DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-9 and 31-36 in the reply filed on 8/24/26 is acknowledged.
Please note: Claim 37 was elected, however it is directed to an embodiment that is not elected (i.e. Figure 24. Figure 24 shows the collar insert “1719”. Therefore, claim 37 has been withdrawn.
Claims 15-18 and 37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least one of the plurality of jaws includes a third plurality of thread segments engageable with the second plurality of thread segments” (as claimed in claim 34) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 31-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim recites “wherein at least one of the plurality of jaws includes a third plurality of thread segments engageable with the second plurality of thread segments”. There is no disclosure of the jaws having threading thus the claim limitation is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muller (DE 3604927).
Regarding claims 1 and 34, as best understood, Muller discloses a chuck assembly (1) for a rotary power tool, the chuck assembly comprising: a chuck body rotatable about a central axis, the chuck body including a plurality of slots/jaw guide (9); a plurality of jaws (2), each of the jaws movable along a respective one of the slots toward and away from the central axis (figures 1 & 2 and English translation paragraph 12); and a collar (6) coupled to the plurality of jaws (2), wherein the collar is selectively engageable with at least one of a group consisting of the chuck body and the plurality of jaws such that, when engaged, the plurality of jaws is movable along the plurality of slots in response to rotation of the collar (figures 1 and 5 & English translation paragraphs 12 and 15), wherein the collar is rotatable relative to the chuck body from an engaged orientation to a disengaged orientation to disengage the collar (figures 1 and 5 & English translation paragraph 15), and wherein the collar is movable relative to the chuck body along the central axis, without rotating the collar, when the collar is in the disengaged orientation (English translation paragraph 12).
Regarding claim 2, Muller discloses wherein each of the slots is oriented at an oblique angle relative to the central axis (figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Muller discloses wherein the jaws (2) are movable along the slots (9) in response to movement of the collar along the central axis (English translation paragraph 12).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, as best understood, Muller discloses wherein the chuck body includes a first plurality of thread segments, and wherein the collar (6) includes a second plurality of thread, wherein the collar is rotatable relative to the chuck
body to selectively engage at least one of the first plurality of thread segments with at least one of the second plurality of thread segments (figures 1 and 5).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Muller discloses a ring (11) coupled to the collar (6) for axial movement with the collar relative to the chuck body and coupled to the chuck body for co-rotation with the chuck body, and wherein the collar is rotatable relative to the ring (figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 31-33, 35 and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SARA ADDISU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 9/19/26