Claims 7-13 are withdrawn from further consideration. Applicant made the election of Group I, directed to claims 1-6, with traverse, in the response dated 04/06/2026 is acknowledged.
In response to applicant’s traversal, note that if a claim encompassing several disclosed species is deemed allowable, rejoinder will be permitted at the end of prosecution assuming there are no issues under 35 USC 112, 2nd paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, “the travel mode cover” has no antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
SET I:
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kjose (4182391) in view of Latshaw (6164425).
Regarding claim 1, Kjose teaches a bag for carrying a set of golf clubs while playing golf and while traveling, the bag comprising at least two panels (11, 12) , each comprising a first face and an opposite second face, the first face comprising sleeves (26) for insertion of shafts of golf clubs, wherein the at least two panels are connected so as to provide a playing mode with the first faces facing outward (fig. 5), thus providing access to the golf clubs, and so as to provide a travel mode with the first faces facing inward, thus protecting the golf clubs while travelling (fig. 1); and Kjose meets all claimed limitations except for the a cover for covering the end of the bag and heads of the golf clubs when in the travel mode, the cover comprising wheels (123), whereby, when the bag is vertically inverted, the wheels allow the bag to be pushed and pulled by a user.
Latshaw teaches that it is known in the art to provide cover (figs. 1 and 2) covering the end of the bag and heads of the golf clubs, the cover comprising wheels (53) allow the bag to be pushed and pulled by a user. With respect to note the cover in Latshaw can hold the bag vertically inverted.
Regarding claim 2, note the cover further comprises a flat base, whereby the bag can stand vertically without additional support with the heads of the golf clubs down.
Regarding claim 3, note the wheels touch ground (at 31/32) when the bag is leaned at an angle for pulling and pushing.
Regarding claim 4, note a handle (at 38 fig. 5, 20/21 fig. 1) near the bag's top as broadly recited.
Regarding claim 5, note that in the travel mode cover of Latshaw is configured to facilitate holding the bag in the travel mode.
Regarding claim 6, note that the travel mode cover is shaped so that two or more similar bags in travel mode stacked for transport, i.e., a) note the claim does not impart any structure over the cover in Latshaw, b) the size of the cover of Latshaw is big such that two stack two or more the bag of Kjose can be accommodated, and c) In the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the cover of Latshaw of the size to so that two or more similar bags of Kjose in travel mode stacked for transport to accommodate the personal desired properties and/or collections.
SET II
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN217939076) in view of Kjose ‘391 or Reach (1597870).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches teaches a bag for carrying a set of golf clubs while playing golf and while traveling, the bag comprising at least two panels (fig. 6) , each comprising a first face and an opposite second face, a cover for covering the end of the bag and heads of the golf clubs when in the travel mode, the cover comprising wheels (at 31). With respect to the bag is vertically inverted, note that this limitation does not impart any structure over the various panels and orientations in Zhang, i.e., the claim recites a cover with wheels being installed in a plurality of foldable panels and the cover of Zhang has wheels and installed in a plurality of foldable panels.
Zhen meets all claimed limitations except for the sleeves and the inversion of the panels. Kjose or Reach, each teaches that it is known in the art to provide sleeves for insertion of golf clubs and the inversion of the panel so as to provide a mode with the first faces facing outward and a travel mode with the first faces facing inward. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide sleeves and the inversion of the panels as taught by Kjose or Reach to enable one to access the contents easily.
Regarding claim 2, note the cover further comprises a flat base, whereby the bag can stand vertically without additional support with the heads of the golf clubs down.
Regarding claim 3, note the wheels touch ground when the bag is leaned at an angle for pulling and pushing. In other words, the bag can be lied horizontally NOT touching the ground.
Regarding claim 4, note a handle near the bag's top as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, note that in the travel mode cover is configured to facilitate holding the bag in the travel mode.
Regarding claim 6, note the functional limitation does not impart any structure over the bag in Zhang. Also, the claim 1 requires a bag only have two panels and the four panels in Zhang constitute the two bags as claimed.
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733