DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 12, 16-17, 20, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chowanic et al. (US PGPUB #2002/0128773) in view of Nordstrom (US PGPUB #2013/0027227).
Regarding Claim 1, Chowanic discloses a method (title, abstract, fig. 1) comprising:
sending a request containing one or more parameters (Chowanic fig, 1:18 and 30) for selecting one or more target locations (Chowanic fig, 1:20 and 34);
based at least in part on the request, presenting, on an electronic device, a maps interface illustrating the one or more target locations (Chowanic ¶0022 discloses other real time parameters can be weighed and can include, but are not limited to, the following data: map data such as road speed, interpreted use of roads, bridge height, road usage restrictions (weight, flammable materials, etc.), number of lanes, number of traffic lights/stop signs, etc.);
sending an identification of a target location of the one or more target locations (Chowanic ¶0029 discloses while suggested routes can be displayed with color coding, it would also be possible to provide alpha numeric ranking or suitable icons for identifying suggested alternate routes);
presenting a graphical interface of the target location including information about target location (Chowanic ¶0029 discloses multiple alternate routes may be displayed in graphical form).
Chowanic may not explicitly disclose presenting a graphical interface of the target location including information about target location, statistics corresponding to the target location and communication methods for communicating with the target location; sending a request to communicate with the target location by one of the communication methods; and configuring communication via the one of the communication methods between the target location and the electronic device.
However, Nordstrom (title, abstract, figs. 1-13) teaches presenting a graphical interface of the target location including information about target location, statistics corresponding to the target location and communication methods for communicating with the target location (Nordstrom ¶0150 discloses a variety of written or graphic-based reports and outputs [summary and/or real time] can be generated that can include, but not be limited to maps marking the recommended Vendor positioning location(s) [i.e., target location] including information relating to the Customers in or near that location [e.g., demographic data, usage statistics, etc.]);
sending a request (Nordstrom fig. 2: steps 1000-1004) to communicate with the target location (Nordstrom fig. 2: step 1006) by one of the communication methods (Nordstrom ¶0048 discloses a field 56-5 can identify a device number associated with the corresponding vendor device 22, such as a telephone number, IP address, or other address via which the server 24 can communicate with the vendor device 22); and
configuring communication via the one of the communication methods between the target location and the electronic device (Nordstrom ¶0045 discloses a field 54-11 can identify a number associated with the corresponding user device 16, such as a telephone number, IP address, or other address via which the server 24 can communicate with the user device 16).
Chowanic and Nordstrom are analogous art as they pertain to interaction with target location. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify alternate route selection based on updated real time parameters (as taught by Chowanic) to mark maps for the recommended Vendor positioning location(s) including information relating to the Customers in or near that location (as taught by Nordstrom, ¶0150) to receive a plurality of search requests from a plurality of corresponding user devices in a region associated with a service provider, such as request data that includes a location identifier that identifies a location of the corresponding user device in the region, and one or more user search criteria like a particular type of food (Nordstrom, ¶0005).
Regarding Claim 2, Chowanic in view of Nordstrom discloses the method of claim 1. But Chowanic may not explicitly disclose further comprising: based at least in part on the request, presenting a lists interface illustrating the one or more target locations.
However, Nordstrom (title, abstract, figs. 1-13) teaches based at least in part on the request, presenting a lists interface illustrating the one or more target locations (Nordstrom ¶0118 discloses Customer's saved or 'favorite' Vendor or product category list. ¶0123 discloses the server(s) returns to the Customer a text or graphical version report(s) that can include a list of Vendors that best meet their search criteria and also a real-time map that indicates where the Vendors currently are located, as well as other information about the Vendor to assist the Customer in selecting a Vendor that best meets their search criteria or preferences. ¶0160 discloses the Customer is to select a Vendor through any means including but not limited to: Selecting the Vendor from their "Saved" list, selecting the Vendor after conducting a search for a product type in the area, etc.]. fig. 5: product data [product type, costs, cost category, menu] 56-7. ¶0299 discloses e.g., distributing information such as new specials or menu items to the Customer. ¶0433 discloses online menu).
