Specification
2. The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification never mentions the lever of claim 4.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the lever of claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 6 is objected to because it should depend from claim 5 instead of claim 4 in order to provide proper antecedent basis for “the spring loaded tabs”. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed claim 6 is meant to depend from claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albert (US 3,530,919 A) in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Albert discloses a bag (1) for carrying a set of golf clubs (golf clubs not currently being claimed in combination) while playing golf and while traveling, the bag comprising: at least two panels (2 and 3), each comprising a first face and an opposite second face (see Figures), the first face comprising sleeves (9a/10) for insertion of shafts of golf clubs (see Figures), wherein the at least two panels are connected (via 16) so as to provide a playing mode (see Figure 3) with the first faces facing outward, thus providing access to the golf clubs, and so as to provide a travel mode (see Figures 1 and 2) with the first faces facing inward, thus protecting the golf clubs while travelling (see “adapt the bag for either traveling or play” in Abstract). Albert fails to disclose two suction grippers, each attached to at least one of the second faces, the suction grippers configured to attach the bag to a surface of a vehicle (vehicle not currently being claimed in combination) for transit.
Buttermore teaches that it was already known in the art for a golf club container (102, see “golf clubs” in col. 5 lines 9-10) to include suction grippers (106) with an actuator pump (110) and release (see “actuates…pump” in col. 4 lines 53-55 and “released” in col. 2 line 33) for mounting to a vehicle roof for transport. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the Albert bag with suction grippers having an actuator and release, the motivation being to allow a user to transport the bag on a vehicle roof, as taught by Buttermore.
Regarding claim 2, Albert as modified above would include the bag of claim 1, wherein the suction grippers each comprise an actuator configured to pull and lock a suction state to attach the bag to the surface of the vehicle and release the suction state to release the bag from the surface of the vehicle, as taught by Buttermore.
Regarding claim 3, Albert as modified above would include the bag of claim 2, wherein the actuator comprises a user operated pump to pull air and create suction in the suction gripper and wherein the actuator further comprises a user operated release to release the suction from the suction gripper, as taught by Buttermore.
Regarding claim 7, Albert as modified above would include the bag of claim 1, Albert further disclosing a cover (12) for covering the end of the bag and heads of the golf clubs when in the travel mode (see Figure 1).
8. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albert (US 3,530,919 A) in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1) as applied above, further in view of Aguilar (US 2009/0127411 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Albert as modified above would include the bag of claim 2, but so far fails to include wherein the actuator comprises a user operated lever configured to pull suction on the suction grippers. Buttermore discloses suction actuation but does not specify lever operation. Aguilar teaches that it was already known in the art to utilize a lever (85) to actuate a suction cup. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the suction grippers of the modified Albert bag with lever actuation, as taught by Aguiar, as a simple selection between known suction gripper actuation mechanisms in order to achieve the predictable result of a functioning suction gripper.
9. Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albert (US 3,530,919 A) in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1) as applied above, further in view of Kuhn et al. (US 2015/0191130 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Albert as modified above would include the bag of claim 1, but so far fails to include wherein the suction grippers are attached to the at least one of the second faces by two spring loaded tabs inserting into detents formed in the at least one of the second faces.
Regarding claim 6, Albert as modified above so far fails to comprise the bag of claim 5, and also fails to further comprise a tab release button for withdrawing the spring loaded tabs from the detents, thereby releasing the suction grippers from the at least one of the second faces.
While suction grippers like those of Buttermore have been added to the Albert bag as set forth above, the exact manner in which the suction grippers are attached to the Albert bag has not yet been established. Kuhn teaches that it was already known to connect two parts of a vehicle accessory by providing one part with a receptacle (2) and the mating part with an insertion member (4) which includes two spring-loaded tabs (4d) that engage within the receptacle and which are released using a button (4g) to allow separation of the mating parts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have explored known methods for connecting the parts of a vehicle accessory and to have used a connection like that of Kuhn, providing a receptacle on the bag and an insertion member with spring-loaded tabs and a release button on the suction grippers, the motivation being to provide effective attachment of the suction grippers to the bag and allow them to be removed as needed.
10. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albert (US 3,530,919 A) in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1) as applied above, further in view of Tan (US 6,401,890 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Albert as modified above would include the bag of claim 7, but so far fails to include wherein the cover comprises wheels, whereby, when the bag is vertically inverted, the wheels allow the bag to be pushed and pulled by a user. Tan teaches that it was already known in the art for a removable cover (1) like that of Albert to include wheels (13) for rolling the bag along the floor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the cover of the modified Albert bag with wheels, the motivation being to allow a user to roll the bag along the floor, as taught by Tan.
Double Patenting
15. Claims 1-3 and 7-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/031,799 in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1).
The copending claims recite all of the presently claimed structure except for two suction grippers, each attached to at least one of the second faces, the suction grippers configured to attach the bag to a surface of a vehicle (vehicle not currently being claimed in combination) for transit.
Buttermore teaches that it was already known in the art for a golf club container (102, see “golf clubs” in col. 5 lines 9-10) to include suction grippers (106) with an actuator pump (110) and release (see “actuates…pump” in col. 4 lines 53-55 and “released” in col. 2 line 33) for mounting to a vehicle roof for transport. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the bag of the copending claims with suction grippers having an actuator and release, the motivation being to allow a user to transport the bag on a vehicle roof, as taught by Buttermore.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
16. Claims 4 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/031,799 in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1) as applied above, further in view of Aguilar (US 2009/0127411 A1.
The copending claims as modified above would include the bag of claims 2 and 10, but so far fails to include wherein the actuator comprises a user operated lever configured to pull suction on the suction grippers. Buttermore discloses suction actuation but does not specify lever operation. Aguilar teaches that it was already known in the art to utilize a lever (85) to actuate a suction cup. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the suction grippers of the modified bag of the copending claims with lever actuation, as taught by Aguiar, as a simple selection between known suction gripper actuation mechanisms in order to achieve the predictable result of a functioning suction gripper.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
17. Claims 5, 6, 13, and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/031,799 in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1) as applied above, further in view of Kuhn et al. (US 2015/0191130 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, the copending claims as modified above would include the bag of claim 1, but so far fails to include wherein the suction grippers are attached to the at least one of the second faces by two spring loaded tabs inserting into detents formed in the at least one of the second faces.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, the copending claims as modified above so far fails to comprise the bag of claims 5 and 13, and also fails to further comprise a tab release button for withdrawing the spring loaded tabs from the detents, thereby releasing the suction grippers from the at least one of the second faces.
While suction grippers like those of Buttermore have been added to the bag of the copending claims as set forth above, the exact manner in which the suction grippers are attached to the bag of the copending claims has not yet been established. Kuhn teaches that it was already known to connect two parts of a vehicle accessory by providing one part with a receptacle (2) and the mating part with an insertion member (4) which includes two spring-loaded tabs (4d) that engage within the receptacle and which are released using a button (4g) to allow separation of the mating parts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have explored known methods for connecting the parts of a vehicle accessory and to have used a connection like that of Kuhn, providing a receptacle on the bag and an insertion member with spring-loaded tabs and a release button on the suction grippers, the motivation being to provide effective attachment of the suction grippers to the bag and allow them to be removed as needed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
18. Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-14 of copending Application No. 19/031,812 in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1).
The copending claims recite all of the presently claimed structure except for two suction grippers, each attached to at least one of the second faces, the suction grippers configured to attach the bag to a surface of a vehicle (vehicle not currently being claimed in combination) for transit.
Buttermore teaches that it was already known in the art for a golf club container (102, see “golf clubs” in col. 5 lines 9-10) to include suction grippers (106) with an actuator pump (110) and release (see “actuates…pump” in col. 4 lines 53-55 and “released” in col. 2 line 33) for mounting to a vehicle roof for transport. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the bag of the copending claims with suction grippers having an actuator and release, the motivation being to allow a user to transport the bag on a vehicle roof, as taught by Buttermore.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
19. Claims 4 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-14 of copending Application No. 19/031,812 in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1) as applied above, further in view of Aguilar (US 2009/0127411 A1.
