DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohan et al., US Patent Publication 2020/0073520 in view of Young et al., US Patent Publication 2015/0310667.
Regarding independent claim 12, Mohan et al. teaches an object activation function executing method, being adapted for use in a smart glasses device (as given in paragraph 0026), wherein the smart glasses device comprises a storage (part of central server 122 of figure 1 as given in paragraph 0029), an image capturing device (image sensors 110 and 112 of figure 1 as described in paragraphs 0022-0023), and a processor (microprocessor 202a of figure 2 as given in paragraph 0038), the storage is configured to store an image identity list, the image identity list comprises a plurality of objects and an object activation function corresponding to each of the objects (paragraphs 0029-0030 explain how interactive content is stored relating to a plurality of objects-of-interest 106 where the objects-of-interests are the plurality of objects and the interactive content is the object activation function that is activated based on the object), the image capturing device is configured to capture a real-time image (paragraph 0023 explains how the second image sensor 112 captures a real view of the surroundings of the vehicle), and the object activation function executing method comprises:
determining whether a target object appears in the real-time image, wherein the target object is one of these objects (paragraph 0050 explains how the plurality of views 302 may display the objects-of-interest 106); and
in response to the target object appearing in the real-time image, executing the object activation function corresponding to the target object based on a user input corresponding to a user and the image identity list (paragraphs 0033-0034 explain how the user input to show interest prompt the function of displaying interactive content related to the target object).
Although casually mentioned, Mohan et al. does not specify how the context based information is delivered to the smart glasses since Mohan et al. is focused on use with the windshield. Young et al. teaches smart glasses used to deliver information (as given in paragraphs 0013, 0016, 0083, and 0092). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the system of Mohan et al. with the smart glasses taught by Young et al. The rationale to combine would be to specify the information to a specific user situation, where a user of smart glasses would be the targeted intended recipient of the information (paragraph 0011 of Young et al.).
Regarding claim 13, Mohan et al. teaches the object activation function executing method of claim 12, wherein the object activation function corresponding to the target object comprises a screen display function (paragraph 0034 explains how the interactive content has multiple potential options), and the step of executing the object activation function corresponding to the target object comprises the following steps:
in response to the target object appearing in the real-time image, determining whether the user input points to the target object (paragraph 0031 explains the input received from the occupant for one of the objects-of-interest);
in response to the user input pointing to the target object, generating a first control signal corresponding to the target object to transmit the first control signal to the target object, wherein the first control signal is configured to wake up the screen display function of the target object (paragraph 0084 explains how in response to the activation of the object, a projection is displayed of the floors, such that the display of projection is woken up); and
in response to the user input stopping pointing to the target object, generating a second control signal corresponding to the target object to transmit the second control signal to the target object, wherein the second control signal is configured to suspend the screen display function of the target object(paragraphs 0033-0034 explain how the user input to show interest prompt the function of displaying interactive content related to the target object where paragraph 0050 explains how the plurality of views 302 may display the objects-of-interest 106 such that not seeing the object in the view will not allow the activation of the function).
Regarding claim 14, Mohan et al. teaches the object activation function executing method of claim 12, wherein the smart glasses device further comprises an eye tracking device (paragraphs 0017 and 0053 explain the eye tracking), the eye tracking device is configured to generate an eyeball trajectory of the user (paragraph 0054 explains the determination of the direction-of-view or eyeball trajectory of the user), the object activation function corresponding to the target object comprises a remote control function (paragraph 0034 explains how the interactive content has multiple potential options), and the step of executing the object activation function corresponding to the target object comprises the following steps:
in response to the target object appearing in the real-time image, determining whether an eye gaze position of the user is on the target object based on the eyeball trajectory of the user (paragraphs 0031 and 0054 and 0068-0069 and 0072-0075 explain how the eye gaze and direction-of-view are used to determine that the occupant is looking at the object-of-interest);
in response to the eye gaze position being on the target object, generating a third control signal corresponding to the target object based on the eye gaze position (paragraphs 0054 and 0075 explains how based on the view being on the object, signals are sent to control the interactive content); and
transmitting the third control signal to the target object to execute the remote control function corresponding to the target object (paragraph 0034 explains how the interactive content has multiple potential options that are executed as needed).
Regarding claim 15, Mohan et al. teaches the object activation function executing method of claim 12, wherein the object activation function corresponding to the target object comprises a remote control function (paragraph 0034 explains how the interactive content has multiple potential options), and the step of executing the object activation function corresponding to the target object comprises the following steps:
in response to the target object appearing in the real-time image, determining a gesture of the user based on the real-time image (paragraph 0031 explains the input received from the occupant for one of the objects-of-interest where paragraph 0040 explains that the input can be a gesture input);
calculating a user viewing direction corresponding to the gesture based on the real-time image and the gesture (paragraphs 0031 and 0054 and 0068-0069 and 0072-0075 explain how the input and direction-of-view are used to determine that the occupant is looking at the object-of-interest);
determining whether the user viewing direction is on the target object (paragraphs 0031 and 0054 explain how the eye gaze and direction-of-view are used to determine that the occupant is looking at the object-of-interest);
in response to the user viewing direction being on the target object, generating a fourth control signal corresponding to the target object based on a focus point generated by an intersection of the user viewing direction and the target object (paragraphs 0054 and 0075 explains how based on the view being on the object, signals are sent to control the interactive content); and
transmitting the fourth control signal to the target object to execute the remote control function corresponding to the target object (paragraph 0034 explains how the interactive content has multiple potential options that are executed as needed).
