DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 04 August 2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 3, 5, 6, and 11-13 have been amended, claims 2, 4, 7-10, and 14-30 are cancelled, and claims 31-43 have been newly added. Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 11-13, and 31-43 currently stand pending in the application.
The amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the previous claim objections, but further claim objections are presented below as necessitated by the current claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination or interpretation of any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species E, FIGS. 42-45, in the reply filed on 04 August 2026, is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 43 is objected to because of the following informalities: grammar. Appropriate correction is required. The following amendments is suggested:
Claim 43 / line 2: “at a proximal end of the cannula assembly.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 36, 37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as anticipated by U.S. Patent No. US 7,918,827 to Smith.
As to claim 36, Smith discloses a cannula assembly comprising: a cannula funnel portion (204; funnels to 202) (col. 5 / lines 9-11), FIG. 3; a cannula shaft (202) extending distally from the cannula funnel portion, FIG. 1-3; a removable seal cartridge (210, 220) configured to engage the cannula funnel portion (col. 5 / lines 37-53), the removable seal cartridge comprising a body (210) and a fluid port (210a, 216, 218) extending radially from the body (col. 5 / lines 31-40), FIGS. 1-3 and 5; a fluid port window (214) defined in a sidewall of the cannula funnel portion, FIG. 3, the fluid port window configured to receive the fluid port therethrough when the removable seal cartridge is engaged with the cannula funnel portion, FIG. 5; and a docking portion (upper rim/brim of 204 and/or 210) defined at a proximal end of the cannula assembly, the docking portion configured to securely engage a cannula interface of a robotic arm (interpreted as language of intended use; the docking portion is fully capable of securely engaging a cannula interface, e.g. 130, of a robotic arm).
As to claim 37, Smith discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 36, wherein the docking portion defines a continuous circular brim at the proximal end of the cannula assembly, FIG. 3.
As to claim 40, Smith discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 36, wherein the fluid port comprises a stop cock (218).
Claims 36-38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0000504 to Terefe et al. (hereinafter, “Terefe”).
As to claim 36, Terefe discloses a cannula assembly comprising: a cannula funnel portion (112 and 108) (par. [0083]), FIGS. 6 and 10B; a cannula shaft (122) extending distally from the cannula funnel portion (when assembled), FIG. 10B; a removable seal cartridge (118, 140; removable at least from the funnel as shown exploded in FIG. 6) configured to engage the cannula funnel portion (as part of the whole assembled device) (par. [0084], [0087]), the removable seal cartridge comprising a body (118) and a fluid port (136, 134) extending radially from the body (par. [0086]), FIG. 6; a fluid port window (166) defined in a sidewall of the cannula funnel portion (par. [0095]), FIG. 6, the fluid port window configured to receive the fluid port therethrough when the removable seal cartridge is engaged with the cannula funnel portion, FIGS. 5A, 9B, and 10B; and a docking portion (106) defined at a proximal end of the cannula assembly, the docking portion configured to securely engage a cannula interface of a robotic arm (interpreted as language of intended use; the docking portion is fully capable of securely engaging a cannula interface of a robotic arm since it is exposed).
As to claim 37, Terefe discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 36, wherein the docking portion defines a continuous circular brim (of 114) at the proximal end of the cannula assembly, FIGS. 5A and 6.
As to claim 38, Terefe discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 36, wherein a proximal end of the cannula funnel portion is flush with or extends proximal to the seal cartridge when the seal cartridge is engaged with the funnel portion (as shown in FIG. 10B, the cannula funnel portion at 108 is proximal to or covers the seal cartridge 118) (par. [0095]).
As to claim 40, Terefe discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 36, wherein the fluid port comprises a stop cock (134) (par. [0086]), FIG. 6.
Claims 36, 37, 39, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as anticipated by U.S. Patent No. US 5,871,471 to Ryan et al. (hereinafter, “Ryan”).
