DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
Claims 1-12 are pending in this office action.
Claims 1-12 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 depends on claim 1. Claim 2 recites “boneless chicken breast”. If we consider interpreting claim 2, the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of claim 2 can be interpreted as “flour substitute product can include chicken breast”. However, to be more specific, claim 2 should recite ‘in powder form’ or related phrase supported by the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
6. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yeong et al. (KR 100935107 B1) in view of Bonkowski et al. USPN 5164213 in view of Huang et al. USPN 5611263 and in view of NPL Meat Recipe (in The BBQ Brethern: From the Backyard to The American Royal, 2009) as evidenced by Walzade et al. US 20110123631.
7. Regarding claims 1-7, Yeong et al. discloses the chicken breast meat powder composition can be made (At least in Abstract).
Yeong et al. is silent about (i) flavor-masking spice as claimed in claim 1 and it is nutmeg as claimed in claim 3-5 and (ii) plant-based oil or oil-based spray as claimed in claim 1 and it is olive oil in the composition as claimed in claims 6-7.
With respect to (i), Bonkowski et al. discloses that boneless chicken meat is ground (Example 5, e.g., ground in a grinding plate and ingredients were mixed followed by second grinding with other ingredients (at least in Bonkowski et al., Example 5 and col 8 lines 55-67, col 10 lines 20-35, col 10 lines 60-67) to meet claims 1-2.
It is to be noted that salt/spice mixture is interpreted as “common salt” (i.e., sodium chloride) and/or with other spice(s) is used to season the ground meat.
Bonkowski et al. also discloses the steps of mixing the salt, flavoring ingredients, spices etc. to season the meat mixture and placing the seasoned meat mixture to a grinding machine to make ground meat mixture (col 8 lines 55-67, col 10 lines 20-35, col 10 lines 60-67, e.g., seasoning boneless fatless skinless breast chicken with seasoning and in lines 63-65, “after mixing, grinding plate, reground”) by mixing and grinding using grinder to meets claim 1.
It is to be noted that salt and Nutmeg are used in the seasoning mix as disclosed by Bonkowski et al. (col 8 lines 55-67) in order to have salty taste and also nutmeg serves as inherently a flavor masking spice to mask inherently unpleasant flavor as is evidenced by applicants own specification (in PGPUB [0010]) and also evidenced by Walzade et al. ([0032]). Therefore, it meets claims 3 and 4.
One of ordinary skills in art would have been motivated to modify ‘Yeong et al. et al. to include the teaching of Bonkowski et al. to season the ground meat with premixed seasoning mixture to season the ground meat and having salty taste and nutmeg provides as inherently flavor masking agent.
With respect to (ii), regarding the amended claim limitation of “plant-based oil or oil-based spray as claimed in claim 1, it is to be noted that examiner used two secondary prior arts -one secondary prior art by Huang et al., and (Additionally) another new secondary prior art by NPL Meat Recipe in Meat and discussed below. The examiner has used these three prior arts to strengthen the motivation to use small amount of vegetable oil in “the flour substitute composition.
Huang et al. discloses that vegetable oil can be used to spray coat meatballs to serve as lubricant (col 4 lines 56-60). Although Huang et al. discloses as spray, it is to be noted that the presence of less amount of oil provides benefits of its use of this composition having lubricant already present in this “flour substitute composition” as disclosed by Huang et al. (vegetable oil can be used to spray coat meatballs to serve as lubricant col 4 lines 37, 56). Therefore, it meets claims 1, 5-7.
One of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Yeong et al. et al.to include the teachings of Huang et al. the presence of less amount of oil which provides benefits of its use of this composition having lubricant already present in this “flour substitute composition” as disclosed by Huang et al. (vegetable oil can be used to spray coat meatballs in order to serve as lubricant as disclosed by Huang et al. (vegetable oil can be used to spray coat meatballs in order to serve as lubricant col 4 lines 37, 56).
(Additionally), NPL “Meat Recipe” discloses that olive oil is added to chicken meat (page 3, Recipe #8: #8 is mentioned at top right side), and it can be splash of olive oil in the sauce (at least in page 5, fourth paragraph, Recipe #19: #19 is mentioned at top right side) which sauce is used to marinade chicken breast (at least page 5, Recipe # 17: #17 is mentioned at top right side). Therefore, it meets claims 1, 5-7.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Yeong et al.to include the teachings of NPL “Meat Recipe” to incorporate vegetable oil (s) e.g. olive oil, sesame oil etc. which provides nutritional benefits of olive oils as well as benefits of its use of this composition having lubricant already present in this “flour substitute composition” as disclosed by Huang et al. (vegetable oil can be used to spray coat meatballs in order to serve as lubricant as disclosed by Huang et al. (vegetable oil can be used to spray coat meatballs in order to serve as lubricant col 4 lines 37, 56).
