DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEAUDIN (US 20180226932 A1) in view of Xu (US 20180316382 A1).
Regarding claim 1, BEAUDIN teaches a low-loss radio frequency transceiving front-end module (front end module (FEM) 300; ¶¶ [0032], [0056], [0069], FIG. 3), comprising
at least one PA transmitting path (transmit signal path 309 traversing a transmit chain and including a PA stage comprising PA 308 and PA driver amplifier 310, together with impedance matching circuits 304a–304d, ¶¶ [0057], [0061], FIG. 3),
at least one LNA receiving path (receive signal path 311 traversing a receive chain and including an LNA stage comprising LNA 312, together with impedance matching circuits 304e and 304f, ¶¶ [0057], [0060], FIG. 3),
at least one bypass receiving path (first receive bypass path 315, which selectively couples a first intermediate point of receive signal path 311 to switch 302 so as to bypass LNA 312 during a receive bypass mode; ¶¶ [0059], [0065], [0068]), and/or
at least one bypass transmitting path (first transmit bypass path 313, which selectively couples a first intermediate point of transmit signal path 309 to switch 302 so as to bypass PA 308 during a transmit bypass mode; ¶¶ [0059], [0065], [0067]);
wherein the PA transmitting path or the LNA receiving path comprises at least one switch connected in parallel to a ground (the receive branch of switch 302 includes shunt field effect transistors connected between the signal path and ground; shunt FETs of first throw 302b, FIGS. 4A–4B; shunt transistor 317b, FIG. 4C; BEAUDIN teaches that shunt FETs are placed in parallel to improve their ability to handle a large current swing, ¶ [0082], and that a first shunt transistor is provided on the receive branch in place of a first series transistor, ¶ [0089]);
the PA transmitting path or the LNA receiving path is connected to the ANT port of the antenna through a radio frequency switch (TDD switch 302, a single pole triple throw switch, has a pole 302a coupled to antenna port 213, a first throw 302b selectively coupled to receive signal path 311, a second throw 302c selectively coupled to transmit signal path 309, and a third throw 302d selectively coupled to the bypass paths, ¶ [0059], FIGS. 3, 4A); and
when the PA transmitting path or the LNA receiving path directly connected to the ANT port of the antenna is in an operating state, the switch connected in parallel to the ground on the PA transmitting path or the LNA receiving path is open, or when the PA transmitting path or the LNA receiving path directly connected to the ANT port of the antenna is in a non-operating state, the switch connected in parallel to the ground on the PA transmitting path or the LNA receiving path is closed (BEAUDIN teaches that the branch that is active has its first transistor biased so that an RF signal can flow down that path, ¶ [0086]. When a branch is turned off, the first shunt transistor is biased high to create an RF ground on the signal path, and the resulting low impedance is rotated to a high impedance at antenna port 213, ¶ [0087]); when the power amplifier 308 is transmitting at high power, the bypass switch and the RX switch of the RX path are in an off state, ¶ [0084],¶ [0089]; when the RX switch is in the off state, the shunt transistor is conducting to ground, creating an RF short on transmission line 319b).
BEAUDIN is silent to teaching that wherein the PA transmitting paths or the LNA receiving path is directly connected to an ANT port of an antenna.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches a device wherein the PA transmitting paths or the LNA receiving path is directly connected to an ANT port of an antenna (¶¶ [0002], [0026], [0030], teaches connecting an amplifier path directly to the antenna, with no switching element interposed, while providing path isolation by means of a switch connected in parallel to ground on that same path; an output of the second PA 204 is coupled directly to antenna 212 at node N2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the front end module of BEAUDIN so that the receive signal path 311 is connected directly to antenna port 213, without the series throw of TDD switch 302, as taught by Xu, with isolation of that path in its non-operative states being provided by the shunt-to-ground transistor already present on that branch in BEAUDIN. A person of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success, both references disclosing front end module architectures employing FET/MOS switching devices at a common antenna node, with BEAUDIN expressly contemplating that any switching devices may be used so long as they can selectively couple different portions of the transmit and receive signal paths to achieve a bypass mode (¶ [0059]). The combination is the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007); MPEP § 2143(I)(C), (D).