As to claim 36, Ryan discloses a cannula assembly, FIG. 11g, comprising: a cannula funnel portion (2114); a cannula shaft (2113) extending distally from the cannula funnel portion; a removable seal cartridge (2160) configured to engage the cannula funnel portion, the removable seal cartridge comprising a body and a fluid port (2180) extending radially from the body (col. 13 / line 64 – col. 14 / line 13); a fluid port window (2180a) defined in a sidewall of the cannula funnel portion (col. 14 / lines 14-27), the fluid port window configured to receive the fluid port therethrough when the removable seal cartridge is engaged with the cannula funnel portion; and a docking portion (proximal rim of 2114 and/or 2164) defined at a proximal end of the cannula assembly, the docking portion configured to securely engage a cannula interface of a robotic arm (interpreted as language of intended use; the docking portion, e.g. at 2164, is fully capable of securely engaging a cannula interface of a robotic arm since it is exposed).
As to claim 37, Ryan discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 36, wherein the docking portion defines a continuous circular brim (at 2164) at the proximal end of the cannula assembly, FIG. 11g.
As to claim 39, Ryan discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 36, wherein a proximal end of the seal cartridge comprises one or more latching slots (slots in outside of 2164) configured to couple to an obturator (interpreted as language of intended use; the slots are fully capable of coupling to an obturator with complementary protrusions).
As to claim 40, Ryan discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 36, wherein the fluid port comprises a stop cock (col. 11 / lines 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 11, 31-33, 35, and 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0303566 to Soundararajan et al. (hereinafter, “Soundararajan”).
As to claim 41, Smith is silent as to the robotic arm.
Soundararajan teaches a cannula assembly comprising a docking portion (812) defined at a proximal end of the cannula assembly (par. [0070]), FIG. 8A, the docking portion configured to securely engage a cannula interface (120) of a robotic arm (110) (par. [0033]-[0034] and [0070]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in Smith a docking portion on the cannula assembly and a robotic arm that securely engages the docking portion via a cannula interface, as taught by Soundararajan, to control and manipulate the cannula assembly with the robotic arm which provides high positional accuracy as compared to manual manipulation, as well as sterility and minimal invasiveness. As taught in Soundararajan, the docking portion provided to Smith would be at/extend up to and along a proximal end of the cannula assembly so as not to come into contact with and damage patient tissue. The docking portion taught in Soundararajan, extending alongside the proximal end of the cannula assembly, would be in addition to the continuous circular brim disclosed in Smith.
As to claim 1, Smith discloses a cannula assembly comprising: a funnel portion (204; funnels to 202) (col. 5 / lines 9-11) having a sidewall, FIG. 3; a tubular portion (202) extending distally from the funnel portion, FIG. 1-3; a seal cartridge (210, 220) removably engaged with the funnel portion (shown exploded in FIG. 3); a fluid port (210a, 216, 218) attached to a body (210) of the seal cartridge and extending radially from the body (col. 5 / lines 31-40), FIGS. 1-3 and 5; one or more voids (214) in the sidewall of the funnel portion, FIG. 3, that permit access to the seal cartridge through the sidewall (via the fluid port attached to the seal cartridge), wherein the one or more voids include a void (214) that permits access to the fluid port through the sidewall, FIGS. 1-3 and 5; and a docking portion (upper rim/brim of 204 and/or 210) proximal to the one or more voids, FIG. 3.
As to claim 5, Smith discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the void that permits access to the fluid port includes a hole circumscribed by the sidewall, FIG. 3.
As to claim 6, Smith discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the void that permits access to the fluid port has a notch (cut out or notch through 204) that guides rotational alignment of the seal cartridge with respect to the funnel portion about a longitudinal axis of the tubular portion (so that the void/notch can receive the fluid port).
As to claim 11, Smith discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the funnel portion comprises a stop (bottom of funnel portion) that blocks distal motion of the seal cartridge, FIG. 5.
As to claim 31, Smith discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the docking portion defines a continuous circular profile proximal to the one or more voids, FIG. 3.
As to claim 32, Smith discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the docking portion comprises a brim at a proximal end of the cannula assembly, FIG. 3.
As to claim 35, Smith discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the fluid port comprises a stop cock (218), FIG. 3.
