DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the accelerometer and gyroscope of claims 10 and 20, the tip positioning device of claims 9, 10, 19 and 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Weiner (US5,297,346).
Regarding claim 12, Weiner discloses a positioning mouthpiece, comprising: a mouthpiece (Fig. 1: apparatus 1, for the mouth [col. 3, lines 36-38]), having an opening at a center thereof, adapted to guide a bronchoscope to pass through a mouth of an inspection subject via the opening (reference arrow 19 in Fig. 3 indicates the insertion direction of probe 2 [col. 3, lines 29-32], probe 2 to be inserted through the rectangular opening as seen in Figs. 2. 5 or 6 [col. 3, lines 7-9]); and a positioning device, disposed on the mouthpiece, for detecting a relative movement between the bronchoscope and the mouthpiece to issue a positioning signal (housing structure 7 provided with measuring device housing 8, which comprises components such as measuring wheel 10, opposing traction wheel 11, angular measuring wheel 31 and/or side stabilizing wheels 42 and 43 [col. 3,lines 9-16] to measure the distance and angular orientation of the utility device within the patient can be detected measured and recorded [col. 3, lines 63-68]).
Regarding claim 14, Weiner discloses the positioning mouthpiece according to claim 12, further disclosing wherein the positioning device comprises a plurality of positioning rollers (Fig. 6: left and right side comprises side stabilizing wheels 42 and 43 [col. 4, lines 17-20], top side comprises a textured track-ball 41 which rotates in all directions [col. 4, lines 7-12], bottom side comprises traction wheel 11), and during use, the plurality of positioning rollers are in contact with the bronchoscope (Fig. 6: probe 2 appears to contact the plurality of positioning rollers, as the stabilizing wheels 42 and 43 would provide stabilization, the traction wheel 11 would urge the probe 2 to contact the measuring wheel 10 [col. 2, lines 64-67], or textured track-ball 41), and the positioning device detects the relative movement between the bronchoscope and the mouthpiece according to rotation magnitudes of the plurality of positioning rollers (textured track-ball 41 performs similarly to the measuring wheel 10, which measures linear translation of robe 2 [col. 4, lines 9-13]).
Regarding claim 15, Weiner discloses the positioning mouthpiece according to claim 14, further disclosing wherein the positioning device comprises four positioning rollers, which are located on upper, lower, left and right sides of the opening of the mouthpiece, respectively (Fig. 6: left and right side comprises side stabilizing wheels 42 and 43 [col. 4, lines 17-20], top side comprises a textured track-ball 41 which rotates in all directions [col. 4, lines 7-12], bottom side comprises traction wheel 11).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Kato et al. (US2025/0151978).
Regarding claim 18, Kato discloses a bronchoscope path display device, comprising: a bronchoscope, having a camera device on one end thereof, for generating an image signal (Fig. 4A: medical device 108/catheter 300 comprising imaging device 110 at the distal [0032,0051]);
a memory device, for storing path information associated with branch paths of bronchi (memory 202 stores data [0038-0039]; path is mapped by 3D model [0033-0036]);
a processing device, for receiving the image signal and a positioning signal and accessing the path information to generate a composite image signal according to the image signal, the positioning signal and the path information, wherein the composite image signal includes the image signal and an assistance positioning information generated according to the positioning signal and the path information (console 116 comprising processor 201 performs overall control of medical apparatus 100 including executing program, instructions, code, software to perform processing, computing, algorithmic tasks [0039]; console 116 acquires catheter position information [0034] to generate a 3D model of internal branching structure [0033, 0035]);
a display unit, for receiving and displaying the composite image signal (display [0033, 0037]); and
an input unit, for receiving a determined path information input by a user, wherein, after the user inputs the determined path information, the processing device generates a new assistance positioning information according to the determined path information, the positioning signal and the path information (I/O interface inputs catheter positional information and outputs information for displaying a navigation screen to the display [0040]; navigation screen can indicate current position of catheter in the branching structure [0035]).
