DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the recitation in claims 5, 10, and 18 of “the target paper has at least two adhesive papers” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). It is noted that applicant’s specification discloses the claimed “target paper” as part number 2 in applicant’s drawings. Applicant’s drawings does not show “at least two adhesive papers”. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-12, 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by West (6019375).
Regarding claim 1, West (Figures 1-4) teaches a target paper with double target pattern surfaces, comprising: a release paper (Fig. 3, Part No. 16) (Col. 5, Lines 36-42) with one surface having a release layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 14) (Col. 4, Lines 53-63); and an adhesive paper (Fig. 3, Part No. 12) (Col. 4, Lines 39-50) stuck onto the release layer (14)(Col. 4, Lines 66-67; Col. 5, Lines 1-16).
West does not teach a surface of the adhesive paper opposite to the release paper and either of two surfaces of the release paper in a thickness direction are provided with a target pattern respectively.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “a surface of the adhesive paper opposite to the release paper and either of two surfaces of the release paper in a thickness direction are provided with a target pattern respectively” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate (the adhesive paper) is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 2, West (Figures 1-4) teaches the release paper comprises a base paper layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 16) (Col. 5, Lines 36-42), and the release layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 14) is provided on a surface of the base paper layer (Col. 4, Lines 2-8).
Regarding claim 3, West (Figures 1-4) teaches a surface of the base paper layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 16) (Col. 5, Lines 36-42) not provided with the release layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 14).
It is noted that the claim recitation of “a target pattern” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate (the base paper layer) is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 4, West (Figures 1-4) teaches a surface of the base paper layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 16) (Col. 5, Lines 36-42) not provided with the release layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 14).
West does not teach the target pattern each comprises at least two chromatic zones, and the chromatic zones have a same color type and different chrominances.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “the target pattern each comprises at least two chromatic zones, and the chromatic zones have a same color type and different chrominances” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 6, West (Figures 1-4) teaches a release paper (Fig. 3, Part No. 16) (Col. 5, Lines 36-42) with one surface having a release layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 14).
West does not teach the target pattern has a main target center.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “the target pattern has a main target center” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 7, West (Figures 1-4) teaches a release paper (Fig. 3, Part No. 16) (Col. 5, Lines 36-42) with one surface having a release layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 14).
West does not teach the target pattern further comprises a plurality of auxiliary target centers, and the plurality of auxiliary target centers are arranged around the main target center.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “the target pattern further comprises a plurality of auxiliary target centers, and the plurality of auxiliary target centers are arranged around the main target center” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 8, West (Figures 1-4) teaches a surface of the base paper layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 16) (Col. 5, Lines 36-42) provided with the release layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 14).
West does not teach a target pattern.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “the target pattern” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 9, West (Figures 1-4) teaches a release paper (Fig. 3, Part No. 16) (Col. 5, Lines 36-42) with one surface having a release layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 14).
West does not teach the target pattern each comprises at least two chromatic zones, and the chromatic zones have a same color type and different chrominances.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “the target pattern each comprises at least two chromatic zones, and the chromatic zones have a same color type and different chrominances” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 11, West (Figures 1-4) teaches a release paper (Fig. 3, Part No. 16) (Col. 5, Lines 36-42) with one surface having a release layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 14).
West does not teach the target pattern has a main target center.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “the target pattern has a main target center” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 12, West (Figures 1-4) teaches a release paper (Fig. 3, Part No. 16) (Col. 5, Lines 36-42) with one surface having a release layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 14).
West does not teach the target pattern further comprises a plurality of auxiliary target centers, and the plurality of auxiliary target centers are arranged around the main target center.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “the target pattern further comprises a plurality of auxiliary target centers, and the plurality of auxiliary target centers are arranged around the main target center” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 14, West (Figures 1-4) teaches the release layer (14) is a colored layer (Col. 4, Lines 53-63).
It is noted that the claim recitation of “to constitute the target pattern” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 15, West (Figures 1-4) teaches a release paper (Fig. 3, Part No. 16) (Col. 5, Lines 36-42) with one surface having a release layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 14).
West does not teach the target pattern each comprises at least two chromatic zones, and the chromatic zones have a same color type and different chrominances.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “the target pattern each comprises at least two chromatic zones, and the chromatic zones have a same color type and different chrominances” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 16, West (Figures 1-4) teaches the target paper has a target center.
West does not teach the target pattern has a color chrominance gradually darkening or gradually lightening in a direction away from the target center.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “the target pattern has a color chrominance gradually darkening or gradually lightening in a direction away from the target center” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 17, West (Figures 1-4) teaches a release paper (Fig. 3, Part No. 16) (Col. 5, Lines 36-42) with one surface having a release layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 14).