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of BEAUDIN and Xu teaches the low-loss radio frequency transceiving front-end module according to claim 1, wherein a connection manner between the bypass receiving path and the ANT port of the antenna is the same as that between the bypass receiving path and the LNA receiving path; and a connection manner between the bypass transmitting path and the ANT port of the antenna is the same as that between the bypass transmitting path and the PA transmitting path corresponding to the bypass transmitting path (In BEAUDIN, bypass multiplexing switch 316 is shared between first transmit bypass path 313 and first receive bypass path 315, its pole 316a being coupled to third throw 302d of switch 302; the pole is selectively coupled to first throw 316b (coupled to second throw 314c of first bypass switch 314 in the receive signal path) and second throw 316c (coupled to first throw 306b of second bypass switch 306 in the transmit signal path) (¶¶ [0065]–[0068], [0102], FIG. 3). Each bypass path thus reaches the antenna port by the same route as the main path from which it branches. BEAUDIN further teaches that the receive branch and the bypass branch employ the same impedance-inverter and shunt-transistor topology at the antenna port (¶¶ [0089]–[0090], FIG. 4C).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of BEAUDIN and Xu teaches the low-loss radio frequency transceiving front-end module according to claim 1, wherein when the PA transmitting path or the LNA receiving path connected to the ANT port of the antenna through the radio frequency switch is in an operating state, the radio frequency switch connects a connection path between the PA transmitting path or the LNA receiving path and the ANT port of the antenna, or when the PA transmitting path or the LNA receiving path connected to the ANT port of the antenna through the radio frequency switch is in a non-operating state, the radio frequency switch disconnects the connection path between the PA transmitting path or the LNA receiving path and the ANT port of the antenna (BEAUDIN teaches Switch 302 selectively couples the transmit signal path 309, the receive signal path 311, and the bypass path to antenna port 213 through throws 302c, 302b, and 302d respectively (¶ [0059]). The active branch has its first series transistor biased to an "on" position so that an RF signal can flow easily down that path (¶ [0086]); the branches that are turned off present a high impedance at the common antenna port (¶¶ [0086]–[0087]), and during high-power transmission the bypass switch and RX switch are in an off state (¶ [0084]); (Xu likewise teaches the recited switching behavior for the path connected through the RF switch: pass transistor M0 is turned on by an active high CS1 to connect the antenna to the path (¶ [0039]) and turned off by an active low CS1 to disconnect it (¶ [0040]); see also the state table at ¶ [0052]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of BEAUDIN and Xu teaches the low-loss radio frequency transceiving front-end module according to claim 1, wherein the PA transmitting path is composed of a power amplifier and a first output matching network connected in series, and the first output matching network is directly connected to the ANT port of the antenna or is connected to the ANT port of the antenna through the radio frequency switch, wherein the power amplifier is configured to implement power amplification of a transmitted signal, and the first output matching network is configured to implement impedance transformation (BEAUDIN teaches that the PA transmitting path is composed of a power amplifier and a first output matching network connected in series, the first output matching network being connected to the ANT port of the antenna through the radio frequency switch. Transmit signal path 309 includes PA 308 and impedance matching circuit 304a, with matching circuit 304a coupled to second throw 302c of switch 302 (¶¶ [0058], [0061], FIG. 3). PA 308 implements power amplification of the transmitted signal (¶ [0061]), and the matching circuit implements impedance transformation, the final matching network M2 transforming the impedance to the complex conjugate of the impedance looking into the PA input to achieve optimal power transfer (¶¶ [0132]–[0133], FIG. 10); and
on the PA transmitting path directly connected to the ANT port of the antenna, the switch connected in parallel to the ground is connected in parallel behind the power amplifier, or the first output matching network is divided into two parts, and the switch connected in parallel to the ground is connected in parallel between the two parts (Xu teaches a switch connected in parallel to the ground connected in parallel behind the power amplifier on the directly-connected transmit path: the drain of shunt transistor M2 is connected at node N1, the output of first PA 202 and input of second PA 204 (¶ [0037], FIG. 2); see also shunt device M5 at node N1 behind first PA 402, ¶ [0047], FIG. 4A).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of BEAUDIN and Xu teaches the low-loss radio frequency transceiving front-end module according to claim 4, wherein a 900 phase shift network is used as the first output matching network (BEAUDIN teaches that an impedance inverter — expressly identified as a quarter wave transmission line, a 90 degree phase shift, or a lumped element equivalent — is used to achieve a high impedance at the common antenna port for branches that are turned off, so that the turned-off branch does not affect impedance matching of the active path and signal isolation between the transmit and receive paths is improved (¶¶ [0085], [0087]–[0088], elements 319a, 319b, FIG. 4C). BEAUDIN teaches that this switch topology could also be used for the bypass path (¶ [0090]) and that the design tradeoff of using a transmission line of impedance greater than 50 ohms reduces loading on the common antenna port to favor performance in high power TX mode or low noise RX mode (¶ [0090])).