Chowanic and Nordstrom are analogous art as they pertain to interaction with target location. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify alternate route selection based on updated real time parameters (as taught by Chowanic) to mark maps for the recommended Vendor positioning location(s) including information relating to the Customers in or near that location (as taught by Nordstrom, ¶0150) to receive a plurality of search requests from a plurality of corresponding user devices in a region associated with a service provider, such as request data that includes a location identifier that identifies a location of the corresponding user device in the region, and one or more user search criteria like a particular type of food (Nordstrom, ¶0005).
Regarding Claim 5, Chowanic in view of Nordstrom discloses the method of claim 1. But Chowanic may not explicitly disclose wherein the one of the communication methods includes a voice call.
However, Nordstrom (title, abstract, figs. 1-13) teaches wherein the one of the communication methods includes a voice call (Nordstrom ¶0191 discloses phone call).
Chowanic and Nordstrom are analogous art as they pertain to interaction with target location. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify alternate route selection based on updated real time parameters (as taught by Chowanic) to mark maps for the recommended Vendor positioning location(s) including information relating to the Customers in or near that location (as taught by Nordstrom, ¶0150) to receive a plurality of search requests from a plurality of corresponding user devices in a region associated with a service provider, such as request data that includes a location identifier that identifies a location of the corresponding user device in the region, and one or more user search criteria like a particular type of food (Nordstrom, ¶0005).
Regarding Claim 12, Chowanic in view of Nordstrom discloses the method of claim 1. But Chowanic may not explicitly disclose wherein the statistics includes a waiting time.
However, Nordstrom (title, abstract, figs. 1-13) teaches wherein the statistics includes a waiting time (Nordstrom ¶0150 discloses a variety of written or graphic-based reports and outputs [summary and/or real time] can be generated that can include, but not be limited to maps marking the recommended Vendor positioning location(s) [i.e., target location] including information relating to the Customers in or near that location [e.g., demographic data, usage statistics, etc.]. ¶0168 discloses Vendor( s) [or a Preferred Product Category] and to receive an alert [e.g., text, IM, call or other notification method] when a preferred Vendor has moved to within their local vicinity/pre-defined geographic boundary during a predefined time period in the day).
Chowanic and Nordstrom are analogous art as they pertain to interaction with target location. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify alternate route selection based on updated real time parameters (as taught by Chowanic) to mark maps for the recommended Vendor positioning location(s) including information relating to the Customers in or near that location (as taught by Nordstrom, ¶0150) to receive a plurality of search requests from a plurality of corresponding user devices in a region associated with a service provider, such as request data that includes a location identifier that identifies a location of the corresponding user device in the region, and one or more user search criteria like a particular type of food (Nordstrom, ¶0005).
Claims 16-17, 20, and 27 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in Claims 1-2, 5, and 12.
Claims 3-4, 13, 18-19, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chowanic et al. (US PGPUB #2002/0128773) in view of Nordstrom (US PGPUB #2013/0027227) further in view of Hillier (US #2013/0210393).
Regarding Claim 3, Chowanic in view of Nordstrom discloses the method of claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one of the communication methods includes a video call.
However, Hillier (title, abstract, figs. 1-13) teaches wherein the one of the communication methods includes a video call (Hillier ¶0087 discloses call can be video call).
Chowanic, Nordstrom, and Hillier are analogous art as they pertain to interaction with target location. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Chowanic in view of Nordstrom in light of the teachings of Hillier to video-chat or make audio/video call (as taught by Hillier, ¶0023) to overcome the deficiencies of the location based features, where the cell-phones do not benefit from a proximate intended target (Hillier, ¶0003).
Regarding Claim 4, Chowanic in view of Nordstrom discloses the method of claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one of the communication methods includes a chat.
However, Hillier (title, abstract, figs. 1-13) teaches wherein the one of the communication methods includes a chat (Hillier ¶0112 discloses chat).
Chowanic, Nordstrom, and Hillier are analogous art as they pertain to interaction with target location. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Chowanic in view of Nordstrom in light of the teachings of Hillier to video-chat or make audio/video call (as taught by Hillier, ¶0023) to overcome the deficiencies of the location based features, where the cell-phones do not benefit from a proximate intended target (Hillier, ¶0003).
