DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. Effective filing date is 6/10/2019 for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claim 2, line 7, and claim 16: “the initial human body region is a region by excluding the direct exposure region from the non-beam limiter region” is grammatically incomplete. Suggested: “the initial human body region is a region obtained by excluding the direct exposure region from the non-beam limiter region.”
Claim 13, lines 2 and 5: “compare result” should read “comparison result.”
Claim 20, line 1: “A non-transitory readable medium” should read “A non-transitory computer-readable medium” for consistency with the specification ([0305]–[0306]).
Claims 1, 15 and 20 recite “an image” while the summary [0011] and every embodiment ([0239]–[0269]) are limited to an X-ray image (claim 14 adds the X-ray limitation). The term is not objected to as new matter because [0245] describes several radiographic output images, but applicant should confirm the genus is intended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 depends from claim 15 and recites the determining the non-beam limiter region in the image. Claim 15 recites no non-beam limiter region and no step of determining one; those limitations are introduced only in claim 16. There is therefore insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, and it is unclear whether claim 17 intends to depend from claim 16 (as its system counterpart, claim 3, depends from claim 2) or to add the non-beam-limiter step to claim 15 independently. For purposes of examination, claim 17 is treated as depending from claim 16, consistent with claim 3.
Claim 18 depends from claim 17 and inherits the deficiency. Claim 18 also recites the position of the beam limiter, which has antecedent basis only through claim 17.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 7 recites that each sub-region of the plurality of sub-regions includes at least one pixel in the initial human body region. Claim 6 already requires segmenting the initial human body region into a plurality of sub-regions. A sub-region of a pixelated image region necessarily contains at least one pixel of that region; a sub-region containing no pixel of the initial human body region would not be a sub-region of it. The specification confirms the limitation adds nothing: [0263] “the sub-region may include one or more pixels” and “a single pixel in the initial human body region may be considered as a sub-region.” Claim 7 therefore does not narrow claim 6.
Claim 8 recites that at least two sub-regions of the plurality of sub-regions are different from each other. Any two sub-regions of a plurality are different regions (they occupy different positions, see [0264]: “there may be no common pixel between any two sub-regions”). The claim does not state the respect in which the sub-regions differ (shape, size, pixel content), so it recites no limitation beyond the plurality already required by claim 6. If applicant intends a difference in shape or area ([0264]: “equal area or the same shape” versus “randomly”), the claim should say so. Alternatively, if applicant maintains that “different” has a narrower meaning, claim 8 is indefinite under 112(b) because the metric of difference is not stated.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13, 14, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang, US 6,775,399 B1 (issued Aug. 10, 2004; filed Nov. 17, 2000) (“Jiang”).
Claim 1
A system for processing an image, comprising: — Jiang, Title; col. 1, ll. 1–4; claim 1: “A region of interest (ROI) segmentation system, comprising: A. at least one computer platform, having a processor and a memory associated therewith; B. at least one digital image stored in said memory, including at least one ROI and a set of direct exposure (DE) regions and a set of collimated regions; C. a ROI segmentation code, executable on said platform…”
at least one storage device including a set of instructions for processing an image; and at least one processor in communication with the at least one storage device, wherein when executing the set of instructions, the at least one processor is directed to cause the system to perform operations including: — Jiang, claim 1 (quoted above: computer platform with processor and memory; ROI segmentation code stored and executable on the platform); col. 5, ll. 1–6: “implemented on any of a variety of types of computers, such as a personal computer or workstation. Also, if sufficiently configured, the present invention may be implemented on smaller portable or handheld computers, or other electronic devices.”
determining an initial human body region in an image; — Jiang, col. 1, ll. 58–62: “Collimators are also applied to partition an IP plate into different views so that multiple exams can be exposed on the same IP plate. A view refers to a region on an IP plate that is not covered by the collimators. If an image contains only one exam, the view is the entire uncollimated region.”; col. 4, ll. 52–64: “In step 302, a digital image, having one or more views, is input into the ROI segmentation system. Collimated regions are detected and removed in step 304, which allows the number of views in the image to be determined and allows those views to be labeled in step 306.”; col. 10, ll. 45–47: “After all collimated region edges are detected and verified, the regions outside of the detected collimated region edges are labeled as the collimated regions.”; col. 2, ll. 29–36: “each view will contain ROI 210 and DE regions 208 bounded by collimated regions 206.” The view is the region in which the human body part (e.g., the foot of FIG. 2A) is located, i.e., the initial human body region.
