DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11808543, and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12259211. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claim limitations claimed by claims 21-40 of instant application are being disclosed by 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11808543, and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12259211.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 recites the claim limitation “the first lower power cable and the second lower power cable positioned vertically above the firing plane” and claim 32 recites the claim limitation “a pair of lower power cables positioned above the firing plane.” A thorough search of the specification fails to support these claimed limitations. [0014] of the spec discloses “The first lower power cable extends vertically below the firing plane… The second lower power cable extends vertically below the firing plane.” [0016] of the spec discloses “the first lower power cable extending vertically below the firing plane… the second lower power cable extending vertically below the firing plane.”
Claims 21-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the claim limitation “the first lower power cable and the second lower power cable positioned vertically above the firing plane” and claim 32 recites the claim limitation “a pair of lower power cables positioned above the firing plane.” As being illustrated above, these claim limitations are not being supported by the specification, rendering these claim limitations indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23, 26-28 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rob [The Modern Crossbow: A Beginners Guide, https://blog.cheaperthandirt.com/modern-crossbow-beginners-guide/, published on August 2, 2012, evidenced by The Modern Crossbow_ A Beginners Guide - The Shooter's Log.pdf], in view of Kempf et al. [US9759509], hereinafter Kempf.
Regarding claim 21, Rob discloses a crossbow (Figure on p. 1), comprising:
a center rail defining a firing plane; a riser mounted to the center rail; a first upper flexible limb coupled to the riser and positioned to a first side of the center rail; a first lower flexible limb coupled to the riser and positioned to the first side of the center rail, the first lower flexible limb positioned vertically below the first upper flexible limb; a second upper flexible limb coupled to the riser and positioned to a second side of the center rail; a second lower flexible limb coupled to the riser and positioned to the second side of the center rail, the second lower flexible limb positioned vertically below the second upper flexible limb; a first cam assembly rotatably coupled to the first upper flexible limb and the first lower flexible limb; a second cam assembly rotatably coupled to the second upper flexible limb and the second lower flexible limb; a draw string movable between a released configuration and a drawn configuration, the draw string coupled to the first cam assembly and the second cam assembly (All as labeled in the figure).
However, Rob does not explicitly disclose a pair of upper power cables including a first upper power cable coupled to the first cam assembly and a second upper power cable coupled to the second cam assembly, the first upper power cable and the second upper power cable positioned vertically above the firing plane; and a pair of lower power cables including a first lower power cable coupled to the first cam assembly and a second lower power cable coupled to the second cam assembly, the first lower power cable and the second lower power cable positioned vertically below the firing plane.
Nevertheless, Kempf teaches in a like invention, a pair of upper power cables including a first upper power cable coupled to the first cam assembly and a second upper power cable coupled to the second cam assembly, the first upper power cable and the second upper power cable positioned vertically above the firing plane; and a pair of lower power cables including a first lower power cable coupled to the first cam assembly and a second lower power cable coupled to the second cam assembly, the first lower power cable and the second lower power cable positioned vertically below the firing plane (claim 4, “a first upper cable post extends from a first side of the rail, above a plane of said first and second cams, a first lower cable post extends from the first side of the rail below said plane of said first and second cams”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the crossbow disclosed by Rob, to have the pair of upper power cables and the pair of lower power cables, as taught by Kempf, in order to make it more stable to have the projectile in between when aiming at the target.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, the combination of Rob and Kempf discloses the crossbow of claim 21, wherein the first upper flexible limb and the first lower flexible limb include a fixed end coupled to the riser and a free end, wherein the first cam assembly is coupled to the free end of the first upper flexible limb and the free end of the first lower flexible limb (Rob, the figure).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Rob and Kempf discloses the crossbow of claim 21, wherein the first cam assembly includes a first upper string guide defining an upper path and a first lower string guide defining a lower path; wherein, during operation of the crossbow as the draw string moves from the released configuration to the drawn configuration, the first upper power cable winds about the first upper string guide along the upper path; and wherein, during operation of the crossbow as the draw string moves from the released configuration to the drawn configuration, the first lower power cable winds about the first lower string guide along the lower path (Kempf, col. 5, lines 11-18, “With reference to FIGS. 6-9, when the launch string 22 is drawn from an at rest position to a ready to fire position, the first cam 18 rotates in a first direction, and the second cam 20 rotates in a second direction. As the cams 18 and 20 rotate, the launch string 22 is unwound from the first and second launch string tracks 19 and 21. Simultaneously, the cables 44 and 46 wind into the upper 40 and 42 and lower 41 and 43 cable tracks of the first 18 and second 20 cams.”).
