DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claims 1-14 recite subject matter first disclosed in parent Application No. 15/907677. Therefore ,the claims receive the benefit of the filing date of the prior application of 02/28/2018.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taniguchi et al. (US2015/0013187 of record) hereinafter Taniguchi.
Regarding claim 1, Taniguchi teaches:
A method of forming an article of footwear, the method comprising:
depositing a fibrous material over a shoe last to form a fibrous material layer (Fig 9a-e: base member 1, core 50; [0008, 0117, 0124-0129]), wherein the fibrous material layer forms a portion of an upper of the article of footwear ([0115-0117, 0124-0129]); and
flowing a polymer material within a mold so as to conform with a lower portion of the upper comprising the fibrous material layer (Fig 10a-c: resin 72, mold 63; [0129]); and
drying the polymer material to form a sole structure for the article of footwear (Fig 10a-c; midsole 3; [0129]).
Regarding claim 2, Taniguchi teaches the method of claim 1.
Taniguchi further teaches wherein the polymer material is flowed within the mold against the lower portion of the upper prior to drying of the polymer material forming the sole structure ([0129]).
Regarding claim 3, Taniguchi teaches the method of claim 1.
Taniguchi further teaches wherein the flowing the polymer within the mold comprises: aligning the mold with the shoe last such that a mold cavity is located beneath a bottom surface of the shoe last; and injecting the polymer material into the mold cavity to form the sole structure (Fig 10a-c; [0129]).
Regarding claim 4, Taniguchi teaches the method of claim 3.
Taniguchi further teaches wherein the upper comprising the fibrous material layer is on the shoe last when the mold is aligned with the shoe last (Fig 10a-c; [0129]).
Regarding claim 6, Taniguchi teaches the method of claim 1.
Taniguchi further teaches depositing a second material over the shoe last to form a second material layer, wherein the second material layer forms a portion of the upper of the article of footwear (9a-e: resin 71; [0126]).
Regarding claim 8, Taniguchi teaches the method of claim 6.
Taniguchi further teaches wherein the second material comprises a polymer ([0138]), and the second material layer comprises a skin layer of the upper (Fig 9a-e: reinforcement member 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bohnsack et al. (US2017/0238659 of record) hereinafter Bohnsack and Breithaupt et al. (US2016/0168774 of record) hereinafter Breithaupt.
Regarding claim 5, Taniguchi teaches the method of claim 1.
Taniguchi does not teach wherein the fibrous material comprises a fibrous mixture of staple fibers combined with a binder material, and the fibrous mixture is spray formed onto the shoe last.
In the same field of endeavor regarding footwear, Bohnsack teaches forming a nonwoven fabric on a last by depositing a fibrous material comprising a fibrous mixture of fibers combined with a binder material, and the fibrous mixture is spray formed onto the shoe last ([0029, 0032]) for the motivation of providing low cost and minimal manual labor to manufacture ([0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fabric as taught by Taniguchi to be spray formed as taught by Bohnsack in order to provide low cost and minimal manual labor to manufacture.
Taniguchi in view of Bohnsack does not teach staple fibers.
In the same field of endeavor regarding footwear, Breithaupt teaches using cut fibers of different lengths for the motivation of optimizing durability and porosity ([0076-0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fibers as taught by Taniguchi in view of Bohnsack with the cut fibers as taught by Breithaupt in order to optimize durability and porosity.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Hooper et al. (US2009/0071036) hereinafter Hooper.
Regarding claim 7, Taniguchi teaches the method of claim 6.
Taniguchi further teaches wherein the second material layer comprises a preformed fabric material ([0138]) selected from the group consisting of a knitted material, a woven material, a nonwoven material and an embroidered material.
Taniguchi does not teach a preformed fabric material selected from the group consisting of a knitted material, a woven material, a nonwoven material and an embroidered material.
In the same field of endeavor regarding footwear, Hooper teaches providing a carbon fiber weave for the motivation of providing increased flexibility of the upper ([0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second material layer as taught by Taniguchi to include a carbon fiber weave as taught by Hooper in order to provide increased flexibility of the upper.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Bohnsack.
Regarding claim 9, Taniguchi teaches the method of claim 8.
Taniguchi does not teach wherein the second material is deposited over the shoe last prior to the fibrous material being deposited over the shoe last.
