DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendment to the independent and dependent claims filed on August 24, 2026 is being considered.
Based on restriction requirement, Applicant elected group I (directed to claim 1, as amended), without traverse, including claim 1 and new claims 4-22.
Claims 2 and 3 have been canceled.
Claims 1 and 4 – 22 are pending in this Office Correspondence.
Priority
This application 19/031,938 is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 18/399,277 is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 17/190503, filed on March 3, 2021, now U.S. Patent 11,899,637, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 17/119,910, filed on December 11, 2020, now U.S. Patent 10,963,439, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 16/190,962, filed on November 14, 2018, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent No. 10,176,247, U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 15/634,058, filed on June 27, 2017, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent No. 9,727,634, U. S. Patent Application Serial No. 15/469,136, filed on March 24, 2017, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent No. 9,754,013, U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 15/283,281, filed on September 30, 2016, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Number 9,477,744, U.S. Serial No. 14/944,211, filed on November 18, 2015, which is a Continuation of U.S. Patent No. 9,817,883, U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 14/274,199, filed on May 9, 2014, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application Serial No. 61/914,955, filed on December 11, 2013 and to U.S. Provisional Application Serial No. 61/902,128, filed on November 8, 2013, and to U.S. Provisional Application Serial No. 61/882,635, filed on September 26, 2013, and to U.S. Provisional Application Serial No. 61/827,554, filed on May 24, 2013, and to U.S. Provisional Application Serial No. 61/822,289, filed on May 10, 2013.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 4 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: The claim 1 recites a “method of generating output media content . . ., receiving at least one input media content; receiving data related to . . . .; analyzing the at least one input media content and the received data . . . ; identifying . . . the received data and the analysis result . . . ; determining . . . the received data and the analysis result, a start time and an end time . . . . ; presenting . . . the at least one segment of the at least one input media content . . . ; receiving . . . at least one user input . . . ; selecting . . . at least on selected segment . . . .; generating the output media content . . . .; and providing the output media content . . . ” the claim(s) recites a series of steps and, therefore, is a process
Step 2A Prong One: Claim 1 recites the limitations “identifying” and “generating” which specifically recite " identifying . . . the received data and the analysis result . . .a scored segment, an event segment, . . .” and “generating output media content . . . .”
These limitations are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a "database" or "processor", nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in a human mind or with the aid of pen and paper. For example, “identifying and generating” in the context of this claim encompasses a user mentally, and with the aid of pen and paper, within the plurality of command sets, identifying at least one of: a scored segment, an event segment, and a discrete action in the at least one input video content and then generating at least one output video content by identified at least one input video content. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the additional elements "receiving input media content; receiving data related to input media content, . . .” “analyzing . . “; “determining the received data, a start time and an end time . . .;” “presenting . . .”; “receiving user input . . .”; selecting at least one selected segment . . “ and “providing the output media content . . .” these limitations amount to data gathering steps which is considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity, (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). The limitations represents an extra-solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, a mere generic transmission and presentation of collected and analyzed data. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The insignificant extra-solution activities identified above, which include the data-gathering, and receiving steps, are recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); (v) Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93).
Accordingly, claim 22 is rejected for the same rational under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Therefore, claims 1 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Further the limitations in the dependent claims 4 – 21 merely specify the type of the data gathered and analyzed without adding significantly more. Analysis of the dependent claims is shown below.
Claim 4 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 4 recites the same abstract idea of claim 1. The claim recites the additional limitation of “wherein at least one of the received data and the analysis result comprises or identifies at least one of: a name, a player, a score, a number, a statistic, an event status, an outcome, a team, a participant, an action, an event type, a scored segment, an event segment, a discrete action, a date, a time, a location, a rank, a category, a keyword, a sound level, a noise level, background noise, a sound associated with an event, a sound at an event, a voice, voices, a sound from an announcer, a field of view, a focus, a focal point, a point of interest, a motion, a camera movement, a direction, an effect, an object, a metadata object, and a physical characteristic”, which is equivalent to merely saying “apply it”, and amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 5 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 5 recites the same abstract idea of claim 1. The claim recites the additional limitation of “the generating comprises generating a plurality of output media contents based at least in part on at least one of: a different selection criterion and a different output characteristic, the plurality of output media contents differing in at least one of: a media content item, a media content portion, a media type, an ordering, a duration, a format, and another output characteristic”, which further elaborates on the abstract idea, since analyzing of information is a mental process, and therefore, does not meaningfully limits the claim.
Claim 6 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 6 recites the same abstract idea of claim 1. The claim recites the additional limitation of “at least one of the received data and the analysis result is filtered, parsed, identified, or otherwise processed according to at least one predetermined rule, and wherein at least one of the identifying, determining, selecting, and generating is based at least in part on the at least one predetermined rule”, which further elaborates on the abstract idea, since analyzing of information is a mental process, and therefore, does not meaningfully limits the claim.
Claim 7 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 7 recites the same abstract idea of claim 1. The claim recites the additional limitation of “the graphical user interface presents at least one of: at least one candidate media content and at least a part of the at least one candidate media content identified based at least in part on at least one of the selection criterion, the received data, the analysis result, and information associated with the event, and wherein the graphical user interface receives a user selection identifying at least one of the candidate media content and the part of the candidate media content for inclusion in the output media content”, which further elaborates on the abstract idea, since analyzing of information is a mental process, and therefore, does not meaningfully limits the claim.
Claim 8 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 recites the same abstract idea of claim 1. The claim recites the additional limitation of “the selecting comprises receiving, through the graphical user interface, a user selection identifying at least one of the at least one segment and a part of the at least one segment for inclusion in the output media content”, which further elaborates on the abstract idea, since analyzing of information is a mental process, and therefore, does not meaningfully limits the claim.
Claim 9 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 9 recites the same abstract idea of claim 1. The claim recites the additional limitation of “the selecting comprises automatically selecting the at least one selected segment based at least in part on at least one of: the at least one selection criterion, at least some data of or derived from the received data, at least some metadata of or derived from the received data, at least some data of or derived from the at least one input media content, at least some metadata of or derived from the at least one input media content, a scored segment, an event segment, a discrete action, a name, a participant, a location, a brand, a sponsor, a logo, an event type, an action type, a number, a statistic, an event status, a date, a time, a time period, an outcome, a rank, an indication of interest, a category, a keyword, a sound level, a noise level, a relevance score, a confidence level score, an object, a metadata object, and a physical characteristic”, which is equivalent to merely saying “apply it”, and amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 10 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 10 recites the same abstract idea of claim 1. The claim recites the additional limitation of “the selecting comprises selecting another segment or a part of another segment of the at least one input media content different from the at least one segment or a part of the at least one segment”, which further elaborates on the abstract idea, since analyzing of information is a mental process, and therefore, does not meaningfully limits the claim.
