DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 11, 13-16, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Krause USPN 4,322,481. Krause teaches thin amorphous (col. 1, line 31: 2605A alloy) strip (col. 2, line 58: 2 mil) that is cut with continuous notches (i.e., grooves) (col. 2, lines 49-68; and Figure 12). Krause does not teach that the cutting is achieved with cutting roller. However, the resulting structure, formed by mechanical removal of strip material and lacking in bulge, would be expected to the same as or substantially the same as those being claimed. There is no process feature for making the claimed notch that would be expected to preclude encompassing those of Krause. The Specification teaches that notches having no bulge is encompassed (Specification at page 14). Regarding Claim 13, Krause teaches grooves in longitudinal and transverse directions (Figures 1-5), emphasizing transverse direction, which is orthogonal to the longitudinal direction which can be the casting direction, and teaches grooves can be applied in any direction (col. 7, lines 5-20). Thus, it would be expected that this directional teaching includes teaching preparing grooves in any direction, which would include that direction claimed. Regarding Claim 14, Krause teaches effective notch distance range which substantially overlaps that claimed (col. 7, line 15). Regarding Claim 15, although Krause may not exemplify such, Krause teaches that full width notches is preferred (col. 7, line 7), which at 100% is greater than the claimed 70 %. Regarding Claims 16, 18, and 19, these claims are not interpreted as demanding discontinuous linear notch array (staggered), and so the claims encompass the cited art for the same reasons as Claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 13-16, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Krause USPN 4,322,481. Krause teaches thin amorphous (col. 1, line 31: 2605A alloy) strip (col. 2, line 58: 2 mil) that is cut with continuous notches (i.e., grooves) (col. 2, lines 49-68; and Figure 12). Krause does not teach that the cutting is achieved with cutting roller. However, the resulting structure, formed by mechanical removal of strip material and lacking in bulge, would be expected to the same as or substantially the same as those being claimed. There is no process feature for making the claimed notch that would be expected to preclude encompassing those of Krause. The Specification teaches that no bulge is encompassed (Specification at page 14). Furthermore, Krause teaches that grooves can be formed by any method including by casting (col. 7, line 1 through col. 8, line 5), which casting method would be expected to lead to uniform and controlled notch distribution since the formation of notches is coincident with forming the strip. Thus, regarding Claim 11, it also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to prepare the grooved strip using suggested casting method which would be expected to lead to grooves meeting bulge height requirement since no bulges would be expected. Regarding Claim 13, Krause teaches grooves in longitudinal and transverse directions (Figures 1-5), emphasizing transverse direction which would be expected to be the direction orthogonal to the casting direction. To the extent Krause does not expressly teach grooving orthogonal to casting direction, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to prepare grooves in any direction, which would include that claimed, since Krause contemplates doing so. Regarding Claim 14, Krause suggests effective notch distance range which overlaps that claimed (col. 7, line 15), rendering the claimed range obvious. See MPEP 2144.05. Regarding Claim 15, although Krause may not exemplify such, Krause teaches that full width notches is preferred (col. 7, line 7), which at 100% is greater than the claimed 70 %, rendering it obvious. Regarding Claims 16, 18, and 19, these claims are not interpreted as demanding discontinuous linear notch array (staggered), and so the claims encompass the cited art for the same reasons as Claim 11.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Krause USPN 4,322,481 in view of Itagaki USPA 2022/0364212. Krause teaches thin amorphous (col. 1, line 31: 2605A alloy) strip (col. 2, line 58: 2 mil) that is cut with continuous notches (i.e., grooves) (col. 2, lines 49-68; and Figure 12). Krause does not teach that the cutting is achieved with cutting roller. However, the resulting structure, formed by mechanical removal of strip material and lacking in bulge, would be expected to the same as or substantially the same as those being claimed. There is no process feature for making the claimed notch that is would be expected to preclude encompassing those of Krause. The Specification teaches that no bulge is encompassed (Specification at page 14). Regarding Claim 13, Krause teaches grooves in longitudinal and transverse directions (Figures 1-5), emphasizing transverse direction. Krause does not expressly teach casting direction. Itagaki teaches that strip to be marked (i.e., notched) in transverse direction wherein transverse direction is orthogonal to casting direction (paragraphs 30 and 142-145) is effective. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to prepare longitudinal direction as casting direction since Itagaki teaches such arrangement is effective.
Response to Amendment
In view of applicant’s amendments and arguments, applicant traverses the section 102/103 rejection over Krause, the section 103 rejection over Krause, the section 103 rejection over Krause in view of Itagaki, the section 103 rejection over Krause in view of Sawa in view of VonHoene, and the section 103 rejection over Krause in view of Sawa in view of VonHoene in view of Itagaki of the Office Action mailed on 6 February 2026. The section 103 rejection over Krause in view of Sawa in view of VonHoene and the section 103 rejection over Krause in view of Sawa in view of VonHoene in view of Itagaki of the Office Action mailed on 17 October 2025 are withdrawn, although the claims rejected under these combinations remain rejected for the reasons set forth above.
Applicant argues that the claimed product by process limitations would be expected to lead to distinguishable products as compared to those of the cited prior art. This argument was rebutted in the Office Action mailed on 6 February 2026, and those rebuttal arguments are incorporated by reference herein. It is emphasized again that applicant has provided no evidence in support of its contentions in a manner that would render the cited art necessarily distinguishable. Applicant argues that the Krause fails to teach or suggest the claimed discontinuous linear notches being arranged in a staggered manner. While this may be correct, the claim is not interpreted as requiring such arrangement when it provides for “continuous . . . notches” at line 2. Rejections are maintained as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL E. LA VILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784
16 June 2026