Status of Claims
This communication is a First Office Action Non-Final on Merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The present application, filed on 01/19/2025, claims priority to Provisional Application 63/676,818, filed on 07/29/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/19/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without a practical application and significantly more.
Step 1: Identifying Statutory Categories
Claims 1-20, the claims are directed to a computer-readable medium (computer program product or media). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer useable medium covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se. A signal does not fall within one of the enumerated statutory categories (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). See MPEP 2106(IV)(B). The claims as written are directed to non-statutory subject matter, therefore appropriate correction is required. See In re Nuijten, 500 F. 3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) and Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. § 101, Aug. 24, 2009; p. 2. To overcome this rejection, Claims 1-20 can be amended to include “a non-transitory computer readable medium”. In the instant case, claims 1-20 are not within one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (i.e., Step 1)). However, if claims 1-20 were, they would still fall within the judicial exception of an abstract idea. For compact prosecution, Examiner will continue the 101 analysis below.
Step 2A: Prong One: Abstract Ideas
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites an abstract idea. Independent claim 1 recites: a method comprising: generating a service map; receiving a user input address; determining whether the user input address matches a location; displaying a service area including service providers according to the determination that the user input address matches the location; and receiving a user input corresponding to one of the service providers to provide the user with detail services of the one service provider. The limitations as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, falls under the abstract groupings of: Certain methods of organizing human activity (commercial or legal interactions (including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations; (managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). As the claims discuss generating a service map; receiving a user address; determining whether the user address matches a location; displaying a service area including service providers according to the determination that the user address matches the location; and receiving a user input corresponding to one of the service providers to provide the user with detail services of the one service provider, which is one of certain methods of organizing human activity. Mental Processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion (claim 1 recites for example, “generating a service map”; “receiving a user input address”; “determining whether the user input address matches a location; “displaying a service area including service providers according to the determination that the user input address matches the location”; “receiving a user input corresponding to one of the service providers to provide the user with detail services of the one service provider.”) Concepts performed in the human mind as mental processes because the steps of generating, receiving, determining, matching, and analyzing data mimic human thought processes of observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion, perhaps with paper and pencil, where data interpretation is perceptible in the human mind. See In re TLI Commc’ns LLCPatentLitig., 823 F.3d 607, 611 (Fed. Cir. 2016); FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., Inc., 839 F.3d 1089, 1093-94 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Further, dependent claims add additional limitations, for example: (claim 2) determining whether a user is an existing customer if the user input address does not match the location and displaying the service area including the service providers according to the determination that the user is the existing customer; (claim 3) determining whether a user is verified if the user is not an existing customer; and displaying the service area including the service providers if the user is verified; (claim 4) determining whether a user is an existing customer if the address does not match the location; displaying the service area including the service providers if the user is the existing customer; determining whether the user is verified if the user is not the existing customer; and displaying the service area including the service providers if the user is verified; (claim 5) performing a transaction corresponding to one of the service providers according to the user input; (claim 6) performing a reservation on an appointment schedule corresponding to one of the service providers; (claim 7) wherein it is determined that the user input address matches the location when the user input address and the location include a same street name; (claim 8) wherein it is determined that the user input address matches the location when the user input address and the location include a same area name; (claim 9) wherein the user service area includes an area around the location when the location has a higher priority than the user input address; (claim 10) wherein the service area includes an area around the user input address when the user input address has a higher priority than the location; (claim 11) wherein the service area includes an area in a range of a distance from the user address; (claim 12) wherein the service area includes an area in a range of a distance from the location; (claim 13) wherein the service area includes an area including a street name of the user input address and neighboring streets adjacent to the street name; (claim 14) wherein the service area includes an area including a street name of the location and neighboring streets adjacent to the street name; (claim 15) wherein the service provider includes a menu to receive a service item and a second menu to display a service fee based on the service item; (claim 16) displaying an option menu including a first area of the location and a second area around the user address, and the method further comprises displaying the user area according to a selection of the first area and the second area as the service area; (claim 17) wherein the service area comprises a map with street names and street numbers, and the service providers are respectively displayed on the corresponding street name and street number of the map; (claim 18) wherein each of the service providers includes a service provider information, a service item, and a service fee; (claim 19) wherein each of the service providers includes service information provided to a property of a street name and a street number of the service area within a time period; (claim 20) displaying a table in the service area to show service fees corresponding to the respective service providers, but these only serve to further limit the abstract idea. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation of certain methods of organizing human activity and mental processes, but for the recitation of generic computer components, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A: Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims merely describe how to generally “apply” the abstract idea. In particular, the claims only recite the additional elements – (claim 1) computer-readable medium; computer-readable codes; computing device; network unit, functional unit, user input unit, display panel, and screen. These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Simply implementing the abstract idea on generic computer components is not a practical application of the abstract idea, as it adds the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). The limitations generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as computing, see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Furthermore, claims 1-20 have been fully analyzed to determine whether there are additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The limitations fail to include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. The claims are ineligible. Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claim that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception itself, the claims are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amin et al. (US 2022/0058702 A1), hereinafter “Amin” over Dulori (US 2020/0234380 A1), hereinafter “Dulori”.