Claim 11 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 recites the same abstract idea of claim 1. The claim recites the additional limitation of “the selecting comprises selecting a plurality of selected segments, and wherein the generating comprises combining the plurality of selected segments into the output media content”, which further elaborates on the abstract idea, since analyzing of information is a mental process, and therefore, does not meaningfully limits the claim.
Claim 12 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 12 recites the same abstract idea of claim 1. The claim recites the additional limitation of “the selecting comprises selecting a plurality of segments or parts of segments from a plurality of input media contents for inclusion in the output media content”, which further elaborates on the abstract idea, since analyzing of information is a mental process, and therefore, does not meaningfully limits the claim.
Claim 13 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 13 recites the same abstract idea of claim 1. The claim recites the additional limitation of “the at least one output characteristic comprises at least one of: a duration, a number of media segments or parts, an ordering of media segments or parts, a media type, an aspect ratio, a width, a height, a filter, an effect, a graphic, a logo, an icon, a name, a brand, and an audio characteristic”, which further elaborates on the abstract idea, since analyzing of information is a mental process, and therefore, does not meaningfully limits the claim.
Claim 14 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 14 recites the same abstract idea of claim 1. The claim recites the additional limitation of “the generating comprises including in the output media content at least one of: at least some information associated with the event, at least some data of or derived from the received data, at least some metadata of or derived from the received data, at least some data of or derived from the at least one input media content, and at least some metadata of or derived from the at least one input media content”, which further elaborates on the abstract idea, since analyzing of information is a mental process, and therefore, does not meaningfully limits the claim.
Claim 15 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 recites the same abstract idea of claim 1. The claim recites the additional limitation of “the generating comprises applying at least one of: a filter, an effect, a graphic overlay, an audio modification, and another modification to the output media content”, which further elaborates on the abstract idea, since analyzing of information is a mental process, and therefore, does not meaningfully limits the claim.
Claim 16 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 16 recites the same abstract idea of claim 1. The claim recites the additional limitation of “the output media content comprises at least two different types of media content selected from video, an image, a photograph, audio, text, a social media post, a graphic, or other media content”, which further elaborates on the abstract idea, since analyzing of information is a mental process, and therefore, does not meaningfully limits the claim.
Claim 17 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 17 recites the same abstract idea of claim 1. The claim recites the additional limitation of “tthe at least one selection criterion comprises at least one of: a player, a person, a team, a participant, a location, an event type, an action type, an event status, a score, a statistic, a category, a date, a time, a time period, a rank, a keyword, a name, a number, a brand, a sponsor, a logo, a sound level, a noise level, a magnitude of an aspect of the event, a measure of how interesting or important a segment is, a relevance score, a confidence level score, a subject matter, an object, a metadata object, a physical characteristic, an outcome, and another event-related characteristic”, which further elaborates on the abstract idea, since analyzing of information is a mental process, and therefore, does not meaningfully limits the claim.
Claim 18 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 18 recites the same abstract idea of claim 1. The claim recites the additional limitation of “the selecting further comprises identifying at least one of: at least one additional media content and at least a part of at least one additional media content associated with a different event from the event, and wherein the output media content comprises the at least one selected segment and at least one of: the at least one additional media content and the part of the at least one additional media content”, which further elaborates on the abstract idea, since analyzing of information is a mental process, and therefore, does not meaningfully limits the claim.
Claim 19 is dependent on claim 18 and includes all the limitations of claim 18. Therefore, claim 19 recites the same abstract idea of claim 18. The claim recites the additional limitation of “determining a relationship between the event and the different event, and identifying the at least one additional media content or the part of the at least one additional media content based at least in part on the relationship”, which further elaborates on the abstract idea, since analyzing of information is a mental process, and therefore, does not meaningfully limits the claim.
Claim 20 is dependent on claim 19 and includes all the limitations of claim 19. Therefore, claim 20 recites the same abstract idea of claim 19. The claim recites the additional limitation of “the relationship is determined based at least in part on at least one of: a common or related name, a number, a player, a person, a team, a participant, an action, an event type, a statistic, a subject matter, a topic, a keyword, a category, a location, a date, a time, a time period, a rank, and an outcome associated with the event and the different event”, which further elaborates on the abstract idea, since analyzing of information is a mental process, and therefore, does not meaningfully limits the claim.
Claim 21 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 21 recites the same abstract idea of claim 1. The claim recites the additional limitation of “the selecting further comprises identifying at least one of: at least one additional media content and at least a part of at least one additional media content associated with a different event from the event, and wherein the output media content comprises the at least one selected segment and at least one of: the at least one additional media content and the part of the at least one additional media content”, which further elaborates on the abstract idea, since analyzing of information is a mental process, and therefore, does not meaningfully limits the claim.
