DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “geometry processing logic”, “first transformation logic”, “a primitive block generator”, “rasterization logic”, “second transformation logic”, “logic configured to render” in claims 1-15, 19 and 20.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US11145025B2 (Reference Patent). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to notice the instant application and the reference patent are almost identical. Both of claims are essentially the same structure and perform essentially the same function, therefore unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
1. A graphics processing system for generating a rendering output, the system comprising:
geometry processing logic comprising:
first transformation logic configured to transform a plurality of untransformed primitives into a plurality of transformed primitives via one or more transformation stages comprising one or more expansion transformation stages which generate one or more sub-primitives; and
a primitive block generator configured to:
divide the plurality of transformed primitives into a plurality of groups; and
generate an untransformed primitive block for each group comprising (i) information identifying the untransformed primitives related to the transformed primitives in the group; and (ii) an expansion transformation stage mask for at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages that indicates the sub-primitives generated for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that will be used to generate the rendering output, the expansion transformation stage mask for the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages being for use in performing an expansion transformation stage in a rasterization phase.
1. A graphics processing system for generating a rendering output, the system comprising:
geometry processing logic comprising:
first transformation logic configured to transform a plurality of untransformed primitives into a plurality of transformed primitives via one or more transformation stages comprising one or more expansion transformation stages which generate one or more sub-primitives; and
a primitive block generator configured to:
divide the plurality of transformed primitives into a plurality of groups; and generate an untransformed primitive block for each group comprising (i) information identifying the untransformed primitives related to the transformed primitives in the group; and (ii) an expansion transformation stage mask for at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages that indicates the sub-primitives generated for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that will be used to generate the rendering output; and
rasterization logic comprising:
second transformation logic configured to re-transform the plurality of untransformed primitives into transformed primitives on an untransformed primitive block-basis in accordance with the expansion transformation stage mask for the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages; and
logic configured to render the transformed primitives to generate the rendering output.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
2. The system of claim 1, further comprising rasterization logic comprising:
second transformation logic configured to re-transform the plurality of untransformed primitives into transformed primitives on an untransformed primitive block-basis in accordance with the expansion transformation stage mask for the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages; and
logic configured to render the transformed primitives to generate the rendering output.
1. A graphics processing system for generating a rendering output, the system comprising:
geometry processing logic comprising:
first transformation logic configured to transform a plurality of untransformed primitives into a plurality of transformed primitives via one or more transformation stages comprising one or more expansion transformation stages which generate one or more sub-primitives; and
a primitive block generator configured to:
divide the plurality of transformed primitives into a plurality of groups; and generate an untransformed primitive block for each group comprising (i) information identifying the untransformed primitives related to the transformed primitives in the group; and (ii) an expansion transformation stage mask for at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages that indicates the sub-primitives generated for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that will be used to generate the rendering output; and
rasterization logic comprising:
second transformation logic configured to re-transform the plurality of untransformed primitives into transformed primitives on an untransformed primitive block-basis in accordance with the expansion transformation stage mask for the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages; and
logic configured to render the transformed primitives to generate the rendering output.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more transformation stages comprises a plurality of expansion transformation stages, and each untransformed primitive block comprises an expansion transformation stage mask for each of the plurality of expansion transformation stages that indicates the sub-primitives generated for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that will be used in generating the rendering output.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more transformation stages comprises a plurality of expansion transformation stages, and each untransformed primitive block comprises an expansion transformation stage mask for each of the plurality of expansion transformation stages that indicates the sub-primitives generated for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that will be used in generating the rendering output.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the plurality of expansion transformation stages form a hierarchy that comprises at least a higher level expansion transformation stage and a lower level expansion transformation stage where the sub-primitives generated by the higher level expansion transformation stage, when processed by the lower level expansion transformation stage, generate further sub-primitives.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the plurality of expansion transformation stages form a hierarchy that comprises at least a higher level expansion transformation stage and a lower level expansion transformation stage where the sub-primitives generated by the higher level expansion transformation stage, when processed by the lower level expansion transformation stage, generate further sub-primitives.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
5. The system of claim 4, wherein each expansion transformation stage mask comprises a bit for each sub-primitive that will be generated by the expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that indicates whether that sub-primitive will be used in generating the rendering output; and the expansion transformation stage mask for the lower level expansion transformation stage only comprises a bit for a sub-primitive if the expansion transformation stage mask for the higher level expansion transformation stage indicates that the corresponding sub-primitive will be used in generating the rendering output.
4. The system of claim 3, wherein each expansion transformation stage mask comprises a bit for each sub-primitive that will be generated by the expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that indicates whether that sub-primitive will be used in generating the rendering output; and the expansion transformation stage mask for the lower level expansion transformation stage only comprises a bit for a sub-primitive if the expansion transformation stage mask for the higher level expansion transformation stage indicates that the corresponding sub-primitive will be used in generating the rendering output.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the expansion transformation stage mask for an expansion transformation stage comprises a bit for each sub-primitive that will be generated by that expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block that indicates whether that sub-primitive will be used in generating the rendering output.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the expansion transformation stage mask for an expansion transformation stage comprises a bit for each sub-primitive that will be generated by that expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block that indicates whether that sub-primitive will be used in generating the rendering output.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the primitive block generator is configured to generate the expansion transformation stage mask for one of the one or more expansion transformation stages for an untransformed primitive block by:
receiving a mask for each of the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block that indicates the sub-primitives generated by that expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitive that will be used in generating the rendering output; and
combining the masks for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block to form the expansion transformation stage mask for the expansion transformation stage.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the primitive block generator is configured to generate the expansion transformation stage mask for one of the one or more expansion transformation stages for an untransformed primitive block by:
receiving a mask for each of the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block that indicates the sub-primitives generated by that expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitive that will be used in generating the rendering output; and
combining the masks for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block to form the expansion transformation stage mask for the expansion transformation stage.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
8. The system of claim 7, wherein the primitive block generator is configured to combine the masks for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block by concatenating the masks for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block.
7. The system of claim 6, wherein the primitive block generator is configured to combine the masks for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block by concatenating the masks for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
9. The system of claim 7, wherein the primitive block generator is further configured to generate the mask for an untransformed primitive for an expansion transformation stage by comparing the sub-primitives generated by that expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitive to the plurality of transformed primitives.