Regarding Claim 1, Amin teaches A computer-readable medium containing computer-readable codes as a program to execute a method of a computing device having a network unit, a functional unit, a user input unit, and a display panel, the method comprising: (See at least Amin, Figures 1 and 8, para 0023, teaching the computing environment including instructions carried on a computer-readable medium);
generating a screen for a service map on the display panel; (See at least Amin, Figure 3H);
receiving a user input address through the screen; (See at least Amin, Figures 4A-4C, Figure 4C shows for example user input address “7595 Sunwood Dr. Dublin”);
determining whether the user input address matches a location of the computing device; (Amin, para 0034, determine the location of the computing device in different ways. In one example, the location determination can receive global positioning system (GPS) data from location-based/geo-aware resources of the computing device; Amin, para 0036, the system can cross-reference the location data (received from the on-demand service application) with the other sources or databases (e.g., third party servers and systems) that maintain location information to obtain granular/specific data about the particular identified location including street addresses);
displaying a service area including service providers according to the determination that the user input address matches the location of the computing device; and (Amin, para 0036, the system can cross-reference the location data with the other sources or databases that maintain location information to obtain granular/specific data about the particular identified location... See at least Amin, Figures 3C – 3H, shows displaying a service area; Amin, para 0051, teaches the service system can identify available service providers (e.g., drivers, food trucks, dessert providers, mariachi bands) in the region that can perform the service);
receiving a user input corresponding to one of the service providers to provide the user with ... of the one service provider (See at least Amin, Figures 3A – 3F, showing user input for a service provider). Yet, Amin does not appear to explicitly teach and in the same field of endeavor Dulori teaches detail services (See at least Dulori, Abstract, Dulori, Figure 1, See for example Dulori, para 0078, teaches allows vehicle occupant user to browse and select services provided as possible selections that are associated with what type of services as well as the duration of said services they require for vehicle occupant user's vehicle such as but not limited to the amount of time they wish to have vehicle occupant user's vehicle parked or stored, if vehicle occupant user requires vehicle occupant user's vehicle to have covered parking, how much security vehicle occupant user's vehicle requires, as well as if vehicle occupant user wants to request additional services while vehicle occupant user's vehicle is parked such as electric charging of vehicle occupant user's vehicle, replenishing vehicle occupant user's gasoline, washes, cleaning, details, oil changes, and other service-related items.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Amin with detail services as taught by Dulori with the motivation for providing a broad range of applications and services that allow users the ability to share and receive information, often customized to the interests of the needs of the particular user (Dulori, Abstract). The Amin invention now incorporating the Dulori invention, has all the limitations of claim 1.
Examiner's Note for claim 1: No limitations were ignored; however the instant claim recites limitations that occur (displaying a service area including service providers according to the determination that the user input address matches the location of the computing device) if a conditional statement is met (whether the user input address matches a location of the computing device). However, because of the conditional statement, the limitation is not required to occur. That is, should the user input address not match the location of the computing device, the steps following will not occur. Therefore, these limitations are not required. Further, the claims are silent on what should occur if the conditional statement is not met, leaving this portion of the claim broad and open to interpretation. According to MPEP 2143.03, language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation.
Regarding Claim 2, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: determining whether a user is an existing customer if the user input address does not match the location of the computing device; and (See at least Dulori, para 0005, teaches data for existing customers; Amin, para 0034, determine the location of the computing device in different ways. In one example, the location determination can receive global positioning system (GPS) data from location-based/geo-aware resources of the computing device; Amin, para 0036, the system can cross-reference the location data (received from the on-demand service application) with the other sources or databases (e.g., third party servers and systems) that maintain location information to obtain granular/specific data about the particular identified location);
displaying the service area including the service providers according to the determination that the user is the existing customer (See at least Amin, Figures 3C – 3H, shows displaying a service area; Amin, para 0051, teaches the service system can identify available service providers (e.g., drivers, food trucks, dessert providers, mariachi bands) in the region that can perform the service).