Regarding claim 19, Kato discloses the bronchoscope path display device according to claim 18, wherein a tip of the bronchoscope has a tip positioning device (sensor 112 at the tip of catheter 108 may be an electromagnetic tracking sensor, or EM tracking sensor [0032]), and the tip positioning device is for generating a positioning signal and transmitting the positioning signal to the processing device (tracking sensor 112 outputs detected positional information to controller 112 or console 116 [0032, 0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Weiner.
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses a bronchoscope path assistance system, comprising:
a bronchoscope, having a camera device on one end thereof, for generating an image signal (Fig. 4A: medical device 108/catheter 300 comprising imaging device 110 at the distal [0032,0051]);
a memory device, for storing path information associated with branch paths of bronchi (memory 202 stores data [0038-0039]; path is mapped by 3D model [0033-0036]);
a processing device, for receiving the image signal and a positioning signal and accessing the path information to generate a composite image signal according to the image signal, the positioning signal and the path information, wherein the composite image signal comprises the image signal and an assistance positioning information generated according to the positioning signal and the path information (console 116 comprising processor 201 performs overall control of medical apparatus 100 including executing program, instructions, code, software to perform processing, computing, algorithmic tasks [0039]; console 116 acquires catheter position information [0034] to generate a 3D model of internal branching structure [0033, 0035]); and
a display unit, for receiving and displaying the composite image signal (display [0033, 0037]); and
an input unit, for receiving a determined path information input by a user, wherein, after the user inputs the determined path information, the processing device generates a new assistance positioning information according to the determined path information, the positioning signal and the path information (I/O interface inputs catheter positional information and outputs information for displaying a navigation screen to the display [0040]; navigation screen can indicate current position of catheter in the branching structure [0035]).
While Kato disclose wherein positional information of the catheter is generated by a positioning signal [0032], Kato fails to disclose the system comprising mouthpiece, having an opening at a center thereof, adapted to guide the bronchoscope to pass through a mouth of an inspection subject via the opening;
a positioning device, disposed on the mouthpiece, for detecting a relative movement between the bronchoscope and the mouthpiece to issue the positioning signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Weiner teaches a mouthpiece (Fig. 1: apparatus 1, for the mouth [col. 3, lines 36-38]), having an opening at a center thereof, adapted to guide a bronchoscope to pass through the mouth of an inspection subject via the opening (reference arrow 19 in Fig. 3 indicates the insertion direction of probe 2 [col. 3, lines 29-32], probe 2 to be inserted through the rectangular opening as seen in Figs. 2. 5 or 6 [col. 3, lines 7-9]); a positioning device, disposed on the mouthpiece, for detecting relative movement between the bronchoscope and the mouthpiece to issue a positioning signal (housing structure 7 provided with measuring device housing 8, which comprises components such as measuring wheel 10, opposing traction wheel 11, angular measuring wheel 31 and/or side stabilizing wheels 42 and 43 [col. 3,lines 9-16] to measure the distance and angular orientation of the utility device within the patient can be detected measured and recorded [col. 3, lines 63-68]).
In view of Weiner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the mouthpiece of Weiner to the system of Kato, as it precisely measures the length of the medical instrument or tube advanced into a body orifice [col. 1, lines 24-27].
Regarding claim 4, Kato, modified by Weiner, discloses the bronchoscope path assistance system according to claim 1. Weiner further teaches wherein the positioning device comprises a plurality of positioning rollers (Fig. 6: left and right side comprises side stabilizing wheels 42 and 43 [col. 4, lines 17-20], top side comprises a textured track-ball 41 which rotates in all directions [col. 4, lines 7-12], bottom side comprises traction wheel 11), and during use, the plurality of positioning rollers are in contact with the bronchoscope (Fig. 6: probe 2 appears to contact the plurality of positioning rollers, as the stabilizing wheels 42 and 43 would provide stabilization, the traction wheel 11 would urge the probe 2 to contact the measuring wheel 10 [col. 2, lines 64-67], or textured track-ball 41 ), and the positioning device detects the relative movement between the bronchoscope and the mouthpiece according to rotation magnitudes of the plurality of positioning rollers (textured track-ball 41 performs similarly to the measuring wheel 10, which measures linear translation of robe 2 [col. 4, lines 9-13]).
