DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 6/27/2026 are acknowledged and accepted. Claim 1 is amended and Claims 1-12 remain pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 1/18/2025 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo (US 20190056569 A1, of record).
With respect to Claim 1, Yoo discloses an imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]) comprising:
(Table 1: all lenses have a refractive power)
a first lens (Fig. 1-- element 110, first lens; [0064]) having a refractive power;
a second lens (Fig. 1-- element 120, second lens; [0064]) having a refractive power;
a third lens (Fig. 1-- element 130, third lens; [0064]) having a refractive power and a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof ([0064]: object side surface of element 130 is convex);
a fourth lens (Fig. 1-- element 140, fourth lens; [0064]) having a refractive power;
a fifth lens (Fig. 1-- element 150, fifth lens; [0064]) having a negative refractive power (Table 1: f5= -4.899);
a sixth lens (Fig. 1-- element 160, sixth lens; [0064]) having a refractive power; and
a seventh lens (Fig. 1-- element 170, seventh lens; [0064]) having a refractive power and a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof ([0064]: object side surface of element 170 is convex),
wherein the first to seventh lenses (Fig. 1-- elements 110-170; [0064]) are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis (Fig. 1—elements 110-170 are arranged in ascending numerical order along an optical axis) of the imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]) from an object side of the imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]) toward an imaging plane (Fig. 1—element 190, image sensor; [0065]) of the imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]),
a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fourth lens (Fig. 1-- element 140, fourth lens; [0064]) is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens (Fig. 1-- element 150, fifth lens; [0064]) (Table 1: the magnitude of the radius of curvature of the image side surface of the fourth lens is greater than the magnitude of the radius of curvature of the object side surface of the fifth lens), and
1.2 < f-number < 1.9 (Table 1: f-number= 1.582) is satisfied, where f-number is an f-number of the imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]).
With respect to Claim 2, Yoo discloses an imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]) of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first lens (Fig. 1-- element 110, first lens; [0064]) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof ([0064]: element 110 has a convex object-side surface).
With respect to Claim 3, Yoo discloses an imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]) of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the second lens (Fig. 1-- element 120, second lens; [0064]) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof ([0064]: element 120 has a convex object-side surface).
With respect to Claim 4, Yoo discloses an imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]) of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the fourth lens (Fig. 1-- element 140, fourth lens; [0064]) has a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof ([0064]: element 140 has a concave object-side surface).
With respect to Claim 5, Yoo discloses an imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]) of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the fifth lens (Fig. 1-- element 150, fifth lens; [0064]) has a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof ([0064]: element 150 has a concave object-side surface).
With respect to Claim 6, Yoo discloses an imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]) of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the sixth lens (Fig. 1-- element 160, sixth lens; [0064]) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof ([0064]: element 160 has a convex object-side surface).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 20190056569 A1, of record) in view of Gross ("Handbook of Optical Systems Volume 3: Aberration Theory and Correction of Optical Systems", of record).
With respect to Claim 7, Yoo discloses an imaging lens system comprising:
(Table 1: all lenses have a refractive power)
a first lens (Fig. 1-- element 110, first lens; [0064]) having a refractive power;
a second lens (Fig. 1-- element 120, second lens; [0064]) having a refractive power;
a third lens (Fig. 1-- element 130, third lens; [0064]) having a refractive power;
a fourth lens (Fig. 1-- element 140, fourth lens; [0064]) having a refractive power;
a fifth lens (Fig. 1-- element 150, fifth lens; [0064]) having a negative refractive power (Table 1: f5= -4.899);
a sixth lens (Fig. 1-- element 160, sixth lens; [0064]) having a refractive power; and
a seventh lens (Fig. 1-- element 170, seventh lens; [0064]) having a refractive power and a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof ([0064]: object side surface of element 170 is convex),
wherein the first to seventh lenses (Fig. 1-- elements 110-170; [0064]) are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis (Fig. 1—elements 110-170 are arranged in ascending numerical order along an optical axis) of the imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]) from an object side of the imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]) toward an imaging plane (Fig. 1—element 190, image sensor; [0065]) of the imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]), and
1.2 < f-number < 1.9 is satisfied (Table 1: f-number= 1.582), where f-number is an f-number of the imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]).
However, Yoo does not disclose wherein a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the second lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the third lens.
Gross and Yoo are related as both pertaining to the field of optical systems. Gross teaches (page, 378 section 33.1.4) that bending a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance. Bending a lens involves modifying the curvatures of the two surfaces while keeping the focal power of the lens the same (“zero power operations”, “do not introduce any refractive power”). Gross teaches that bending a lens can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bend the image side surface of the second lens in order to make the radius of curvature larger than the radius of curvature of the object side surface of the third lens, because Gross teaches that changing the curvatures of a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross, page 378, section 33.1.4). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Gross teaches that bending a lens does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross, page 378, section 33.1.4).
With respect to Claim 8, Yoo and Gross disclose the imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]) of claim 7, and Yoo further discloses wherein the first lens (Fig. 1-- element 110, first lens; [0064]) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof ([0064]: element 110 has a convex object-side surface)..
With respect to Claim 9, Yoo and Gross disclose the imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]) of claim 7, and Yoo further discloses wherein the second lens (Fig. 1-- element 120, second lens; [0064]) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof ([0064]: element 120 has a convex object-side surface).
With respect to Claim 10, Yoo and Gross disclose the imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]) of claim 7, and Yoo further discloses the fourth lens (Fig. 1-- element 140, fourth lens; [0064])
However, Yoo does not disclose wherein the fourth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof.
Gross and Yoo are related as both pertaining to the field of optical systems. Gross teaches (page, 378 section 33.1.4) that bending a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance. Bending a lens involves modifying the curvatures of the two surfaces while keeping the focal power of the lens the same (“zero power operations”, “do not introduce any refractive power”). Gross teaches that bending a lens can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bend the object-side surface of the fourth lens in a paraxial region to be convex, because Gross teaches that changing the curvatures of a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross, page 378, section 33.1.4). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Gross teaches that bending a lens does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross, page 378, section 33.1.4).
With respect to Claim 11, Yoo and Gross disclose the imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]) of claim 7, and Yoo further discloses the fifth lens (Fig. 1-- element 150, fifth lens; [0064]).
However, Yoo does not disclose wherein the fifth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof.
Gross and Yoo are related as both pertaining to the field of optical systems. Gross teaches (page, 378 section 33.1.4) that bending a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance. Bending a lens involves modifying the curvatures of the two surfaces while keeping the focal power of the lens the same (“zero power operations”, “do not introduce any refractive power”). Gross teaches that bending a lens can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bend the object-side surface of the fifth lens in a paraxial region to be convex, because Gross teaches that changing the curvatures of a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross, page 378, section 33.1.4). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Gross teaches that bending a lens does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross, page 378, section 33.1.4).
With respect to Claim 12, Yoo and Gross disclose the imaging lens system (Fig. 1—element 100, optical imaging system; [0063]) of claim 7, and Yoo further discloses wherein the sixth lens (Fig. 1-- element 160, sixth lens; [0064]) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof ([0064]: element 160 has a convex object-side surface).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872