DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 16, 2026 has been acknowledged. Claims 1, 6, and 7 remain pending in the application and are under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6, and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “an electrical stimulation system for electrically stimulating vagus nerve” is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claim 6, the limitation “the at least one electrode pad is configured as at least one pair” is unclear. It is unclear how “at least one electrode pad” can be configured as “at least one pair”. For examination purposes, as best understood, the limitation “the at least one electrode pad is configured as at least one pair” will be interpreted to mean that there are at least two separate electrode pads being used during stimulation of the vagus nerve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
In re claim 1, the limitation “wherein the first electrode is positioned closer to the vagus nerve than the second electrode so as to reduce a distance between the first electrode and the vagus nerve and deliver electrical stimulation to the vagus nerve beneath the skin surface without invasive treatment”, is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Specifically, the phrases “positioned closer to the vagus nerve” and “deliver electrical stimulation the the vagus nerve” implies that the vagus nerve is a part of the claimed invention. As stated in MPEP 2105(III), claims directed to or encompassing a human organism are excluded from patentability. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted to mean “the first electrode is configured to be positioned closer to the vagus nerve” and “configured to deliver electrical stimulation to the vagus nerve”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doskocil (US 2020/0282201) in view of Furnish et al. (US 9,345,531) [in view of Page et al. (US 2020/0269046)].
In re claim 1, Doskocil discloses an electrical stimulation system [0008] for* electrically stimulating vagus nerve located in a neck leading to a heart, comprising:
at least one electrode pad** (fig 2: 6, the electrode assembly has a base with a protrusion for placement on the skin), configured to be applied to a skin surface [0018] of the neck* of a subject, comprising
a convex shape toward a depth of the skin surface [0018, 0035], and
having a first electrode at a tip of the convex shape (fig 1: 5, [0035]) and
an electrical stimulation device electrically connected to the first electrode of the at least one electrode pad to supply electrical stimulation energy (fig 1: 4, the electrical interface, 4, is meant to connect to the device that supplies stimulation; [0035]);
the electrical stimulation system is characterized in that the electrical stimulation energy includes*** at least one of
a continuously supplied electrical stimulation energy (It is inherent that the electrical stimulation system would have to supply energy continuously or intermittently as the stimulation will either be constant during a stimulation even or be able to turn on and off when chosen. It is noted that no timeframe defining continuous or intermittent is established by the claim) and
an intermittently supplied electrical stimulation energy (inherent, see above),
Doskocil lacks:
a second electrode, spaced apart from the first electrode, is arranged around a base portion of the convex shape; and
wherein the first electrode is positioned closer to the vagus nerve than the second electrode so as to reduce a distance between the first electrode and the vagus nerve and deliver electrical stimulation to the vagus nerve beneath the skin surface without invasive treatment.
Furnish teaches a device that supplies RF energy to the skin of a user (col 1, ln 55-59) that has an electrode configuration with two concentric electrodes, with one of the electrodes extending past the other electrode (fig 15: 150, 152), where the electrode extending past the other electrode is positioned closer to the area it is being used on than the second electrode is (fig 15).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to modify the system of Doskocil with using an electrode configuration with one electrode extending past a second electrode as taught by Furnish, as having two electrodes would allow for making sure both are touching the skin to prevent a shocking effect (col 5, ln 53-59). Additionally, having a second electrode on the electrode pad would allow for there to be a return electrode which would allow for the current to return back to the electrical stimulation device safely and would prevent the need for an additional pad or electrode placed elsewhere for the return electrode.
*Regarding the limitations "for electrically stimulating the vagus nerve located in the neck" and “configured to be applied to a skin surface of the neck”, these limitations comprise functional language and have been given patentable weight only in how they materially alter or add structure to the apparatus of the claims. See MPEP 2114. The prior art need only be able to perform this function in order to anticipate the claimed invention. It is clear that the system of Doskocil could be operated in the claimed manner if desired (Doskocil, [0068]: “desired nerve”, [0020]; the electrode is configured to be placed against a limb but could the strap could be used to place the electrode against the neck).
** Regarding the limitation “pad”, under the guidelines of broadest reasonable interpretation the electrode assembly disclosed by Doskocil is consistent with the limitation as the phrase "electrode pad" can be interpreted as an object that is placed against the skin that contains an electrode
*** Regarding the limitations, it is inherent that the electrode assembly of Dosckocil could supply continuous or intermittent electrical stimulation as the electrode assembly can be placed along a desired nerve and attached to an external apparatus that can provide pulses. However, insofar as this is not explicitly stated, claim 1 is alternatively rejected under Doskocil in view of Furnish and further in view of Page as follows:
Page discloses an analogous electrical stimulation device that can be used on the vagus nerve [0017] with a pad or adhesive electrode placed on the neck [0239, 0279]. Page also discusses that the electrical stimulation can have continuous or intermittent delivery through the electrode [0184].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to modify the system of the proposed combination with the continuous or intermittent stimulation as taught by Page, as these are known setting parameters in electrical stimulation systems.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to modify the system of the proposed combination with a pad like the pad disclosed by Page, as it is a known configuration for applying stimulation electrodes to a patient and one of ordinary skill can choose from available options.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doskocil (US 2020/0282201) in view of Furnish et al. (US 9,345,531) [in view of Page et al. (US 2020/0269046)] in view of Reiss et al. (US 5,512,057).
In re claim 6, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Doskocil)
the electrical stimulation energy is electrical energy with a sinusoidal waveform of different frequencies supplied to a position of the electrode [0043].
The proposed combination lacks
characterized in that the at least one electrode pad is configured as at least one pair, and
the electrical stimulation energy is electrical energy with a sinusoidal waveform of different frequencies supplied to a position of the first and second electrodes.
Reiss teaches a transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation device that uses two pairs of electrodes that can be supplied with different frequencies (col 2, ln 54-56).
It would be obvious to modify the system of the proposed combination by using two pairs of electrodes as taught by Reiss as using multiple electrodes supplied with different frequencies produces a beat frequency which would provide more localized stimulation. The ability to localize stimulation would allow for providers to ensure they are stimulating the targeted nerve.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doskocil (US 2020/0282201) in view of Furnish et al. (US 9,345,531) [in view of Page et al. (US 2020/0269046)] in view of Reiss et al. (US 5,512,057) in view of Qin et al. (US 2005/0278001).
In re claim 7, the proposed combination (all mapping directed to Doskocil) yields
characterized in that a current with the sinusoidal waveform is set in a range of 1 mA to 5 mA ([0043]: 1-50 mA), and
a frequency is set in a range of 10 Hz to 20 Hz ([0043]: 1-20 Hz).
The proposed combination lacks:
characterized in that a magnitude of a constant current with the sinusoidal waveform is variable in 0.5 mA steps in a range of 1 mA to 5 mA, and
a frequency is variable in 1 Hz steps in a range of 10 Hz to 20 Hz.
Qin teaches an interferential and neuromuscular stimulation device that has a constant current that is adjustable in 1mA increments [0090] and a frequency range that is adjustable in 1 Hz increments [0087].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of the proposed combination with the ability to modify the frequency and constant current within the set ranges in small increments as taught by Qin, as modifying these factors would allow for operators to find the best stimulation parameters per person, and these are known result yielding parameters in the art.
Additionally, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to provide the recited values/ranges in the proposed system since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum features or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/HALEY N PRUITT/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/DAVID HAMAOUI/SPE, Art Unit 3796