This is also optimizable.
As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of Vegetable/olive oil in Yeong et al. et al., to amounts, including that presently claimed, in order to obtain the desired effect e.g. desired polyunsaturated fatty acids which has cholesterol suppressing effect (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
It is to be noted that it is known and is evidenced by applicants specification (at least in PGPUB [0006], [0007], [0023], [0026]) that the flour substitute made from chicken breast powder and combining small oil are free of fiber , binding agent (as disclosed oil amount serves as lubricant as discussed above) and it does not include any other ingredients that contain a non-negligible amount of carbohydrates (i.e. essentially carbohydrate free in PGPUB [0007] e.g. “a non-negligible amount of carbohydrates” ) which can be defined as “essentially carbohydrate free”. Therefore, the phrase used by the applicants “preferably fiber-free” (in PGPUB [0007]) has support for fiber-free.
11. Regarding claim 2, Yeong et al. et al. discloses the chicken breast meat powder composition. Therefore, it includes boneless chicken also.
However, more specifically, Yeong et al. is silent about Boneless Chicken.
Bonkowski et al. discloses that white chicken meat derived from boneless breast part (Under Example 5, col 10, lines 58-60).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Yeong et al.to include the teachings of Bonkowski et al. in order to have desired choice of having white breast chicken meat derived from boneless breast part in order to have processed white boneless chicken breast meat (Under Example 5, col 10, lines 58-60).
12. Claims 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yeong et al. et al. KR 935107 B1 in view of Bonkowski et al. USPN 5164213 in view of Huang et al. USPN 5611263 and (Additionally) NPL Meat Recipe as applied to claim 8 and further in view of Meusel et al. USPN 3186853.
13. Regarding claims 8, 9, Yeong et al. discloses the chicken breast meat powder composition comprising salt (Ca-salt), ginger powder which is useful to prevent browning and can be stored for a long period of time (At least in Abstract).
Bonkowski et al. discloses that white chicken meat derived from boneless breast part (Under Example 5, col 10, lines 58-60).
Bonkowski et al. also discloses the salt/spice mix can be brine blend containing nutmeg, salt also (Bonkowski et al. col 8 lines 55-67).
However, Yeong et al., in view of Bonkowski et al. and Huang et al. are silent about the specific amounts and ingredients with the amounts as ratio of the ingredients from steps (a) to (d) of claims 8 and 9.
Boneless chicken: Claims 8 (a), 9 (a) claims 50 Ibs. (Lower limit) of boneless chicken. The proportion (ratio) of salt and nutmeg used which is addressed using Meusel et al. and discussed below:
Nutmeg: Likewise, regarding claims 8 (d), 9 (d), Meusel et al. 853 discloses that nutmeg is added 15 Ibs. /100 Ibs. in seasoning mix which (i.e., seasoning mix) which is used 8 oz. (i.e., 1/2 lbs.) for 100 lbs. chicken seasoning (calculated based on col 2 lines 1 -10 of Meusel et al.).
So, stepwise, 100 Ibs seasoning has 15 lbs. nutmeg (col 2 lines 2-3)
1 lbs. seasoning has 0.15 lb. nutmeg.
80z seasoning (i.e., ¥2 lbs.) is used for 100 Ibs chicken
Therefore, 80z (= los) seasoning has 0.15/2= 0.075 lbs. nutmeg which is used for 100 lbs. chicken.
Therefore, for 50 lbs. chicken (lower value), it is 0.075/2=0.0375 lbs. nutmeg and for 150 lbs. chicken, 0.038x3=0.114 which overlaps claimed range amount of about 0,01-0.2 lbs. of nutmeg of claims 8 (iv), 9 (iv). It shows prima facie case of obviousness according to MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Salt:
Regarding claims 8 (b), 9 (b), Meusel et al. discloses that salt is added 45 lbs. /100 lbs. in seasoning mix which is used 8 oz. (i.e., 1/2 los.) used for 100 Ibs. chicken seasoning (calculated based on col 1 lines 65-70). Therefore, in a simple way, the disclosed amount of 45 Ibs. salt in 100 lbs. seasoning is three times of 15 Ibs. nutmeg in 100 lbs. seasoning and it will be 0.075 (for nutmeg) x8= 0.225 (about) of salt in 100lbs chicken. Therefore, if we consider the range amount of chicken, accordingly, based on identical calculation made for nutmeg above, the amount of salt will overlap claimed range amount of salt of claims 8 (b) and 9 (b). It shows prima facie case of obviousness according to MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made would have been motivated to further modify Yeong et al. in view of Bonkowski et al. and Huang et al. by including the teaching of Meusel et al. to use the desired amount of salts, nutmeg in order to have proportionate seasoning composition in the final product.