Therefore, claims 1 and 4 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more than the abstract idea.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 4 – 22 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1 of Application No. 17/190,503, now U.S. Patent 11,899,637. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f) or pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.78(b), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the co-pending application and is covered by the co-pending application since the co-pending application and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
Instant application 19/031,938
Co-pending Application 17/190,503
Now U.S. Patent 11,899,637
1. A method of generating output media content, the method comprising:
receiving at least one input media content;
receiving data related to but not included in or derived from the at least one input media content, wherein the received data includes at least one of: audio content, additional video content, textual content, statistical content, event data feed content, photo content, and social media content;
analyzing the at least one input media content and the received data to produce an analysis result, wherein producing the analysis result includes analyzing at least one of: at least some data and at least some metadata of or derived from the at least one input media content, and wherein producing the analysis result includes analyzing at least one of: at least some data and at least some metadata of or derived from the received data;
identifying, based on at least one of: the received data and the analysis result, at least one of: a scored segment, an event segment, and a discrete action in the at least one input media content;
determining, based on at least one of: the received data and the analysis result, a start time and an end time of at least one segment of the at least one input media content, the at least one segment of the at least one input media content including at least one of or part of one of the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action;
presenting, through a graphical user interface, the at least one segment of the at least one input media content, the at least one segment of the at least one input media content including at least one of or part of one of the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action, and information associated with an event;
receiving, through the graphical user interface, at least one user input specifying at least one of: at least one selection criterion for selecting media content and at least one output characteristic for generating the output media content;
selecting, based at least in part on the at least one user input, at least one selected segment comprising at least one of: the at least one segment and a part of the at least one segment, for inclusion in the output media content;
generating the output media content based at least in part on the at least one selected segment; and
providing the output media content for presentation to at least one user.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the received data and the analysis result comprises or identifies at least one of: a name, a player, a score, a number, a statistic, an event status, an outcome, a team, a participant, an action, an event type, a scored segment, an event segment, a discrete action, a date, a time, a location, a rank, a category, a keyword, a sound level, a noise level, background noise, a sound associated with an event, a sound at an event, a voice, voices, a sound from an announcer, a field of view, a focus, a focal point, a point of interest, a motion, a camera movement, a direction, an effect, an object, a metadata object, and a physical characteristic.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the generating comprises generating a plurality of output media contents based at least in part on at least one of: a different selection criterion and a different output characteristic, the plurality of output media contents differing in at least one of: a media content item, a media content portion, a media type, an ordering, a duration, a format, and another output characteristic.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the received data and the analysis result is filtered, parsed, identified, or otherwise processed according to at least one predetermined rule, and wherein at least one of the identifying, determining, selecting, and generating is based at least in part on the at least one predetermined rule.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the graphical user interface presents at least one of: at least one candidate media content and at least a part of the at least one candidate media content identified based at least in part on at least one of the selection criterion, the received data, the analysis result, and information associated with the event, and wherein the graphical user interface receives a user selection identifying at least one of the candidate media content and the part of the candidate media content for inclusion in the output media content.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the selecting comprises receiving, through the graphical user interface, a user selection identifying at least one of the at least one segment and a part of the at least one segment for inclusion in the output media content.
The method of claim 1, wherein the selecting comprises automatically selecting the at least one selected segment based at least in part on at least one of: the at least one selection criterion, at least some data of or derived from the received data, at least some metadata of or derived from the received data, at least some data of or derived from the at least one input media content, at least some metadata of or derived from the at least one input media content, a scored segment, an event segment, a discrete action, a name, a participant, a location, a brand, a sponsor, a logo, an event type, an action type, a number, a statistic, an event status, a date, a time, a time period, an outcome, a rank, an indication of interest, a category, a keyword, a sound level, a noise level, a relevance score, a confidence level score, an object, a metadata object, and a physical characteristic.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the selecting comprises selecting another segment or a part of another segment of the at least one input media content different from the at least one segment or a part of the at least one segment.
11. The method of claim 1, wherein the selecting comprises selecting a plurality of selected segments, and wherein the generating comprises combining the plurality of selected segments into the output media content.
12. The method of claim 1, wherein the selecting comprises selecting a plurality of segments or parts of segments from a plurality of input media contents for inclusion in the output media content.
13. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one output characteristic comprises at least one of: a duration, a number of media segments or parts, an ordering of media segments or parts, a media type, an aspect ratio, a width, a height, a filter, an effect, a graphic, a logo, an icon, a name, a brand, and an audio characteristic.
14. The method of claim 1, wherein the generating comprises including in the output media content at least one of: at least some information associated with the event, at least some data of or derived from the received data, at least some metadata of or derived from the received data, at least some data of or derived from the at least one input media content, and at least some metadata of or derived from the at least one input media content.
15. The method of claim 1, wherein the generating comprises applying at least one of: a filter, an effect, a graphic overlay, an audio modification, and another modification to the output media content.
16. The method of claim 1, wherein the output media content comprises at least two different types of media content selected from video, an image, a photograph, audio, text, a social media post, a graphic, or other media content.
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one selection criterion comprises at least one of: a player, a person, a team, a participant, a location, an event type, an action type, an event status, a score, a statistic, a category, a date, a time, a time period, a rank, a keyword, a name, a number, a brand, a sponsor, a logo, a sound level, a noise level, a magnitude of an aspect of the event, a measure of how interesting or important a segment is, a relevance score, a confidence level score, a subject matter, an object, a metadata object, a physical characteristic, an outcome, and another event-related characteristic.
18. The method of claim 1, wherein the selecting further comprises identifying at least one of: at least one additional media content and at least a part of at least one additional media content associated with a different event from the event, and wherein the output media content comprises the at least one selected segment and at least one of: the at least one additional media content and the part of the at least one additional media content.
19. The method of claim 18, further comprising determining a relationship between the event and the different event, and identifying the at least one additional media content or the part of the at least one additional media content based at least in part on the relationship.
20. The method of claim 19, wherein the relationship is determined based at least in part on at least one of: a common or related name, a number, a player, a person, a team, a participant, an action, an event type, a statistic, a subject matter, a topic, a keyword, a category, a location, a date, a time, a time period, a rank, and an outcome associated with the event and the different event.
21. The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, distributing, publishing, sharing, or otherwise providing the output media content to at least one destination.
22. A system for generating output media content, the system comprising: at least one processing device; and
at least one computer-readable storage device storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processing device, cause the system to:
receive at least one input media content;
receive data related to but not included in or derived from the at least one input media content, wherein the received data includes at least one of: audio content, video content, textual content, statistical content, event data feed content, photo content, and social media content;
analyze the at least one input media content and the received data to produce an analysis result, wherein producing the analysis result includes analyzing at least one of: at least some data and at least some metadata of or derived from the at least one input media content, and wherein producing the analysis result includes analyzing at least one of: at least some data and at least some metadata of or derived from the received data;
identify, based on at least one of: the received data and the analysis result, at least one of: a scored segment, an event segment, and a discrete action in the at least one input media content;
determine, based on at least one of: the received data and the analysis result, a start time and an end time of at least one segment of the at least one input media content, the at least one segment of the at least one input media content including at least one of or part of one of the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action;
present, through a graphical user interface, the at least one segment of the at least one input media content, the at least one segment of the at least one input media content including at least one of or part of one of the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action, and information associated with an event;
receive, through the graphical user interface, at least one user input specifying at least one of: at least one selection criterion for selecting media content and at least one output characteristic for generating the output media content;
select, based at least in part on the at least one user input, at least one selected segment comprising at least one of: the at least one segment and a part of the at least one segment, for inclusion in the output media content;
generate the output media content based at least in part on the at least one selected segment; and
provide the output media content for presentation to at least one user.