Regarding Claim 13, Chowanic in view of Nordstrom discloses the method of claim 12, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the waiting time is an anticipated waiting time.
However, Hillier (title, abstract, figs. 1-13) teaches wherein the waiting time is an anticipated waiting time (Hillier ¶0038 discloses the intended device 102B, 102C or 102D can be anonymous, belong to a group or be an individual. A message waiting indication [MWI] is generally not provided until a qualified device 102B, 102C and 102D is identified).
Chowanic, Nordstrom, and Hillier are analogous art as they pertain to interaction with target location. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Chowanic in view of Nordstrom in light of the teachings of Hillier to video-chat or make audio/video call (as taught by Hillier, ¶0023) to overcome the deficiencies of the location based features, where the cell-phones do not benefit from a proximate intended target (Hillier, ¶0003).
Claims 18-19 and 28 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in Claims 3-4 and 13.
Claims 6-11 and 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chowanic et al. (US #2002/0128773) in view of Nordstrom (US #2013/0027227) further in view of Wagreich (US #2014/0327770).
Regarding Claim 6, Chowanic in view of Nordstrom discloses the method of claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one of the communication methods includes a video feed.
However, Wagreich (title, abstract, figs. 1-10) teaches wherein the one of the communication methods includes a video feed (Wagreich ¶0029 discloses the video feed from each of the image capture devices onboard the airborne craft is fed to its corresponding video display in the array).
Chowanic, Nordstrom, and Wagreich are analogous art as they pertain to interaction with target location. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Chowanic in view of Nordstrom in light of the teachings of Wagreich to facilitate a suitable line-of-sight [LOS] signal transmission, a repeater and/or an amplifying device can be placed at a point of high elevation atop the mountain range (as taught by Wagreich, ¶0064) to aid in the quality and strength of the signal that is being transmitted and received (Wagreich, ¶0064).
Regarding Claim 7, Chowanic in view of Nordstrom and Wagreich discloses the method of claim 6. But Chowanic in view of Nordstrom may not explicitly disclose wherein the video feed is produced by a controllable camera controllable by an interaction input.
However, Wagreich (title, abstract, figs. 1-10) teaches wherein the video feed is produced by a controllable camera controllable by an interaction input (Wagreich ¶0052 discloses the airborne, camera or image capture portion of the expanded perspective, wrap-around view, image capture and monitoring system of the invention can be attached to some part or structure of the vehicle being flown, and preferably in a location where the view is largely unobstructed by the craft for unhampered performance in collecting desirable images. ¶0064 discloses transmission repeaters or signal amplifiers can be added to the system and placed in a location or locations which are considered to improve or boost signal quality or extend the range of the UAV's operational area. ¶0066 discloses the video feed can be monitored in several locations at the same time, providing information to different operators or entities for use according to specific need. Such locations can be a command center [i.e., to interactively control] as well as a field unit, so that both can benefit, and use the information, from the live video or other feed. ¶0087 discloses the drawings only show the image capture and monitoring system, but there will also be ground or remote controls to navigate the aerial vehicle [when unmanned] so that it can be directed and flown to the desired location and orientation. Further, each of the lenses 22 on the cameras 20 can be adjustable, either manually or automatically, so that they are directed downwardly to the area to be photographed. Such adjustments can become necessary as the vehicle 16 ascends or descends so that the desired or selected area below continues to be the main focus for the cameras 20. ¶0090 discloses there is also the ability to move the aerial vehicle 16 in both direction and orientation to a selected location or position so that the image of the desired areas can be secured at the monitoring station 40).
Chowanic, Nordstrom, and Wagreich are analogous art as they pertain to interaction with target location. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Chowanic in view of Nordstrom in light of the teachings of Wagreich to facilitate a suitable line-of-sight [LOS] signal transmission, a repeater and/or an amplifying device can be placed at a point of high elevation atop the mountain range (as taught by Wagreich, ¶0064) to aid in the quality and strength of the signal that is being transmitted and received (Wagreich, ¶0064).