(Additionally), the disclosed amounts of salt, nutmeg are not exactly the claimed amount, although it is close proximity to the claimed range, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize to determine the taste (e.g., degree of saltiness, flavor masking effect etc.) etc. in order to evaluate the final amount to reach the presently claimed invention.
Olive oil: Claims 8 (c), 9 (c) depend on claim 7 and claim 7 depends on claim 1. The rejection made for olive oil is applicable here also. Therefore, it is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of olive oil to be used as small amount to serve as lubricant or as spray as discussed above that can be claimed range amount of 0.25-2.5 lbs. of olive oil of claim 8 (c) and claimed range amount of 0.6-0.9 lbs. of olive oil of claim 9 (c). It shows prima facie case of obviousness according to MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As mentioned above, the rejection made for olive oil is applicable here also.
Therefore, the rejection made using additional secondary prior art by NPL Meat Recipe is applicable here for olive oil also. Even if the combined teaching does not teach the claimed amount, however, the less amount of olive oil in the composition is optimizable.
As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of olive oil in Yeong et al. et al., to amounts, including that presently claimed, in order to obtain the desired effect e.g. desired polyunsaturated fatty acids which has cholesterol suppressing effect (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
14. Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yeong et al. et al. KR 935107 B1 in view of Bonkowski et al. USPN 5164213 in view of Huang et al. USPN 5611263 and (additionally), NPL Meat Recipe (in The BBQ Brethern: From the Backyard to The American Royal, 2009) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Gerd et al. DE 19540241 A1 and further in view of Kimple et al. USPN 5775208 and further in view of Meusel et al. USPN 3186853.
15. Regarding claims 10, 11 and 12, the rejections made for claims 1 and claim 8 are applicable for claim 10. However, claims 10- 12 have additionally “A pizza crust”.Regarding claims 10, Huang et al., and NPL Meat Recipe have addressed vegetable oil and discussed in detail with claim 1 and is applicable here also.
Gerd et al. and Kimple et al. have been used to address “A pizza crust” composition.
Therefore, (a) Huang et al. is used to disclose that vegetable oil and (b) Gerd et al. and Kimple et al. is used to address “A pizza crust” composition.
With respect to (a) It is to be noted that and as disclosed above that Huang et al. discloses that vegetable oil can be used to spray coat meatballs to serve as lubricant (col 4 lines 37, 56).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to further modify Yeong et al. in view of Bonkowski et al. to include the teaching of Huang et al. to coat with vegetable oil in order to serve as lubricant (col 4 lines 37, 56) and with olive oil in order to have the additional nutritional value of olive oil as Olive oil has multi health benefit effect including antihypertensive effect as disclosed by Lopes et al. ([0152]). The reason for the motivation is also, specific consistency containing ground seasoned meat can also be preserved as meat ball dough for the future use and for the next step to make final product by introducing disclosed ingredients and “vegetable oil’ etc. to assist “forming a dough ball’.
With respect to (b) Gerd et al. discloses the method of making meat products including meatballs without binder (at least in claim 1 of Gerd et al.).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Yeong et al. to include the teaching of
Gerd et al. to make meatball without binder to use the meat ball as such or for the preparation of other food products e.g., pizza crust etc.
Kimple et al. discloses an apparatus having pizza pan to be used between lids like member and rim to compression of ‘seasoned ground meatball to make desired single or double crusted pizza shape (col 1 lines 45-50, 60-65, col 2 lines 8-10). Therefore, the “compression of ‘seasoned ground meatball can be compressed with the disclosed apparatus to generate a raw pizza crust.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Yeong et al. in view of Bonkowski et al. in view of Gerd et al. to include the teaching of Kimple et al. to place oil-coated seasoned ground meatball to compress to make desired single or double crusted pizza shape (col 1 lines 45-50, 60-65, col 2 lines 8-10).
Further, the recitation in the claims 13-20, that “the flour substitute is used in the preparation of a bread crumb” is merely an intended use.
Applicants’ attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, and then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner's position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that Yeong et al. in view of Bonkowski et al. in view of Huang et al. USPN 5611263, Gerd et al., Kimple et al. disclose “flour substitute product is a baked product and therefore, would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e., can be used in the preparation of pizza and bread crumb as presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
16. Fulton et al. is related to pertinent prior art (US 2010/0303997). However, Fulton discloses sugar-free composition to make baked pizza free ([0034], [0045], [0048], [0050], [0053], [0061]) but not fiber-free ([0014]- [0015]). Therefore, Fulton et al. is not considered.
Lopes et al. US 2010/0184868.
Olive oil has multi health benefit effects including antihypertensive effect as disclosed by Lopes et al. ([0152]).
17. Any inquiry concerning the communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Bhaskar Mukhopadhyay whose telephone number is (571)-270-1139.
USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571 -272-1000.
/BHASKAR MUKHOPADHYAY/Examiner, Art Unit 1792