Regarding claim 5, Kato, modified by Weiner discloses the bronchoscope path assistance system according to claim 4. Weiner further teaches wherein the positioning device comprises four positioning rollers, which are located on upper, lower, left and right sides of the opening of the mouthpiece, respectively (Fig. 6: left and right side comprises side stabilizing wheels 42 and 43 [col. 4, lines 17-20], top side comprises a textured track-ball 41 which rotates in all directions [col. 4, lines 7-12], bottom side comprises traction wheel 11).
Regarding claim 7, Kato, modified by Weinger, discloses the bronchoscope path assistance system according to claim 1. Kato further discloses wherein the display unit and the input unit are integrated into a touch screen (input devices for the user to communicate information can use touchscreen [0043]; output devices such as display devices, although not explicitly stated, are known in the art to also include touch screen monitors).
Regarding claim 9, Kato, modified by Weiner, discloses the bronchoscope path assistance system according to claim 1. Kato further discloses wherein a tip of the bronchoscope has a tip positioning device (sensor 112 at the tip of catheter 108 may be an electromagnetic tracking sensor, or EM tracking sensor [0032]), and the tip positioning device is for generating a tip positioning signal and transmitting the tip positioning signal to the processing device, wherein the processing device generates the composite image signal further according to the tip positioning signal (tracking sensor 112 outputs detected positional information to controller 112 or console 116 [0032, 0034]).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Weiner and Kikuchi (US2016/0353969).
Regarding claim 2, Kato, modified by Weiner, discloses the bronchoscope path assistance system according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the positioning device comprises a plurality of positioning cameras, the bronchoscope has a plurality of equidistant positioning marks, and the positioning device detects the relative movement between the bronchoscope and the mouthpiece according to images of the positioning marks captured by the plurality of positioning cameras.
In the same field of endeavor, Kikuchi teaches a substantially similar system comprising a shaft of a medical instrument, insertable through an opening of a trocar (Fig. 6A-7: insert part 23 of endoscope 2 includes a first shaft 24 [0042], trocar 1 comprises upper housing 111 [0051]), similar to applicant’s mouthpiece and Weiner’s apparatus, wherein the trocar comprises a positioning device for detecting a relative movement between the shaft of a medical instrument and the trocar to issue a positioning signal (sensor 122 and 123 comprises photosensors 122b and 123b and rollers 122a and 123a to measure advanceable/retractable movement of medical instrument [0057-0058]). Further, Kikuchi teaches wherein the positioning device comprises a plurality of positioning cameras (Fig. 7: photosensors 122b and 123b [0057-0058]), the shaft has a plurality of equidistant positioning marks, and the positioning device detects the relative movement between the shaft and the trocar according to images of the positioning marks captured by the plurality of positioning cameras (movement detection marks 241 and 242 which are detected by photosensors 123 and 122 to calibrate the amount of advanceable/retractable movement detected by the roller [0057]). In view of Kikuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the plurality of positioning cameras and plurality of positioning marks as taught by Kikuchi, to the system of Kato and Weiner, as the positioning cameras and positioning marks form a precise measurement tool for measuring the advanceable/retractable movement the medical instrument relative to the trocar or mouthpiece [0057].
Regarding claim 3, Kato, modified by Weiner and Kikuchi, discloses the bronchoscope path assistance system according to claim 2. Kikuchi only discloses two positioning cameras (Fig. 7: photosensors 122b and 123b [0057-0058]), therefore failing to explicitly disclose four positioning cameras. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that the number of positioning cameras, whether it is two, three or four, would still provide the predictable result of detecting movement of the medical instrument relative to the trocar in Kikuchi. The number of positioning cameras is a design consideration within the skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955); In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Since Applicant has not disclosed that specifically four cameras provide an advantage or solves a stated problem, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the two positioning cameras as taught by Kikuchi would perform equally as well as if there were four positioning cameras in the trocar. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to include four positioning cameras on the mouthpiece of the system.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Weiner and Honegger (US2025/0350700).