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of BEAUDIN and Xu teaches the low-loss radio frequency transceiving front-end module according to claim 1, wherein the LNA receiving path is composed of a low noise amplifier and a first input matching network connected in series, and the first input matching network is directly connected to the ANT port of the antenna or is connected to the ANT port of the antenna through the radio frequency switch, wherein the low noise amplifier is configured to implement low noise amplification of a received signal, and the first input matching network is configured to implement impedance matching and noise matching; and on the LNA receiving path directly connected to the ANT port of the antenna, the switch connected in parallel to the ground is connected in parallel before the low noise amplifier, or the first input matching network is divided into two parts, and the switch connected in parallel to the ground is connected in parallel between the two parts (BEAUDIN teaches that the LNA receiving path is composed of a low noise amplifier and a first input matching network connected in series: receive signal path 311 includes LNA 312 together with impedance matching circuits 304e and 304f (¶¶ [0057], [0060], FIG. 3). LNA 312 implements low noise amplification of a received signal (¶ [0060]), and the matching circuits implement impedance matching, BEAUDIN teaching that the complex conjugate matching approach may be used between the TDD switch and the LNA input (¶¶ [0131], [0137]). In the combination, the first input matching network is directly connected to the ANT port per Xu ¶¶ [0034], [0040]. BEAUDIN further teaches that, on that path, the switch connected in parallel to the ground is connected in parallel before the low noise amplifier: the shunt transistors of the receive branch (V<sub>LNA</sub> shunt FETs of throw 302b, FIGS. 4A–4B; shunt transistor 317b, FIG. 4C, ¶ [0089]) are located between the antenna port and LNA 312. In the alternative limb, quarter wave transmission line 319b and impedance matching circuit 304e constitute two parts into which the input matching network is divided, with shunt transistor 317b connected in parallel between the two parts (¶ [0089], FIG. 4C). Xu likewise teaches a shunt switch connected in parallel before the low noise amplifier: shunt transistor M1 has its drain connected with the input of LNA 208 at node N3 and its source connected to ground (¶ [0035], FIG. 2); see also shunt devices M2, M3 at nodes N3, N4 preceding LNA 408 (¶ [0045], FIG. 4A).)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of BEAUDIN and Xu teaches the low-loss radio frequency transceiving front-end module according to claim 6, wherein a 900 phase shift network is used as the first input matching network (BEAUDIN teaches that the receive path uses a quarter wave transmission line impedance inverter, or lumped element equivalent, in conjunction with a first shunt transistor (317a, 317b) in place of a first series transistor; when the RX switch is in the off state the shunt transistor conducts to ground, creating an RF short on quarter wave transmission line 319b, which rotates the low impedance to a high impedance at the common antenna port (¶¶ [0087], [0089], FIG. 4C). BEAUDIN identifies the impedance inverter as a quarter wave transmission line, 90 degree phase shift, or lumped element equivalent (¶ [0087])).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of BEAUDIN and Xu teaches the low-loss radio frequency transceiving front-end module according to claim 1, wherein the bypass transmitting path is composed of a series switch and a second output matching network connected in series, wherein the series switch is configured to connect or disconnect the bypass transmitting path, and the second output matching network is configured to implement impedance transformation; and the series switch is closed when the bypass transmitting path is in an operating state, or the series switch is open when the bypass transmitting path is in a non- operating state (BEAUDIN teaches that the first transmit bypass path 313 includes second bypass switch 306, a single pole double throw switch coupled to transmit signal path 309 during the non-bypass mode and to first transmit bypass path 313 during the bypass mode, its first throw 306b being coupled to second throw 316c of bypass multiplexing switch 316 (¶¶ [0065]–[0067]). BEAUDIN further teaches matching network M3 provided on the bypass path to transform the impedance appearing at the output of the bypass switch to a desired impedance (¶¶ [0134]–[0135], FIG. 10); The series switch is closed when the bypass transmitting path is in an operating state and open when it is not: the pole 306a is selectively coupled to first throw 306b for coupling to the first transmit bypass path and to second throw 306c for coupling to the transmit signal path (¶ [0067]); see also ¶¶ [0066], [0093].)