The copending claims as modified above would include the bag of claims 2 and 10, but so far fails to include wherein the actuator comprises a user operated lever configured to pull suction on the suction grippers. Buttermore discloses suction actuation but does not specify lever operation. Aguilar teaches that it was already known in the art to utilize a lever (85) to actuate a suction cup. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the suction grippers of the modified bag of the copending claims with lever actuation, as taught by Aguiar, as a simple selection between known suction gripper actuation mechanisms in order to achieve the predictable result of a functioning suction gripper.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
20. Claims 5, 6, 13, and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-14 of copending Application No. 19/031,812 in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1) as applied above, further in view of Kuhn et al. (US 2015/0191130 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, the copending claims as modified above would include the bag of claim 1, but so far fails to include wherein the suction grippers are attached to the at least one of the second faces by two spring loaded tabs inserting into detents formed in the at least one of the second faces.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, the copending claims as modified above so far fails to comprise the bag of claims 5 and 13, and also fails to further comprise a tab release button for withdrawing the spring loaded tabs from the detents, thereby releasing the suction grippers from the at least one of the second faces.
While suction grippers like those of Buttermore have been added to the bag of the copending claims as set forth above, the exact manner in which the suction grippers are attached to the bag of the copending claims has not yet been established. Kuhn teaches that it was already known to connect two parts of a vehicle accessory by providing one part with a receptacle (2) and the mating part with an insertion member (4) which includes two spring-loaded tabs (4d) that engage within the receptacle and which are released using a button (4g) to allow separation of the mating parts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have explored known methods for connecting the parts of a vehicle accessory and to have used a connection like that of Kuhn, providing a receptacle on the bag and an insertion member with spring-loaded tabs and a release button on the suction grippers, the motivation being to provide effective attachment of the suction grippers to the bag and allow them to be removed as needed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
21. Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-14 of copending Application No. 19/031,812 in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1) as applied above, further in view of Albert (US 3,530,919 A).
Regarding claim 7, the bag of the copending claims as modified above would include the bag of claim 7, but so far fails to include a cover.
Albert teaches that it was already known in the art to provide a golf bag with a cover (12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the modified bag of the copending claims with a cover like that of Albert, the motivation being to protect the clubs during transport.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
23. Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-14 of copending Application No. 19/031,812 in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1) and Albert (US 3,530,919 A) as applied above, further in view of Tan (US 6,401,890 B1).
Regarding claim 8, the bag of the copending claims as modified above would include the bag of claim 7, but so far fails to include wherein the cover comprises wheels, whereby, when the bag is vertically inverted, the wheels allow the bag to be pushed and pulled by a user. Tan teaches that it was already known in the art for a removable cover (1) like that of Albert to include wheels (13) for rolling the bag along the floor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the cover of the bag of the copending claims as modified above with wheels, the motivation being to allow a user to roll the bag along the floor, as taught by Tan.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
24. Claims 1-3 and 7-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 19/031,819 in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1).
The copending claims recite all of the presently claimed structure except for two suction grippers, each attached to at least one of the second faces, the suction grippers configured to attach the bag to a surface of a vehicle (vehicle not currently being claimed in combination) for transit.
Buttermore teaches that it was already known in the art for a golf club container (102, see “golf clubs” in col. 5 lines 9-10) to include suction grippers (106) with an actuator pump (110) and release (see “actuates…pump” in col. 4 lines 53-55 and “released” in col. 2 line 33) for mounting to a vehicle roof for transport. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the bag of the copending claims with suction grippers having an actuator and release, the motivation being to allow a user to transport the bag on a vehicle roof, as taught by Buttermore.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
25. Claims 4 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 19/031,819 in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1) as applied above, further in view of Aguilar (US 2009/0127411 A1.
The copending claims as modified above would include the bag of claims 2 and 10, but so far fails to include wherein the actuator comprises a user operated lever configured to pull suction on the suction grippers. Buttermore discloses suction actuation but does not specify lever operation. Aguilar teaches that it was already known in the art to utilize a lever (85) to actuate a suction cup. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the suction grippers of the modified bag of the copending claims with lever actuation, as taught by Aguiar, as a simple selection between known suction gripper actuation mechanisms in order to achieve the predictable result of a functioning suction gripper.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
26. Claims 5, 6, 13, and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 19/031,819 in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1) as applied above, further in view of Kuhn et al. (US 2015/0191130 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, the copending claims as modified above would include the bag of claim 1, but so far fails to include wherein the suction grippers are attached to the at least one of the second faces by two spring loaded tabs inserting into detents formed in the at least one of the second faces.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, the copending claims as modified above so far fails to comprise the bag of claims 5 and 13, and also fails to further comprise a tab release button for withdrawing the spring loaded tabs from the detents, thereby releasing the suction grippers from the at least one of the second faces.
