Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 9,730,956 (‘956). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘956 patent discloses a liquid nitric oxide releasing solution (NORS) comprised of at least one nitric oxide releasing compound and at least one acidifying agent, wherein the NORS provides an extended release of a therapeutically effective amount of nitric oxide gas (gNO), wherein the gNO is released over a period of at least 30 minutes, wherein the amount of the at least one nitric oxide releasing compound is not greater than about 0.5% w/v, and wherein the amount of the at least one acidifying agent is no greater than about 0.5% w/v.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to obtain the claimed invention given the claims of the ‘956 patent. This is because the ‘956 patent discloses a liquid nitric oxide releasing solution similar to that of the present invention.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,905,712 (‘712), in view of US 9,445,996 (‘996). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘712 patent discloses a liquid nitric oxide releasing solution (NORS) comprising at least one nitric oxide releasing compound and at least one acidifying agent, wherein the NORS provides an extended release of a therapeutically effective amount of nitric oxide gas (gNO), wherein the gNO is released over a period of at least 30 minutes, and wherein either the amount of the at least one nitric oxide releasing compound is not greater than about 0.5% w/v, or the amount of the at least one acidifying agent is not greater than about 0.5% w/v, and wherein the NORS has a pH of from about 1 to about 4 during gNO release. Therapeutic concentration is found in claim 8. The claimed release rates are found in claims 10-13.
The ‘712 patent does not expressly teach storing the NO and the acidifying agent separately. However, such limitation is known in the art. See for example the teaching in the ‘996 patent at column 2 and claim 1.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to obtain the claimed invention given the claims of the ‘712 patent in view of the teaching in the ‘996 patent. This is because the ‘712 patent discloses a liquid nitric oxide releasing solution similar to that of the present invention, namely, a liquid composition comprising at least one nitric oxide releasing compound and at least one acidifying agent, and this is because the ‘996 patent teaches keeping the NO and the acidifying agent separately to prolong the release of NO and to provide a more stable form of NO composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. US 9,445,996.
Chen teaches a microencapsulated nitrite salt and an aqueous acidified gel with sufficient acidity to convert the nitrite salt to nitric oxide. A reductant to help retain the nitric oxide in bioactive form is preferably included in the gel. The acidifying agent is preferably an organic acid such as citric acid, although inorganic acids such as boric acid, for example may also be suitable. Other acidifying agents may include lactic acid, glyceric acid, formic acid or other organic acids known to those of skill in the art. Inorganic acids with the appropriate pKa values can also be used if they are biologically acceptable (e.g. the aforementioned boric acid). The gel acidifying agent may also be a reductant, such as ascorbic acid (vitamin C) or an ascorbic acid derivative including but not limited to, 3-O-ethyl ascorbic acid, other 3-alkyl ascorbic acids, 6-O-octanoyl-ascorbic acid, 6-O-dodecanoyl-ascorbic acid, 6-O-tetradecanoyl-ascorbic acid, 6-O-octadecanoyl-ascorbic acid, and 6-O-dodecanedioyl-ascorbic acid. The preferred reductant is one having the reductive capability of preventing or slowing the oxidation of nitric oxide to nitrogen dioxide and also having the capability of directly reducing NO.sub.2 to NO so that the gas released by the composition is predominantly NO. Preferred reductants include ascorbic acid, ascorbic acid derivatives, ascorbate salts, tocopherol, erythrobates or alpha-tocopherol. Gelling agents include substances such as hydroxymethyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, gelatin, agar, natural gums, starches and pectins. Another embodiment of this invention is a kit for delivering an acidified gel and a microencapsulated nitrite salt. The acidified gel and the microencapsulated nitrite salt are individually packaged in moisture-proof packages, which are opened and their contents mixed together immediately prior to application of the mixture. In an alternative embodiment, the microencapsulated nitrite salt and the acidifying agents are packaged either together or individually in moisture-proof packages. The packages are opened and their contents are mixed with a measured amount of water or a pH-neutral aqueous gel prior to application of the mixture. See columns 4-5 and Claims.
Correspondence
/SUSAN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615