Regarding claim 8, Kato, modified by Weiner, discloses the bronchoscope path assistance system according to claim 1, but is silent regarding wherein the memory device, the processing device, the display unit and the input unit are integrated into a tablet computer. In the same field of endeavor, Honegger teaches wherein an endoscopy system comprising a memory device, processing device, a display unit and an input unit integrated into a local computer device, wherein the local computer device may be a tablet computer ([0159]). In view of Honegger, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized that the various electronic components of a medical system may be integrated to form a singular computing device, such as a tablet, as taught by Honegger.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Weiner and Ayvali et al. (US2023/0363635).
Regarding claim 10, Kato, modified by Weiner, discloses the bronchoscope path assistance system according to claim 9. Kato discloses wherein the tip positioning device is an electromagnetic tracking sensor ([0032]), however only nominally mentions wherein various types of sensors including accelerometers and gyroscopes may be included in the medical apparatus as position sensor ([0045-0047]). In the same field of endeavor, Ayvali discloses a substantially similar medical system including an endoscope comprising a tip positioning device at a tip of the endoscope, wherein the tip positioning device is selected from the group consisting of electromagnetic sensor, accelerometer and a gyroscope (position sensor at the distal end 442 of medical instrument 440, position sensor may be an EM sensor or accelerometer, gyroscope, GPS sensor, radio frequency, etc. [0106]). In view of Ayvali, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have taught wherein an accelerometer and/or a gyroscope are known equivalent alternatives to an electromagnetic sensor withing a distal tip of an endoscope for sensor position of the distal tip of the endoscope, all capable of providing positional information to a computing or processing unit.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Weiner and Meyer et al. (US2018/0228359)
Regarding claim 11, Kato, modified by Weiner, discloses the bronchoscope path assistance system according to claim 1, but fails to disclose the limitations of claim 11, In the same field of endeavor, Meyer teaches a mouthpiece comprising a plurality of initial orientation positioning marks located near the opening of the mouthpiece (Fig. 1A: first imaging markers 104-1 and second imaging markers 104-2 [0027]); wherein when a camera device is about to pass through the mouthpiece, the image signal generated by the camera device is to include the initial orientation positioning marks, and the processing device further analyzes the image signal including the plurality of initial orientation positioning marks to determine an initial orientation and generates the composite image signal further according to the initial orientation (camera 240 is used to take photographs of teeth, the photographs capturing at least one first imaging markers 140-1 or second imaging markers 104-2 [0118] to determine scaling and distances of objects within the photos to create form a 3D model [0035, 0041]). In view of Meyer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the initial orientation positioning marks as taught by Meyer, to the mouthpiece of Weiner, so that the initial orientation positioning marks may be used as a reference point when forming a 3D module to the imaging area [0053].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiner in view of Kikuchi.
Regarding claim 13, Weiner discloses the positioning mouthpiece according to claim 12, but fails to disclose wherein the positioning device comprises four positioning cameras, which are located on upper, lower, left and right sides of the opening of the mouthpiece, respectively. In the same field of endeavor, Kikuchi teaches a trocar (trocar 1 comprises upper housing 111 [0051]), similar to applicant’s mouthpiece and Weiner’s apparatus, wherein the trocar has an opening at a center thereof, adapted to guide a bronchoscope to pass through a mouth of an inspection subject via the opening (Fig. 6A-7: trocar 1 comprises upper housing 111 which comprises an insertion part 115 which allows insertion of various medical instruments [0049]); and a positioning device, disposed on the trocar, for detecting a relative movement between the bronchoscope and the trocar to issue a positioning signal (sensor 122 and 123 comprises photosensors 122b and 123b and rollers 122a and 123a to measure advanceable/retractable movement of medical instrument [0057-0058]). Kikuchi further teaches wherein positioning device comprises two positioning cameras (Fig. 7: photosensors 122b and 123b [0057-0058], therefore failing to explicitly disclose four positioning cameras. However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that the number of positioning cameras, whether it is two, three or four, would still provide the predictable result of detecting movement of the medical instrument relative to the trocar in Kikuchi. The number of positioning cameras is a design consideration within the skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955); In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Since Applicant has not disclosed that specifically four cameras provide an advantage or solves a stated problem, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the two positioning cameras as taught by Kikuchi would perform equally as well as if there were four positioning cameras in the trocar. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to include four positioning cameras on the mouthpiece of the system.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiner in view of Meyer.
