DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the U.S. patent application 19032170 filed on January 20, 2025.
Of original claims 1-20: no claims were canceled; no claims were added; no claims were amended; claims 1, 9 and 15 are independent claims. Accordingly, claims 1-20 remain pending, and have been examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 29, 2025, complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement and has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application or being significantly more.
Regarding independent claims 1, 8 and 14, the claims are directed to an abstract idea as reciting the limitations “accepting …association …,” and “determining …to one of accept …and reject…”. Broadly interpreted, the aforementioned steps are directed to mental processes as said steps could be performed in the human mind. Therefore, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Said abstract idea and/or judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application as the claim does not recite any other active steps that could be considered that the abstract idea is being integrated into a practical application. It’s noted that the claim recites the steps of “receiving …frame anonymization parameters….” However, said steps are not sufficient to consider that the abstract idea is being interpreted into a practical application. Said steps are recited at a high level of generality in gathering/processing/storing information, which are a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
It’s also noted that the claims recite additional limitation/elements (i.e., a computing device, processing unit, memory storage, etc.,). However, said additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computing device performing a generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception or abstract idea using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements/limitations/embodiments that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As mentioned above, although the claims recite additional elements, said elements taken individually or as a combination, do not result in the claim amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea because as the additional elements perform generic computer content distributing functions routinely used in information technology field. As discussed above, the additional elements recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Therefore, the claim is directed to non- statutory subject matter.
Claims 2-7, 9-13 and 15-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter for the same reasons addressed above as the claims recite an abstract idea and the claims do not positively recite any other operations that could be considered as the abstract idea is being integrated into a practical application or significantly more. It’s noted that: claim 2 recites the limitations: “determining based on a frequency of rotation for the parameter rotation …”; claim 3 recites the limitations “determining that the frequency of rotation is greater than a predetermined value”; claim 4 recites the limitations “determining that the frequency of rotation is less than a predetermined value”. Other dependent claims recite similar limitations. Said steps are either directed to mental processes and/or in a form of insignificant extra-solution activities. Therefore, claims 2-7, 9-13 and 15-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Henry et al. (“Henry”; WO2022245622A1).
Per claim 1: Henry discloses a method (Henry FIG. 5) comprising: accepting, by a first computing device, association with a second computing device (Henry para. [006], “FIG. 3 is a message sequence diagram illustrating a call flow associated with communications that can be exchanged between a wireless station (STA) and an access point (AP)”; [NOTE: Regarding the words “first”, “second”, “third”, etc., throughout Applicant’s claims, such words are being interpreted as labels having little patentable weight, and not intended to impose numerical or sequential requirements on their objects or order of execution on their acts”]); receiving, by the first computing device, frame anonymization parameters associated with a parameter rotation from the second computing device (Henry Abstract, “communication from a wireless station (STA) indicating that the STA intends to perform a MAC address rotation; and transmitting, by the AP, a third connnunication to influence the MAC address rotation of the STA, the third connnunication comprising a rotation status indicator and timing information.”; Henry para. [010],” provide a device address rotation management protocol that provides address rotation advisory information to a wireless client device or station (STA) from an access point (AP) for a wireless local area network (WLAN)”; Henry para. [018], “a device address rotation management protocol is provided, which is referred to herein as a randomized and changing MAC address (RCM) management protocol through which an AP and one or more STAs can exchange MAC address rotation control and/or management information that may allow the AP to prompt a STA to execute an RCM action and, in some instances, may provide a frequency or other timing information related to RCM action in order to facilitate MAC address rotations for the STA in a WLAN, such as an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 WLAN.”); and determining, by the first computing device, to one of accept the parameter rotation based on the frame anonymization parameters and reject the parameter rotation based on the frame anonymization parameters (Henry para. [052], “STA or that the rotation schedule is acceptable) or a rotation timer value set to a reserved value of 'null' (potentially meaning don't rotate now or that the AP is not capable of supporting the rotation schedule,”; Henry para. [062], “If the AP 104 determines that the rotation was not performed too soon or that the MAC address is not in use, the AP 104 can accept the authentication/association/reassociation of the STA 112-1, as shown at 414a and communication link for the STA 112-1 may be maintained.”; Henry para. [062], “determines that the MAC address presented by STA 112-1 is currently in use for an active session by STA 112-2 (not shown in FIG. 4) and thus, at 414b, transmits a failure message to STA 112-1 that includes a reason code "address already in use" or something more generic (e.g., "STA not authorized at this location," such as IEEE 802.11-2020 status code 30)”).