However, Taniguchi teaches the fibrous material is part of an inner layer of the upper and the second material is part of an outer layer of the upper (Fig 2a; [0087]).
In the same field of endeavor regarding footwear, Bohnsack teaches forming layers of an upper on a last by first applying and outer layer, then applying inner layer, and turning the upper inside out to form the completed upper ([0054-0059, 0062]) for the motivation of providing low cost and minimal manual labor to manufacture ([0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper as taught by Taniguchi to be spray formed as taught by Bohnsack in order to provide low cost and minimal manual labor to manufacture.
Regarding claim 10, Taniguchi in view of Bohnsack teaches the method of claim 9.
Bohnsack further teaches wherein the shoe last includes a plurality of structural features formed on an exterior surface of the last, and the depositing the second material over the shoe last comprises: spray forming the second material onto the exterior surface of the shoe last including the structural features; wherein, after removing the second material layer of the upper from the shoe last, a surface of the second material layer of the upper includes structural features that correspond with and are inverted in contour in relation to the structural features on the exterior surface of the shoe last ([0054-0059, 0062]).
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi in view of Bohnsack as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Farris et al. (US2017/0035147 of record) hereinafter Farris.
Regarding claim 11, Taniguchi in view of Bohnsack teaches the method of claim 10.
Taniguchi in view of Bohnsack does not teach wherein the structural features are formed over at least 50% of the surface of the second material layer.
In the same field of endeavor regarding footwear, Farris teaches auxetic structural features over the outer surface of an upper for the motivation of allowing auxetic expansion of the upper (Fig 12: openings 720; [0003, 0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structural features as taught by Taniguchi in view of Bohnsack with the auxetic pattern as taught by Farris in order to allow auxetic expansion of the upper.
Farris further teaches wherein the structural features are formed over at least 50% of the surface of the second material layer (Fig 12).
Regarding claim 12, Taniguchi in view of Bohnsack teaches the method of claim 10.
Taniguchi in view of Bohnsack does not teach wherein the structural features comprise at least one pattern unit that repeats over the surface of the second material layer.
In the same field of endeavor regarding footwear, Farris teaches auxetic structural features over the outer surface of an upper for the motivation of allowing auxetic expansion of the upper (Fig 12: openings 720; [0003, 0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structural features as taught by Taniguchi in view of Bohnsack with the auxetic pattern as taught by Farris in order to allow auxetic expansion of the upper.
Farris further teaches wherein the structural features comprise at least one pattern unit that repeats over the surface of the second material layer (Fig 12).
Regarding claim 13, Taniguchi in view of Bohnsack and Farris teaches the method of claim 12.
Farris further teaches wherein the at least one pattern unit comprises an auxetic pattern (Fig 12; [0066]).
Regarding claim 14, Taniguchi in view of Bohnsack teaches the method of claim 10.
Taniguchi in view of Bohnsack does not teach wherein the structural features comprise a plurality of different pattern units located at different zonal areas of the upper.
In the same field of endeavor regarding footwear, Farris teaches auxetic structural features over the outer surface of an upper for the motivation of allowing auxetic expansion of the upper (Fig 12: openings 720; [0003, 0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structural features as taught by Taniguchi in view of Bohnsack with the auxetic pattern as taught by Farris in order to allow auxetic expansion of the upper.
Farris further teaches wherein the structural features comprise a plurality of different pattern units located at different zonal areas of the upper (Fig 12; [0003]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, and 8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11284674 in view of Taniguchi.
Claim 5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11284671 in view of Taniguchi, Bohnsack, and Breithaupt.
Claim 7 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11284671 in view of Taniguchi and Hooper.
Claims 9-10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11284671 in view of Taniguchi and Bohnsack.
Claims 11-14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11284671 in view of Taniguchi, Bohnsack, and Farris.
Claims 1-4, 6, and 8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12232564 in view of Taniguchi.
Claim 5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12232564 in view of Taniguchi, Bohnsack, and Breithaupt.
Claim 7 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12232564 in view of Taniguchi and Hooper.
Claims 9-10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12232564 in view of Taniguchi and Bohnsack.
Claims 11-14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12232564 in view of Taniguchi, Bohnsack, and Farris.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER A WANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741