1. A method of generating output video content, the method comprising:
receiving at least one input video content;
receiving data related to but not included in or derived from the at least one input video content, wherein the received data includes at least one of: audio content, additional video content, textual content, statistical content, event data feed content, photo content, and social media content;
analyzing the at least one input video content and the received data to produce an analysis result, wherein producing the analysis result includes analyzing at least one of: at least some data and at least some metadata of or derived from the at least one input video content, and wherein producing the analysis result includes analyzing at least one of: at least some data and at least some metadata of or derived from the received data;
identifying, based on at least one of: the received data and the analysis result, at least one of: a scored segment, an event segment, and a discrete action in the at least one input video content;
determining, based on at least one of: the received data and the analysis result, a start time and an end time of at least one segment of the at least one input video content, the at least one segment of the at least one input video content including at least one of or part of one of the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action; and
generating at least one output video content by including the at least one segment of the at least one input video content in the at least one output video content.
42. The method of claim 41, wherein analyzing the at least one input video content includes identifying at least one of: an object, a field of view, a point of interest, a focus of a camera, a location, a direction, a motion, a movement, a pan, tilt and zoom of a camera, a widening and narrowing of a field of view of a camera, a change of source camera, a transition, a close up, face identification, a movement of a player or object, a number identifying a player or object, a team, a score of a game or sporting event, a status, a statistic, a situation, a type of formation of a player or team, a type of action, an outcome, a result, a special effect, background noise, sounds associated with an event, sounds at an event, noise level, voices, sounds from an announcer, a venue, an icon, a logo, a brand, a name, a keyword, and a hashtag.
43. The method of claim 41, wherein the at least one input video content includes a sporting event.
44. The method of claim 41, wherein the at least one input video content includes at least one additional content selected from: audio content and textual content and wherein analyzing the at least one input video content to produce an analysis result includes analyzing the at least one additional content.
45. The method of claim 41, wherein the received data includes at least one of: structured data and free text.
46. The method of claim 45, wherein the received data includes free text, and wherein the free text includes at least one of: closed captions and a transcript.
47. The method of claim 41, further comprising: associating, based on the analysis result and based on at least one criterion, the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action with a respective at least one rank; and including, in the at least one output video content, one or more segments of the at least one input video content based on at least some of the at least one ranks.
48. The method of claim 41, further comprising: identifying a plurality of the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action in the at least one input video content; and selecting to include, in the at least one output video content, one or more of the plurality of the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action such that the at least one output video content includes at least one of: a narrative and one or more highlights, wherein at least one of: the narrative and the one or more highlights is related to at least one of: interests across a population of users, popularity, a trend, a date, a time, a location, an event venue, a direction, a type of event, a type of sporting event, a sports federation, a sports league, a sports conference, a sports division, a sports season, a sports competition or game, a chronological aspect, a progress of a sports event, a situation, a type of action, an outcome, a result, a score, a status, a team, a player, a person, a player position, a type of sports play, a type of a formation of a player or team, a type of statistic, a statistic, a type of media, a card content, an object, an icon, a logo, a brand, a name, a keyword, and a hashtag.
49. The method of claim 41, further comprising: time synchronizing the received data with the at least one input video content to produce synchronized data that is not included in the at least one input video content; and identifying at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action based on the synchronized data that is not included in the at least one input video content.
50. The method of claim 41, further comprising: determining a time indication based on the received data; and using a time indication to determine at least one of: a start time and an end time of the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action.
51. The method of claim 41, further comprising: determining a time indication based on the received data; and determining the start time and end time of the segment of the at least one input video content, the segment including the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action, such that the segment of the at least one input video content includes a time indicated in the time indication.
52. The method of claim 41, further comprising: selecting to include, in the at least one output video content, one or more the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action based on at least one of: a desired length of the at least one output video content, a target audience of the at least one output video content, a width and height of the at least one output video content, and a determined category of the at least one input video content.
53. The method of claim 41, further comprising: generating metadata related to the at least one input video content; and including, in the at least one output video content, one or more segments of the at least one input video content based on at least some of the metadata.
54. The method of claim 41, further comprising: associating the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action with a rank based on input from users.
55. The method of claim 41, further comprising: receiving a second input video content; synchronizing the second input video content with the at least one input video content; and including, in the at least one output video content, at least one segment of the at least one input video content and at least one segment of the second input video content.
56. The method of claim 41, further comprising: generating a user interface display displaying at least one of the at least one output video content and one or more special effects controls, wherein the one or more special effects controls are selectable to apply a special effect to the at least one output video content to modify an appearance of the at least one of the at least one output video content.
57. The method of claim 56, wherein the one or more special effects controls include options to apply or modify at least one of: color, contrast, brightness, focus, a special effect, a graphical element, and a graphic icon of the at least one of the at least one output video content.
58. The method of claim 41, further comprising: selecting to include, in the at least one of the at least one output video content, one or more of the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action of the at least one input video content based on a narrative.
59. The method of claim 41, wherein the received data includes textual content provided by users in a network.
60. The method of claim 41, further comprising: modifying a metadata object according to input from at least one user.
61. The method of claim 41, further comprising: copying a metadata object, the metadata object associated with the at least one input video content to produce a copied metadata object; and associating the copied metadata object with a different video content.
62. The method of claim 41, further comprising: modifying a rank based on a sequence of the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action.
63. The method of claim 41, further comprising: generating, and publishing, in real-time or near real-time, the at least one output video content based on input from at least one user.