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of BEAUDIN and Xu teaches the low-loss radio frequency transceiving front-end module according to claim 1, wherein when the bypass transmitting path and/or the bypass transmitting path is in an operating state, each switch connected in parallel to the ground on the PA transmitting path and/or the LNA receiving path directly connected to the ANT port of the antenna is in a closed state (BEAUDIN teaches that when a branch of switch 302 is turned off, its first shunt transistor is biased high to create an RF ground on that signal path, the low impedance being rotated to a high impedance at antenna port 213 (¶ [0087]); the transistors of the non-operative paths are placed in the off state with the shunt devices conducting (¶¶ [0084], [0089]). In the bypass modes the main transmit and receive paths are the non-operative paths, since the bypass paths carry the signal to the antenna port through third throw 302d in place of the main paths (¶¶ [0065]–[0066], [0069]); (Xu teaches the shunt transistor connected to the amplifier input is turned on whenever that path is not the operative path, disabling the amplifier and blocking RF signals in both directions (¶¶ [0037], [0039], [0048]), as recited in the state table at ¶ [0052]. In the combined module, when either bypass path is operative the directly-connected LNA receiving path is in a non-operating state and its shunt switch is accordingly closed).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of BEAUDIN and Xu teaches an electronic device, comprising the low-loss radio frequency transceiving front-end module according to claim 1 (BEAUDIN discloses an electronic device comprising the front end module. Remote units 1220, 1230, and 1250 — shown respectively as a mobile telephone, a portable computer, and a fixed location remote unit in a wireless local loop system — include IC devices 1225A, 1225C, and 1225B that include the disclosed front end module, and other devices including base stations, switching devices, and network equipment may also include it (¶¶ [0140]–[0141], FIG. 12). See also wireless device 100 of FIG. 1 (¶ [0041]); (Xu likewise teaches that an integrated circuit incorporating the FEM may be employed in essentially any application or electronic system where high-frequency power semiconductor devices are employed, including portable electronics such as cell phones and tablet computers (¶¶ [0067], [0069]–[0070])).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEAUDIN and Xu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Prevost (US 20250030415 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of BEAUDIN and Xu teaches the low-loss radio frequency transceiving front-end module according to claim 1.
The combination of BEAUDIN and Xu is silent to teaching that wherein the bypass receiving path is composed of a series switch and a second input matching network connected in series, wherein the series switch is configured to connect or disconnect the bypass receiving path, and the second input matching network is configured to implement impedance matching and gain reduction; and the series switch is closed when the bypass receiving path is in an operating state, or the series switch is open when the bypass receiving path is in a non-operating state.
In the same field of endeavor, Prevost teaches a device wherein the bypass receiving path is composed of a series switch (bypass switch BP_S₁–BP_S_N "respectively coupled between a corresponding RF input port... and a switch output port" (cl. 1; ¶[0034]; FIG. 3). Higher-isolation alternative = T-type SwA/SwB series pair (¶[0045]–[0046]; FIG. 5) and a second input matching network connected in series ("it may be desirable to insert a fixed attenuation circuit in line with the bypass signal path" (¶[0066])),
wherein the series switch is configured to connect or disconnect the bypass receiving path (¶[0037]: all switches "controlled by external switching circuitry... to set either open states or closed states." ¶[0041] vs. ¶[0038]: BP_S₁ closed = bypass path connected; BP_S₁ open = bypass path disconnected), and the second input matching network is configured to implement impedance matching and gain reduction; and the series switch is closed when the bypass receiving path is in an operating state, or the series switch is open when the bypass receiving path is in a non-operating state (¶[0038]: in-circuit mode, "the bypass switch BP_S₁... are open"; ¶[0042]: for inactive ports, "bypass switches BP_S₂ to BP_S_N are open, thus isolating the RF input terminals"; ¶[0077(b)]: setting the bypass switch for each other port "to an open state").
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would be motivated to combine BEAUDIN and Xu with PREVOST to minimize NF during active amplifier operation, Prevost configures the switch topology such that the incoming RF signal traverses only a single series switch before reaching the matching network and LNA2. Beaudin seeks to optimize efficiency and dynamic range in multi-stage RF front ends. A POSITA would be motivated to apply Prevost’s single-series-switch input configuration to Beaudin’s LNA receive path to achieve a lower Noise Figure in active reception mode while retaining high isolation during bypass mode.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230136392 A1.
/WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648