determining a threshold image based on pixel values of the initial human body region, wherein a threshold pixel in the threshold image corresponds to one or more pixels in the initial human body region; — Jiang, col. 11, ll. 31–45: “A global histogram of the scaled CR image would typically show a large overlap between DE and ROI, with collimated regions removed. However, local histograms of sub-regions typically show adequate separation on the distributions of DE and ROI. Therefore, the scaled CR image is partitioned into sub-regions for effective DE removal. Histograms of all sub-regions in each view are computed and then smoothed with a moving average filter. A searching algorithm is used by DE processor 444 to find the peak corresponding to the DE and the valley that separates the DE from the ROI for each sub-region. The detected valley point that separates the DE from the ROI is then adjusted with anatomy (i.e., as a function of the anatomy parameter) and the adjusted value is used as a threshold for the region.”; col. 3, ll. 45–53: “A DE subsystem processor generates local histograms of sub-regions, which show separation of the distributions of DE regions and ROI. … The detected valley point is adjusted with anatomy and the adjusted value is used as a threshold value for the region.” The thresholds are computed from the pixel values (histograms) of the view, and each threshold governs the pixels of one sub-region — a threshold pixel corresponding to a plurality of region pixels.
and determining whether pixels in the initial human body region are target pixels in a target human body region based on the threshold image. — Jiang, col. 11, ll. 44–45: “All sub-regions are segmented with the adjusted thresholds.”; col. 3, ll. 53–55: “The DE sub-regions are segmented with the threshold value. Hole filling and small object removal is then performed to complete the DE segmentation.”; col. 12, ll. 7–18: “ROI regions 814 in the mask are also represented by a pixel value (different from the pixel values used for the DE and collimated regions). As a result, when the digital image is combined with the CR image of FIG. 1, by output image processor 470, for example, only ROI 114 is left…” The pixels of each sub-region of the view are classified by the sub-region threshold as ROI (anatomy, the target human body region) or DE.
Claim 13
The system of claim 1, wherein the determining whether pixels in the initial human body region are target pixels in the target human body region based on the threshold image includes: — see claim 1.
determining a compare result by comparing a pixel value of a pixel or a pixel operation value of a plurality of pixels in the initial human body region with a threshold pixel value of a corresponding threshold pixel in the threshold image; — Jiang, col. 11, ll. 44–45: “the adjusted value is used as a threshold for the region. All sub-regions are segmented with the adjusted thresholds.”; col. 3, ll. 52–53: “the adjusted value is used as a threshold value for the region. The DE sub-regions are segmented with the threshold value.” Segmenting the pixels of a sub-region with a threshold value is a comparison of each pixel value with that threshold; the result of the comparison (above/below the valley) is the compare result. A pixel that is thresholded is necessarily compared with the threshold (MPEP 2112; inherent in “segmented with the threshold value”).
and determining whether the pixels in the initial human body region are target pixels in the target human body region based on the compare result. — Jiang, col. 11, ll. 44–45 and col. 12, ll. 7–18 (pixels above the threshold assigned the DE mask value; the remaining pixels are ROI 814).
Claim 14
The system of claim 1, wherein the image is an X-ray image. — Jiang, col. 1, ll. 65–67: “a CR image may also contain direct exposure (DE) region, which is a region that has been directly exposed to the x-ray source”; claim 7: “wherein said digital image is of a type chosen from a group including: 1) computed radiography; 2) digital radiology; 3) digital fluoroscopy…”
Claim 15
A method for processing an image, comprising: — Jiang, col. 4, ll. 52–53: “A functional flow diagram 300 depicting a method for producing a ROI-only image is shown in FIG. 3.”
determining an initial human body region in an image; — Jiang, col. 1, ll. 58–62; col. 4, ll. 52–64; col. 10, ll. 45–47 (same excerpts as claim 1).
determining a threshold image based on pixel values of the initial human body region, wherein a threshold pixel in the threshold image corresponds to one or more pixels in the initial human body region; — Jiang, col. 11, ll. 31–45; col. 3, ll. 45–53 (same excerpts as claim 1).
and determining whether pixels in the initial human body region are target pixels in a target human body region based on the threshold image. — Jiang, col. 11, ll. 44–45; col. 3, ll. 53–55; col. 12, ll. 7–18 (same excerpts as claim 1).