8. The system of claim 6, wherein the primitive block generator is further configured to generate the mask for an untransformed primitive for an expansion transformation stage by comparing the sub-primitives generated by that expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitive to the plurality of transformed primitives.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
10. The system of claim 9, wherein the primitive block generator is configured to determine that a sub-primitive will not be used in generating the rendering output if none of the transformed primitives correspond to, and/or are generated by, that sub-primitive.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the primitive block generator is configured to determine that a sub-primitive will not be used in generating the rendering output if none of the transformed primitives correspond to, and/or are generated by, that sub-primitive.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
11. The system of claim 2, wherein the second transformation logic is configured to re-transform the plurality of untransformed primitives into transformed primitives on an untransformed primitive block-basis in accordance with the expansion transformation stage mask for the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages by culling sub-primitives generated by the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages that are indicated by an expansion transformation stage mask as not be used in generating the rendering output.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the second transformation logic is configured to re-transform the plurality of untransformed primitives into transformed primitives on an untransformed primitive block-basis in accordance with the expansion transformation stage mask for the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages by culling sub-primitives generated by the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages that are indicated by an expansion transformation stage mask as not be used in generating the rendering output.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
12. The system of claim 1, wherein the primitive block generator is configured to, in response to determining that the expansion transformation stage mask for one of the one or more expansion transformation stages for an untransformed primitive block exceeds a maximum mask size threshold, compress the expansion transformation stage mask prior to storing the expansion transformation stage mask in the untransformed primitive block.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the primitive block generator is configured to, in response to determining that the expansion transformation stage mask for one of the one or more expansion transformation stages for an untransformed primitive block exceeds a maximum mask size threshold, compress the expansion transformation stage mask prior to storing the expansion transformation stage mask in the untransformed primitive bock.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the expansion transformation stage mask for the one of the one or more expansion transformation stages comprises a plurality of bits and the primitive block generator is configured to compress the expansion transformation stage mask by performing an OR operation or an AND operation on adjacent pairs of bits.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the expansion transformation stage mask for the one of the one or more expansion transformation stages comprises a plurality of bits and the primitive bock generator is configured to compress the expansion transformation stage mask by performing an OR operation or an AND operation on adjacent pairs of bits.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
14. The system of claim 12, wherein the primitive block generator is further configured to add information to the untransformed primitive block indicating a number of times the expansion transformation stage mask for the one of the one or more expansion transformation stages has been compressed.
13. The system of claim 11, wherein the primitive block generator is further configured to add information to the untransformed primitive block indicating a number of times the expansion transformation stage mask for the one of the one or more expansion transformation stages has been compressed.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
15. The system of claim 1, wherein the graphics processing system is configured to use a rendering space which is sub-divided into a plurality of tiles, and wherein the geometry processing logic further comprises a tiling engine configured to generate an untransformed display list for each of the tiles.
14. The system of claim 1, wherein the graphics processing system is configured to use a rendering space which is sub-divided into a plurality of tiles, and wherein the geometry processing logic further comprises a tiling engine configured to generate an untransformed display list for each of the tiles.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
16. The system of claim 15, wherein the untransformed display list for a tile comprises: (i) information identifying untransformed primitive blocks which identify untransformed primitives that are to be used to render the tile; and (ii) a primitive mask for each of the identified untransformed primitive blocks that identifies which of the transformed primitives generated from the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block are to be used to render the tile.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the untransformed display list for a tile comprises: (i) information identifying untransformed primitive blocks which identify untransformed primitives that are to be used to render the tile; and (ii) a primitive mask for each of the identified untransformed primitive blocks that identifies which of the transformed primitives generated from the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block are to be used to render the tile.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
17. A method of generating a rendering output in a graphics processing system, the method comprising:
performing a geometry processing phase comprising:
transforming a plurality of untransformed primitives into a plurality of transformed primitives via one or more transformation stages comprising one or more expansion transformation stages which generate one or more sub-primitives;
dividing the plurality of transformed primitives into a plurality of groups; and
generating an untransformed primitive block for each group that comprises (i) information identifying the untransformed primitives related to the transformed primitives in the group; and (ii) an expansion transformation stage mask for at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages that indicates the sub-primitives generated for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that will be used to generate the rendering output, the expansion transformation stage mask for the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages for use in performing an expansion transformation stage in a rasterization phase.
18. A method of generating a rendering output in a graphics processing system, the method comprising:
performing a geometry processing phase comprising:
transforming a plurality of untransformed primitives into a plurality of transformed primitives via one or more transformation stages comprising one or more expansion transformation stages which generate one or more sub-primitives;
dividing the plurality of transformed primitives into a plurality of groups; and
generating an untransformed primitive block for each group that comprises (i) information identifying the untransformed primitives related to the transformed primitives in the group; and (ii) an expansion transformation stage mask for at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages that indicates the sub-primitives generated for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that will be used to generate the rendering output; and
performing a rasterization phase comprising:
re-transforming the plurality of untransformed primitives into transformed primitives on an untransformed primitive block-basis in accordance with the expansion transformation stage mask for the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages; and
rendering the transformed primitives to generate the rendering output.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
18. The method of claim 17, further comprising performing a rasterization phase comprising:
re-transforming the plurality of untransformed primitives into transformed primitives on an untransformed primitive block-basis in accordance with the expansion transformation stage mask for the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages; and
rendering the transformed primitives to generate the rendering output.
18. A method of generating a rendering output in a graphics processing system, the method comprising:
performing a geometry processing phase comprising:
transforming a plurality of untransformed primitives into a plurality of transformed primitives via one or more transformation stages comprising one or more expansion transformation stages which generate one or more sub-primitives;
dividing the plurality of transformed primitives into a plurality of groups; and
generating an untransformed primitive block for each group that comprises (i) information identifying the untransformed primitives related to the transformed primitives in the group; and (ii) an expansion transformation stage mask for at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages that indicates the sub-primitives generated for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that will be used to generate the rendering output; and
performing a rasterization phase comprising:
re-transforming the plurality of untransformed primitives into transformed primitives on an untransformed primitive block-basis in accordance with the expansion transformation stage mask for the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages; and
rendering the transformed primitives to generate the rendering output.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
19. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer readable instructions that, when executed at a computer system, cause the computer system to perform the method as set forth in claim 17.
20. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer readable instructions that, when executed at a computer system, cause the computer system to perform the method as set forth in claim 18.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
20. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer readable dataset description of the graphics processing system as set forth in claim 1 that, when processed in an integrated circuit manufacturing system, causes the integrated circuit manufacturing system to manufacture an integrated circuit embodying the graphics processing system.
16. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer readable dataset description of the graphics processing system as set forth in claim 1 that, when processed in an integrated circuit manufacturing system, causes the integrated circuit manufacturing system to manufacture an integrated circuit embodying the graphics processing system.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-9, 12-14, 17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 9-11 and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. US11640648B2 (Reference Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions disclose a transformation process based on an expansion transformation stage mask and association between sub-primitives and untransformed primitives. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to notice both of claims are essentially the same structure and perform essentially the same function, therefore unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
1. A graphics processing system for generating a rendering output, the system comprising:
geometry processing logic comprising:
first transformation logic configured to transform a plurality of untransformed primitives into a plurality of transformed primitives via one or more transformation stages comprising one or more expansion transformation stages which generate one or more sub-primitives; and
a primitive block generator configured to:
divide the plurality of transformed primitives into a plurality of groups; and
generate an untransformed primitive block for each group comprising (i) information identifying the untransformed primitives related to the transformed primitives in the group; and (ii) an expansion transformation stage mask for at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages that indicates the sub-primitives generated for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that will be used to generate the rendering output, the expansion transformation stage mask for the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages being for use in performing an expansion transformation stage in a rasterization phase.
18. Logic circuitry for generating, in a geometry processing phase of a rendering process to generate a rendering output, information for use in performing an expansion transformation stage in a rasterization phase of the rendering process, the logic circuitry comprising:
primitive mask generation logic circuitry configured to:
compare an output of a transformation process of the geometry processing phase for a set of untransformed primitives to an output of an expansion transformation stage of that transformation process for the set of untransformed primitives, the transformation process configured to generate a set of transformed primitives from the set of untransformed primitives, the expansion transformation stage configured to generate one or more sub-primitives for one or more untransformed primitives of the set of untransformed primitives, and
generate, for each untransformed primitive in the set of untransformed primitives, a primitive expansion transformation stage mask for the expansion transformation stage based on the comparison that indicates which sub-primitives output by the expansion transformation stage for that untransformed primitive are to be used to generate the rendering output; and
primitive block mask generation logic circuitry configured to:
receive information indicating which untransformed primitives of the set of untransformed primitives are associated with each of a plurality of untransformed primitive blocks,
generate, for each untransformed primitive block of the plurality of untransformed primitive blocks, a primitive block expansion transformation stage mask that indicates which sub-primitives, output by the expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitives that are associated with that untransformed primitive block, are to be used to generate the rendering output by combining the primitive expansion transformation stage masks for the untransformed primitives that are associated with that untransformed primitive block, and
store the primitive block expansion transformation stage masks.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more transformation stages comprises a plurality of expansion transformation stages, and each untransformed primitive block comprises an expansion transformation stage mask for each of the plurality of expansion transformation stages that indicates the sub-primitives generated for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that will be used in generating the rendering output.
18. Logic circuitry for generating, in a geometry processing phase of a rendering process to generate a rendering output, information for use in performing an expansion transformation stage in a rasterization phase of the rendering process, the logic circuitry comprising:
primitive mask generation logic circuitry configured to:
compare an output of a transformation process of the geometry processing phase for a set of untransformed primitives to an output of an expansion transformation stage of that transformation process for the set of untransformed primitives, the transformation process configured to generate a set of transformed primitives from the set of untransformed primitives, the expansion transformation stage configured to generate one or more sub-primitives for one or more untransformed primitives of the set of untransformed primitives, and
generate, for each untransformed primitive in the set of untransformed primitives, a primitive expansion transformation stage mask for the expansion transformation stage based on the comparison that indicates which sub-primitives output by the expansion transformation stage for that untransformed primitive are to be used to generate the rendering output; and
primitive block mask generation logic circuitry configured to:
receive information indicating which untransformed primitives of the set of untransformed primitives are associated with each of a plurality of untransformed primitive blocks,
generate, for each untransformed primitive block of the plurality of untransformed primitive blocks, a primitive block expansion transformation stage mask that indicates which sub-primitives, output by the expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitives that are associated with that untransformed primitive block, are to be used to generate the rendering output by combining the primitive expansion transformation stage masks for the untransformed primitives that are associated with that untransformed primitive block, and
store the primitive block expansion transformation stage masks.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the expansion transformation stage mask for an expansion transformation stage comprises a bit for each sub-primitive that will be generated by that expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block that indicates whether that sub-primitive will be used in generating the rendering output.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein each primitive expansion transformation stage mask comprises a bit for each sub-primitive output by the expansion transformation stage for the corresponding untransformed primitive that indicates whether that sub-primitive is to be used to generate the rendering output.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the primitive block generator is configured to generate the expansion transformation stage mask for one of the one or more expansion transformation stages for an untransformed primitive block by:
receiving a mask for each of the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block that indicates the sub-primitives generated by that expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitive that will be used in generating the rendering output; and
combining the masks for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block to form the expansion transformation stage mask for the expansion transformation stage.
18. Logic circuitry for generating, in a geometry processing phase of a rendering process to generate a rendering output, information for use in performing an expansion transformation stage in a rasterization phase of the rendering process, the logic circuitry comprising:
primitive mask generation logic circuitry configured to:
compare an output of a transformation process of the geometry processing phase for a set of untransformed primitives to an output of an expansion transformation stage of that transformation process for the set of untransformed primitives, the transformation process configured to generate a set of transformed primitives from the set of untransformed primitives, the expansion transformation stage configured to generate one or more sub-primitives for one or more untransformed primitives of the set of untransformed primitives, and
generate, for each untransformed primitive in the set of untransformed primitives, a primitive expansion transformation stage mask for the expansion transformation stage based on the comparison that indicates which sub-primitives output by the expansion transformation stage for that untransformed primitive are to be used to generate the rendering output; and
primitive block mask generation logic circuitry configured to:
receive information indicating which untransformed primitives of the set of untransformed primitives are associated with each of a plurality of untransformed primitive blocks,
generate, for each untransformed primitive block of the plurality of untransformed primitive blocks, a primitive block expansion transformation stage mask that indicates which sub-primitives, output by the expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitives that are associated with that untransformed primitive block, are to be used to generate the rendering output by combining the primitive expansion transformation stage masks for the untransformed primitives that are associated with that untransformed primitive block, and
store the primitive block expansion transformation stage masks.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
8. The system of claim 7, wherein the primitive block generator is configured to combine the masks for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block by concatenating the masks for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein combining the primitive expansion transformation stage masks for the untransformed primitives associated with an untransformed primitive block comprises concatenating the primitive expansion transformation stage masks.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
9. The system of claim 7, wherein the primitive block generator is further configured to generate the mask for an untransformed primitive for an expansion transformation stage by comparing the sub-primitives generated by that expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitive to the plurality of transformed primitives.