Regarding claims 27 and 28, the combination of Rob and Kempf discloses the crossbow of claim 21, wherein the first upper power cable is coupled to the second upper flexible limb, wherein the second upper power cable is coupled to the first upper flexible limb, wherein the first lower power cable is coupled to the second lower flexible limb, wherein the second lower power cable is coupled to the first lower flexible limb (Kempf, col. 4, lines 40-54, “The first cam 18 includes a first launch string track 19, a first cam upper cable track 40, a first cam launch string post 61, a first cam boss 34, and a first cam lower cable track 41. The second cam 20 includes a second launch string track 21, a second cam upper cable track 42, a second cam launch string post 63, a second cam boss 35, and a second cam lower cable track 43. The first and second cam bosses 34, 35 preferably have a round diameter. A first end of the launch string 22 is retained by the first cam launch string post 61, a portion of the span of the launch string 22 at least partially wraps the first cam 18 in the first cam launch string track 19, a portion of the span of the launch string 22 at least partially wraps the second cam 20 in the second cam launch string track 21, and a second end of the bowstring 22 is retained by the second cam launch string post 63”).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Rob and Kempf discloses the crossbow of claim 21. However, the combination of Rob and Kempf does not explicitly disclose wherein the first cam assembly and the second cam assembly are configured such that when the draw string is in the drawn configuration, an included angle of the draw string to a respective tangent point of the first cam assembly and the second cam assembly is about 3 degrees to about 7 degrees.
Kempf discloses a preferred condition of an included angle of the draw string and also discloses that lunching device can also function without the preferred condition (col. 5, lines 40-43, “It is also preferable that the cables 44, 45, 46 be parallel to the launch string 22. However, the projectile launching device 1 will function satisfactory without the parallel conditions”). It appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the crossbow of combination of Rob and Kempf to have an included angle of the draw string as claimed in claim 31, as it involves only adjusting the variable disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the crossbow of combination of Rob and Kempf by making the included angle of the draw string as claimed in claim 31 as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 24, 25, 29, 30 and 32-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rob, in view of Kempf, further in view of Yehle [US20180321011].
Regarding claims 24 and 25, the combination of Rob and Kempf discloses the crossbow of claim 21. However, the combination of Rob and Kempf does not disclose the crossbow further comprising: a string carrier slidably engaged with the center rail and movable between a first position and a second position, wherein: in the first position, the string carrier is configured to selectively engage the draw string with the draw string in the released configuration, and in the second position, the string carrier is configured to selectively retain the draw string in the drawn configuration, wherein the string carrier is positioned underneath the first upper power cable and the second upper power cable with the string carrier in the first position.
Nevertheless, Yehle teaches in a like invention, a string carrier slidably engaged with the center rail and movable between a first position and a second position, wherein: in the first position, the string carrier is configured to selectively engage the draw string with the draw string in the released configuration, and in the second position, the string carrier is configured to selectively retain the draw string in the drawn configuration, wherein the string carrier is positioned underneath the first upper power cable and the second upper power cable with the string carrier in the first position ([0089], “As will be discussed herein, the string carrier 480 slides along the center rail 402 toward the riser 404 to engage the draw string 501 while it is in a released configuration (see e.g., FIG. 21A)”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the crossbow disclosed by the combination of Rob and Kempf, to have the string carrier, as taught by Yehle, in order to control the movement of the string along the center rail to increase the accuracy of the shooting.
Regarding claims 29 and 30, please refer to the claim rejections of claims 24 and 25.
Regarding claims 32-34, please refer to the claim rejections of claims 21, and 24-28.
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Rob, Kempf and Yehle discloses the crossbow of claim 34, wherein the upper path includes a helical path (Yehle, [0064], “As the first attachment points 106 rotate in direction 120, the power cables 102 are wrapped or wound onto cams 126A, 126B (“126”) with helical journals 122A, 122B (“122”), preferably located at the respective axles 110. The helical journals 122 take up excess slack in the power cables 102 resulting from the string guides 104 moving toward each other in direction 124 as the axles 110 move toward each other”).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Rob, Kempf and Yehle discloses the crossbow of claim 34, further comprising: a scope mount defining an opening, wherein the first upper power cable extends through the opening (Yehle, Figs. 13A and 13B).
Regarding claims 37, please refer to the claim rejection of claim 31.
Regarding claims 38-40, please refer to the claim rejections of claims 21, 24-28 and 36.
Conclusion
/YINGCHUAN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711