DETAILED ACTION
The application of Michael Ignazio for Devices And Methods For Locating Accessories of An Electronic Device filed 1/18/25 has been examined. Claims 2-21 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 2,10, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,410,485
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims 2,10, and 16 are generally broader than the limitation of 10 of US Patent 10,410,485. The limitations of claims 2,10, and 16 are broadly recited in claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,410,485.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Sweeney et al. US Patent Application Publication 20090058670.
Regarding claim 2, Sweeney et al. teaches a computer-implemented method comprising detecting, by an electronic device, a disconnection of an accessory from the electronic device (paragraph 019); determining, by the electronic device, based at least in part on the disconnection, a first location corresponding to where the accessory was disconnected from the electronic device (paragraph 039); determining, by the electronic device, via a background process, a second location of the accessory by comparing the first location to a current location of the electronic device (paragraph 039-40); and issuing, by the electronic device, a notification associated with the second location (paragraph 038).
Regarding claim 3, Sweeney teaches the background process facilitates detection of the second location without being readily presented (paragraph 037).
Regarding claim 4, Sweeney teaches the background process facilitates detection of the second location without interfering with a user operating other applications on the electronic device (background application can be run anytime, paragraph 037).
Regarding claim 5, Sweeney teaches executing, by the electronic device, to periodically search for the accessory until at least one of the second location is determined or the electronic device receives a request to stop execution of the background process (paragraph 041,054).
Regarding claim 6, Sweeney teaches determining, by the electronic device, a distance between the first location and the current location, wherein issuing the notification is based at least in part on the distance (vibration is faster when the user is closer to the accessory, paragraph 022).
Regarding claim 7, Sweeney teaches the distance is based at least in part on a signal strength between the electronic device and the accessory (paragraph 022).
Regarding claim 8, Sweeney teaches issuing the notification is based at least in part on the distance satisfying a threshold distance value (paragraph 028).
Regarding claim 9, Sweeney teaches confirming, by the electronic device, that the second location is proximate an actual location of the accessory based at least in part on the distance satisfying a threshold distance value (tactile feedback is provided, paragraph 022).
Regarding claim 10, Sweeney teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising: detecting, by the electronic device, a disconnection of an accessory from the electronic device (paragraph 019,039); determining, by the electronic device, based at least in part on the disconnection, a first location corresponding to where the accessory was disconnected from the electronic device (paragraph 039); determining, by the electronic device, via a background process, a second location of the accessory by comparing the first location to a current location of the electronic device (paragraph 039-40); and issuing, by the electronic device, a notification associated with the second location (paragraph 038).
Regarding claim 11, Sweeney teaches the background process facilitates detection of the second location without being readily presented (paragraph 037).
Regarding claim 12, Sweeney teaches the background process facilitates detection of the second location without interfering with a user operating other applications on the electronic device (background application can be run anytime, paragraph 037).
.
Regarding claim 13, Sweeney teaches executing, by the electronic device, to periodically search for the accessory until at least one of the second location is determined or the electronic device receives a request to stop execution of the background process paragraph 041,054).
Regarding claim 15, Sweeney teaches additional computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to perform additional operations comprising determining, by the electronic device, a distance between the first location and the current location, wherein issuing the notification is based at least in part on the distance (vibration is faster when the user is closer to the accessory, paragraph 022).
Regarding claim 16, Sweeney teaches additional computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to perform additional operations comprising confirming, by the electronic device, that the second location is proximate an actual location of the accessory based at least in part on the distance satisfying a threshold distance value (paragraph 028).
Regarding claim 17, Sweeney teaches the background process facilitates detection of the second location without being readily presented (tactile feedback is provided, paragraph 022)
Regarding claim 18, Sweeney teaches the background process facilitates detection of the second location without interfering with a user operating other applications on the electronic device (paragraph 037).
Regarding claim 19, Sweeney teaches the processor is further configured to access the memory and execute the additional computer-executable instructions to perform additional operations comprising executing, by the electronic device, to periodically search for the accessory until at least one of the second location is determined or the electronic device receives a request to stop execution of the background process .
Regarding claim 20, Sweeney teaches the processor is further configured to access the memory and execute the additional computer-executable instructions to perform additional operations comprising determining, by the electronic device, a distance between the first location and the current location, wherein issuing the notification is based at least in part on the distance (vibration is faster when the user is closer to the accessory, paragraph 022).
Regarding claim 21, Sweeney teaches the processor is further configured to access the memory and execute the additional computer-executable instructions to perform additional operations comprising confirming, by the electronic device, that the second location is proximate an actual location of the accessory based at least in part on the distance satisfying a threshold distance value (paragraph 028).
Conclusion
/VERNAL U BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686