Regarding Claim 3, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: determining whether a user is verified if the user is not an existing customer; and displaying the service area including the service providers if the user is verified (See at least Amin, Figures 3C – 3H, shows displaying a service area; Amin, para 0051, teaches the service system can identify available service providers (e.g., drivers, food trucks, dessert providers, mariachi bands) in the region that can perform the service; Duloni, para 0023, two-way verification for the person providing the service and the person receiving service to enhance precision and safety. Further, see Duloni, para 0052, users may be identified and verified with for example, a credit card score, two-step verification, or any other methods known by those of ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding Claim 4, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: determining whether a user is an existing customer if the address does not match the location of the computing device; (See at least Dulori, para 0005, teaches data for existing customers; Amin, para 0034, the location determination can receive global positioning system (GPS) data from location-based/geo-aware resources of the computing device; Amin, para 0036, the system can cross-reference the location data (received from the on-demand service application) with the other sources or databases (e.g., third party servers and systems) that maintain location information to obtain granular/specific data about the particular identified location including street addresses);
displaying the service area including the service providers if the user is the existing customer; (See at least Amin, Figures 3C – 3H, shows displaying a service area; Amin, para 0051, teaches the service system can identify available service providers (e.g., drivers, food trucks, dessert providers, mariachi bands) in the region that can perform the service);
determining whether the user is verified if the user is not the existing customer; and displaying the service area including the service providers if the user is verified (Duloni, para 0023, two-way verification for the person providing the service and the person receiving service to enhance precision and safety. Further, see Duloni, para 0052, users may be identified and verified with for example, a credit card score, two-step verification, or any other methods known by those of ordinary skill in the art; See at least Amin, Figures 3C – 3H, shows displaying a service area; Amin, para 0051, teaches the service system can identify available service providers (e.g., drivers, food trucks, dessert providers, mariachi bands) in the region that can perform the service).
Regarding Claim 5, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises performing a transaction corresponding to one of the service providers according to the user input (See at least Amin, Figure 5A, shows performing a transaction to the service provider based on user input (user entering visa information)).
Regarding Claim 6, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein the method further comprising performing a reservation on an appointment schedule corresponding to one of the service providers according to the user input (See at least Amin, Figures 7A-7B, shows a reservation of 3-5 minutes).
Regarding Claim 7, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein it is determined that the user input address matches the location when the user input address and the location include a same street name (Amin, para 0034, determine the location of the computing device in different ways. In one example, the location determination can receive global positioning system (GPS) data from location-based/geo-aware resources of the computing device; Amin, para 0036, the system can cross-reference the location data (received from the on-demand service application) with the other sources or databases (e.g., third party servers and systems) that maintain location information to obtain granular/specific data about the particular identified location including street addresses).
Regarding Claim 8, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein it is determined that the user input address matches the location when the user input address and the location include a same area name (Amin, para 0034, determine the location of the computing device in different ways. In one example, the location determination can receive global positioning system (GPS) data from location-based/geo-aware resources of the computing device; Amin, para 0036-0037, the system can cross-reference the location data (received from the on-demand service application) with the other sources or databases (e.g., third party servers and systems) that maintain location information to obtain granular/specific data about the particular identified location including identify particular stores, restaurants, apartment complexes, venues, street addresses, etc., that are proximate to and/or located at the identified location, and provide this information as location data. Further, see Amin, Figure 3H, teaches Financial District).
Regarding Claim 9, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein the user service area includes an area around the location of the computing device when the location has a higher priority than the user input address (Amin, para 0083, the transport service system can dynamically adjust the price for transport service in a given region based on real-time conditions. Based on real-time conditions, such as the high (or low) demand of transport service requests or the high (or low) supply of available transport service providers, the transport service system can increase or decrease the price for the transport service).
Regarding Claim 10, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein the service area includes an area around the user input address when the user input address has a higher priority than the location (Amin, para 0083, the transport service system can dynamically adjust the price for transport service in a given region based on real-time conditions. Based on real-time conditions, such as the high (or low) demand of transport service requests or the high (or low) supply of available transport service providers, the transport service system can increase or decrease the price for the transport service).
Regarding Claim 11, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein the service area includes an area in a range of a distance from the user address (Amin, para 0039, based on the user's current location or service location, the application manager can cause region-specific user interface features ... A region that is specific to the user includes the current location (or service location) in which services can be provided to the user. The region can be an area having a predetermined distance radius from current location (e.g., six miles)).
Regarding Claim 12, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein the service area includes an area in a range of a distance from the location of the computing device (Amin, para 0039, based on the user's current location or service location, the application manager can cause region-specific user interface features ... A region that is specific to the user includes the current location (or service location) in which services can be provided to the user. The region can be an area having a predetermined distance radius from current location (e.g., six miles)).
Regarding Claim 13, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein the service area includes an area including a street name of the user input address and neighboring streets adjacent to the street name (See at least Amin, Figure 5B, teaches a street name of user input (928 Harrison St, San Francisco) and neighboring streets adjacent (Clara St)).
