CTNF 19/031,029 CTNF 86258 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 8, 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2007/0188646), hereinafter referenced as Kobayashi . Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a digital camera comprising: a camera body having a front surface and a rear surface (figure 2B shows a front surface of a camera body, it is apparent that there is also a rear surface); an imaging element that captures an object image (figure 1 exhibits CCD12 as disclosed at paragraph 40); a grip portion that is provided at any one of a left end or a right end in a case where the camera body is viewed from the front surface (figure 2B shows an area on the left side of the camera beside the lens where the camera can be gripped to operate the dial 22b); a first member that is provided near the grip portion and on an upper surface side of the camera body (figure 2B exhibits dial 22b on the upper surface of the camera body near the grip portion as disclosed at paragraph 47); a display that is disposed on the rear surface of the camera body and displays a captured image obtained by capturing the object image with the imaging element (figure 14 shows display 13 which displays captured images as disclosed at paragraph 91); and a processor (figure 1 exhibits CPU 2 as disclosed at paragraph 37), wherein the processor is configured to, upon operation of the first member, hide at least a portion of a first captured image displayed on the display, and display on the display a second captured image different from the first captured image (figure 14 exhibits ST54 wherein an image is partially hidden as other images are displayed as disclosed at paragraph 92). Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi discloses the digital camera according to claim 1, in addition, Kobayashi discloses wherein the second captured image is an image captured before the first captured image is captured (paragraph 68 teaches that images P1-P4 are captured after the currently captured image R), and the processor is configured to: in a case where the camera body is viewed from above and the first member is rotated, change the displayed first captured image to the second captured image (figure 14 ST53-ST55 shows that as image R is taken off the display, images P1 and P2 are displayed as disclosed at paragraph 92). Regarding claim 8, Kobayashi discloses the digital camera according to claim 1, in addition, Kobayashi discloses wherein the second captured image is an image captured before the first captured image is captured (paragraph 68 teaches that images P1-P4 are captured after the currently captured image R), and the processor is configured to: in a case where the camera body is viewed from above and the first member is rotated clockwise, change the displayed second captured image to the first captured image (paragraph 59 teaches that a clockwise rotation changes images from past to present). Regarding claim 9, Kobayashi discloses the digital camera according to claim 1, in addition, Kobayashi discloses wherein a plurality of captured images are displayed on the display, and the processor is configured to: in a case where the first member is operated once, hide a captured image disposed at one end of the displayed captured images, and display, on the display, a captured image disposed immediately before the captured image disposed at the other end of the displayed captured images (figure 5exhibits step ST3 in which the captured image is hidden from the right side of the display and the next image captured before the captured image on the left is displayed on the left side of the display as disclosed at paragraph 61). Regarding claim 11, Kobayashi discloses the digital camera according to claim 1, in addition, Kobayashi discloses wherein the processor is configured to change a replacement amount of the displayed captured images according to an operation amount of the first member (paragraph 62 teaches that an image is changed for each rotation). Regarding claim 12, Kobayashi discloses the digital camera according to claim 1, in addition, Kobayashi digital camera according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to change a replacement speed of the displayed captured images according to an operation amount of the first member (paragraph 62 teaches that the replacement speed changes based on the rotation speed). Regarding claim 13, Kobayashi discloses the digital camera according to claim 1, in addition, Kobayashi discloses wherein the processor is configured to set a captured image feed operation assigned to the operation of the first member based on an input operation (figure 5 shows that when the dial is operated at step ST2 the camera transitions to a reproducing mode in which images are displayed by rotating the dial as disclosed at paragraph 58) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Terane et al. (United States Patent 6,538,698), hereinafter referenced as Terane . Regarding claim 10, Kobayashi discloses the digital camera according to claim 1, in addition, Kobayashi discloses wherein a plurality of captured images are displayed on the display (). However, Kobayashi fails to disclose the processor is configured to: in a case where the first member is operated once, hide all of the plurality of captured images displayed on the display, and display, on the display, captured images from a captured image disposed immediately before the captured image disposed at the other end of the displayed captured images, up to a captured image disposed the number of the plurality of images positions before that end. Terane is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Terane teaches a method of displaying images wherein the motivation of allowing a user to quickly scroll through images without skipping the display of any images would have prompted a predictable variation of Kobayashi by