Regarding claim 16, Mohan et al. teaches the object activation function executing method of claim 12, wherein the object activation function corresponding to the target object comprises a screen display function (paragraph 0034 explains how the interactive content has multiple potential options), and the step of executing the object activation function corresponding to the target object comprises the following steps:
determining whether the target object has a communication connection with the smart glasses device (paragraphs 0017 and 0019 and 0021 explain the communication of the object and the system);
in response to the target object having the communication connection with the smart glasses device (paragraphs 0017 and 0019 and 0021 explain the communication of the object and the system), determining whether the user input points to the target object (paragraph 0031 explains the input received from the occupant for one of the objects-of-interest);
in response to the user input pointing to the target object, generating a first control signal corresponding to the target object to transmit the first control signal to the target object, wherein the first control signal is configured to wake up the screen display function of the target object (paragraph 0084 explains how in response to the activation of the object, a projection is displayed of the floors, such that the display of projection is woken up); and
in response to the user input stopping pointing to the target object, generating a second control signal corresponding to the target object to transmit the second control signal to the target object, wherein the second control signal is configured to suspend the screen display function of the target object (paragraphs 0033-0034 explain how the user input to show interest prompt the function of displaying interactive content related to the target object where paragraph 0050 explains how the plurality of views 302 may display the objects-of-interest 106 such that not seeing the object in the view will not allow the activation of the function).
Regarding claim 17, Mohan et al. teaches the object activation function executing method of claim 12, wherein the object activation function corresponding to the target object comprises a remote control function (paragraph 0034 explains how the interactive content has multiple potential options), and the step of executing the object activation function corresponding to the target object comprises the following steps:
determining whether the target object has a communication connection with the smart glasses device (paragraphs 0017 and 0019 and 0021 explain the communication of the object and the system);
in response to the target object having the communication connection with the smart glasses device, determining whether the target object executes a projection mode corresponding to a projection screen (paragraph 0084 explains that the target objected could execute a projection such as a projection of the different floors);
in response to the target object executing the projection mode corresponding to the projection screen, generating a fifth control signal corresponding to the target object based on the user input of a coordinate located on the projection screen (paragraph 0084 explains how user’s third input may be used to provide signals to navigate to a different part of the projection, or a specific coordinate); and
transmitting the fifth control signal to the target object to execute the remote control function corresponding to the target object (paragraph 0034 explains how the interactive content has multiple potential options that are executed as needed).
Regarding claim 18, Mohan et al. teaches the object activation function executing method of claim 12, wherein the object activation function corresponding to the target object comprises a remote control function (paragraph 0034 explains how the interactive content has multiple potential options), and the step of executing the object activation function corresponding to the target object comprises the following steps:
determining whether a second target object appears in the real-time image, wherein the second target object is one of the objects (paragraph 0050 explains how the plurality of views 302 may display the multiple objects-of-interest 106);
in response to the second target object appearing in the real-time image, determining whether each of the target object and the second target object has a communication connection with the smart glasses device (paragraphs 0017 and 0019 and 0021 explain the communication of the object and the system);
in response to each of the target object and the second target object having the communication connection with the smart glasses device (paragraphs 0017 and 0019 and 0021 explain the communication of the objects and the system), determining whether the user input corresponds to a transfer gesture (direction of movement as given in paragraph 0085);
in response to the user input corresponding to the transfer gesture, generating a sixth control signal corresponding to the target object, wherein the sixth control signal is configured to instruct the target object to transmit a data content to the second target object for performing a playback operation (paragraphs 0085-0086 explain how based on the input of the user, a signal is transmitted to cause playback of the desired floor based on the target object); and
transmitting the sixth control signal to the target object to execute the remote control function corresponding to the target object (paragraph 0034 explains how the interactive content has multiple potential options that are executed as needed).
Regarding claim 19, Mohan et al. teaches the object activation function executing method of claim 12, wherein the object activation function executing method further comprises the following steps:
in response to the target object disappearing in the real-time image, suspending an execution of the object activation function corresponding to the target object (paragraphs 0033-0034 explain how the user input to show interest prompt the function of displaying interactive content related to the target object where paragraph 0050 explains how the plurality of views 302 may display the objects-of-interest 106 such that not seeing the object in the view will not allow the activation of the function).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The closest prior art is made of record in the attached notice of references cited.
/PARUL H GUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627