64. A method of generating output video content, the method comprising:
receiving at least one input video content;
analyzing the at least one input video content to produce an analysis result; generating, based on the analysis result produced by analyzing the at least one input video content, a plurality of metadata objects, wherein each of the metadata objects includes at least one data element selected from the group consisting of: a start time of a segment of the at least one video input content, an end time of a segment of the at least one video input content, a scored segment, an event segment, a discrete action, a start time of a scored segment, an end time of a scored segment, a start time of an event segment, an end time of an event segment, a start time of a discrete action, an end time of a discrete action, a duration of a scored segment, a duration of a segment of the at least one video input content, a duration of a scored segment, a duration of an event segment, a duration of a discrete action, a description of a scored segment, a description of an event segment, a description of a discrete action, a type of scored segment, a type of event segment, a type of discrete action, a type of action, an identification of a team, an identification of a person, a number identifying a player or object, a pointer to a metadata object, a category, a rank set by a server according to the analysis result, a rank set by a server according to metadata objects, a rank set by a server according to input from a plurality of users, a rank set according to social chatter, a background noise, a sound associated with an event, a sound at an event, a noise level, a voice, a sound from an announcer, a location, an icon, a logo, a brand, a name, a keyword, a hashtag, an identification of a special effect, and an identification of a video effect; storing at least one metadata objects in a database; associating the at least one of the metadata objects with respective at least one segment of the at least one input video content; and selecting the at least one segment of the at least one input video content to include in at least one output video content based on at least one of the metadata objects.
Claims 1 and 4 – 22 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of co-pending application 17/190,503, now U.S. Patent 11,899,637. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of corresponding language that recites virtually all of the same elements and functions claimed in the claim 1 of instant application and claim 1 of the copending invention, e.g., “determining, based on at least one of: the received data and the analysis result, a start time and an end time of at least one segment of the at least one input video content, the at least one segment of the at least one input video content including at least one of or part of one of the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action; and generating at least one output video content by including the at least one segment of the at least one input video content in the at least one output video content.”
The claimed differences would be obvious to a programmer of ordinary skill because the instant claims are merely broader and/or alternate variations of the claims recited in the co-pending application.
Because the instant claims merely add/modify the additional elements from the set of elements and functions claimed in the parent application, such modifications would be readily apparent to a programmer of ordinary skill.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to omit/add/modify the additional elements of claim 1 to arrive at the claim 1 of the instant application because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before.
It would have been obvious to modify instant claims in order to enable generating the intelligent media content for contextual search, discovery, and advertising in an effective manner. The method allows a media management system to manage media that is related to specific events in an efficient manner.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPGPUB 2008/0282287 issued to Ming-Jun CHEN et al. (hereinafter “Chen”) and in view of USPGPUB 2009/0157680 issued to Brett Crossley et al. (“Crossley”).
With respect to claims 1 and 22, Chen teaches a method of generating output media content (Para [0020]: a method of processing a sports video . . . utilized for summarizing a video of a sports competition to generate a corresponding summarized video version. The sports competition is explained in terms of a baseball game, however, this is not meant to be the limitation of the present invention), the method comprising:
receiving at least one input media content (Para [0021]: receive the baseball video);
receiving data related to but not included in or derived from the at least one input media content, wherein the received data includes at least one of: audio content, video content, textual content, statistical content, photo content, and social media content (Para [0021] and [0027]: receive the baseball video; and an apparatus for processing the sports video according to an embodiment of the present invention. For brevity, the apparatus is utilized for processing the above-mentioned baseball video, and utilizes the aforementioned method shown in FIG. 1 to summarize the baseball video to thereby generate the summarized video version. The analyzing block comprises a first detecting block 201a, a second detecting block 201b, a first processing block 201c, and a second processing block 201d. The first detecting block 201a detects a scoreboard region of the baseball game video. The second detecting block 201b coupled to the first detecting block 201a for identifying at least one text content in the score board region. The first processing block 201c coupled to the second detecting block 201b for generating at least one semantic event according to the text content in the score board region);
analyzing the at least one input video content and the received data to produce an analysis result, wherein producing the analysis result includes analyzing at least one of: at least some data and at least some metadata of or derived from the at least one input video content, and wherein producing the analysis result includes analyzing at least one of: at least some data and at least some metadata of or derived from the received data (Para [0022]: analyze(ing) the baseball video to detect at least a semantic event of the baseball video, wherein the semantic event corresponds to an exciting scene of the baseball video. The segment length of each semantic event varies according to a context analysis result showing the relative importance of each semantic event comparing to its prior and subsequent events throughout the sports video (see page 4, claim 6);
identifying, based on at least one of: the received data and the analysis result, at least one of: a scored segment, an event segment, and a discrete action in the at least one input media content (Para 28: the first detecting block of the analyzing block first finds out the score board region (also known as a score box or box score) of the baseball video, in which the score board region is usually in a static region of the baseball video. Then, the second detecting block of the analyzing block identifies the text contents in the score board, in which the text contents can be the outs, scores, and innings of the baseball game. As known by baseball fans, all of the events that occurred within the baseball game and occurring times can be found according to the variation between the outs, scores, and innings. Furthermore, the semantic event that corresponds to the event can also be determined according to the variation between the outs, scores, and innings around the corresponding occurring time);
presenting, through a graphical user interface, the at least one segment of the at least one input media content, the at least one segment of the at least one input media content including at least one of or part of one of the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action, and information associated with an event (Chen, Para 0027]: In step 102, when the analyzing block 201 receives the baseball video, the first processing block 201c of the analyzing block 201 analyzes the baseball video to detect at least a semantic event of the baseball video, wherein the semantic event corresponds to an exciting scene of the baseball video. As known by baseball fans, there are a lot of exciting scenes that might occur during a baseball game, such as a home run hit, a double play, a triple, catching a pop fly, etc. and Para [0028]: the first detecting block 201a of the analyzing block 201 first finds out the score board region (also known as a score box or box score) of the baseball video, in which the score board region is usually in a static region of the baseball video);
receiving, through the graphical user interface, at least one user input specifying at least one of: at least one selection criterion for selecting media content and at least one output characteristic for generating the output media content (Chen, Para [0028]: the second detecting block of the analyzing block identifies the text contents in the score board, in which the text contents can be the outs, scores, and innings of the baseball game. As known by baseball fans, all of the events that occurred within the baseball game and occurring times can be found according to the variation between the outs, scores, and innings. Furthermore, the semantic event that corresponds to the event can also be determined according to the variation between the outs, scores, and innings around the corresponding occurring time). Please note that, the second processing block of the present invention is not limited to only analyzing the variation between the outs, scores, and innings for detecting the events. The second processing block also can analyze the audio data of the baseball video to determine the time when the voice of the sports broadcaster or commentator is increased to a higher pitch to detect an excitement level of the events. Furthermore, in other embodiment of the present invention, the second processing block analyzes a specific term by a sports broadcaster or commentator in the sports video);
selecting, based at least in part on the at least one user input, at least one selected segment comprising at least one of: the at least one segment and a part of the at least one segment, for inclusion in the output media content (Chen, Para [0027 – 0028]: when the analyzing block 201 receives the baseball video, the first processing block 201c of the analyzing block 201 analyzes the baseball video to detect at least a semantic event of the baseball video, wherein the semantic event corresponds to an exciting scene of the baseball video. As known by baseball fans, there are a lot of exciting scenes that might occur during a baseball game, such as a home run hit, a double play, a triple, catching a pop fly, etc.; and he first detecting block 201a of the analyzing block 201 first finds out the score board region (also known as a score box or box score) of the baseball video, in which the score board region is usually in a static region of the baseball video);
generating the output media content based at least in part on the at least one selected segments; and providing the output media content for presentation to at least one user (Chen, Para [0032]: summarize the sports video based on the scene segments extracted by the preceding third processing block 203 to generate the summarized video. The summarized video contains the events of all of the semantic events in the baseball game).