Per claim 2: Henry discloses the method of claim 1. Henry further discloses an arrangement wherein determining to one of accept the parameter rotation based on the frame anonymization parameters and reject the parameter rotation based on the frame anonymization parameters comprises determining based on a frequency of rotation for the parameter rotation obtained from the frame anonymization parameters (Henry para. [062], “If the AP 104 determines that the rotation was not performed too soon or that the MAC address is not in use, the AP 104 can accept the authentication/association/reassociation of the STA 112-1, as shown at 414a and communication link for the STA 112-1 may be maintained.”).
Per claim 3: Henry discloses the method of claim 2. Henry further discloses an arrangement wherein determining based on the frequency of rotation for the parameter rotation obtained from the frame anonymization parameters comprises determining that the frequency of rotation is greater than a predetermined value (Henry para. [056], “when an associated STA rotates its MAC faster than an AP can support, the AP may reject the new MAC address of the STA by refusing the reassociation, the reauthentication, or a new association (depending on whether the STA fully deassociates/deauthenticates or not before the rotation) by responding with a failure message”).
Per claim 4: Henry discloses the method of claim 2. Henry further discloses an arrangement wherein determining based on the frequency of rotation for the parameter rotation obtained from the frame anonymization parameters comprises determining that the frequency of rotation is less than a predetermined value (Henry para. [050], “this/these STA(s) have not rotated their MAC address for some threshold period of time.”).
Per claim 5: Henry discloses the method of claim 1. Henry further discloses an arrangement further comprising providing a reason for rejecting when the first computing device determines to reject the parameter rotation based on the frame anonymization parameters (Henry para. [062], “determines that the MAC address presented by STA 112-1 is currently in use for an active session by STA 112-2 (not shown in FIG. 4) and thus, at 414b, transmits a failure message to STA 112-1 that includes a reason code "address already in use" or something more generic (e.g., "STA not authorized at this location," such as IEEE 802.11-2020 status code 30)”; Henry para. [056], “when an associated STA rotates its MAC faster than an AP can support, the AP may reject the new MAC address of the STA by refusing the reassociation, the re-authentication, or a new association (depending on whether the STA fully deassociates/deauthenticates or not before the rotation) by responding with a failure messageand, in some embodiments, a reason code (e.g., AP resources exhausted, "STA not authorized at this location" or the like).”).
Per claim 6: Henry discloses the method of claim 1. Henry further discloses an arrangement wherein the first computing device comprises an Access Point (AP) and the second computing device comprises a client device (Henry para. [010’], “provide a device address rotation management protocol that provides address rotation advisory information to a wireless client device or station (STA) from an access point (AP) for a wireless local area network (WLAN)”); Henry para. [011], “AP supports a Media Access Control (MAC) address rotation management protocol“; [NOTE: Regarding the words “first”, “second”, “third”, etc., throughout Applicant’s claims, such words are being interpreted as labels having little patentable weight, and not intended to impose numerical or sequential requirements on their objects or order of execution on their acts”]).
Per claim 7 Henry discloses the method of claim 1. Henry further discloses an arrangement wherein the first computing device comprises a client device and the second computing device comprises an Access Point (AP) (Henry para. [027], “consider that STA 112-1 seeks to rotate its MAC address. In accordance with embodiments herein, the STA 112-1 sends a notification to the AP 104 indicating that the STA 112-1 intends to perform a MAC address rotation” ; [NOTE: Regarding the words “first”, “second”, “third”, etc., throughout Applicant’s claims, such words are being interpreted as labels having little patentable weight, and not intended to impose numerical or sequential requirements on their objects or order of execution on their acts”]).