Smith is silent as to the docking portion attached to a cannula interface of a robotic system (claim 1); further comprising a robotic arm having the cannula interface attached to the docking portion (claim 33).
Soundararajan teaches a cannula assembly comprising a docking portion (812) defined at a proximal end of the cannula assembly (par. [0070]), FIG. 8A, the docking portion attached to a cannula interface (120) of a robotic system (par. [0033]-[0034] and [0070]); and further comprising a robotic arm (110) having the cannula interface attached to the docking portion.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in Smith a docking portion on the cannula assembly and a robotic arm that securely engages the docking portion via a cannula interface, as taught by Soundararajan, to control and manipulate the cannula assembly with the robotic arm which provides high positional accuracy as compared to manual manipulation, as well as sterility and minimal invasiveness. As taught in Soundararajan, the docking portion provided to Smith would be at/extend up to and along a proximal end of the cannula assembly so as not to come into contact with and damage patient tissue. The docking portion taught in Soundararajan, extending alongside the proximal end of the cannula assembly, would be in addition to the continuous circular brim disclosed in Smith, which is proximal to the one or more voids.
As to claim 42, Smith discloses a system comprising: a cannula assembly comprising: a cannula funnel portion (204; funnels to 202) (col. 5 / lines 9-11), FIG. 3; a cannula shaft (202) extending distally from the cannula funnel portion, FIG. 1-3; a removable seal cartridge (210, 220) configured to engage the cannula funnel portion (col. 5 / lines 37-53), the removable seal cartridge comprising a body (210) and a fluid port (210a, 216, 218) extending radially from the body (col. 5 / lines 31-40), FIGS. 1-3 and 5; a fluid port window (214) defined in a sidewall of the cannula funnel portion, FIG. 3, the fluid port window configured to receive the fluid port therethrough when the removable seal cartridge is engaged with the cannula funnel portion, FIG. 5; and a docking portion (upper rim/brim of 204 and/or 210) proximal to the fluid port window, FIG. 3.
As to claim 43, Smith discloses the robotic system of Claim 42, wherein the cannula assembly comprises a continuous circular brim at proximal end of the cannula assembly, FIG. 3.
Smith is silent as to a robotic system. Smith is silent as to a robotic arm comprising a cannula interface configured to attach to the docking portion of the cannula assembly.
Soundararajan teaches a robotic system comprising a cannula assembly comprising a docking portion (812) defined at a proximal end of the cannula assembly (par. [0070]), FIG. 8A, and a robotic arm (110) comprising a cannula interface (120) configured to attach to the docking portion of the cannula assembly (par. [0033]-[0034] and [0070]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in Smith a docking portion on the cannula assembly and a robotic arm that securely attaches to the docking portion via a cannula interface, as taught by Soundararajan, to control and manipulate the cannula assembly with the robotic arm which provides high positional accuracy as compared to manual manipulation, as well as sterility and minimal invasiveness. As taught in Soundararajan, the docking portion provided to Smith would be at a proximal end of the cannula assembly so as not to come into contact with and damage patient tissue. The docking portion taught in Soundararajan, extending alongside the proximal end of the cannula assembly, would be in addition to the continuous circular brim disclosed in Smith, which is proximal to the fluid port window.
Claims 1, 6, 11, 13, 31-33, 35, and 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terefe in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0303566 to Soundararajan et al. (hereinafter, “Soundararajan”).
As to claim 41, Terefe is silent as to the robotic arm.
Soundararajan teaches a cannula assembly comprising a docking portion (812) defined at a proximal end of the cannula assembly (par. [0070]), FIG. 8A, the docking portion configured to securely engage a cannula interface (120) of a robotic arm (110) (par. [0033]-[0034] and [0070]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in Terefe a docking portion on the cannula assembly and a robotic arm that securely engages the docking portion via a cannula interface, as taught by Soundararajan, to control and manipulate the cannula assembly with the robotic arm which provides high positional accuracy as compared to manual manipulation, as well as sterility and minimal invasiveness. Terefe contemplates the use of the cannula assembly in a robotic surgical system (par. [0244]). As taught in Soundararajan, the docking portion provided to Terefe would be at a proximal end of the cannula assembly so as not to come into contact with and damage patient tissue. The docking portion taught in Soundararajan, extending alongside the proximal end of the cannula assembly, would be in addition to the continuous circular brim disclosed in Terefe.