Regarding Claim 8, Chowanic in view of Nordstrom and Wagreich discloses the method of claim 6. But Chowanic in view of Nordstrom may not explicitly disclose wherein the video feed is produced by a moving image camera coupled to a self flying or hovering device.
However, Wagreich (title, abstract, figs. 1-10) teaches wherein the video feed is produced by a moving image camera coupled to a self flying or hovering device (Wagreich ¶0003 discloses an expanded perspective, wrap-around view, image capture and monitoring system for remote piloting of UAVs [unmanned aerial vehicles]. ¶0014 discloses by enhancing peripheral vision and affording the pilot or operator [or an individual monitoring the craft's actions if it is being flown autonomously] the ability to see what is surrounding the aircraft in all directions, more accurate control input decisions can be made with vastly improved situational awareness and obstacle avoidance capabilities. The cumulative effect further makes the craft safer and improves capability for aerial surveillance, aerial inspection, aerial mapping, transport and lifting of materiel, aerial photography or videography, and other remotely controlled UAV applications. ¶0052 discloses the airborne, camera or image capture portion of the expanded perspective, wrap-around view, image capture and monitoring system of the invention can be attached to some part or structure of the vehicle being flown, and preferably in a location where the view is largely unobstructed by the craft for unhampered performance in collecting desirable images).
Chowanic, Nordstrom, and Wagreich are analogous art as they pertain to interaction with target location. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Chowanic in view of Nordstrom in light of the teachings of Wagreich to facilitate a suitable line-of-sight [LOS] signal transmission, a repeater and/or an amplifying device can be placed at a point of high elevation atop the mountain range (as taught by Wagreich, ¶0064) to aid in the quality and strength of the signal that is being transmitted and received (Wagreich, ¶0064).
Regarding Claim 9, Chowanic in view of Nordstrom and Wagreich discloses the method of claim 6. But Chowanic in view of Nordstrom may not explicitly disclose wherein the video feed is produced by a fixed position moving image camera.
However, Wagreich (title, abstract, figs. 1-10) teaches wherein the video feed is produced by a fixed position moving image camera (Wagreich ¶0014 discloses by enhancing peripheral vision and affording the pilot or operator [or an individual monitoring the craft's actions if it is being flown autonomously] the ability to see what is surrounding the aircraft in all directions, more accurate control input decisions can be made with vastly improved situational awareness and obstacle avoidance capabilities. The cumulative effect further makes the craft safer and improves capability for aerial surveillance, aerial inspection, aerial mapping, transport and lifting of materiel, aerial photography or videography, and other remotely controlled UAV applications. ¶0052 discloses the airborne, camera or image capture portion of the expanded perspective, wrap-around view, image capture and monitoring system of the invention can be attached to some part or structure of the vehicle being flown, and preferably in a location where the view is largely unobstructed by the craft for unhampered performance in collecting desirable images).
Chowanic, Nordstrom, and Wagreich are analogous art as they pertain to interaction with target location. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Chowanic in view of Nordstrom in light of the teachings of Wagreich to facilitate a suitable line-of-sight [LOS] signal transmission, a repeater and/or an amplifying device can be placed at a point of high elevation atop the mountain range (as taught by Wagreich, ¶0064) to aid in the quality and strength of the signal that is being transmitted and received (Wagreich, ¶0064).
Regarding Claim 10, Chowanic in view of Nordstrom and Wagreich discloses the method of claim 6. But Chowanic in view of Nordstrom may not explicitly disclose wherein the video feed includes augmented reality.
However, Wagreich (title, abstract, figs. 1-10) teaches wherein the video feed includes augmented reality (Wagreich ¶0034 discloses the video feeds from the cameras or sensors are viewed using video "immersion" type goggles, or equivalent type goggles, which one or more operators may be wearing. ¶0061 discloses for example, if a UAV is being operated in an environment of reduced or even zero visibility, such as in fog or during fire-fighting operations where very thick smoke is present, the wrap-around computer generated, augmented view of surrounding terrain or obstacles will allow the pilot or operator the ability to maneuver the craft effectively and safely despite his or her inability to see any clear image using a conventional visual spectrum video feed).