Per claim 8: Henry discloses a system (Henry FIG. 1) comprising: a memory storage; and a processing unit, disposed in a first computing device and coupled to the memory storage (Henry FIG. 6), wherein the processing unit is operative to: accept association with a second computing device (Henry para. [006], “FIG. 3 is a message sequence diagram illustrating a call flow associated with communications that can be exchanged between a wireless station (STA) and an access point (AP)”; [NOTE: Regarding the words “first”, “second”, “third”, etc., throughout Applicant’s claims, such words are being interpreted as labels having little patentable weight, and not intended to impose numerical or sequential requirements on their objects or order of execution on their acts”]); receive frame anonymization parameters associated with a parameter rotation from the second computing device (Henry Abstract, “communication from a wireless station (STA) indicating that the STA intends to perform a MAC address rotation; and transmitting, by the AP, a third connnunication to influence the MAC address rotation of the STA, the third connnunication comprising a rotation status indicator and timing information.”; Henry para. [010],” provide a device address rotation management protocol that provides address rotation advisory information to a wireless client device or station (STA) from an access point (AP) for a wireless local area network (WLAN)”; Henry para. [018], “a device address rotation management protocol is provided, which is referred to herein as a randomized and changing MAC address (RCM) management protocol through which an AP and one or more STAs can exchange MAC address rotation control and/or management information that may allow the AP to prompt a STA to execute an RCM action and, in some instances, may provide a frequency or other timing information related to RCM action in order to facilitate MAC address rotations for the STA in a WLAN, such as an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 WLAN.”); and determine to one of accept the parameter rotation based on the frame anonymization parameters and reject the parameter rotation based on the frame anonymization parameters (Henry para. [052], “STA or that the rotation schedule is acceptable) or a rotation timer value set to a reserved value of 'null' (potentially meaning don't rotate now or that the AP is not capable of supporting the rotation schedule,”; Henry para. [062], “If the AP 104 determines that the rotation was not performed too soon or that the MAC address is not in use, the AP 104 can accept the authentication/association/reassociation of the STA 112-1, as shown at 414a and communication link for the STA 112-1 may be maintained.”; Henry para. [062], “determines that the MAC address presented by STA 112-1 is currently in use for an active session by STA 112-2 (not shown in FIG. 4) and thus, at 414b, transmits a failure message to STA 112-1 that includes a reason code "address already in use" or something more generic (e.g., "STA not authorized at this location," such as IEEE 802.11-2020 status code 30)”).
Per claim 9: Henry discloses the system of claim 8. Henry further discloses an arrangement wherein the processing unit being operative to determine to one of accept the parameter rotation based on the frame anonymization parameters and reject the parameter rotation based on the frame anonymization parameters comprises the processing unit being operative to determine based on a frequency of rotation for the parameter rotation obtained from the frame anonymization parameters (Henry para. [062], “If the AP 104 determines that the rotation was not performed too soon or that the MAC address is not in use, the AP 104 can accept the authentication/association/reassociation of the STA 112-1, as shown at 414a and communication link for the STA 112-1 may be maintained.”).
Per claim 10: Henry discloses the system of claim 9. Henry further discloses an arrangement wherein the processing unit being operative to determine based on the frequency of rotation for the parameter rotation obtained from the frame anonymization parameters comprises the processing unit being operative to determine that the frequency of rotation is greater than a predetermined value (Henry para. [056], “when an associated STA rotates its MAC faster than an AP can support, the AP may reject the new MAC address of the STA by refusing the reassociation, the reauthentication, or a new association (depending on whether the STA fully deassociates/deauthenticates or not before the rotation) by responding with a failure message”).