Regarding claim 17, Weiner discloses the positioning mouthpiece according to claim 12, but fails to disclose wherein the mouthpiece has a plurality of initial orientation positioning marks located near the opening of the mouthpiece. In the same field of endeavor, Meyer teaches a mouthpiece comprising a plurality of initial orientation positioning marks located near the opening of the mouthpiece (Fig. 1A: first imaging markers 104-1 and second imaging markers 104-2 [0027]). In view of Meyer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the initial orientation positioning marks as taught by Meyer, to the mouthpiece of Weiner, so that the initial orientation positioning marks may be used as a reference point when forming a 3D module to the imaging area [0053].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Ayvali.
Regarding claim 20, Kato discloses the bronchoscope path display device according to claim 19. Kato discloses wherein the tip positioning device is an electromagnetic tracking sensor ([0032]), however only nominally mentions wherein various types of sensors including accelerometers and gyroscopes may be included in the medical apparatus as position sensor ([0045-0047]). In the same field of endeavor, Ayvali discloses a substantially similar medical system including an endoscope comprising a tip positioning device at a tip of the endoscope, wherein the tip positioning device is selected from the group consisting of electromagnetic sensor, accelerometer and a gyroscope (position sensor at the distal end 442 of medical instrument 440, position sensor may be an EM sensor or accelerometer, gyroscope, GPS sensor, radio frequency, etc. [0106]). In view of Ayvali, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have taught wherein an accelerometer and/or a gyroscope are known equivalent alternatives to an electromagnetic sensor withing a distal tip of an endoscope for sensor position of the distal tip of the endoscope, all capable of providing positional information to a computing or processing unit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 6 recites limitations that requires a positioning rotor disposed on a guide rail on the mouthpiece, the positioning rotor comprising a plurality of holes in an annular arrangement and provided with a plurality of elastic clamping devices in an interference fit with the bronchoscope, further requiring an encoder disposed at a position relative to the plurality of holes on the positioning rotor, and detecting a oration direction and rotation angle between the bronchoscope and the mouthpiece according to the direction and a magnitude of displacement of the plurality of holes. Claim 16 recites similar language.
Weiner briefly discloses a potentiometer for converting mechanical rotation into electrical signals, however fails to further describe details recited by claim 11. Kikuchi appears to teach positioning rotor, but fails to disclose wherein the positioning rotor comprises a plurality of the holes in an annular arrangement and appears to only disclose one elastic clamping device. Kikuchi also fails to disclose wherein the direction and magnitude of displacement of specifically the plurality of holes of the positioning rotor is detected by an encoder. The combination of these limitations in claims 6 and 16, in additional to the other limitations of the independent claims and the intervening claims, overcome the prior art of record. While various prior art cited in the PTO-892 show some of the limitations of claims 6 and 16, individually or in lesser combinations, the prior art fails to teach the specific arrangement of the elements, further these is no reason, teaching or suggesting with any prior art of record to modify the systems of Weiner or Kikuchi to meet the limitations of claim 6 and 16. After reviewing the application in light of the prior art of record and the searches of all possible areas relevant to the present application, a set of prior art references have been found, but those prior art references are not deemed strong enough to make the application unpatentable. A hypothetical prior art rejection would require impermissible hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See references cited in PTO-892.
/LI-TING SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
6/30/26