1. A method of generating, in a geometry processing phase of a rendering process to generate a rendering output, information for use in performing an expansion transformation stage in a rasterization phase of the rendering process, the method comprising:
comparing an output of a transformation process of the geometry processing phase for a set of untransformed primitives to an output of an expansion transformation stage of that transformation process for the set of untransformed primitives, the transformation process configured to generate a set of transformed primitives from the set of untransformed primitives, the expansion transformation stage configured to generate one or more sub-primitives for one or more untransformed primitives of the set of untransformed primitives;
generating, for each untransformed primitive in the set of untransformed primitives, a primitive expansion transformation stage mask for the expansion transformation stage based on the comparison that indicates which sub-primitives output by the expansion transformation stage for that untransformed primitive are to be used to generate the rendering output;
receiving information indicating which untransformed primitives of the set of untransformed primitives are associated with each of a plurality of untransformed primitive blocks;
generating, for each untransformed primitive block of the plurality of untransformed primitive blocks, a primitive block expansion transformation stage mask that indicates which sub-primitives, output by the expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitives that are associated with that untransformed primitive block, are to be used to generate the rendering output by combining the primitive expansion transformation stage masks for the untransformed primitives that are associated with that untransformed primitive block; and
storing the primitive block expansion transformation stage masks.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
12. The system of claim 1, wherein the primitive block generator is configured to, in response to determining that the expansion transformation stage mask for one of the one or more expansion transformation stages for an untransformed primitive block exceeds a maximum mask size threshold, compress the expansion transformation stage mask prior to storing the expansion transformation stage mask in the untransformed primitive block.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising determining whether at least one primitive block expansion transformation stage mask exceeds a maximum size, and in response to determining that a primitive block expansion transformation stage mask exceeds the maximum size, compressing the primitive block expansion transformation stage mask prior to storing the primitive block expansion transformation stage mask.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the expansion transformation stage mask for the one of the one or more expansion transformation stages comprises a plurality of bits and the primitive block generator is configured to compress the expansion transformation stage mask by performing an OR operation or an AND operation on adjacent pairs of bits.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein each primitive block expansion transformation stage mask comprises a plurality of bits and compressing a primitive block expansion transformation stage mask comprises replacing each adjacent pair of bits of the primitive block expansion transformation stage mask with an output of an OR operation or an AND operation performed on that adjacent pair of bits.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
14. The system of claim 12, wherein the primitive block generator is further configured to add information to the untransformed primitive block indicating a number of times the expansion transformation stage mask for the one of the one or more expansion transformation stages has been compressed.
11. The method of claim 9, further comprising repeating the compression until the compressed primitive block expansion transformation stage mask is less than or equal to the maximum size.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
17. A method of generating a rendering output in a graphics processing system, the method comprising:
performing a geometry processing phase comprising:
transforming a plurality of untransformed primitives into a plurality of transformed primitives via one or more transformation stages comprising one or more expansion transformation stages which generate one or more sub-primitives;
dividing the plurality of transformed primitives into a plurality of groups; and
generating an untransformed primitive block for each group that comprises (i) information identifying the untransformed primitives related to the transformed primitives in the group; and (ii) an expansion transformation stage mask for at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages that indicates the sub-primitives generated for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that will be used to generate the rendering output, the expansion transformation stage mask for the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages for use in performing an expansion transformation stage in a rasterization phase.
18. Logic circuitry for generating, in a geometry processing phase of a rendering process to generate a rendering output, information for use in performing an expansion transformation stage in a rasterization phase of the rendering process, the logic circuitry comprising:
primitive mask generation logic circuitry configured to:
compare an output of a transformation process of the geometry processing phase for a set of untransformed primitives to an output of an expansion transformation stage of that transformation process for the set of untransformed primitives, the transformation process configured to generate a set of transformed primitives from the set of untransformed primitives, the expansion transformation stage configured to generate one or more sub-primitives for one or more untransformed primitives of the set of untransformed primitives, and
generate, for each untransformed primitive in the set of untransformed primitives, a primitive expansion transformation stage mask for the expansion transformation stage based on the comparison that indicates which sub-primitives output by the expansion transformation stage for that untransformed primitive are to be used to generate the rendering output; and
primitive block mask generation logic circuitry configured to:
receive information indicating which untransformed primitives of the set of untransformed primitives are associated with each of a plurality of untransformed primitive blocks,
generate, for each untransformed primitive block of the plurality of untransformed primitive blocks, a primitive block expansion transformation stage mask that indicates which sub-primitives, output by the expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitives that are associated with that untransformed primitive block, are to be used to generate the rendering output by combining the primitive expansion transformation stage masks for the untransformed primitives that are associated with that untransformed primitive block, and
store the primitive block expansion transformation stage masks.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
19. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer readable instructions that, when executed at a computer system, cause the computer system to perform the method as set forth in claim 17.
19. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer readable instructions that, when executed at a computer system, cause the computer system to perform the method as set forth in claim 1.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
20. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer readable dataset description of the graphics processing system as set forth in claim 1 that, when processed in an integrated circuit manufacturing system, causes the integrated circuit manufacturing system to manufacture an integrated circuit embodying the graphics processing system.
20. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer readable dataset description of the logic circuitry as set forth in claim 18 that, when processed in an integrated circuit manufacturing system, causes the integrated circuit manufacturing system to manufacture an integrated circuit embodying the logic circuitry.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-10, 12-15, 17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 8-11, 14 and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12211118 B2 (Reference Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions disclose a transformation process based on an expansion transformation stage mask and association between sub-primitives and untransformed primitives. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to both of claims are essentially the same structure and perform essentially the same function, therefore unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
1. A graphics processing system for generating a rendering output, the system comprising:
geometry processing logic comprising:
first transformation logic configured to transform a plurality of untransformed primitives into a plurality of transformed primitives via one or more transformation stages comprising one or more expansion transformation stages which generate one or more sub-primitives; and
a primitive block generator configured to:
divide the plurality of transformed primitives into a plurality of groups; and
generate an untransformed primitive block for each group comprising (i) information identifying the untransformed primitives related to the transformed primitives in the group; and (ii) an expansion transformation stage mask for at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages that indicates the sub-primitives generated for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that will be used to generate the rendering output, the expansion transformation stage mask for the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages being for use in performing an expansion transformation stage in a rasterization phase.
18. A graphics processing system configured to perform a method of generating a rendering output in a graphics processing system in which the rendering output is sub-divided into a plurality of tiles, the method comprising:
performing a rasterization phase comprising, for at least one tile of the plurality of tiles,
fetching an untransformed display list for the tile, the untransformed display list for the tile identifying one or more untransformed primitive blocks relevant to rendering the tile, each untransformed primitive block comprising (i) information identifying one or more untransformed primitives of a plurality of untransformed primitives and (ii) an expansion transformation stage mask that identifies sub-primitives generated by an expansion transformation stage for the one or more untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block that will not be used to generate the rendering output;
for each identified untransformed primitive block, transforming, using one or more transformation stages that comprises the expansion transformation stage, the one or more untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block into transformed primitives on an untransformed primitive block-basis in accordance with the expansion transformation stage mask of the untransformed primitive block; and
rendering the transformed primitives to generate at least a portion of the rendering output.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising performing a geometry processing phase comprising:
transforming the plurality of untransformed primitives into a plurality of transformed primitives using the one or more transformation stages;
dividing the plurality of transformed primitives into a plurality of groups; and
generating an untransformed primitive block for each group.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more transformation stages comprises a plurality of expansion transformation stages, and each untransformed primitive block comprises an expansion transformation stage mask for each of the plurality of expansion transformation stages that indicates the sub-primitives generated for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that will be used in generating the rendering output.
