DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16 is objected to because fallopian is capitalized. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in — (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for the purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2011/0137150 to Connor et al. “Connor”.
As for Claims 1-3, 9-11 and 14, Connor discloses a contrast medium device comprising a first syringe and a second syringe each containing a fluid (202 and 204 Fig. 2 and corresponding descriptions); two components (e.g. syringe plungers) that can move the fluids in a simultaneous fashion (206 in Fig. 2 and corresponding descriptions); a contrast pattern generating chamber (e.g. static mixer 208) located where the two barrels are connected (Paragraph [0019]) and an exit port that connects the aforementioned mixer to a catheter (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 12, Connor discloses wherein one syringe container can contain a microbubble contrast agent (e.g. contains a gas) and the other container contains saline (e.g. liquid) (Fig. 2).
As for Claims 15-16, Connor discloses a contrast medium generation and delivery device coupled to a catheter as explained above. Connor explains that the catheter is configured to deliver mixed echogenic contrast to the uterus and the fallopian tubes to be viewed with ultrasound (Paragraph [0021]). Examiner notes that one skilled in the art would be able to determine the patency of the fallopian tube by observing the ultrasound image as described above in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-8, 13 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connor in view of U.S. Publication No. 2009/0028406 to Arditi et al. “Arditi”.
As for Claims 4-7, 13 and 18-20, Connor discloses a contrast medium device as described above but fails to specify the microbubble contrast agent container comprises a porous substance.
Arditi teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to ultrasonic systems and methods to visualize a contrast agent (Abstract; Paragraph [0046]) where the contrast agent may include suspensions of gas bubbles in a liquid carrier where the gas bubbles are generally stabilized by entraining or encapsulating the gas or a precursor thereof into a variety of systems including emulsifiers, oils, thickeners, sugars, proteins or polymers and may involve a surfactant or other kinds of agents including suspension of porous microparticles or other solids (Paragraph [0046]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified the microbubble contrast agent described by Connor to include other types of conventionally known ultrasound contrast agents described by Arditi in order to enhance the visualization. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Regarding Claim 8, Applicant explains the liquid may be foamed by shaking the container (Specification; Paragraph [0049]). Accordingly, the modified contrast agent described above could be foamed via shaking the container in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connor in view of U.S. Publication No. 2007/0128117 to Bettinger et al. “Bettinger”.
As for Claims 17, Connor discloses a contrast medium device as described above but fails to specify the microbubble contrast agent further comprises a therapeutic composition.
Bettinger teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to ultrasound imaging with contrast agents where the contrast agent is combined with a therapeutic compound (Paragraph [0134]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified the contrast medium device described by Connor to include other types of contrast agents combined with therapeutic compounds described by Bettinger in order to simultaneously diagnose and treat patient conditions. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,070,888. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed toward a contrast generating device including containers (e.g. syringes), plungers for simultaneously injecting fluids, a contrast pattern generating chamber and a catheter. The patented system is configured to generate and deliver the specific contrast medium specifics (e.g. gas, liquid, therapeutic composition, surfactant, emulsifier, other agents, etc.). Examiner notes that the presently pending claims represent an obvious broadening of the patented system.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 9,554,826. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed toward using the same contrast generating device to create a contrast including two containers (e.g. syringes), first and second plungers for simultaneously injecting fluids, a contrast pattern generating chamber and a catheter. The patented system is configured to generate and deliver the specific contrast medium specifics (e.g. gas, liquid, therapeutic composition, surfactant, emulsifier, other agents, etc.). Examiner notes that the presently pending claims represent an obvious broadening of the patented system.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,172,643. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed toward using the same contrast generating device to create a contrast including two containers (e.g. syringes), first and second plungers for simultaneously injecting fluids, a contrast pattern generating chamber and a catheter. The patented system is configured to generate and deliver the specific contrast medium specifics (e.g. gas, liquid, therapeutic composition, surfactant, emulsifier, other agents, etc.). Examiner notes that the presently pending claims represent an obvious broadening of the patented system.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,258,375. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed toward using the same contrast generating device to create a contrast including two containers (e.g. syringes), first and second plungers for simultaneously injecting fluids, a contrast pattern generating chamber and a catheter. The patented system is configured to generate and deliver the specific contrast medium specifics (e.g. gas, liquid, therapeutic composition, surfactant, emulsifier, other agents, etc.). Examiner notes that the presently pending claims represent an obvious broadening of the patented system.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,737,014. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed toward a device and method for delivering contrast that can be used to visualize a structure, the device having two containers (e.g. syringes), two plungers for simultaneously injecting fluid and gas. The patented system is configured to generate and deliver the specific contrast medium specifics (e.g. gas, liquid, therapeutic composition, surfactant, emulsifier, other agents, etc.). Examiner notes that the presently pending claims represent an obvious broadening of the patented system.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,154,326. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed toward methods of providing a contrast medium composition to a structure (e.g. fallopian tube and/or uterus) using a contrast generating device including containers (e.g. syringes), plungers for simultaneously injecting fluids, a contrast pattern generating chamber and a catheter. The patented system is configured to generate and deliver the specific contrast medium specifics (e.g. gas, liquid, therapeutic composition, surfactant, emulsifier, other agents, etc.). Examiner notes that the presently pending claims represent an obvious broadening of the patented system.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,648,033. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed toward methods of providing a contrast medium composition to a structure (e.g. fallopian tube and/or uterus) using a contrast generating device including containers (e.g. syringes), plungers for simultaneously injecting fluids, a contrast pattern generating chamber and a catheter. The patented system is configured to generate and deliver the specific contrast medium specifics (e.g. gas, liquid, therapeutic composition, surfactant, emulsifier, other agents, etc.). Examiner notes that the presently pending claims represent an obvious broadening of the patented system.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,171.463. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed toward methods of providing a contrast medium composition to a structure (e.g. fallopian tube and/or uterus) using a contrast generating device including containers (e.g. syringes), plungers for simultaneously injecting fluids, a contrast pattern generating chamber and a catheter. The patented system is configured to generate and deliver the specific contrast medium specifics (e.g. gas, liquid, therapeutic composition, surfactant, emulsifier, other agents, etc.). Examiner notes that the presently pending claims represent an obvious broadening of the patented system.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/032001. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed toward methods of providing a contrast medium composition to a structure (e.g. fallopian tube and/or uterus) using a contrast generating device including containers (e.g. syringes), plungers for simultaneously injecting fluids, a contrast pattern generating chamber and a catheter. The patented system is configured to generate and deliver the specific contrast medium specifics (e.g. gas, liquid, therapeutic composition, surfactant, emulsifier, other agents, etc.). Examiner notes that the presently pending claims represent an obvious broadening of the patented system.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER L COOK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797