Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 9,730,956 (‘956), in view of US20110070318 A1 (‘318). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘956 patent discloses a liquid nitric oxide releasing solution (NORS) comprised of at least one nitric oxide releasing compound and at least one acidifying agent, wherein the NORS provides an extended release of a therapeutically effective amount of nitric oxide gas (gNO), wherein the gNO is released over a period of at least 30 minutes, wherein the amount of the at least one nitric oxide releasing compound is not greater than about 0.5% w/v, and wherein the amount of the at least one acidifying agent is no greater than about 0.5% w/v. Sodium nitrite is found in claim 3. Citric acid is found in claim 5. Method for treating wound is found in claim 12.
It is noted that the ‘956 patent does not expressly teach a cover for the wound treating composition. However, such feature is known in the art for wound treating composition. See for example the teaching in the ‘318 reference at paragraphs 0001, 0017 and claims.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to obtain the claimed invention given the claims of the ‘956 patent, in view of the teaching in the ‘318 reference. This is because the ‘956 patent discloses a liquid nitric oxide releasing solution similar to that of the present invention, and this is because the ‘318 reference teaches a wound healing composition comprising nitic oxide in a form of a patch comprising a backing and/or covering layer is known in the art.
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,905,712 (‘712), in view of US20110070318 A1 (‘318). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘712 patent discloses a liquid nitric oxide releasing solution (NORS) comprising at least one nitric oxide releasing compound and at least one acidifying agent, wherein the NORS provides an extended release of a therapeutically effective amount of nitric oxide gas (gNO), wherein the gNO is released over a period of at least 30 minutes, and wherein either the amount of the at least one nitric oxide releasing compound is not greater than about 0.5% w/v, or the amount of the at least one acidifying agent is not greater than about 0.5% w/v, and wherein the NORS has a pH of from about 1 to about 4 during gNO release. Therapeutic concentration is found in claim 8. The claimed release rates are found in claims 10-13.
It is noted that the ‘712 patent does not expressly teach a cover for the wound treating composition. However, such feature is known in the art for wound treating composition. See for example the teaching in the ‘318 reference at paragraphs 0001, 0017 and claims.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to obtain the claimed invention given the claims of the ‘712 patent, in view of the teaching in the ‘318 reference. This is because the ‘712 patent discloses a liquid nitric oxide releasing solution similar to that of the present invention, and this is because the ‘318 reference teaches a wound healing composition comprising nitic oxide in a form of a patch comprising a backing and/or covering layer is known in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jezek et al. US 20110070318 A1.
Jezek teaches a skin dressing is provided comprising a first component comprising a source of protons, a second component comprising a nitrite salt, the dressing comprising a non-thiol reductant, such that, when the first and second components are brought together and applied to a skin site the nitrite reacts to generate nitric oxide, increasing the pH of the dressing in contact with the skin from an acidic value to a more neutral value. See Abstract. The dressing, typically in use on skin, thus functions as a nitric oxide donor, nitric oxide is being released on or in the vicinity of the skin being treated. This can be achieved whilst avoiding prolonged exposure of the body site (skin, wound etc.) to an acidic, strongly buffered, dressing application. See paragraph 0017.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benjamin US 20100015253 A1.
Benjamin teaches a nitrogen oxide generating composition may take any suitable form. However, it will be appreciated that, where the generation of nitrogen oxides is active, then the reactants should be kept separate one from the other until nitrogen oxide is actually required. Although this is generally a preference, it need not necessarily always apply. For example, an occlusive patch may be constructed with a gel, or matrix, into which nitrogen oxide generating ingredients are loaded, the patch then being protected by a suitable webbing to prevent gaseous release. In such a patch, it is preferred that the matrix or gel is adhesive, and that the strength of the adhesion is sufficient to overcome any tendency of the nitrogen oxide to escape and push away the webbing, although it will be appreciated that the strength of the adhesive should not be such that the webbing cannot be satisfactorily removed to allow application of the patch. Further, it is preferred to provide suitable stabilisers, such as chelating agents, in the gel or matrix, in order to prolong the life of the NO or to reduce the rate at which it is produced. Additionally, as NO is more soluble in non-aqueous and lipid substances, the addition of such substances to the treatment may prolong the activity and delivery of NO to the affected nail and nail bed. See paragraphs 0033-0034. Transdermal patch with cover and backing layers is found in paragraphs 0048-0053. Acidifying agent is found in paragraphs 0062-0063.
Correspondence
/SUSAN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615