18. A graphics processing system configured to perform a method of generating a rendering output in a graphics processing system in which the rendering output is sub-divided into a plurality of tiles, the method comprising:
performing a rasterization phase comprising, for at least one tile of the plurality of tiles,
fetching an untransformed display list for the tile, the untransformed display list for the tile identifying one or more untransformed primitive blocks relevant to rendering the tile, each untransformed primitive block comprising (i) information identifying one or more untransformed primitives of a plurality of untransformed primitives and (ii) an expansion transformation stage mask that identifies sub-primitives generated by an expansion transformation stage for the one or more untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block that will not be used to generate the rendering output;
for each identified untransformed primitive block, transforming, using one or more transformation stages that comprises the expansion transformation stage, the one or more untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block into transformed primitives on an untransformed primitive block-basis in accordance with the expansion transformation stage mask of the untransformed primitive block; and
rendering the transformed primitives to generate at least a portion of the rendering output.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising performing a geometry processing phase comprising:
transforming the plurality of untransformed primitives into a plurality of transformed primitives using the one or more transformation stages;
dividing the plurality of transformed primitives into a plurality of groups; and
generating an untransformed primitive block for each group.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the expansion transformation stage mask for an expansion transformation stage comprises a bit for each sub-primitive that will be generated by that expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block that indicates whether that sub-primitive will be used in generating the rendering output.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the expansion transformation stage mask for an identified untransformed primitive block comprises a bit for each sub-primitive that will be generated by the expansion transformation stage for the one or more untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block, and the bit for a sub-primitive indicates whether that sub-primitive will not be used to generate the rendering output.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the primitive block generator is configured to generate the expansion transformation stage mask for one of the one or more expansion transformation stages for an untransformed primitive block by:
receiving a mask for each of the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block that indicates the sub-primitives generated by that expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitive that will be used in generating the rendering output; and
combining the masks for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block to form the expansion transformation stage mask for the expansion transformation stage.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the geometry processing phase further comprises generating the expansion transformation stage mask for an untransformed primitive block by:
receiving a mask for each of the one or more untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block that indicates the sub-primitives, generated by the expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitive, that will not be used to generate the rendering output; and
combining the masks for the one or more untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block to form the expansion transformation stage mask.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
8. The system of claim 7, wherein the primitive block generator is configured to combine the masks for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block by concatenating the masks for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein combining the masks for the one or more untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block comprises concatenating the masks for the one or more untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block
Instant Application
Reference Patent
9. The system of claim 7, wherein the primitive block generator is further configured to generate the mask for an untransformed primitive for an expansion transformation stage by comparing the sub-primitives generated by that expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitive to the plurality of transformed primitives.
11. The method of claim 9, wherein the geometry processing phase further comprises generating the mask for an untransformed primitive by comparing the sub-primitives generated by the expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitive to the plurality of transformed primitives, and determining that a sub-primitive will not be used to generate the rendering output if none of the plurality of transformed primitives correspond to, and/or are generated by, that sub-primitive.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
10. The system of claim 9, wherein the primitive block generator is configured to determine that a sub-primitive will not be used in generating the rendering output if none of the transformed primitives correspond to, and/or are generated by, that sub-primitive.
11. The method of claim 9, wherein the geometry processing phase further comprises generating the mask for an untransformed primitive by comparing the sub-primitives generated by the expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitive to the plurality of transformed primitives, and determining that a sub-primitive will not be used to generate the rendering output if none of the plurality of transformed primitives correspond to, and/or are generated by, that sub-primitive.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
12. The system of claim 1, wherein the primitive block generator is configured to, in response to determining that the expansion transformation stage mask for one of the one or more expansion transformation stages for an untransformed primitive block exceeds a maximum mask size threshold, compress the expansion transformation stage mask prior to storing the expansion transformation stage mask in the untransformed primitive block.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the expansion transformation stage mask of an identified untransformed primitive block is in compressed format and the rasterization phase further comprises decompressing the expansion transformation stage mask of the untransformed primitive block prior to transforming the one or more untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block into transformed primitives on an untransformed primitive block-basis in accordance with the expansion transformation stage mask of the untransformed primitive block.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the expansion transformation stage mask for the one of the one or more expansion transformation stages comprises a plurality of bits and the primitive block generator is configured to compress the expansion transformation stage mask by performing an OR operation or an AND operation on adjacent pairs of bits.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the expansion transformation stage mask for an untransformed primitive block comprises a plurality of bits and compressing the expansion transformation stage mask comprises replacing each pair of adjacent bits of the expansion transformation stage mask with a result of an OR operation or an AND operation performed on the pair of adjacent bits.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
14. The system of claim 12, wherein the primitive block generator is further configured to add information to the untransformed primitive block indicating a number of times the expansion transformation stage mask for the one of the one or more expansion transformation stages has been compressed.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the expansion transformation stage mask of an identified untransformed primitive block is in compressed format and the rasterization phase further comprises decompressing the expansion transformation stage mask of the untransformed primitive block prior to transforming the one or more untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block into transformed primitives on an untransformed primitive block-basis in accordance with the expansion transformation stage mask of the untransformed primitive block.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
15. The system of claim 1, wherein the graphics processing system is configured to use a rendering space which is sub-divided into a plurality of tiles, and wherein the geometry processing logic further comprises a tiling engine configured to generate an untransformed display list for each of the tiles.
18. A graphics processing system configured to perform a method of generating a rendering output in a graphics processing system in which the rendering output is sub-divided into a plurality of tiles, the method comprising:
performing a rasterization phase comprising, for at least one tile of the plurality of tiles,
fetching an untransformed display list for the tile, the untransformed display list for the tile identifying one or more untransformed primitive blocks relevant to rendering the tile, each untransformed primitive block comprising (i) information identifying one or more untransformed primitives of a plurality of untransformed primitives and (ii) an expansion transformation stage mask that identifies sub-primitives generated by an expansion transformation stage for the one or more untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block that will not be used to generate the rendering output;
for each identified untransformed primitive block, transforming, using one or more transformation stages that comprises the expansion transformation stage, the one or more untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block into transformed primitives on an untransformed primitive block-basis in accordance with the expansion transformation stage mask of the untransformed primitive block; and
rendering the transformed primitives to generate at least a portion of the rendering output.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
17. A method of generating a rendering output in a graphics processing system, the method comprising:
performing a geometry processing phase comprising:
transforming a plurality of untransformed primitives into a plurality of transformed primitives via one or more transformation stages comprising one or more expansion transformation stages which generate one or more sub-primitives;
dividing the plurality of transformed primitives into a plurality of groups; and
generating an untransformed primitive block for each group that comprises (i) information identifying the untransformed primitives related to the transformed primitives in the group; and (ii) an expansion transformation stage mask for at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages that indicates the sub-primitives generated for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that will be used to generate the rendering output, the expansion transformation stage mask for the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages for use in performing an expansion transformation stage in a rasterization phase.
