DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 06/22/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-14 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, line 2, “at least one of the vertical slot”, should read, “at least one of the vertical slots”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lytle et al. (US 8544642 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Lytle et al. teaches a bag (10) for carrying a set of golf clubs (16) while playing golf and while traveling, the bag (10) comprising: at least one golf club (16) holding panel (Left side of 12) comprising a first face (1 in Annotated Figure 5 below) and an opposite second face (2 in Annotated Figure 4 below), the first face (1 in Annotated Figure 5 below) comprising sleeves (18) for insertion of shafts of golf clubs (16); an accessory holding panel (Right side of 12) comprising a third face (3 in Annotated Figure 5 below) and an opposite fourth face (4 in Annotated Figure 4 below), the third face (3 in Annotated Figure 5 below) configured for releasable connection of golf accessories (9 in Annotated Figure 5 below); wherein the at least one golf club holding panel (Left side of 12) and the accessory holding panel (Right side of 12) are connected (within 12) so as to provide a playing mode with the first face (1 in Annotated Figure 5 below) and third face (3 in Annotated Figure 5 below) facing outward (Figure 5), thus providing access to the golf clubs (16) and access to the golf accessories (9 in Annotated Figure 5 below), and so as to provide a travel mode with the first face (1 in Annotated Figure 5 below) and the third face (3 in Annotated Figure 5 below) facing inward (Figure 3), to thus protecting the golf clubs (16) and golf accessories while travelling (9 in Annotated Figure 5 below). (Figs. 1-13: Col. 3, Lines 11-51)
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 4, Lytle et al. further teaches wherein the accessory holding panel (12) further comprises an array of openings (98) for removably mounting golf accessories (112). (Fig. 13; Co. 7, Lines 25-32)
Regarding Claim 6, Lytle et al. further teaches wherein the golf accessories (112) are selected from the group consisting of golf ball (112) holders (98 and 9 in Annotated Figure 5 above), rangefinder holders, beverage holders, tee holders, glove holders, 18 umbrellas, towel holders, golf club headcover holders, ball retriever holders, scorecard holders, sunglasses holders, sunscreen holders, first aid kit holders, and combinations thereof. (Wherein the cubbies 98 could hold a plurality of items). (Figs. 5, 13; Co. 7, Lines 25-32)
Regarding Claim 7, Lytle et al. further teaches a third panel (Left side of 14), having a fifth face (5 in Annotated Figure 5 above) and an opposite sixth face (6 in Annotated Figure 6 above), the fifth face (5 in Annotated Figure 5 above) comprising sleeves (18) for insertion of shafts of golf clubs (16). (Figs. 1, 5, 8, 9; Col. 3, Lines 16-25)
Regarding Claim 8, Lytle et al. further teaches a fourth panel (Right side of 14), having a seventh face (7 in Annotated Figure 5 above) and an opposite eighth face (8 in Annotated Figure 5 above), the seventh face (7 in Annotated Figure 5 above) comprising sleeves (18) for insertion of shafts of golf clubs (16). (Figs. 1, 5, 8, 9; Col. 3, Lines 16-25)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lytle et al. (US 8544642 B2), in view of Filip (US 20170319920 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Lytle et al. teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; wherein the accessory holding panel comprises vertical slots for removably mounting golf accessories.
Wherein Lytle et al. teaches a vertical slot (9 in Annotated Figure 5 above) for removably holding golf accessories (112). (Figs. 5, 13; Co. 7, Lines 25-32)
Filip further teaches wherein an accessory holding panel (24) comprises vertical slots (26) for removably mounting golf accessories (42). (Fig. 2A; [0082])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take suitcase as taught by Lytle et al., and provide for a plurality of vertical slots for mounting golf accessories as taught by Filip. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a plurality of vertical slots, in order for the user to mount a plurality of golf accessories.
Regarding Claim 3, Lytle et al. teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; wherein the golf accessories each include a tab that is removable inserted into at least one of the vertical slots to position the golf accessories on the accessory holding panel.
Filip further teaches wherein the golf accessories (42) each include a tab (36) that is removable inserted into at least one of the vertical slots (26) to position the golf accessories (42) on the accessory holding panel (24). (Figs. 2A-3A; [0083])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take suitcase as taught by Lytle et al., and provide for tabs for mounting golf accessories as taught by Filip. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for tabs with golf accessories, in order for the user to mount a plurality of golf accessories.
Regarding Claim 5, Lytle et al. teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; wherein the accessory holding panel further comprises an array of clips for attaching golf accessories.
Filip further teaches wherein the accessory holding panel (24) further comprises an array of clips (50) for attaching golf accessories (42). (Figs. 4A-4G; [0084])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take suitcase as taught by Lytle et al., and provide for an array of clips for mounting golf accessories as taught by Filip. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide an array of clips for mounting golf accessories, in order for the user to mount a plurality of golf accessories.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Sung (US 20130098787 A1), teaches golf club storage case.
Horning (US 7712752 B2), teaches a sports equipment storage device.
Tan (US 20080135431 A1), teaches a bi-parting golf bag.
Jung (US 6659447 B2), teaches a parting golf bag.
Miura (US 6352154 B1), teaches a parting golf club rack unit.
Bowdy (US 5168992 A), teaches a golf club case.
/JUSTIN CAUDILL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733
8 September 2026