Regarding Claim 14, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein the service area includes an area including a street name of the location of the computing device and neighboring streets adjacent to the street name (See at least Amin, Figure 5B, teaches a street name of user input (928 Harrison St, San Francisco) and neighboring streets adjacent (Clara St)).
Regarding Claim 15, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein the service provider includes a menu to receive a service item and a second menu to display a service fee based on the service item (See at least Amin, Figure 3C, shows a service item (transport in a sedan) and Figure 3D, displays a service fee $16-25).
Regarding Claim 16, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises displaying a screen with an option menu including a first area of the location of the computing device and a second area around the user address, and the method further comprises displaying the user area according to a selection of the first area and the second area as the service area (See at least Amin, Figures 3C teaches an address (800 Market Street) and an area around the address; Further see at least Figures 3E-3H, teaching areas displayed around address and service areas).
Regarding Claim 17, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein the service area comprises a map with street names and street numbers, and the service providers are respectively displayed on the corresponding street name and street number of the map (See at least Amin Figures 3C-3H; Figure 3C, teaches a service area map with street names and numbers and service providers displayed on corresponding streets).
Regarding Claim 18, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein each of the service providers includes a service provider information, a service item, and a service fee (See at least Amin, Figures 3C-D, shows a service provider (uber), service item (transportation/ride) and service fee ($16-25)).
Regarding Claim 19, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein each of the service providers includes service information provided to a property of a street name and a street number of the service area within a time period (See at least Amin, Figures 3C-3F, shows service provider information including service area and time period (3-5 minutes, Figure 3D). Amin Figure 3E, shows street number 928. Further, see Dulori, para 0215, teaches property services including monitoring services, certified home offerings, property preservation services, as well as other service provider offerings, such as monthly cleaning, appliance services, insurance pest inspection, 360 degree monitoring).
Regarding Claim 20, Amin, now incorporating Dulori, teaches The medium of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises displaying a table in the service area to show service fees corresponding to the respective service providers (See at least Amin, Figure 6B, shows service fees; Further, Dulori, para 0367, teaches for example pet insurance, where a pet owner may select options including a set time fee such as a monthly, quarterly or annual fee; Dulori, para 0168, teaches specific services of service provider may be displayed on customer interface as a list or a drop-down menu. Examiner notes other variations of displaying service information, including a table, are certainly within the ability of those having ordinary skill in the art.)
Additional Prior Art Consulted
The prior art made of record and not relied upon which is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure includes the following:
Holden US 2015/0099461 - A system and method for determining location information using a location data point provided by a computing device is described. A location data point is received by a system from a client computing device. The system determines whether the location data point is within a predefined region from a plurality of predefined regions configured by a user of the system. If the location data point is within a predefined region, location information corresponding to the predefined region is transmitted to the client device. If the location data point is not within a predefined region, one or more third-party reverse geocoding services can be used that translates the location data point to a street address.
WO 2017/031504A1 - Provided herein are systems, methods and computer readable media for facilitating an authentication process validating the location of a first device, for example, using a second device, before authorizing an action. An example apparatus may be configured to receive a request to cause an action from a first device, cause the first device to communicate with a second device to verify a proximity of the first device and the second device, receive verification of the proximity, receive a first identifying data string, receive a second identifying data string, and upon confirmation of a match of the first identifying data string and the second identifying data string, authorizing the action.
NPL - Vimal Joy; S. Sridevi; Vimal P. Laxman, “Location Based Services- Enterprise Mobility”, Publisher: IEEE; Published in: 2008 IEEE Wireless Communications and Networking Conference, https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/4489570 - The main concept of location based services enterprise mobility (LBS-EM) is to grab the information of location based objects, which are specified such as restaurant, hospitals, IT companies etc., and the same to view on the mobile device. LBS works similar to the yellow pages where you have to search for the specified object. To avail a beneficial mobile access to the data through the cell you can definitely make use of the component. It is a J2ME enabled ESRI component, on request gives information regarding the specified address or the stored address, which will be in the form of image, not only the specified address, but also the phone number and related information. In this paper, we are using ARC web services ESRI component, which is responsible for the data management of all information and the security of data. This component can be easily installable in handheld devices and make use of it, whenever you need the actual data. A new architecture of LBS with ARC Web Services is proposed.
Applicant is advised to review additional references supplied on the PTO-892 as to the state of the art of the invention.
Conclusion
It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner. A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/ . Applicants may also obtain a list of registered patent practitioners located in their area by writing to Mail Stop OED, Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.
/R.R.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3629/NATHAN C UBER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626