Claim 20
A non-transitory readable medium, comprising at least one set of instructions for processing an image, wherein when executed by at least one processor of an electrical device, the at least one set of instructions directs the at least one processor to perform a method, the method comprising: — Jiang, claim 1: “at least one computer platform, having a processor and a memory associated therewith; … a ROI segmentation code, executable on said platform” (the memory storing the executable code is a non-transitory medium); col. 5, ll. 1–6 (personal computer, workstation, handheld computers or other electronic devices).
determining an initial human body region in an image; determining a threshold image based on pixel values of the initial human body region, wherein a threshold pixel in the threshold image corresponds to one or more pixels in the initial human body region; and determining whether pixels in the initial human body region are target pixels in a target human body region based on the threshold image. — Jiang, col. 1, ll. 58–62; col. 4, ll. 52–64; col. 10, ll. 45–47; col. 11, ll. 31–45; col. 3, ll. 45–55; col. 12, ll. 7–18 (same excerpts as claim 1, each limitation mapped identically).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 and (in the alternative) 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Chefd’hotel US 2017/0098310.
Claim 6
The system of claim 1 — Jiang discloses every limitation of claim 1 as set out in the 102 rejection above: a computer platform with processor and memory executing ROI segmentation code (Jiang, claim 1; col. 5, ll. 1–6); determining an initial human body region (the view not covered by collimators: col. 1, ll. 58–62 “A view refers to a region on an IP plate that is not covered by the collimators”; col. 4, ll. 52–64; col. 10, ll. 45–47); determining a threshold image from pixel values of that region, each threshold pixel corresponding to the pixels of one sub-region (col. 11, ll. 31–45 “the scaled CR image is partitioned into sub-regions … Histograms of all sub-regions in each view are computed … the adjusted value is used as a threshold for the region”); and determining whether pixels are target (ROI) pixels based on the thresholds (col. 11, ll. 44–45 “All sub-regions are segmented with the adjusted thresholds”; col. 12, ll. 7–18).
wherein the determining the threshold image based on pixel values of the initial human body region includes: segmenting the initial human body region into a plurality of sub-regions; — Jiang discloses col. 11, ll. 34–35: “Therefore, the scaled CR image is partitioned into sub-regions for effective DE removal.”; col. 3, ll. 45–46: “A DE subsystem processor generates local histograms of sub-regions”.
determining segment thresholds of the plurality of sub-regions; — Jiang discloses col. 11, ll. 36–45: “Histograms of all sub-regions in each view are computed and then smoothed with a moving average filter. A searching algorithm is used by DE processor 444 to find the peak corresponding to the DE and the valley that separates the DE from the ROI for each sub-region. The detected valley point … is then adjusted with anatomy … and the adjusted value is used as a threshold for the region. All sub-regions are segmented with the adjusted thresholds.”
and determining the threshold image by fitting the segment thresholds. — Jiang does not disclose fitting (interpolating) the per-sub-region thresholds into a threshold image; Jiang applies each sub-region’s threshold directly to all pixels of that sub-region (col. 11, ll. 44–45), so the threshold image is piecewise constant.
Chefd’hotel in the related field of endeavor discloses determining a threshold image by fitting (interpolating) per-block thresholds: [0017] “the aforementioned histogram technique may be applied to tiled sub regions (‘blocks’) of the image, and edge threshold levels … may be determined as smooth interpolates of thresholds found in adjoining tiles (‘blocks’).”; [0029] “The threshold at each pixel is obtained by interpolation based on the threshold range at each block, with the threshold range being assumed at the center of the block … The result is a locally adaptive threshold image”; [0150] “After the local threshold for each block is generated, the threshold for each pixel in the image is generated by interpolation (S667), either linear or bilinear, via grid structure or triangulation. As a result of the interpolation, each pixel of the initial image corresponds to and has assigned an interpolated threshold value.”; [0087] “the processor of the system interpolates the optimized intensity threshold values of the plurality of sub-regions at each pixel of the initial image and assigns each of said pixels its interpolated optimized intensity threshold value.”; [0167] “Then, the center thresholds are interpolated over the whole image, thereby assigning each pixel an interpolated threshold value.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the image segmentation and ROI determination of Jiang and interpolating the block thresholds intoa per-pixel threshold of Chefd’hotel in order to arrive at the instant recitation and provide a robust and accurate image foreground.