Chen discloses claimed invention substantially as claimed, however, Chen does not explicitly disclose determining, based on at least one of: the received data and the analysis result, a start time and an end time of at least one segment of the at least one input video content, the at least one segment of the at least one input video content including at least one of or part of one of the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action.
Crossley discloses determining, based on at least one of: the received data and the analysis result, a start time and an end time of at least one segment of the at least one input video content, the at least one segment of the at least one input video content including at least one of or part of one of the at least one of: the scored segment, the event segment, and the discrete action (Crossley, Para [0011]: a length of time was discussed and Para [0051]: content tags that are generated based on specific event title . . . content tags of the metadata may be a type of sport for the event captured in the digital media file . . . a length of time of the digital media file. Para [0049]: the date information and/or the time information to determine a specific sporting event captured by the media capturing device, here, Crossley discusses start and end time of a sporting event, which Crossley discloses data or time of data).
Both of Chen and Crossley are same field of endeavor and they are both in the data processing art/computer related art and therefore, they are combinable/modifiable.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teachings of Chen's network event viewing with the teachings of Crossley's metadata creating method for media file in order to enable creation of accurate metadata for the media file while maintaining consistency in metadata keywords.
As to claim 4, wherein at least one of the received data and the analysis result comprises or identifies at least one of: a name, a player, a score, a number, a statistic, an event status, an outcome, a team, a participant, an action, an event type, a scored segment, an event segment, a discrete action, a date, a time, a location, a rank, a category, a keyword, a sound level, a noise level, background noise, a sound associated with an event, a sound at an event, a voice, voices, a sound from an announcer, a field of view, a focus, a focal point, a point of interest, a motion, a camera movement, a direction, an effect, an object, a metadata object, and a physical characteristic (Chen, Para [0028]: the first detecting block 201a of the analyzing block 201 first finds out the score board region (also known as a score box or box score) of the baseball video, in which the score board region is usually in a static region of the baseball video. Then, the second detecting block 201b of the analyzing block 201 identifies the text contents in the score board, in which the text contents can be the outs, scores, and innings of the baseball game. As known by baseball fans, all of the events that occurred within the baseball game and occurring times can be found according to the variation between the outs, scores, and innings. Furthermore, the semantic event that corresponds to the event can also be determined according to the variation between the outs, scores, and innings around the corresponding occurring time (step 106). Please note that, the second processing block 201d of the present invention is not limited to only analyzing the variation between the outs, scores, and innings for detecting the events. In other embodiments of the present invention, the second processing block 201d also can analyze the audio data of the baseball video to determine the time when the voice of the sports broadcaster or commentator is increased to a higher pitch to detect an excitement level of the events. Furthermore, in other embodiment of the present invention, the second processing block 201d analyzes a specific term by a sports broadcaster or commentator in the sports video).
As to claim 5, generating a plurality of output media contents based at least in part on at least one of: a different selection criterion and a different output characteristic, the plurality of output media contents differing in at least one of: a media content item, a media content portion, a media type, an ordering, a duration, a format, and another output characteristic (Chen, Para 0027]: In step 102, when the analyzing block 201 receives the baseball video, the first processing block 201c of the analyzing block 201 analyzes the baseball video to detect at least a semantic event of the baseball video, wherein the semantic event corresponds to an exciting scene of the baseball video. As known by baseball fans, there are a lot of exciting scenes that might occur during a baseball game, such as a home run hit, a double play, a triple, catching a pop fly, etc. and Para [0028]: the first detecting block 201a of the analyzing block 201 first finds out the score board region (also known as a score box or box score) of the baseball video, in which the score board region is usually in a static region of the baseball video).
As to claim 6, wherein at least one of the received data and the analysis result is filtered, parsed, identified, or otherwise processed according to at least one predetermined rule, and wherein at least one of the identifying, determining, selecting, and generating is based at least in part on the at least one predetermined rule (Chen, Para [0005]: directly detect events that are important for the baseball game video according to a predetermined definition of an event. The event may represent an exciting event during the baseball game. For example, the event may be a one-base hit, two-base hit, three-base hit, home run hit, base on ball, fielding, and go ahead run, etc, during the base ball game. In prior art, only a predetermined time interval will be assigned to each of the video segment that corresponds to the event categorization, which are the one-base hit, two-base hit, three-base hit, home run hit, base on ball, fielding, and go ahead run. Claim 6, the segment length of each semantic event varies according to a context analysis result showing the relative importance of each semantic event comparing to its prior and subsequent events throughout the sports video).
As to claim 7, the graphical user interface presents at least one of: at least one candidate media content and at least a part of the at least one candidate media content identified based at least in part on at least one of the selection criterion, the received data, the analysis result, and information associated with the event, and wherein the graphical user interface receives a user selection identifying at least one of the candidate media content and the part of the candidate media content for inclusion in the output media content (Crossley: Para [0051]: The metadata may have second content tags that are generated based on the specific event title as shown at step 105 of FIG. 2. The second content tags may be provided by the database. The second content tags of the metadata may be, for example, a creator, a publisher or a copyright owner of the digital media file, a genre associated with the digital media file, a type of sport for the event captured in the digital media file, a type of music recorded in the digital media file, a musical artist or band associated with the digital media file, a length of time of the digital media file, a website link, a review of the digital media file, a source of the digital media file and/or the like).