West does not teach various regions of the respective target pattern have different printing densities of pigment dots.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “various regions of the respective target pattern have different printing densities of pigment dots” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 19, West (Figures 1-4) teaches a release paper (Fig. 3, Part No. 16) (Col. 5, Lines 36-42) with one surface having a release layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 14).
West does not teach the target pattern has a main target center.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “the target pattern has a main target center” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 20, West (Figures 1-4) teaches a release paper (Fig. 3, Part No. 16) (Col. 5, Lines 36-42) with one surface having a release layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 14).
West does not teach the target pattern further comprises a plurality of auxiliary target centers, and the plurality of auxiliary target centers are arranged around the main target center.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “the target pattern further comprises a plurality of auxiliary target centers, and the plurality of auxiliary target centers are arranged around the main target center” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over West (6019375).
Regarding claim 5, West (Figures 1-4) teaches the target paper has an adhesive papers (Fig. 3, Part No. 12) (Col. 4, Lines 39-50), in which the adhesive paper serves as a main target sticker.
West does not teach the target paper has at least two adhesive papers, the other adhesive papers serve as auxiliary target stickers, and at least one of the auxiliary target stickers is provided with the target pattern.
It is noted that the prior art of West teaches adhering layers of a target paper using adhesive (See West: Col. 5, Lines 66-67; Col. 6, Lines 1-3 and Lines 51-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide West with the target paper has at least two adhesive papers and the other adhesive papers serve as auxiliary target stickers as a means of mere duplication of parts (See: In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
It is noted that the claim recitation of “at least one of the auxiliary target stickers is provided with the target pattern” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 10, West (Figures 1-4) teaches the target paper has an adhesive paper (Fig. 3, Part No. 12) (Col. 4, Lines 39-50), in which the adhesive paper serves as a main target sticker.
West does not teach the target paper has at least two adhesive papers, the other adhesive papers serve as auxiliary target stickers, and at least one of the auxiliary target stickers is provided with the target pattern.
It is noted that the prior art of West teaches adhering layers of a target paper using adhesive (See West: Col. 5, Lines 66-67; Col. 6, Lines 1-3 and Lines 51-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide West with the target paper has at least two adhesive papers and the other adhesive papers serve as auxiliary target stickers as a means of mere duplication of parts (See: In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
It is noted that the claim recitation of “at least one of the auxiliary target stickers is provided with the target pattern” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 18, West (Figures 1-4) teaches the target paper has an adhesive paper (Fig. 3, Part No. 12) (Col. 4, Lines 39-50), in which the adhesive paper serves as a main target sticker.
West does not teach the target paper has at least two adhesive papers, the other adhesive papers serve as auxiliary target stickers, and at least one of the auxiliary target stickers is provided with the target pattern.
It is noted that the prior art of West teaches adhering layers of a target paper using adhesive (See West: Col. 5, Lines 66-67; Col. 6, Lines 1-3 and Lines 51-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide West with the target paper has at least two adhesive papers and the other adhesive papers serve as auxiliary target stickers as a means of mere duplication of parts (See: In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
It is noted that the claim recitation of “at least one of the auxiliary target stickers is provided with the target pattern” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over West (6019375) in view of Sharrock (20150001802).
Regarding claim 13, West (Figures 1-4) teaches a release paper (Fig. 3, Part No. 16) (Col. 5, Lines 36-42) with one surface having a release layer (Fig. 3, Part No. 14).
West does not teach the release layer is a transparent layer to reveal the target pattern provided on the base paper layer.
Sharrock (Figures 1-2) teaches the release layer (Fig. 2, Part No. 13) is a transparent layer (Para. 0011).
It is noted that the claim recitation of “to reveal the target pattern provided on the base paper layer” is directed to printed matter. To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship and the functional relationship must be new and unobvious. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1584, 32 USPQ2d at 1035 (citing Gulack, 703 F.2d at 1386, 217 USPQ at 404). Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. In the instant case, the relationship between the printed matter (the target pattern) and the substrate is not new and obvious as it is known to have indicia on a target surface (See for example: Sharrock, Lee (20220146237), Tanoury (20220099415), Chia (20220074716), Ervin (20180010892), Gamez (20070262529), Mujic (5415415)). Therefore, the printed matter is not given patentable weight.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide West with the release layer is a transparent layer as taught by Sharrock as a means of providing layered target assembly with a transparent laminate layer that is substantially transparent to visible light but is only semi-transparent (e.g., semi-opaque) to UV light (Sharrock: Para. 0010-0011).
Conclusion
/C.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/JOSEPH B BALDORI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711