Claim 7
The system of claim 6 — Jiang in view of Chefd’hotel as applied to claim 6 (and claim 1) above: Jiang, claim 1; col. 5, ll. 1–6; col. 1, ll. 58–62; col. 4, ll. 52–64; col. 11, ll. 31–45; col. 12, ll. 7–18; Chefd’hotel [0017], [0029], [0087], [0150].
wherein each sub-region of the plurality of sub-regions includes at least one pixel in the initial human body region. — Jiang discloses sub-regions of the scaled CR image for which histograms of pixel values are computed (col. 11, ll. 34–37 “the scaled CR image is partitioned into sub-regions … Histograms of all sub-regions in each view are computed”), which necessarily contain pixels. Chefd’hotel discloses [0028] “for each block in a plurality of blocks within the initial digital image” and [0167] “the image may be divided into 2×2 image blocks”, each block being a set of image pixels whose intensities populate the block histogram ([0190]). Motivation as for claim 6.
Claim 8
The system of claim 6 — as applied to claim 6 above.
wherein at least two sub-regions of the plurality of sub-regions are different from each other. — Jiang discloses a plurality of distinct sub-regions, each with its own histogram and threshold (col. 11, ll. 36–45 “Histograms of all sub-regions … for each sub-region … All sub-regions are segmented with the adjusted thresholds”). Chefd’hotel discloses [0167] four different blocks having different threshold ranges “[30, 60], [40, 80], [50, 90], and [60, 100]”, i.e., sub-regions that differ from one another in position and content. Motivation as for claim 6. (Claim 8 is also rejected under 112(d) above.)
Claim 9
The system of claim 6 — as applied to claim 6 above.
wherein shapes of the plurality of sub-regions are regular. — Jiang does not disclose the shape of its sub-regions. Chefd’hotel discloses regular sub-region shapes: [0017] “tiled sub regions (‘blocks’)”; [0157] “the image may be uniformly divided into regions or blocks depending on a scale of the image and a target structure of interest”; [0167] “the image may be divided into 2×2 image blocks”; [0150] interpolation “via grid structure”. Uniformly tiled grid blocks are rectangles, a regular shape within the meaning of the specification ([0263] “a regular shape (e.g., a square, a rectangular, a regular polygon)”). How and why: using a uniform rectangular grid for Jiang’s sub-regions is the simplest partition to implement, gives every sub-region the same statistical weight, and provides the regular lattice of block-center thresholds that Chefd’hotel’s grid interpolation requires ([0150]); predictable result (MPEP 2143 I.A, I.D).
Claim 10
The system of claim 6 — as applied to claim 6 above.
wherein the threshold image is a curve or a surface. — Jiang does not disclose a threshold curve or surface. Chefd’hotel discloses a threshold image whose values form a surface over the image plane: [0029] “The threshold at each pixel is obtained by interpolation based on the threshold range at each block, with the threshold range being assumed at the center of the block … The result is a locally adaptive threshold image”; [0150] “the threshold for each pixel in the image is generated by interpolation (S667), either linear or bilinear, via grid structure or triangulation”. Linear or bilinear interpolation of threshold values located at block centers over a two-dimensional grid or triangulation defines a piecewise-planar surface of threshold values (threshold as a function of pixel coordinates), which is a surface as claimed (compare present specification [0255], [0268]). Motivation as for claim 6.
Claim 13 (alternative ground)
The system of claim 1 — Jiang as applied in the 102 rejection and above.
wherein the determining whether pixels in the initial human body region are target pixels in the target human body region based on the threshold image includes: determining a compare result by comparing a pixel value of a pixel or a pixel operation value of a plurality of pixels in the initial human body region with a threshold pixel value of a corresponding threshold pixel in the threshold image; and determining whether the pixels in the initial human body region are target pixels in the target human body region based on the compare result. — Jiang discloses thresholding each sub-region with its threshold (col. 11, ll. 44–45). To the extent Jiang is found not to disclose the comparison expressly, Chefd’hotel discloses it: [0088] “the processor compares the intensity values of the pixels of the digital image with their respectively assigned interpolated optimized intensity threshold values and automatically generates a foreground image mask. … The prediction depends on whether the intensity value of a pixel is found to be below or above the interpolated intensity threshold assigned to said pixel.”; [0029] “the intensity at each pixel may be compared with the threshold having been interpolated for the corresponding pixel of the source or input image.” Motivation same claim 6 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: See respective recitation.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Examiner should be directed to Fayyaz Alam whose telephone number is (571) 270-1102. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9:30am to 7:00pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
Fayyaz Alam
October 31, 2026
/FAYYAZ ALAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646