As to claim 8, the selecting comprises receiving, through the graphical user interface, a user selection identifying at least one of the at least one segment and a part of the at least one segment for inclusion in the output media content (Crossley: Para [0051]: The metadata may have second content tags that are generated based on the specific event title as shown at step 105 of FIG. 2. The second content tags may be provided by the database. The second content tags of the metadata may be, for example, a creator, a publisher or a copyright owner of the digital media file, a genre associated with the digital media file, a type of sport for the event captured in the digital media file, a type of music recorded in the digital media file, a musical artist or band associated with the digital media file, a length of time of the digital media file, a website link, a review of the digital media file, a source of the digital media file and/or the like).
As to claim 9, the selecting comprises automatically selecting the at least one selected segment based at least in part on at least one of: the at least one selection criterion, at least some data of or derived from the received data, at least some metadata of or derived from the received data, at least some data of or derived from the at least one input media content, at least some metadata of or derived from the at least one input media content, a scored segment, an event segment, a discrete action, a name, a participant, a location, a brand, a sponsor, a logo, an event type, an action type, a number, a statistic, an event status, a date, a time, a time period, an outcome, a rank, an indication of interest, a category, a keyword, a sound level, a noise level, a relevance score, a confidence level score, an object, a metadata object, and a physical characteristic (Chen, Para [0027 – 0028]: when the analyzing block 201 receives the baseball video, the first processing block 201c of the analyzing block 201 analyzes the baseball video to detect at least a semantic event of the baseball video, wherein the semantic event corresponds to an exciting scene of the baseball video. As known by baseball fans, there are a lot of exciting scenes that might occur during a baseball game, such as a home run hit, a double play, a triple, catching a pop fly, etc.; and he first detecting block 201a of the analyzing block 201 first finds out the score board region (also known as a score box or box score) of the baseball video, in which the score board region is usually in a static region of the baseball video).
As to claim 10, the selecting comprises selecting another segment or a part of another segment of the at least one input media content different from the at least one segment or a part of the at least one segment (Crossley: Para [0011]: a length of time was discussed and Para [0051]: content tags that are generated based on specific event title . . . content tags of the metadata may be a type of sport for the event captured in the digital media file . . . a length of time of the digital media file).
As to claims 11 and 12, the selecting comprises selecting a plurality of selected segments, and wherein the generating comprises combining the plurality of selected segments into the output media content; and a plurality of segments or parts of segments from a plurality of input media contents for inclusion in the output media content (Crossley: Para [0008]: an event database connectable to a terminal may use a location, a date and/or a time of creation of the media files to associate specific events with the media files. . . . the system and method may organize and/or may provide searching for media files. A web page may be generated for an event that accumulates the media files related to the event. Such a web page may include the media files related to the event that are created by a specific user and/or the media files related to the event that are created by multiple users. Para [0011]: a length of time was discussed and Para [0051]: content tags that are generated based on specific event title . . . content tags of the metadata may be a type of sport for the event captured in the digital media file . . . a length of time of the digital media file).
As to claim 13. wherein the at least one output characteristic comprises at least one of: a duration, a number of media segments or parts, an ordering of media segments or parts, a media type, an aspect ratio, a width, a height, a filter, an effect, a graphic, a logo, an icon, a name, a brand, and an audio characteristic (Chen, Para 0027]: In step 102, when the analyzing block 201 receives the baseball video, the first processing block 201c of the analyzing block 201 analyzes the baseball video to detect at least a semantic event of the baseball video, wherein the semantic event corresponds to an exciting scene of the baseball video. As known by baseball fans, there are a lot of exciting scenes that might occur during a baseball game, such as a home run hit, a double play, a triple, catching a pop fly, etc. and Para [0028]: the first detecting block 201a of the analyzing block 201 first finds out the score board region (also known as a score box or box score) of the baseball video, in which the score board region is usually in a static region of the baseball video)).
As to claim 14, generating comprises including in the output media content at least one of: at least some information associated with the event, at least some data of or derived from the received data, at least some metadata of or derived from the received data, at least some data of or derived from the at least one input media content, and at least some metadata of or derived from the at least one input media content (Crossley: Para [0051]: The metadata may have second content tags that are generated based on the specific event title as shown at step 105 of FIG. 2. The second content tags may be provided by the database. The second content tags of the metadata may be, for example, a creator, a publisher or a copyright owner of the digital media file, a genre associated with the digital media file, a type of sport for the event captured in the digital media file, a type of music recorded in the digital media file, a musical artist or band associated with the digital media file, a length of time of the digital media file, a website link, a review of the digital media file, a source of the digital media file and/or the like).
As to claim 15, the generating comprises applying at least one of: a filter, an effect, a graphic overlay, an audio modification, and another modification to the output media content (Crossley: Para [0051]: the metadata may have second content tags that are generated based on the specific event title as shown at step 105 of FIG. 2. The second content tags may be provided by the database. The second content tags of the metadata may be, for example, a creator, a publisher or a copyright owner of the digital media file, a genre associated with the digital media file, a type of sport for the event captured in the digital media file, a type of music recorded in the digital media file, a musical artist or band associated with the digital media file, a length of time of the digital media file, a website link, a review of the digital media file, a source of the digital media file and/or the like).
As to claim 16, the output media content comprises at least two different types of media content selected from video, an image, a photograph, audio, text, a social media post, a graphic, or other media content (Crossley, Para [0049]: The database may identify a specific event based on the location information, the date information and/or the time information as shown at step 103 of FIG. 2. A specific event title may be associated with the digital media file based on the specific event identified. The metadata may incorporate the specific event title. For example, the database may use the location information, the date information and/or the time information to determine a specific sporting event captured by the media capturing device).