applying Terane’s known principal of in a case where a member is operated once, hide all of the plurality of captured images displayed on the display, and display, on the display, captured images from a captured image disposed immediately before the captured image disposed at the other end of the displayed captured images, up to a captured image disposed the number of the plurality of images positions before that end (figures 6A, 6D and 6E show wherein in response to a single operation all images are cleared off of a display and the next consecutive images are displayed as disclosed at column 8 lines 26-55). When applying this known technique to Kobayashi in view jumping a plurality of images is performed by a single step movement of the dial at a high speed (paragraph 62), it would have been obvious to change the entire set of displayed images as taught by Terane in response to a fast turn of the dial. In view of the motivations such as allowing a user to quickly scroll through images without skipping the display of any images one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Kobayashi. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Misawa (Japanese Patent Publication 2002-064738). All text citations refer to the attached translation . Regarding claim 14, Kobayashi discloses the digital camera according to claim 1, however, Kobayashi fails to disclose wherein, in a case where an upper surface of the camera body faces upward in a vertical direction, a length of the imaging element in the vertical direction is larger than a length of the imaging element in a horizontal direction. Misawa is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Misawa teaches a camera wherein the motivation of allowing a user to capture images in a vertical format without having to shift their grip on the camera would have prompted a predictable variation of Kobayashi by applying Misawa’s known principal of in a case where an upper surface of the camera body faces upward in a vertical direction, a length of the imaging element in the vertical direction is larger than a length of the imaging element in a horizontal direction (figure 8 shows a configuration of the camera where the sensor is longer in the vertical direction as disclosed at page 9 lines 5-10 “the CCD 56 is set at the vertically long position”). In view of the motivations such as allowing a user to capture images in a vertical format without having to shift their grip on the camera one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Kobayashi. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Ogino (United States Patent Application Publication 2007/0182839) . Regarding claim 17, Kobayashi discloses the digital camera according to claim 1, in addition, Kobayashi discloses a sixth member that is disposed along a first axis (figure 5 exhibits shutter button 24). However, Kobayashi fails to disclose wherein the first member is disposed between the camera body and the sixth member. Ogino is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Ogino teaches a user interface for a camera wherein the motivation of improving operability by reducing the movement of fingers required to operate the camera would have prompted a predictable variation of Kobayashi by applying Ogino’s known principal of including in a dial between a shutter button and the camera body (figure 1 exhibits shutter button 14 as disclosed at paragraph 26, figure 1 shows that the dial is between the shutter button and the camera body). In view of the motivations such as improving operability by reducing the movement of fingers required to operate the camera one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Kobayashi. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura (United States Patent Application Publication 2006/0280495) in view of Ogino (United States Patent Application Publication 2007/0182839) . Regarding claim 24, Okamura discloses a dial of a digital camera, the dial comprising: a member related to an operation of a power supply (figure 1 exhibits switch 33 for controlling the power as disclosed at paragraph 34); a member for an operation related to image display (figure 1 exhibits dial 32 which controls the image display mode as disclosed at paragraph 34). However, Okamura fails to disclose a member for an operation related to camera settings, and a member related to an imaging instruction operation that are disposed along a first axis. Ogino is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Ogino teaches a user interface for a camera wherein the motivation of improving operability by reducing the movement of fingers required to operate the camera would have prompted a predictable variation of Okamura by applying Ogino’s known principal of including in a dial with four members (figure 1 exhibits a dial with dial 15, button 14, and switches 16 and 17) a member for an operation related to camera settings (figure 1 exhibits switch 17 which is related to a camera capture setting as disclosed at paragraph 29), and a member related to an imaging instruction operation (figure 1 exhibits shutter button 14 as disclosed at paragraph 26) that are disposed along a first axis (figure 1 exhibits a dial with dial 15, button 14, and switches 16 and 17 disposed along a first axis running through the shutter button 14). In view of the motivations such as improving operability by reducing the movement of fingers required to operate the camera one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Okamura. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 18-23 are allowed. Claim 18 is allowable because the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest a dial of a digital camera, the dial comprising: a first member; a second member that is operatively associated with the first member; a third member that is engaged with the second member; a fourth member that is related to an operation of a power supply; and wherein in a case where the fourth member is at a power-off position, a protruding portion of the second member and a recessed portion of the third member are fitted to each other to lock the first member at a first position, and in a case where the fourth member is at a power-on position, the third member is rotated in operative association with a rotation of the fourth member in a first direction, the protruding portion and the recessed portion are disengaged from each other to rotate the first member to a second position along the first direction and the disengagement is maintained by the biasing member, in combination with the other elements of the claim. The closest prior art of record, Ogino discloses a dial with four members while Okamura discloses a dial associated with a power function. However, the combination fails to teach or suggest “in a case where the fourth member is at a power-off position, a protruding portion of the second member and a recessed portion of the third member are fitted to each other to lock the first member at a first position, and in a case where the fourth member is at a power-on position, the third member is rotated in operative association with a rotation of the fourth member in a first direction, the protruding portion and the recessed portion are disengaged from each other to rotate the first member to a second position along the first direction and the disengagement is maintained by the biasing member” as currently claimed. Claims 19-23 are allowable due to their dependence on claim 1. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3-7, 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 3 is objected to because the prior art of record fails to teach or in a case where the power supply is in an off state and the camera body is viewed from above, the first member is at a first position where the first member does not protrude from an outer shape of the camera body, and in a case where the power supply is switched from the off state to an on state and the camera body is viewed from above, the first member moves to a second position where the first member protrudes from the outer shape of the camera body, in combination with the other elements of the claim and claim 1 from which it is dependent. The closest prior art of record Kobayashi disclose the camera of claim 1, however, the first member disclosed by Kobayashi is incapable of both protruding and not protruding from the outer shape of the camera body when viewed from above and therefore fails to teach or suggest “in a case where the power supply is in an off state and the camera body is viewed from above, the first member is at a first position where the first member does not protrude from an outer shape of the camera body, and in a case where the power supply is switched from the off state to an on state and the camera body is viewed from above, the first member moves to a second position where the first member protrudes from the outer shape of the camera body” as currently claimed. Claims 4-7 are objected to due to their dependence on claim 3. Claim 15 is objected to because the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest in a case where the camera body is viewed from above and the first member is rotated to a third position where the first member protrudes from an outer shape of the camera body, a restriction on the imaging instruction operation is released, in combination with the other elements of the claim and claim 1 from which it is dependent. The closest prior art of record, Kobayashi discloses an imaging device as claimed in claim 1, however, Kobayashi fails to disclose releasing an imaging restriction based on the first member extending from the camera body and therefore fails to teach or suggest “in a case where the camera body is viewed from above and the first member is rotated to a third position where the first member protrudes from an outer shape of the camera body, a restriction on the imaging instruction operation is released” as currently claimed. Claim 16 is objected to due to its dependence on claim 15. Citation of Pertinent Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tadano et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0086349) discloses an interface for a camera. Ikeda et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0127047) discloses an interface for a camera. Tokiwa et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0314350) discloses an interface for a camera. Matsuzaka et al. (United States Patent 7,630,021) discloses an interface for displaying images. Shiohara (United States Patent Application Publication 2007/0201858) discloses an interface for a camera. Shiohara (United States Patent Application Publication 2005/0237410) discloses an interface for a camera. Anderson (United States Patent 6,538,698) discloses an interface for a camera . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JASON A FLOHRE whose telephone number is (571)270-7238. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:00-3:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sinh Tran can be reached at 571-272-7564. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. JASON A. FLOHRE Patent Examiner Art Unit 2637 /JASON A FLOHRE/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/031,029 Page 2 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/031,029 Page 3 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/031,029 Page 4 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/031,029 Page 5 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/031,029 Page 6 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/031,029 Page 8 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/031,029 Page 9 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/031,029 Page 10 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/031,029 Page 11 Art Unit: 2637