1. A method of generating a rendering output in a graphics processing system in which the rendering output is sub-divided into a plurality of tiles, the method comprising:
performing a rasterization phase comprising, for at least one tile of the plurality of tiles,
fetching an untransformed display list for the tile, the untransformed display list for the tile identifying one or more untransformed primitive blocks relevant to rendering the tile, each untransformed primitive block comprising (i) information identifying one or more untransformed primitives of a plurality of untransformed primitives and (ii) an expansion transformation stage mask that identifies sub-primitives generated by an expansion transformation stage for the one or more untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block that will not be used to generate the rendering output;
for each identified untransformed primitive block, transforming, using one or more transformation stages that comprises the expansion transformation stage, the one or more untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block into transformed primitives on an untransformed primitive block-basis in accordance with the expansion transformation stage mask of the untransformed primitive block; and
rendering the transformed primitives to generate at least a portion of the rendering output.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising performing a geometry processing phase comprising:
transforming the plurality of untransformed primitives into a plurality of transformed primitives using the one or more transformation stages;
dividing the plurality of transformed primitives into a plurality of groups; and
generating an untransformed primitive block for each group.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
19. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer readable instructions that, when executed at a computer system, cause the computer system to perform the method as set forth in claim 17.
19. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer readable instructions that, when executed at a computer system, cause the computer system to perform the method as set forth in claim 1.
Instant Application
Reference Patent
20. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer readable dataset description of the graphics processing system as set forth in claim 1 that, when processed in an integrated circuit manufacturing system, causes the integrated circuit manufacturing system to manufacture an integrated circuit embodying the graphics processing system.
20. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer readable dataset description of the graphics processing system as set forth in claim 18 that, when processed in an integrated circuit manufacturing system, causes the integrated circuit manufacturing system to manufacture an integrated circuit embodying the graphics processing system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-7, 9-11 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snowden et al. (US 20170069132 A1, cied on IDS 4/17/2020 in view of Snowden et al. (US 20200058099 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Howson discloses a graphics processing system for generating a rendering output (Howson [0016] a graphics processing system configured to use a rendering space which is subdivided into a plurality of tiles), the system comprising:
geometry processing logic (Howson Fig. 3; [0069] geometry processing logic 304) comprising:
first transformation logic configured to transform a plurality of untransformed primitives into a plurality of transformed primitives via one or more transformation stages comprising one or more (Howson Fig. 3; [0033] wherein the sub-primitive is derivable from one or more input graphics data items via a sequence of one or more processing stages; [0069] geometry transform and sub-primitive logic 310; [0072] In step S404 the transform and sub-primitive logic 310 transforms the position data of the graphics data items into the rendering space. Further in step S404 the transform and sub-primitive logic 310 determines transformed positions within the rendering space of one or more sub-primitives derived from the input graphics data items); and
a primitive block generator (Howson Fig. 3; [0069] a tiling unit 314) configured to:
divide the plurality of transformed primitives into a plurality of groups (Howson [0080] the geometry processing logic 304 (e.g. the transform and sub-primitive logic 310) may determine information describing how to group the input graphics data items into primitive blocks. This information can be passed as sideband information with the control streams);
and generate an untransformed primitive block for each group comprising
(i) information identifying the untransformed primitives related to the transformed primitives in the group (Howson [0075] The control stream data for a tile includes identifiers of input graphics data items which are to be used for rendering the tile, e.g. primitives from the graphics memory 322 which, when transformed, are positioned at least partially within the tile or primitives from the graphics memory 322 from which sub-primitives are derived which are positioned at least partially within the tile); and
(ii) an Howson [0077] A mask may also indicate which sub-primitives derived from an original primitive are present in a tile, and which are not present in the tile. Furthermore, the identifiers of input graphics data items in the control stream data may be implemented as one or more masks indicating which graphics data items from blocks of graphics data items are to be used for rendering a particular tile; [0084] The transform and sub-primitive derivation logic 330 outputs the derived sub-primitives, and any input primitives for which sub-primitives are not derived, for rendering, in step S418, by one or more processing units to thereby generate a rendering output for the particular tile; FIG. 4: Rasterisation Phase);
But Howson does not teach expansion transformation.
However Snowden discloses a computer-implemented method and system for generating topographic map data at different scales, which is analogous to the present patent application. Snowden teaches expansion transformation (Snowden [0122] In FIG. 9C, a suitable transformation function is then applied to the geometry of the polygon features 904 and 906 to produce a generalised polygon feature 908 corresponding to a new smaller scale zoom level 900′, wherein four vector tiles in the first zoom level 900 are reduced to a single vector tile in the smaller scale zoom level 900′, as shown in FIG. 9D. For example, each polygon feature 904 and 906 may be provided with a positive buffer of a certain distance, which thereby expands the geometry and creates an overlap with nearby vector features. The overlapping features may then be merged, and a negative buffer applied having the same distance as the positive buffer, to thereby create the generalised representation 908).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Howson to incorporate the teachings of Snowden, and applying the expansion transformation of the geometry based on the zoom level, as taught by Snowden into the tile-based graphics processing system.
Doing so would reduce required storage space required, and guaranteed the visual quality of the resulting image in the graphics processing systems with expansion transformation stage masks.
Regarding Claim 2, Howson in view of Snowden teaches the system of claim 1, and further teaches further comprising rasterization logic comprising: second transformation logic configured to re-transform the plurality of untransformed primitives into transformed primitives on an untransformed primitive block-basis in accordance with the expansion transformation stage mask for the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages (Howson Fig. 3; [0069] rasterisation transform and sub-primitive derivation logic 330” [0081] “In step S414 the transform and sub-primitive derivation logic 330 transforms the fetched graphics data items into the rendering space. The sub-primitive indications in the control stream data for the particular tile currently being rendered are also provided to the transform and sub-primitive derivation logic 330 (this may be directly from the control stream memory 326 or from the fetch unit 316). Further in step S414 the transform and sub-primitive derivation logic 330 derives sub-primitives to be used for rendering the particular tile in accordance with the sub-primitive indications in the control stream data for the particular tile);
and logic configured to render the transformed primitives to generate the rendering output (Howson [0084] The transform and sub-primitive derivation logic 330 outputs the derived sub-primitives, and any input primitives for which sub-primitives are not derived, for rendering, in step S418, by one or more processing units to thereby generate a rendering output for the particular tile).
