DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the claims filing date of 1/18/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
In claim 19, a "computer-readable storage medium" is being recited; the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable storage medium typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media. Therefore, a transitory computer readable storage medium would reasonably be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art as signal, per se. Thus, this subject matter "computer-readable storage medium" is not limited to that which falls within a statutory category of invention because it is limited to a process, machine, manufacture, or a composition of matter. Signal per se is a function descriptive material and a function descriptive material is non-statutory subject matter. Dependent claim 20 is rejected for similar reasons as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,10,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Outes Carnero et al. (US 2024/0154707; Carnero hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1:
Carnero discloses a system and method for vertical positioning (abstract; figures), comprising:
receiving, by a server, measurement report (MR) information sent by a base station, wherein the MR information is reported by a terminal device to the base station (para 55, partially reproduced herein with emphasis {characterisation of the current vertical antenna pattern gain is estimated using periodical measurements reported by the UEs..}; figure 1; para 152-154 {measurements from every UE served by the antenna (i.e. served UEs), which provide information about the distance between respective UEs and the serving cell. [0153] RSRP measurements reported by served UEs…});
obtaining, by the server, engineering parameters of the base station based on the MR information, wherein the engineering parameters comprise base station cell site height (para 3,24; para 64 {…base station antenna height above ground elevation level }; para 150 {antenna height above ground elevation level}), base station downtilt (para 65 {effective tilt of the base station antenna…}; para 86-87), and base station antenna azimuth (para 110 {azimuth antennas sharing the same tilt value }; para 198-206);
extracting, by the server, feature information of the terminal device from the MR information (para 110 {signal strength measurements of the reference signal from UEs served in the first cell, positional information}); and
inputting, by the server, the feature information of the terminal device and the engineering parameters of the base station into a preset artificial intelligence (Al) model and running the preset Al model to predict a first height of the terminal device, wherein the Al model is obtained through training by using engineering parameters of a plurality of base stations and feature information of a plurality of terminal devices as input samples and using a preset height as a label (para 80-82 {generate model coefficients by processing the input data in a training model, at step S103. In certain embodiments, the training model is trained using a prediction model. The prediction model is configured to model three components …}; figures 4a-4b; para 110-113; para 114 { re-compute the RSRP measurements for all UE}; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 10:
Carnero discloses all of the subject matter as described above in claim 1, and further discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: a communication interface (figure 2a, 2b; see figure 3a [interface 303]; fig 3b); at least one processor connected to the communication interface (301 in fig 3a); and a memory storing instructions (302 in fig 3a) connected to the at least one processor through the communication interface that, when the instructions are executed by the at least one processor (para 106-107; and throughout the disclosure), cause the communication apparatus to perform the function as described above, thus claim 10 is rejected with similar rationale under the teachings of the prior art as above.
Regarding claim 19:
Carnero discloses all of the subject matter as described above in claim 1, and further discloses a computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions (para 30-33; para 35,36,49; figures) that enable a computer device to perform the function as described above (see throughout Carnero’s disclosure), thus claim 19 is rejected with similar rationale under the teachings of the prior art as above
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,11,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carnero et al. (US 2024/0154707) in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2022/0200681).
Regarding claims 2,11,20:
Carnero discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the MR information comprises at least one of: sounding reference signal (SRS) beam information and the feature information comprises an SRS beam feature extracted by the server from the SRS beam information, the SRS beam feature comprising an SRS beam energy feature obtained by performing dimensionality reduction on the SRS beam information; or synchronization signal block (SSB) beam information and the feature information comprises an SSB beam feature extracted by the server from the SSB beam information, the SSB beam feature comprising an SSB beam energy feature obtained by the terminal device by performing dimensionality reduction on a vector comprising a plurality of detected reference signal received powers (RSRPs) of each serving cell.
However, Raghavan in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication wherein the MR information comprises at least one of: sounding reference signal (SRS) beam information and the feature information comprises an SRS beam feature extracted by the server from the SRS beam information, the SRS beam feature comprising an SRS beam energy feature obtained by performing dimensionality reduction on the SRS beam information; or synchronization signal block (SSB) beam information and the feature information comprises an SSB beam feature extracted by the server from the SSB beam information, the SSB beam feature comprising an SSB beam energy feature obtained by the terminal device by performing dimensionality reduction on a vector comprising a plurality of detected reference signal received powers (RSRPs) of each serving cell ([note: optional claim language require only one element, prior art may be teaching more]; see Raghavan, para 102,107,113; figs; and throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Raghavan in Carnero in order to generating position information based on the at least one angle based positioning measurement with reduced overhead in signaling [5,6] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9,12-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yerramalli et al. (US 2024/0114473) discloses a system and method for optimization of signaling for beam shape assistance data for location determination.
/HIRDEPAL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631