DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “when the connecting wall has the shape extending between the layers”. The shape extending between the layers is an optional limitation of claim 1. It is unclear if the limitation is still optional or if claim 2 requires that the connecting wall has the shape extending from a space between the layers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (US-20190348826-A1) in view of Lu (US-5226556-A).
Regarding claim 1, Ikeda discloses a box-shaped body (1) comprising: a case (5) having a tubular peripheral wall (13); and a cover (7) configured to be attached to the peripheral wall to cover an opening end of the case, wherein: the cover includes an engaging portion (47) extending in an attachment direction in which the cover is attached to the case (Fig. 1); the peripheral wall of the case has a multilayer wall structure including an inner wall (17) and an outer wall (16), and includes a connecting wall (20, 39) and an engaged portion (22), the connecting wall being configured to connect the layers of the inner wall and the outer wall, and the engaged portion being configured to be engaged with the engaging portion (Fig. 4);the engaged portion is disposed such that the outer wall is sandwiched between the connecting wall and the engaged portion (Fig. 4).
Ikeda fails to teach the connecting wall has a shape extending from a space between the layers such that an end surface of the connecting wall facing the cover is located at a position closer to the cover in the attachment direction than an end surface of at least one of the inner wall and the outer wall facing the cover, or a shape accommodated between the space between the layers such that the end surface of the connecting wall facing the cover is located at the same position in the attachment direction as the end surface of at least one of the inner wall and the outer wall facing the cover.
Lu teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a case with a connecting wall (22) wherein the connecting wall has a shape accommodated in a space such that an end surface (at 23) of the connecting wall is located at the same position in an attachment direction as an end surface of a wall of thew case (Figs. 1, 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the connecting wall to extend even with the peripheral wall of the case, in order to increase the strength of the connection by providing more connection area and since such a modification would have been a change in size of an existing component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, the modified body of Ikeda teaches wherein the peripheral wall of the case includes an auxiliary wall (25) extending toward the cover in the attachment direction, the auxiliary wall being located at a position closer to the cover in the attachment direction than the engaged portion (Fig. 6), and the engaging portion passing between the auxiliary wall and the connecting wall (Fig. 14, the inner edge is between).
Regarding claim 4, the modified body of Ikeda teaches wherein: the cover has a peripheral edge (46) overlapping the peripheral wall when the case and the cover are assembled (Fig. 4); and the peripheral edge has a recess (formed at 48) that is recessed to receive the end surface (39) of the connecting wall when the case and the cover are assembled.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (US-20190348826-A1) in view of Lu (US-5226556-A), as applied above, and further in view of Kawamura (US-20190379191-A1).
The modified body of Ikeda teaches all the claimed limitations as shown above wherein the connecting wall (at 39) has an shape (at 40) that is inclined to approach the engaged portion in the attachment direction from the inner wall toward the outer wall (Fig. 13), bit fails to teach wherein the end surface of the connecting wall facing the cover is located at a position closer to the cover in the attachment direction than an end surface of at least one of the inner wall and the outer wall facing the cover.
Kawamura teaches that a peripheral wall of a case can be manufactured with a inner and outer walls of different heights (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the walls with different heights, such that the end surface of the connecting wall facing the cover is located at a position closer to the cover in the attachment direction than an end surface of at least one of the inner wall and the outer wall, in order to make it easier to move the cover to a closed position, and since such a modification would have been a change in size of an existing component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733