Per claim 11: Henry discloses the system of claim 9. Henry further discloses an arrangement wherein the processing unit being operative to determine based on the frequency of rotation for the parameter rotation obtained from the frame anonymization parameters comprises the processing unit being operative to determine that the frequency of rotation is less than a predetermined value (Henry para. [050], “this/these STA(s) have not rotated their MAC address for some threshold period of time.”).
Per claim 12: Henry discloses the system of claim 8. Henry further discloses an arrangement wherein the processing unit is further operative to provide a reason for rejecting when the first computing device determines to reject the parameter rotation based on the frame anonymization parameters (Henry para. [062], “determines that the MAC address presented by STA 112-1 is currently in use for an active session by STA 112-2 (not shown in FIG. 4) and thus, at 414b, transmits a failure message to STA 112-1 that includes a reason code "address already in use" or something more generic (e.g., "STA not authorized at this location," such as IEEE 802.11-2020 status code 30)”; Henry para. [056], “when an associated STA rotates its MAC faster than an AP can support, the AP may reject the new MAC address of the STA by refusing the reassociation, the re-authentication, or a new association (depending on whether the STA fully deassociates/deauthenticates or not before the rotation) by responding with a failure messageand, in some embodiments, a reason code (e.g., AP resources exhausted, "STA not authorized at this location" or the like).”).
Per claim 13: Henry discloses the system of claim 8. Henry further discloses an arrangement wherein the first computing device comprises an Access Point (AP) and the second computing device comprises a client device (Henry para. [010’], “provide a device address rotation management protocol that provides address rotation advisory information to a wireless client device or station (STA) from an access point (AP) for a wireless local area network (WLAN)”); Henry para. [011], “AP supports a Media Access Control (MAC) address rotation management protocol“; [NOTE: Regarding the words “first”, “second”, “third”, etc., throughout Applicant’s claims, such words are being interpreted as labels having little patentable weight, and not intended to impose numerical or sequential requirements on their objects or order of execution on their acts”]).
Per claim 14: Henry discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Henry para. [083], “software of the present embodiments may be available via a non-transitory computer useable medium (e.g., magnetic or optical mediums, magneto-optic mediums, CD-ROM, DVD, memory devices, etc.) of a stationary or portable program product apparatus, downloadable file(s), file wrapper(s), object(s), package(s), container(s), and/or the like”) that stores a set of instructions which when executed perform a method executed by the set of instructions comprising: accepting, by a first computing device, association with a second computing device (Henry para. [006], “FIG. 3 is a message sequence diagram illustrating a call flow associated with communications that can be exchanged between a wireless station (STA) and an access point (AP)”; [NOTE: Regarding the words “first”, “second”, “third”, etc., throughout Applicant’s claims, such words are being interpreted as labels having little patentable weight, and not intended to impose numerical or sequential requirements on their objects or order of execution on their acts”]); receiving, by the first computing device, frame anonymization parameters associated with a parameter rotation from the second computing device (Henry Abstract, “communication from a wireless station (STA) indicating that the STA intends to perform a MAC address rotation; and transmitting, by the AP, a third connnunication to influence the MAC address rotation of the STA, the third connnunication comprising a rotation status indicator and timing information.”; Henry para. [010],” provide a device address rotation management protocol that provides address rotation advisory information to a wireless client device or station (STA) from an access point (AP) for a wireless local area network (WLAN)”; Henry para. [018], “a device address rotation management protocol is provided, which is referred to herein as a randomized and changing MAC address (RCM) management protocol through which an AP and one or more STAs can exchange MAC address rotation control and/or management information that may allow the AP to prompt a STA to execute an RCM action and, in some instances, may provide a frequency or other timing information related to RCM action in order to facilitate MAC address rotations for the STA in a WLAN, such as an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 WLAN.”); and determining, by the first computing device, to one of accept the parameter rotation based on the frame anonymization parameters and reject the parameter rotation based on the frame anonymization parameters (Henry para. [052], “STA or that the rotation schedule is acceptable) or a rotation timer value set to a reserved value of 'null' (potentially meaning don't rotate now or that the AP is not capable of supporting the rotation schedule,”; Henry para. [062], “If the AP 104 determines that the rotation was not performed too soon or that the MAC address is not in use, the AP 104 can accept the authentication/association/reassociation of the STA 112-1, as shown at 414a and communication link for the STA 112-1 may be maintained.”; Henry para. [062], “determines that the MAC address presented by STA 112-1 is currently in use for an active session by STA 112-2 (not shown in FIG. 4) and thus, at 414b, transmits a failure message to STA 112-1 that includes a reason code "address already in use" or something more generic (e.g., "STA not authorized at this location," such as IEEE 802.11-2020 status code 30)”).
