Inventorship
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 “fudustrial” should read “industrial”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is not clear of what the “MEMS” is in the claims and specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,268,459. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they have the same scope.
a cloud service; a plurality of reach-based components; a plurality of wireless gas sensors operating as nodes to acquire sensor data; wherein the nodes are connected to the cloud service through the reach-based components (see claim 1 of ‘459).
For claim 2 (see claim 2 of ‘459).
For claim 3 (see claim 3 of ‘459).
For claim 4 (see claim 5 of ‘459).
For claim 5 (see claim 6 of ‘459).
For claim 6 (see claim 7 of ‘459).
For claim 7 (see claim 8 of ‘459).
For claim 8 (see claim 9 of ‘459).
For claim 9 (see claim 4 of ‘459).
For claim 10 (see claim 10 of ‘459).
For claim 11 (see claim 11 of ‘459).
For claim 12 (see claim 12 of ‘459).
For claim 13 (see claim 13 of ‘459).
For claim 14 (see claim 14 of ‘459).
For claim 15 (see claim 15 of ‘ 459).
For claim 16 (see claim 16 of ‘459).
For claim 17 (see claim 17 of ‘459).
For claim 18 (see claim 18 of ‘459).
For claim 19 (see claim 19 of ‘459).
For claim 20 (see claim 20 of 459).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,698,035. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they have the same scope.
a cloud service; a plurality of reach-based components; a plurality of wireless gas sensors operating as nodes to acquire sensor data; wherein the nodes are connected to the cloud service through the reach-based components (see claim 1 of ‘035).
For claim 2 (see claim 1 of ‘035).
For claim 3 (see claim 2 of ‘035).
For claim 4 (see claim 4 of ‘035).
For claim 5 (see claim 5 of ‘035).
For claim 6 (see claim 6 of ‘035).
For claim 7 (see claim 7 of ‘035).
For claim 8 (see claim 8 of ‘035).
For claim 9 (see claim 3 of ‘035).
For claim 10 (see claim 9 of ‘035).
For claim 11 (see claim 10 of ‘035).
For claim 12 (see claim 11 of ‘035).
For claim 13 (see claim 12 of ‘035).
For claim 14 (see claim 13 of ‘035).
For claim 15 (see claim 14 of ‘035).
For claim 16 (see claim 15 of ‘035).
For claim 17 (see claim 16 of ‘035).
For claim 18 (see claim 17 of ‘035).
For claim 19 (see claim 18 of ‘035).
For claim 20 (see claim 19 of ‘035).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,203,423. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they have the same scope.
a cloud service; a plurality of reach-based components; a plurality of wireless gas sensors operating as nodes to acquire sensor data; wherein the nodes are connected to the cloud service through the reach-based components (see claim 1 of ‘423).
For claim 2 (see claim 2 of ‘423).
For claim 3 (see claim 3 of ‘423).
For claim 4 (see claim 1 of ‘423).
For claim 5 ( see claim 1 of ‘423).
For claim 6 (see claim 1 of ‘423).
For claim 7 (see claim 5 of ‘423).
For claim 8 (see claim 6 of ‘423).
For claim 9 (see claim 4 of ‘423).
For claim 10 (see claim 7 of ‘423).
For claim 11 (see claim 8 of ‘423).
For claim 12 (see claim 9 of ‘423).
For claim 13 (see claim 10 of ‘423).
For claim 14 (see claim 11 of ‘423).
For claim 15 (see claim 12 of ‘423).
For claim 16 (see claim 13 of ‘423).
For claim 17 (see claim 14 of ‘423).
For claim 18 (see claim 15 of ‘423).
For claim 19 (see claim 16 of ‘423).
For claim 20 (see claim 17 of ‘423).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shinohara (2017/0171692).
Shinohara teaches a cloud service 80; a plurality of reach-based components 200, 300, 90;a plurality of wireless gas sensors 2 operating as nodes to acquire sensor data; wherein the nodes are connected to the cloud service 80 through the reach-based components 200, 300, 90 (see figures 1-4, [0037]).
For claim 10 (see [0037]).
Claim(s) 1, 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ray et al (9,652,955).
Ray et al teaches a cloud service 1004; a plurality of reach-based components 1003, 1005; a plurality of wireless gas sensors 1001 operating as nodes to acquire sensor data; wherein the nodes 1001 are connected to the cloud service 1004 through the reach-based components 1003, 1005 (see figure 1, col. 10 line 21-34).
For claim 2 (see col. 11 lines 27-56).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara (2017/0171692) in view of Yang et al (9109935).
Shinohara teaches a cloud service 80; a plurality of reach-based components 200, 300, 90;a plurality of wireless gas sensors 2 operating as nodes to acquire sensor data; wherein the nodes are connected to the cloud service 80 through the reach-based components 200, 300, 90 (see figures 1-4, [0037]). Shinohara does not teach a MEMS sensor. Yang et al teaches a MEMS sensor therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the MEMS sensor on the gas detecting system of Shinohara as taught by Yang et al in order to provide high reliability and extended dynamic measurement range.
Conclusion
/HAI H HUYNH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747