DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2 are pending and examined on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited by applicants in the information disclosure statements filed on 1/17/2025 have been made of record. Examiner has considered the voluminous references to the best of her ability.
While the statements filed do not comply with the guidelines set forth in MPEP 2004 regarding both the number of references cited and the elimination of clearly irrelevant art and marginally cumulative information, compliance with these guidelines is not mandatory. Furthermore, 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98 does not require that the information be material; rather, they allow for submission of information regardless of its pertinence to the claimed invention. Also, there is no requirement to explain the materiality of the submitted references. However, the cloaking of a clearly relevant reference by inclusion in a long list of citations may not comply with Applicant’s duty of disclosure. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark boats Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, aff’d 479 F. 2d. 1338.
Applicant is advised that the MPEP states the following with respect to large information disclosure statements:
Although a concise explanation of the relevance of information is not required for English language information, applicants are encouraged to provide a concise explanation of why the English-language information is being submitted. Concise explanations (especially those that point out the relevant pages and lines) are helpful to the Office, particularly where documents are lengthy and complex and applicant is aware of a section that is highly relevant to patentability or where a large number of documents are submitted and applicant is aware that one or more is highly relevant to patentability. MPEP § 609.04(a)(III).
This statement is in accord with dicta from Molins PLC v. Textron, Inc., 48 F.3d 1172 (Fed. Cir. 1995), states that forcing the Examiner to find “a needle in a haystack” is “probative of bad faith.” Id. at 1888. This case presented a situation where the disclosure was in excess of 700 pages and contained more than fifty references. Id. 1888.
The MPEP provides more support for this position. In a subsection entitled “Aids to Compliance With Duty of Disclosure,” item thirteen states:
It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Eliminate clearly irrelevant information and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to Applicant’s attention and/or are known to be of the most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F.Supp 948 (S.D. Fla. 1972) aff’d 479 F.2d 1338 (5th Cir 1974). See also MPEP § 2004.
Therefore, it is recommended that if any information that has been cited by Applicants in the previous disclosure statement is known to be material for patentability as defined by 37 CFR 1.56, Applicant should present a concise statement as to the relevance of that/those particular documents therein cited.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,241,357. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 1 recites a method of promoting hair growth by applying vacuum through a handpiece, moving the handpiece along a targeted skin surface of a user, and applying a treatment material to the skin surface, wherein the application of vacuum or suction helps promote hair growth or stimulate hair. The patented claim recites more details than the current claim.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,717,326. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 12 recites a method of applying vacuum through a handpiece, moving the handpiece along a skin surface of a user, and applying a treatment material to the skin surface. The patented claim recites more details than the current claim but does not disclose that the skin surface is where hair growth is desired, but since the scalp is a type of skin, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art that a device that can be applied to skin in general is likely also capable of being applied to the scalp where hair growth is desired. The limitation in current claim 1 “wherein the application of vacuum or suction helps promote hair growth or stimulate hair” is a natural result of the step of applying vacuum.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,517,350. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 2 recites a method of applying positive pressure through a handpiece and applying a treatment fluid to the skin surface. The patented claim recites more details than the current claim but does not disclose that the skin surface is where hair growth is desired, but since the scalp is a type of skin, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art that a device that can be applied to skin in general is likely also capable of being applied to the scalp where hair growth is desired. The limitation in current claim 2 “wherein the application of positive pressure helps promote hair growth or stimulate hair” is a natural result of the step of applying positive pressure.
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20, 33, or 37 of copending Application No. 17/592,432 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims each recites a method of applying positive pressure (inherently exerted by “massaging”) through a handpiece onto scalp (where there is hair) and applying a treatment material to the skin surface. The reference application claim recites more details than the current claim but does not explicitly disclose that the method is for promoting hair growth, but since reference claims recite a method for promoting scalp health, it would be obvious to one skilled that hair growth/stimulation is a likely result of healthier scalp.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/054,667 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claim 1 recites a method of applying vacuum through a handpiece, moving the handpiece along a skin surface of a user, and applying a treatment material to the skin surface. The reference application claim recites more details than the current claim but does not disclose that the skin surface is where hair growth is desired, but since the scalp is a type of skin, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art that a device that can be applied to skin in general is likely also capable of being applied to the scalp where hair growth is desired. The limitation in current claim 1 “wherein the application of vacuum or suction helps promote hair growth or stimulate hair” is a natural result of the step of applying vacuum.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (US 2010/0305495).
Regarding claim 2, Anderson teaches a method of promoting hair growth or hair stimulation in a subject (e.g., [0013]), the method comprising:
applying positive pressure (e.g., [0014] “applying a therapeutic substance under pressure to follicle areas of skin”) using a handpiece assembly (apparatus 200) along a targeted portion of the subject's skin surface where hair growth or hair stimulation is desired; and
providing at least one treatment material to said targeted portion of the subject's skin surface (e.g., [0039] “deliver substances into a hair follicle”);
wherein the application of positive pressure helps promote hair growth or stimulate hair ([0014] “Such application can improve the penetration of the substance into certain skin structures, which may improve their efficacy.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Anderson.
Re Claim 1, Anderson teaches a method of promoting hair growth or hair stimulation in a subject (e.g., [0013]), the method comprising:
applying vacuum or suction using a handpiece assembly (e.g., apparatus 200) along a targeted portion of the subject's skin surface where hair growth or hair stimulation is desired (e.g., [0039] “Vacuum conduit 220 can be provided in communication with a vacuum or low-pressure source (not shown) through a vacuum tube 225.”); and
providing at least one treatment material to said targeted portion of the subject's skin surface (e.g., [0039] “deliver substances into a hair follicle”).
Anderson does not explicitly indicate that the application of vacuum or suction helps promote hair growth or stimulate hair. However, this limitation appears to be simply reciting a natural result of applying vacuum to the scalp. As such, one skilled in the art has reason to expect that applying vacuum would promote hair growth and thus Anderson’s method would either inherently lead to better hair growth or likely result in better hair growth when combined with the treatment material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kinoshita (US 2010/0010507) discloses a handheld device that improves hair growth by utilizing vacuum to cause hair follicles to approach the skin surface so as to be more receptive to light irradiation.
/SUSAN S SU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781
19 September 2026