DETAILED ACTION
This office correspondence is in response to the application filed on January 17, 2025.
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,628. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
“A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
d
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rutten et al. (US Publication 2014/0181312) hereafter Rutten, in view of Fratti et al. (US Publication 2008/0235778) hereafter Fratti.
As per claim 1, Rutten discloses a method for conducting direct peer-to-peer real time communications, comprising a domain communication server performing actions including: initiating, a direct peer-to-peer communication session between a first user and a second user (paragraph 30, 37, 39: providing and routing user request); if the domain communication server determines that the first user is unauthorized: generating for the first user (i) an evanescent domain name, that expires after a pre-defined duration, registered on behalf of the first user with a domain name server, and (ii) an authorization by sending an authorization code that was generated with a pseudo-random number to the first user wherein an authorization record includes the authorization code (paragraphs 93, 96, 109: message authentication code); and authorizing the first user based upon the evanescent domain name, when the authorization code in the authorization record of the first user with the domain name server matches the authorization code sent to the first user; otherwise, if the domain communication server determines the first user is authorized: using a domain name of the first user to conduct the direct peer-to-peer communication session without generating an evanescent domain name for the first user (paragraphs 34-35, 109-110); generating a call identifier for the direct peer-to-peer communication session between the first user and the second user (paragraphs 45, 110); upon an indication of acceptance from the second user, sending the call identifier to the first user; and completing setup of the direct peer-to-peer communication session (paragraphs 0109-110, 118-121). Although, Rutten discloses peer-to-peer communication using IP multimedia system with authorization credentials using authentication request but does not expressly disclose if the first user is unauthorized: when the authorization code in the authorization record of the first user with the domain name server matches the authorization code sent to the first user.
However, in the same field of the endeavor, Fratti expressly discloses the claimed limitation if the first user is unauthorized: when the authorization code in the authorization record of the first user with the domain name server matches the authorization code sent to the first user (paragraphs 0087-88, 0093-94, 0098-100).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Frattis’ invention of authentication server to authorize accessing network element and peer-to-peer communication between the first and second user equipments, with the teachings of Rutten. One would be motivated to have both first and second users registered with domain name server in order to establish a direct P2P communication session to reduce complexity and improve flexibility and efficiency in performance.
As per claim 2, Rutten discloses the method wherein the domain name of the second user is an address string that identifies an Internet Protocol resource such as a server to access services provided by the server on behalf of the second user (paragraphs 0119-120, 0129).
As per claim 3, Rutten discloses the method further including: implementing customer relationship management (CRM) functionality that identifies the first user to the second user based upon the domain name registered with the domain name server and providing to the second user, user information of the first user; wherein the user information includes at least one of a username, user address, date and time of a last communication with the first user, and any products and services purchased by the first user (paragraphs 0118-121, 0126).
As per claim 4, Rutten discloses the method further including implementing a pre-call assistant that indicates to the second user an intent of the call (paragraphs 0029-31, 0037).
As per claim 5, Rutten discloses the method further including the domain communication server removing expired domain name records (paragraphs 0093, 0145).
As per claim 6, Rutten discloses the method wherein initiating, a direct peer-to-peer communication session is in response to a request to conduct a voice call (paragraphs 0074, 0081).
As per claim 7, Rutten discloses the method wherein initiating, a direct peer-to-peer communication session is in response to a request to conduct a video call (paragraphs 0034, 0094, 0104).
As per claim 8, Rutten discloses the method wherein initiating, a direct peer-to-peer communication session is in response to a request to conduct a data call (paragraphs 0094, 0104).
As per claim 9, Rutten discloses the method wherein initiating, a direct peer-to-peer communication session is in response to a request to conduct messaging (paragraphs 0074, 0094, 0104).
As per claim 10, Rutten discloses the method wherein authorizing, by the domain communication server, users to participate in the direct peer-to-peer real time communications using the domain name further includes authorizing users to conduct (i) initiating direct peer-to-peer real time communications; and (ii) receiving direct peer-to-peer real time communications (paragraphs 0039, 0045, 0109-110).
As per claim 11, Rutten discloses the method further including implementing a schedule function enabling the direct peer-to-peer real time communications to be scheduled (paragraphs 0118-121).
As per claim 12, Rutten discloses the method further including implementing an Out-of-office mode thereby enabling the second user to establish availability to attend calls (paragraphs 0074, 0094, 0104).
As per claim 13, Rutten discloses the method further including implementing a reward system for users that compensates for waiting in picking up calls, by: tracking wait times using a timer started upon receipt of an incoming call and stopped upon initiating the direct peer-to-peer communication session; determining a reward; and providing the reward to a waiting user (paragraphs 0045, 0078, 0109-110).
As per claim 14, Rutten discloses the method wherein a request to initiate the direct peer-to-peer communication session is received via a first instance of a web page (paragraphs 0044-45, 0109-110).
As per claim 15, Rutten discloses the method further including offering the second user to initiate direct peer- to-peer communications with the first user via at least one of (i) a second instance of a web page and (ii) a first instance of a mobile application (paragraphs 0044-45, 0109-110).
As per claim 16, Rutten discloses the method wherein a request to initiate the direct peer-to-peer communication session is received via a first instance of a mobile application (paragraphs 0044-45, 0109-110).
As per claim 17, Rutten discloses the method wherein offering to initiate direct peer-to-peer communications with the first user is offered via at least one of: (i) a second instance of a mobile application and (ii) a first instance of a web page (paragraphs 0077, 0084).
Claim 18 is an Independent claim with similar limitation but different in preamble and hence are rejected based on the rejection provided in claim 1.
Claim 19 is an Independent claim with similar limitation but different in preamble and hence are rejected based on the rejection provided in claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Johnson et al. (US Publication 2015/0113172) discloses deploying and maintaining Internet-connected networked devices. The claimed embodiments address the problem of deploying and managing Internet-connected devices. The disclosure and claims thereto advance the technical fields for addressing the problem of deploying and managing Internet-connected devices.
Balasaygun et al. (US Publication 2011/0044440) authenticated using an authentication metric such as a face print or voice print. A single telecommunication address (or one for each participant) that is not associated with a communication device and is associated with at least one of the participants is determined. The telecommunication address (or addresses) is sent during the initiation of a communication session. Other embodiments provide for sending a single associated telecommunications address, individual identifiers of each of the participants, and a communication device name to better identify exactly who is calling. The system can also detect when an additional participant has joined the communication session and when a participant leaves the communication session.
/FARZANA B HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455