As to claim 17, the at least one selection criterion comprises at least one of: a player, a person, a team, a participant, a location, an event type, an action type, an event status, a score, a statistic, a category, a date, a time, a time period, a rank, a keyword, a name, a number, a brand, a sponsor, a logo, a sound level, a noise level, a magnitude of an aspect of the event, a measure of how interesting or important a segment is, a relevance score, a confidence level score, a subject matter, an object, a metadata object, a physical characteristic, an outcome, and another event-related characteristic (Chen, Para [0028]: the first detecting block 201a of the analyzing block 201 first finds out the score board region (also known as a score box or box score) of the baseball video, in which the score board region is usually in a static region of the baseball video. Then, the second detecting block 201b of the analyzing block 201 identifies the text contents in the score board, in which the text contents can be the outs, scores, and innings of the baseball game. As known by baseball fans, all of the events that occurred within the baseball game and occurring times can be found according to the variation between the outs, scores, and innings. Furthermore, the semantic event that corresponds to the event can also be determined according to the variation between the outs, scores, and innings around the corresponding occurring time (step 106). Please note that, the second processing block 201d of the present invention is not limited to only analyzing the variation between the outs, scores, and innings for detecting the events. In other embodiments of the present invention, the second processing block 201d also can analyze the audio data of the baseball video to determine the time when the voice of the sports broadcaster or commentator is increased to a higher pitch to detect an excitement level of the events. Furthermore, in other embodiment of the present invention, the second processing block 201d analyzes a specific term by a sports broadcaster or commentator in the sports video).
As to claim 18, the selecting further comprises identifying at least one of: at least one additional media content and at least a part of at least one additional media content associated with a different event from the event, and wherein the output media content comprises the at least one selected segment and at least one of: the at least one additional media content and the part of the at least one additional media content (Chen, Para [0027]: when the analyzing block 201 receives the baseball video, the first processing block 201c of the analyzing block 201 analyzes the baseball video to detect at least a semantic event of the baseball video, wherein the semantic event corresponds to an exciting scene of the baseball video. As known by baseball fans, there are a lot of exciting scenes that might occur during a baseball game, such as a home run hit, a double play, a triple, catching a pop fly, etc.).
As to claim 19. determining a relationship between the event and the different events and identifying the at least one additional media content or the part of the at least one additional media content based at least in part on the relationship (Crossley, Para [0048]: Metadata may be associated with the digital media file created by the media capturing device. The metadata may be information, a communication and/or data relating to, based on and/or associated with the media files. The metadata may be formatted in a standard data format, such as, for example, XML, RDF, RSS, MathML, XHTML, SVG, cXML and/or the like. The metadata may have a first content tag. The first content tag may have location information, time information and/or date information. The location information may be provided by a GPS receiver in the media capturing device. GPS satellites may be positioned in orbit around earth and may provide signals to the GPS receivers. The signals may provide coordinates of the GPS receiver. Therefore, the media capturing device may use the coordinates provided by the GPS receiver to create location metadata for the digital media file as shown at step 102 of FIG. 2).
As to claim 20, the relationship is determined based at least in part on at least one of: a common or related name, a number, a player, a person, a team, a participant, an action, an event type, a statistic, a subject matter, a topic, a keyword, a category, a location, a date, a time, a time period, a rank, and an outcome associated with the event and the different event (Chen, Para [0027]: when the analyzing block 201 receives the baseball video, the first processing block 201c of the analyzing block 201 analyzes the baseball video to detect at least a semantic event of the baseball video, wherein the semantic event corresponds to an exciting scene of the baseball video. As known by baseball fans, there are a lot of exciting scenes that might occur during a baseball game, such as a home run hit, a double play, a triple, catching a pop fly, etc.).
As to claim 21, comprising transmitting, distributing, publishing, sharing, or otherwise providing the output media content to at least one destination (Crossley, Para [0012]: the step of transmitting the first media file to a second location wherein the second location is remote relative to the first location and further wherein the first media file is transmitted in response to selection of the first media file from the content list).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patwardhan (USPGPUB 2011/0099195), involves identifying logical events, and segmenting videos into video segments based on predefined criteria. The quantitative and qualitative meta data for video segments is generated and stored along with video segments. A query with keywords is received from a user, and is analyzed to extract meta data for searching relevant video segments. The relevant video segments are obtained based on generated meta data from keywords of query, and are presented as result set.
Logan (USPGPUB 2012/0087637), involves storing a sports event as a video program in a storage device e.g. personal video recorder (PVR). A set of video segments is defined from the video program. The video program is played in a display area. Another display area is established as a video segment display area. An interactive video is presented to a user based on the event to which video segment metadata provides contextual links to the event in response to activation of time-shifted mode, where the interactive video is displayed in the video segment display area. Response of the video is accepted from the user.
Examiner Notes
The examiner has considered the applicant's claims in light of the disclosure. However, the examiner respectfully reminds the applicant that during prosecution before the USPTO, claims are to be given their broadest reasonable interpretation, and the scope of a claim cannot be narrowed by reading disclosed limitations into the claim. See In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The Office must apply the broadest reasonable meaning to the claim language, taking into account any definitions presented in the specification. In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (citing In re Bass, 314 F.3d 575,577(Fed. Cir. 2002)); “[i]t is the claims that measure the invention.” SRIInt’l v. Matsushita Elec. Corp. of Am., 775 F.2d 1107, 1121 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (enbanc). Written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment. SuperGuide Corp. v. DirecTV Enters, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (citing Electro Med. Sys. S.A. v. Cooper Life Sci., Inc., 34 F.3d 1048, 1054 (Fed. Cir. 1994))
Note that “limitations appearing in the specification will not be read into the claims, and … interpreting what is meant by a word in a claim is not to be confused with adding an extraneous limitation appearing in the specification, which is improper.” Intervet Am., v. Kee-Vet Labs., 887 F.2d 1050, 1053, 12 USPQ2d 1474 1476 (fed. Cir. 1989).
“The ordinary and customary meaning of a claim term is the meaning that the term would have to a person of ordinary skill in the art in question at the time of the invention, i.e., as of the effective filing date of the patent application.” Phillips v. AWH Corp,. 415 F.3d 1303, 1313, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1326 (fed. Cir. 2005).
“One purpose for examining the specification is to determine if the patentee has limited the scope of the claims.’… For example, an inventor may choose to be his own lexicographer is he defines the specific terms used to describe the invention’ with reasonable clarity, deliberateness, and precision.” Such a definition may appear in the written description, … or in the prosecution history, …” Teleflex, Inc. v. Ficosa N. Am Corp., 299 F.3d 1313, 1325, 63 USPQ2d 1374, 1381 (Fed. Cir. 2002).
Contact Information
October 15, 2026
/SHAHID A ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161