As to claim 1, Terefe discloses a cannula assembly comprising: a funnel portion (112 and 108) (par. [0083]) having a sidewall, FIGS. 6 and 10B; a tubular portion (122) extending distally from the funnel portion (when assembled), FIG. 10B; a seal cartridge (118, 140) removably engaged with the funnel portion (shown exploded in FIG. 6) (par. [0084], [0087]); a fluid port (136, 134) attached to a body (118) of the seal cartridge and extending radially from the body (par. [0086]), FIG. 6; one or more voids (166) in the sidewall of the funnel portion (par. [0095]), FIG. 6, that permit access to the seal cartridge through the sidewall (via the fluid port attached to the seal cartridge), FIG. 6, wherein the one or more voids include a void (166) that permits access to the fluid port through the sidewall, FIGS. 5A, 9B, and 10B; and a docking portion (106) proximal to the one or more voids.
As to claim 6, Terefe discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the void that permits access to the fluid port has a notch (angular distal portion of 166) that guides rotational alignment of the seal cartridge with respect to the funnel portion about a longitudinal axis of the tubular portion (so that the void/notch can receive the fluid port), FIG. 6.
As to claim 11, Terefe discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the funnel portion comprises a stop (bottom of funnel portion) that blocks distal motion of the seal cartridge, FIG. 5B.
As to claim 13, Terefe discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein, when the funnel portion is engaged with the seal cartridge, a proximal end of the seal cartridge does not extend proximally beyond a proximal end of the funnel portion (as shown in FIG. 10B, the funnel portion at 108 is proximal to or covers the seal cartridge 118) (par. [0095]).
As to claim 31, Terefe discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the docking portion defines a continuous circular profile (at 114) proximal to the one or more voids, FIGS. 5A and 6.
As to claim 32, Terefe discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the docking portion comprises a brim (of 114) at a proximal end of the cannula assembly, FIGS. 5A and 6.
As to claim 35, Terefe discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the fluid port comprises a stop cock (134) (par. [0086]), FIG. 6.
Terefe is silent as to the docking portion attached to a cannula interface of a robotic system (claim 1); further comprising a robotic arm having the cannula interface attached to the docking portion (claim 33).
Soundararajan teaches a cannula assembly comprising a docking portion (812) defined at a proximal end of the cannula assembly (par. [0070]), FIG. 8A, the docking portion attached to a cannula interface (120) of a robotic system (par. [0033]-[0034] and [0070]); further comprising a robotic arm (110) having the cannula interface attached to the docking portion.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in Terefe a docking portion on the cannula assembly and a robotic arm that securely engages the docking portion via a cannula interface, as taught by Soundararajan, to control and manipulate the cannula assembly with the robotic arm which provides high positional accuracy as compared to manual manipulation, as well as sterility and minimal invasiveness. Terefe contemplates the use of the cannula assembly in a robotic surgical system (par. [0244]). As taught in Soundararajan, the docking portion provided to Terefe would be at a proximal end of the cannula assembly so as not to come into contact with and damage patient tissue. The docking portion taught in Soundararajan, extending alongside the proximal end of the cannula assembly, would be in addition to the continuous circular brim disclosed in Terefe, which is proximal to the one or more voids.
As to claim 42, Terefe discloses a system comprising: a cannula assembly comprising: a cannula funnel portion (112 and 108) (par. [0083]), FIGS. 6 and 10B; a cannula shaft (122) extending distally from the cannula funnel portion (when assembled), FIG. 10B; a removable seal cartridge (118, 140; removable at least from the funnel as shown exploded in FIG. 6) configured to engage the cannula funnel portion (as part of the whole assembled device) (par. [0084], [0087]), the removable seal cartridge comprising a body (118) and a fluid port (136, 134) extending radially from the body (par. [0086]), FIG. 6; a fluid port window (166) defined in a sidewall of the cannula funnel portion (par. [0095]), FIG. 6, the fluid port window configured to receive the fluid port therethrough when the removable seal cartridge is engaged with the cannula funnel portion, FIGS. 5A, 9B, and 10B; and a docking portion (106) proximal to the fluid port window, FIG. 5A.