Chowanic, Nordstrom, and Wagreich are analogous art as they pertain to interaction with target location. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Chowanic in view of Nordstrom in light of the teachings of Wagreich to facilitate a suitable line-of-sight [LOS] signal transmission, a repeater and/or an amplifying device can be placed at a point of high elevation atop the mountain range (as taught by Wagreich, ¶0064) to aid in the quality and strength of the signal that is being transmitted and received (Wagreich, ¶0064).
Regarding Claim 11, Chowanic in view of Nordstrom and Wagreich discloses the method of claim 6. But Chowanic in view of Nordstrom may not explicitly disclose wherein the video feed is one or more video clips captured at the target location.
However, Wagreich (title, abstract, figs. 1-10) teaches wherein the video feed is one or more video clips captured at the target location (Wagreich ¶0026 discloses the second stage is the wireless signal transmission. The video output feeds from each of the cameras or capturing devices is relayed to multiple transmitters, or alternatively, can be amalgamated by a "combiner" into a matrix which then relays this amalgamated signal to a single transmitter. ¶0033 discloses motion picture "stitching" software can optionally be utilized to "join" or make the real time output of the multiple camera feeds appear seamless as if generated by one big panoramic camera).
Chowanic, Nordstrom, and Wagreich are analogous art as they pertain to interaction with target location. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Chowanic in view of Nordstrom in light of the teachings of Wagreich to facilitate a suitable line-of-sight [LOS] signal transmission, a repeater and/or an amplifying device can be placed at a point of high elevation atop the mountain range (as taught by Wagreich, ¶0064) to aid in the quality and strength of the signal that is being transmitted and received (Wagreich, ¶0064).
Claims 21-26 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in Claims 6-11.
Claims 14-15 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chowanic et al. (US PGPUB#2002/0128773) in view of Nordstrom (US #2013/0027227) further in view of Herz (US #2010/0120450).
Regarding Claim 14, Chowanic in view of Nordstrom and Wagreich discloses the method of claim 1. But Chowanic in view of Nordstrom may not explicitly disclose wherein the statistics includes seating availability.
However, Herz (title, abstract, figs. 1-15) teaches wherein the statistics includes seating availability (Herz ¶0078 discloses the user of the device may, for instance, view a seating wait time icon 530 that displays the estimated wait time before being seated).
Chowanic, Nordstrom, and Herz are analogous art as they pertain to interaction with target location. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Chowanic in view of Nordstrom in light of the teachings of Herz to display the location-specific content on the mobile device (as taught by Herz, ¶0079) without the restriction of installing the application on the device (Herz, ¶0004).
Regarding Claim 15, Chowanic in view of Nordstrom and Wagreich discloses the method of claim 1. But Chowanic in view of Nordstrom may not explicitly disclose wherein the graphical interface includes a reservation option.
However, Herz (title, abstract, figs. 1-15) teaches wherein the graphical interface includes a reservation option (Herz ¶0078 discloses this can be displayed, for instance, where a user of the device provides a PIN, telephone number, or other identification information to a restaurant hostess, or alternatively, identifies that the user is waiting electronically using the mobile device. ¶0078 discloses the received content is available, e.g., presented on a display of the mobile device 620, while the device is within the range of the WAP. The content can be presented, for example, by the mobile device [e.g., mobile device 100] operating in conjunction with graphical user interface instructions [ e.g., GUI instructions 356 of fig. 3] along with a touch screen [e.g., touch screen 346 of fig. 3] and/or an audio subsystem [e.g., audio subsystem 326 of fig. 3]. The presentation of the content can be based upon user input received using the touch screen user interface).
Chowanic, Nordstrom, and Herz are analogous art as they pertain to interaction with target location. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Chowanic in view of Nordstrom in light of the teachings of Herz to display the location-specific content on the mobile device (as taught by Herz, ¶0079) without the restriction of installing the application on the device (Herz, ¶0004).
Claims 29-30 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in Claims 14-15.
Conclusion
/YOGESHKUMAR PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691