Regarding Claim 3, Howson in view of Snowden teaches the system of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the one or more transformation stages comprises a plurality of expansion transformation stages, and each untransformed primitive block comprises an expansion transformation stage mask for each of the plurality of expansion transformation stages that indicates the sub-primitives generated for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that will be used in generating the rendering output (Howson [0077] The sub-primitive indications could be represented as one or more masks. For example a mask for a sub-primitive may indicate which of a set of possible operations are to be performed to derive a sub-primitive. A mask may also indicate which of a set of possible sub-primitives are culled or clipped. A mask may also indicate which sub-primitives derived from an original primitive are present in a tile, and which are not present in the tile; [0098] in FIG. 5 or primitives such as 512, 516 and 520 shown in FIG. 5) representing the results of performing one or more processing stages for deriving a sub-primitive (including the final sub-primitives themselves)).
Regarding Claim 4, Howson in view of Snowden teaches the system of claim 3, and further teaches wherein the plurality of expansion transformation stages form a hierarchy that comprises at least a higher level expansion transformation stage and a lower level expansion transformation stage where the sub-primitives generated by the higher level expansion transformation stage, when processed by the lower level expansion transformation stage, generate further sub-primitives (Howson [0036] if it is determined that the sub-primitive is not stored in the cache, determining whether one or more graphics data items of a higher level of the hierarchy are stored in the cache, wherein the sub-primitive is derivable from said one or more graphics data items of the higher level of the hierarchy; andif it is determined that said one or more graphics data items of the higher level of the hierarchy are stored in the cache: retrieving the one or more graphics data items of the higher level of the hierarchy from the cache; deriving the sub-primitive using the retrieved one or more graphics data items of the higher level of the hierarchy; and rendering the derived sub-primitive).
Regarding Claim 5, Howson in view of Snowden teaches the system of claim 4, and further teaches wherein each expansion transformation stage mask comprises a bit for each sub-primitive that will be generated by the expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block that indicates whether that sub-primitive will be used in generating the rendering output (Howson [0105] for each set of one or more graphics data items, one lock bit is stored for each tile being simultaneously processed by the graphics system. These lock bits can be grouped to form a lock mask for the set of one or more graphics data items); and
the expansion transformation stage mask for the lower level expansion transformation stage only comprises a bit for a sub-primitive if the expansion transformation stage mask for the higher level expansion transformation stage indicates that the corresponding sub-primitive will be used in generating the rendering output (Howson [0036] if it is determined that the sub-primitive is not stored in the cache, determining whether one or more graphics data items of a higher level of the hierarchy are stored in the cache, wherein the sub-primitive is derivable from said one or more graphics data items of the higher level of the hierarchy; and if it is determined that said one or more graphics data items of the higher level of the hierarchy are stored in the cache: retrieving the one or more graphics data items of the higher level of the hierarchy from the cache;deriving the sub-primitive using the retrieved one or more graphics data items of the higher level of the hierarchy; andrendering the derived sub-primitive; [0109] The maximum number of GS and clipper generated primitives may be limited to 64, therefore a maximum 6 bits per index is used to map all the unique vertices in a primitive block. In this example, the final vertices in a primitive block, which are present within a current tile being rendered, are indexed in a sequential manner (e.g. from 0 to 14 as shown in FIG. 9). Indices are not assigned to the vertices of primitives (e.g. primitives derived from input primitive P1) which are not present in the current tile. An advantage of this indexing scheme is that the fetch unit 316 reads only the indications to vertex data in the graphics memory 322 for the top level primitives for the primitives which are present within the tile, which are P0 and P2 (except one of the clipper generated triangles of P2) in FIG. 9).
Regarding Claim 6, Howson in view of Snowden teaches the system of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the expansion transformation stage mask for an expansion transformation stage comprises a bit for each sub-primitive that will be generated by that expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block that indicates whether that sub-primitive will be used in generating the rendering output (Howson [0105] The lock bit for a tile within the mask for a set of one or more graphics data items is set when the graphics data item is sent for processing by the first processing unit in the pipeline (e.g. the HSR unit 318) and cleared when the primitive processing units in the pipeline (e.g. both the HSR unit 318 and the texturing/shading unit 320) have completed processing a batch of primitives corresponding to the one or more graphics data items in the set).
Regarding Claim 7, Howson in view of Snowden teaches the system of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the primitive block generator is configured to generate the expansion transformation stage mask for one of the one or more expansion transformation stages for an untransformed primitive block by:
receiving a mask for each of the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block that indicates the sub-primitives generated by that expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitive that will be used in generating the rendering output (Howson [0105] Each primitive processing unit down the graphics pipeline of the rasterisation logic 306 (e.g. the HSR unit 318 and the texturing/shading unit 320) is configured to operate in accordance with the lock mask. The lock bit for a tile within the mask for a set of one or more graphics data items is set when the graphics data item is sent for processing by the first processing unit in the pipeline (e.g. the HSR unit 318) and cleared when the primitive processing units in the pipeline (e.g. both the HSR unit 318 and the texturing/shading unit 320) have completed processing a batch of primitives corresponding to the one or more graphics data items in the set); and
combining the masks for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block to form the expansion transformation stage mask for the expansion transformation stage (Howson [0080] the geometry processing logic 304 (e.g. the transform and sub-primitive logic 310) may determine information describing how to group the input graphics data items into primitive blocks. This information can be passed as sideband information with the control streams. Therefore, the fetch unit 316 can receive this sideband information with the control stream data for a tile and can generate primitive blocks including the fetched input graphics data items in accordance with the sideband information. The primitive blocks, combined with the sub-primitive indications in the control stream data, allow the sub-primitives to be regenerated in the rasterisation phase. In some other examples, sideband information indicating how the input graphics data items are to be grouped into primitive blocks does not need to be passed from the geometry processing logic 304 to the rasterisation logic 306, and instead the fetch unit 316 can determine how to group the input graphics data items into primitive blocks).
Regarding Claim 9, Howson in view of Snowden teaches the system of claim 7, and further teaches wherein the primitive block generator is further configured to generate the mask for an untransformed primitive for an expansion transformation stage by comparing the sub-primitives generated by that expansion transformation stage for the untransformed primitive to the plurality of transformed primitives (Snowden [0108] In summary, reducing the vector tiles using a pyramid structure facilitates distributed data processing. Furthermore, the structured reduction ensures that needless processing can be avoided by stopping further processing should identical results be produced when compared to existing data).