As to claim 43, Terefe discloses the robotic system of Claim 42, wherein the cannula assembly comprises a continuous circular brim (at 114 and/or 108 and/or 118) at proximal end of the cannula assembly, FIG. 6.
Terefe is silent as to a robotic system, although Terefe does contemplate the use of the cannula assembly in a robotic surgical system (par. [0244]). Terefe is silent as to a robotic arm comprising a cannula interface configured to attach to the docking portion of the cannula assembly.
Soundararajan teaches a robotic system comprising a cannula assembly comprising a docking portion (812) defined at a proximal end of the cannula assembly (par. [0070]), FIG. 8A, and a robotic arm (110) comprising a cannula interface (120) configured to attach to the docking portion of the cannula assembly (par. [0033]-[0034] and [0070]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in Terefe a docking portion on the cannula assembly and a robotic arm that securely attaches to the docking portion via a cannula interface, as taught by Soundararajan, to control and manipulate the cannula assembly with the robotic arm which provides high positional accuracy as compared to manual manipulation, as well as sterility and minimal invasiveness. Terefe contemplates the use of the cannula assembly in a robotic surgical system (par. [0244]). As taught in Soundararajan, the docking portion provided to Terefe would be at a proximal end of the cannula assembly so as not to come into contact with and damage patient tissue. The docking portion taught in Soundararajan, extending alongside the proximal end of the cannula assembly, would be in addition to the continuous circular brim disclosed in Terefe, which is proximal to the fluid port window.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 11, 12, 31-35, and 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0303566 to Soundararajan et al. (hereinafter, “Soundararajan”).
As to claim 41, Ryan is silent as to the robotic arm.
Soundararajan teaches a cannula assembly comprising a docking portion (812) defined at a proximal end of the cannula assembly (par. [0070]), FIG. 8A, the docking portion configured to securely engage a cannula interface (120) of a robotic arm (110) (par. [0033]-[0034] and [0070]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in Ryan a docking portion on the cannula assembly and a robotic arm that securely engages the docking portion via a cannula interface, as taught by Soundararajan, to control and manipulate the cannula assembly with the robotic arm which provides high positional accuracy as compared to manual manipulation, as well as sterility and minimal invasiveness. As taught in Soundararajan, the docking portion provided to Ryan would be at/extend up to and along a proximal end of the cannula assembly so as not to come into contact with and damage patient tissue. The docking portion taught in Soundararajan, extending alongside the proximal end of the cannula assembly, would be in addition to the brim disclosed in Ryan.
As to claim 1, Ryan discloses a cannula assembly, FIG. 11g, comprising: a funnel portion (2114) having a sidewall, FIG. 11g; a tubular portion (2113) extending distally from the funnel portion; a seal cartridge (2160) removably engaged with the funnel portion (shown exploded in FIG. 11g); a fluid port (2180) attached to a body of the seal cartridge and extending radially from the body (col. 13 / line 64 – col. 14 / line 13), FIG. 11g; one or more voids (2180a, 2145a, 2144, 2195) in the sidewall of the funnel portion that permit access to the seal cartridge through the sidewall (col. 14 / lines 23-27), wherein the one or more voids include a void (2180a) that permits access to the fluid port through the sidewall; and a docking portion (proximal rim of 2114 and/or 2164) proximal to the one or more voids.
As to claim 3, Ryan discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the one or more voids include a void (2195) that permits access to a latch release (2168) of the seal cartridge through the sidewall (col. 14 / lines 23-27).
As to claim 6, Ryan discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the void that permits access to the fluid port has a notch (2145a) that guides rotational alignment of the seal cartridge with respect to the funnel portion about a longitudinal axis of the tubular portion (col. 14 / lines 14-21).
As to claim 11, Ryan discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the funnel portion comprises a stop (bottom of funnel portion) that blocks distal motion of the seal cartridge.
