wall, and a first edge of the front wall with a respective second edge of the back wall, second edge of the first back side wall, and second edge of the first front side wall; wherein the plurality of connections comprise a first curved connection having a first radius and a second curved connection having a second radius; and wherein the first radius differs from the second radius. See above, and Figs. 1-4A.
Regarding claim 10, the first curved connection and the second curved connection are adjacent the first side wall. See Figs. 3-4A.
Regarding claim 12, the first curved connection and the second curved connection are adjacent the second side wall. See Figs. 3-4A.
Regarding claim 14, Bannister discloses a bag comprising: a front wall, a back wall, a first side wall, and a second side wall, each comprising a first end and a second end; wherein the first side wall comprises a first front side wall and a first back side wall that connect a first side of the front wall to a first side of the back wall and the second side wall comprises a second front side wall and a second back side wall that connect a second side of the front wall to a second side of the back wall; wherein each of the front wall, back wall, first side wall and second side wall comprise (i) a first layer comprising a woven polymer and (ii) a second layer comprising a polymer film; wherein the first end of the bag comprises a step cut configuration formed from the first end of each of the first front side wall and the second front side wall extending farther than the first end of the front wall, the first end of each of the first back side wall and the second back side wall extending farther than the first end of each of the first front side wall and the second front side wall, and the first end of the back wall extending farther than the first end of each of the first back side wall and the second back side wall, the step cut configuration having a plurality of connections, each connection of the plurality of connections being formed to extend between and to connect one of: a first edge of the back wall, a first edge of the first back side wall, a first edge of the first front side wall, and a first edge of the front wall with a respective second edge of the back wall, second edge of the first back side wall, and second edge of the first front side wall; wherein the plurality of connections comprise a first linear, angled connection and a second linear, angled connection, each having an angle between 15° and 75° with respect to the first end of the front wall; and wherein a first angle of the first linear, angled connection differs from a second angle of the second linear, angled connection. See above, and Figs. 1-4A.
Regarding claim 15, the first linear, angled cut and the second linear, angled cut are adjacent the first side wall. See Figs. 3-4A.
Regarding claim 16, the first linear, angled cut and the second linear, angled cut are adjacent the second side wall. See Figs. 3-4A.
Regarding claim 17, a first connection of the plurality of connections (Fig. 4, at 4A) has a first height and a second connection of the plurality of connections (Fig. 4, at 4B) has a second height, the first height being different from the second height. See Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 19, the first layer comprises polypropylene, high density polyethylene, low density polyethylene, polyester, or any combination thereof. See [0037].
Regarding claim 20, the second layer comprises polypropylene, polyethylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polyamide, or a combination thereof or paper. See [0037].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bannister as applied above.
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Bannister discloses the claimed invention except for the differing widths. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have a width of the first front side wall differ from a width of the first back side wall, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bannister as applied above in further view of Rogers (US 2009/0148081).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 18, Bannister does not disclose an opening as claimed. Rogers, which is drawn to a bag, discloses an easy open or easy access feature (28), the easy open or easy access features comprising a weakened area. See Figs. 1-2. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use an easy open feature as disclosed by Rogers on the bag of Bannister in order to facilitate access to contents within the bag.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited.
/DEREK J BATTISTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734