Regarding Claim 10, Howson in view of Snowden teaches the system of claim 9, and further teaches wherein the primitive block generator is configured to determine that a sub-primitive will not be used in generating the rendering output if none of the transformed primitives correspond to, and/or are generated by, that sub-primitive (Howson [0068] The cache lookups continue up the hierarchy until either the sub-primitive can be derived, or the sub-primitive cannot be derived from the data stored in the cache. If the sub-primitive cannot be derived from the data stored in the cache, then input graphics data items are fetched from the graphics memory and used to derive the sub-primitives by implementing the sequence of processing stages).
Regarding Claim 11, Howson in view of Snowden teaches the system of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the second transformation logic is configured to re-transform the plurality of untransformed primitives into transformed primitives on an untransformed primitive block-basis in accordance with the expansion transformation stage mask for the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages by culling sub-primitives generated by the at least one of the one or more expansion transformation stages that are indicated by an expansion transformation stage mask as not be used in generating the rendering output (Snowden [0047] Once the vector tiles have been merged together as required, a new sub-layer comprising the new vector tiles at the desired scale is output (step 212). This may then be repeated for any other sub-layers of the first zoom level, the new sub-layers being combined in some way, for example, by overlaying on top of each other, to output a new zoom level at the desired scale (step 214); Howson [0072] The positions of sub-primitives derived by the transform and sub-primitive logic 310, and the transformed position data of graphics data items from which no sub-primitives are derived, are provided to the cull/clip unit for clipping and/or culling of graphics data items which do not fall completely within the rendering space; [0074] Therefore, in general, the transform and sub-primitive logic 310 culls and/or clips graphics data items (including the derived sub-primitives) which are situated outside of a viewing frustum. The remaining primitives and sub-primitives are passed to the tiling unit 314).
Regarding Claim 15, Howson in view of Snowden teaches the system of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the graphics processing system is configured to use a rendering space which is sub-divided into a plurality of tiles, and wherein the geometry processing logic further comprises a tiling engine configured to generate an untransformed display list for each of the tiles (Howson [0016] According to embodiments described herein there is provided a graphics processing system configured to use a rendering space which is subdivided into a plurality of tiles; [0075] In step S408 the tiling unit 314 generates control stream data for each of the tiles of the rendering space).
Regarding Claim 16, Howson in view of Snowden teaches the system of claim 15, and further teaches wherein the untransformed display list for a tile comprises: (i) information identifying untransformed primitive blocks which identify untransformed primitives that are to be used to render the tile (Howson [0075] The control stream data for a tile includes identifiers of input graphics data items which are to be used for rendering the tile, e.g. primitives from the graphics memory 322 which, when transformed, are positioned at least partially within the tile or primitives from the graphics memory 322 from which sub-primitives are derived which are positioned at least partially within the tile); and
(ii) a primitive mask for each of the identified untransformed primitive blocks to indicate which of the transformed primitives generated from the untransformed primitives identified in that untransformed primitive block are to be used to render the tile (Howson ([0075] The identifiers in the control stream data identify input graphics data items, i.e. graphics data items stored in the graphics memory 222. The control stream data for a tile also includes sub-primitive indications to indicate which of the sub-primitives are to be used for rendering the tile. A sub-primitive may be determined to be for use in rendering a tile if the sub- primitive is at least partially in the tile ... The sub-primitive indications may, for example, indicate how to derive the sub-primitives to be used for rendering a tile from the transformed input graphics data items." [0080] "The primitive blocks, combined with the sub-primitive indications in the control stream data, allow the sub-primitives to be regenerated in the rasterisation phase).
Regarding Claim 19, Howson in view of Snowden teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer readable dataset description of the graphics processing system as set forth in claim 1 that, when processed in an integrated circuit manufacturing system, causes the integrated circuit manufacturing system to manufacture an integrated circuit embodying the graphics processing system (Howson [0041] There may also be provided computer readable code adapted to perform the steps of any of the methods described herein when the code is run on a computer; [0043] The graphics processing systems described herein may be embodied in hardware on an integrated circuit. There may be provided a method of manufacturing, at an integrated circuit manufacturing system, a graphics processing system as described herein).
Regarding Claim 20, Howson in view of Snowden teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer readable dataset description of the graphics processing system as set forth in claim 1that, when processed in an integrated circuit manufacturing system, causes the integrated circuit manufacturing system to manufacture an integrated circuit embodying the graphics processing system (Howson [0041] There may also be provided computer readable code adapted to perform the steps of any of the methods described herein when the code is run on a computer; [0043] The graphics processing systems described herein may be embodied in hardware on an integrated circuit. There may be provided a method of manufacturing, at an integrated circuit manufacturing system, a graphics processing system as described herein).
Regarding Claims 17 and 18, Howson in view of Snowden teaches a method of generating a rendering output in a graphics processing system (Howson [0016] a graphics processing system configured to use a rendering space which is subdivided into a plurality of tiles; Claim 1).
The metes and bounds of the rest of the limitations of the claim substantially correspond to the system claim as set forth in Claim 1; thus they are rejected on similar grounds and rationale as their corresponding limitations.
Regarding Claim 19, Howson in view of Snowden teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer readable instructions that, when executed at a computer system, cause the computer system to perform the method as set forth in claim 17. The metes and bounds of the method substantially correspond to the system claim as set forth in Claim 19; thus they are rejected on similar grounds and rationale as their corresponding limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 8, Howson in view of Snowden teaches the system of claim 6. However in the context of claim 1, 7 and 8 as a whole, the prior art does not teach wherein the primitive block generator is configured to combine the masks for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block by concatenating the masks for the untransformed primitives identified in the untransformed primitive block. Therefore, Claim 8 in the context of claims 1 and 6 as a whole is allowable.
Regarding Claim 12, Howson in view of Snowden teaches the system of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the primitive block generator is configured to, in response to determining that the expansion transformation stage mask for one of the one or more expansion transformation stages for an untransformed primitive block exceeds a maximum mask size threshold (Howson [0099] Similar concepts apply to the other shader stages, with the entries in the cache 336 from different shaders being identified by a different set of values, which can generally be referred to as “tags”. The amount of output produced by each shader stage can vary, and the cache 336 may allocate different maximum sizes to the outputs from the different stages. The lookup tables may be implemented as fully-associative or set-associative).
However in the context of claim 1 and 12 as a whole, the prior art does not teach compress the expansion transformation stage mask prior to storing the expansion transformation stage mask in the untransformed primitive bock. Therefore, Claim 12 in the context of Claim 1 as a whole is allowable.
Claims 13 and 14 depend on Claim 12 are therefore are objected.
Conclusion
/Samantha (Yuehan) Wang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617