As to claim 12, Ryan discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the funnel portion comprises a catch (2144) that engages a latch (2166) of the seal cartridge (col. 14 / lines 23-27).
As to claim 31, Ryan discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the docking portion (at 2164) defines a continuous circular profile proximal to the one or more voids, FIG. 11g.
As to claim 32, Ryan discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the docking portion comprises a brim (at 2164) at a proximal end of the cannula assembly.
As to claim 34, Ryan discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the seal cartridge comprises one or more latching slots (slots in outside of 2164) configured to couple to an obturator (interpreted as language of intended use; the slots are fully capable of coupling to an obturator with complementary protrusions).
As to claim 35, Ryan discloses the cannula assembly of Claim 1, wherein the fluid port comprises a stop cock (col. 11 / lines 3-5).
Ryan is silent as to the docking portion attached to a cannula interface of a robotic system (claim 1); further comprising a robotic arm having the cannula interface attached to the docking portion (claim 33).
Soundararajan teaches a cannula assembly comprising a docking portion (812) defined at a proximal end of the cannula assembly (par. [0070]), FIG. 8A, the docking portion attached to a cannula interface (120) of a robotic system (par. [0033]-[0034] and [0070]); and further comprising a robotic arm (110) having the cannula interface attached to the docking portion.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in Ryan a docking portion on the cannula assembly and a robotic arm that securely engages the docking portion via a cannula interface, as taught by Soundararajan, to control and manipulate the cannula assembly with the robotic arm which provides high positional accuracy as compared to manual manipulation, as well as sterility and minimal invasiveness. As taught in Soundararajan, the docking portion provided to Ryan would be at/extend up to and along a proximal end of the cannula assembly so as not to come into contact with and damage patient tissue, which is proximal to at least some of the voids. The docking portion taught in Soundararajan, extending alongside the proximal end of the cannula assembly, would be in addition to the brim disclosed in Ryan, which is proximal to the one or more voids.
As to claim 42, Ryan discloses a system comprising: a cannula assembly, FIG. 11g, comprising: a cannula funnel portion (2114); a cannula shaft (2113) extending distally from the cannula funnel portion; a removable seal cartridge (2160) configured to engage the cannula funnel portion (shown exploded in FIG. 11g), the removable seal cartridge comprising a body and a fluid port (2180) extending radially from the body (col. 13 / line 64 – col. 14 / line 13), FIG. 11g; a fluid port window (2180a) defined in a sidewall of the cannula funnel portion, the fluid port window configured to receive the fluid port therethrough when the removable seal cartridge is engaged with the cannula funnel portion (col. 14 / lines 23-27); and a docking portion (proximal rim of 2114 and/or 2164) proximal to the fluid port window.
As to claim 43, Ryan discloses the robotic system of Claim 42, wherein the cannula assembly comprises a continuous circular brim (2164) at proximal end of the cannula assembly, FIG. 11g.
Ryan is silent as to a robotic arm comprising a cannula interface configured to attach to the docking portion of the cannula assembly.
Soundararajan teaches a robotic system comprising a cannula assembly comprising a docking portion (812) defined at a proximal end of the cannula assembly (par. [0070]), FIG. 8A, and a robotic arm (110) comprising a cannula interface (120) configured to attach to the docking portion of the cannula assembly (par. [0033]-[0034] and [0070]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in Ryan a docking portion on the cannula assembly and a robotic arm that securely engages the docking portion via a cannula interface, as taught by Soundararajan, to control and manipulate the cannula assembly with the robotic arm which provides high positional accuracy as compared to manual manipulation, as well as sterility and minimal invasiveness. As taught in Soundararajan, the docking portion provided to Ryan would be at/extend up to and along a proximal end of the cannula assembly so as not to come into contact with and damage patient tissue, which is proximal to at least some of the voids. The docking portion taught in Soundararajan, extending alongside the proximal end of the cannula assembly, would be in addition to the brim disclosed in Ryan, which is proximal to the fluid port window.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY L KAMIKAWA/Examiner, Art Unit 3775