While suction grippers like those of Buttermore have been added to the bag of the copending claims as set forth above, the exact manner in which the suction grippers are attached to the bag of the copending claims has not yet been established. Kuhn teaches that it was already known to connect two parts of a vehicle accessory by providing one part with a receptacle (2) and the mating part with an insertion member (4) which includes two spring-loaded tabs (4d) that engage within the receptacle and which are released using a button (4g) to allow separation of the mating parts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have explored known methods for connecting the parts of a vehicle accessory and to have used a connection like that of Kuhn, providing a receptacle on the bag and an insertion member with spring-loaded tabs and a release button on the suction grippers, the motivation being to provide effective attachment of the suction grippers to the bag and allow them to be removed as needed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
27. Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 19/031,803 in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1).
The copending claims recite all of the presently claimed structure except for two suction grippers, each attached to at least one of the second faces, the suction grippers configured to attach the bag to a surface of a vehicle (vehicle not currently being claimed in combination) for transit.
Buttermore teaches that it was already known in the art for a golf club container (102, see “golf clubs” in col. 5 lines 9-10) to include suction grippers (106) with an actuator pump (110) and release (see “actuates…pump” in col. 4 lines 53-55 and “released” in col. 2 line 33) for mounting to a vehicle roof for transport. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the bag of the copending claims with suction grippers having an actuator and release, the motivation being to allow a user to transport the bag on a vehicle roof, as taught by Buttermore.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
28. Claims 4 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 19/031,803 in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1) as applied above, further in view of Aguilar (US 2009/0127411 A1.
The copending claims as modified above would include the bag of claims 2 and 10, but so far fails to include wherein the actuator comprises a user operated lever configured to pull suction on the suction grippers. Buttermore discloses suction actuation but does not specify lever operation. Aguilar teaches that it was already known in the art to utilize a lever (85) to actuate a suction cup. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the suction grippers of the modified bag of the copending claims with lever actuation, as taught by Aguiar, as a simple selection between known suction gripper actuation mechanisms in order to achieve the predictable result of a functioning suction gripper.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
29. Claims 5, 6, 13, and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 19/031,803 in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1) as applied above, further in view of Kuhn et al. (US 2015/0191130 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, the copending claims as modified above would include the bag of claim 1, but so far fails to include wherein the suction grippers are attached to the at least one of the second faces by two spring loaded tabs inserting into detents formed in the at least one of the second faces.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, the copending claims as modified above so far fails to comprise the bag of claims 5 and 13, and also fails to further comprise a tab release button for withdrawing the spring loaded tabs from the detents, thereby releasing the suction grippers from the at least one of the second faces.
While suction grippers like those of Buttermore have been added to the bag of the copending claims as set forth above, the exact manner in which the suction grippers are attached to the bag of the copending claims has not yet been established. Kuhn teaches that it was already known to connect two parts of a vehicle accessory by providing one part with a receptacle (2) and the mating part with an insertion member (4) which includes two spring-loaded tabs (4d) that engage within the receptacle and which are released using a button (4g) to allow separation of the mating parts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have explored known methods for connecting the parts of a vehicle accessory and to have used a connection like that of Kuhn, providing a receptacle on the bag and an insertion member with spring-loaded tabs and a release button on the suction grippers, the motivation being to provide effective attachment of the suction grippers to the bag and allow them to be removed as needed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
30. Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 19/031,803 in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1) as applied above, further in view of Albert (US 3,530,919 A).
Regarding claim 7, the bag of the copending claims as modified above would include the bag of claim 7, but so far fails to include a cover.
Albert teaches that it was already known in the art to provide a golf bag with a cover (12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the modified bag of the copending claims with a cover like that of Albert, the motivation being to protect the clubs during transport.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
31. Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 19/031,803 in view of Buttermore (US 11,648,883 B1) and Albert (US 3,530,919 A) as applied above, further in view of Tan (US 6,401,890 B1).
Regarding claim 8, the bag of the copending claims as modified above would include the bag of claim 7, but so far fails to include wherein the cover comprises wheels, whereby, when the bag is vertically inverted, the wheels allow the bag to be pushed and pulled by a user. Tan teaches that it was already known in the art for a removable cover (1) like that of Albert to include wheels (13) for rolling the bag along the floor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the cover of the bag of the copending claims as modified above with wheels, the motivation being to allow a user to roll the bag along the floor, as taught by Tan.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
32. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached at (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 7/2/26