Per claim 15: Henry discloses the medium of claim 14. Henry further discloses an arrangement wherein determining to one of accept the parameter rotation based on the frame anonymization parameters and reject the parameter rotation based on the frame anonymization parameters comprises determining based on a frequency of rotation for the parameter rotation obtained from the frame anonymization parameters (Henry para. [062], “If the AP 104 determines that the rotation was not performed too soon or that the MAC address is not in use, the AP 104 can accept the authentication/association/reassociation of the STA 112-1, as shown at 414a and communication link for the STA 112-1 may be maintained.”).
Per claim 16: Henry discloses the medium of claim 15. Henry further discloses an arrangement wherein determining based on the frequency of rotation for the parameter rotation obtained from the frame anonymization parameters comprises determining that the frequency of rotation is greater than a predetermined value (Henry para. [056], “when an associated STA rotates its MAC faster than an AP can support, the AP may reject the new MAC address of the STA by refusing the reassociation, the reauthentication, or a new association (depending on whether the STA fully deassociates/deauthenticates or not before the rotation) by responding with a failure message”.
Per claim 17: Henry discloses the medium of claim 15. Henry further discloses an arrangement wherein determining based on the frequency of rotation for the parameter rotation obtained from the frame anonymization parameters comprises determining that the frequency of rotation is less than a predetermined value (Henry para. [050], “this/these STA(s) have not rotated their MAC address for some threshold period of time.”).
Per claim 18: Henry discloses the medium of claim 14. Henry further discloses an arrangement further comprising providing a reason for rejecting when the first computing device determines to reject the parameter rotation based on the frame anonymization parameters (Henry para. [062], “determines that the MAC address presented by STA 112-1 is currently in use for an active session by STA 112-2 (not shown in FIG. 4) and thus, at 414b, transmits a failure message to STA 112-1 that includes a reason code "address already in use" or something more generic (e.g., "STA not authorized at this location," such as IEEE 802.11-2020 status code 30)”; Henry para. [056], “when an associated STA rotates its MAC faster than an AP can support, the AP may reject the new MAC address of the STA by refusing the reassociation, the re-authentication, or a new association (depending on whether the STA fully deassociates/deauthenticates or not before the rotation) by responding with a failure messageand, in some embodiments, a reason code (e.g., AP resources exhausted, "STA not authorized at this location" or the like).”).
Per claim 19: Henry discloses the medium of claim 14. Henry further discloses an arrangement wherein the first computing device comprises an Access Point (AP) and the second computing device comprises a client device (Henry para. [010’], “provide a device address rotation management protocol that provides address rotation advisory information to a wireless client device or station (STA) from an access point (AP) for a wireless local area network (WLAN)”); Henry para. [011], “AP supports a Media Access Control (MAC) address rotation management protocol“; [NOTE: Regarding the words “first”, “second”, “third”, etc., throughout Applicant’s claims, such words are being interpreted as labels having little patentable weight, and not intended to impose numerical or sequential requirements on their objects or order of execution on their acts”]).
Per claim 20: Henry discloses the medium of claim 14. Henry further discloses an arrangement 20. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the first computing device comprises a client device and the second computing device comprises an Access Point (AP) (Henry para. [027], “consider that STA 112-1 seeks to rotate its MAC address. In accordance with embodiments herein, the STA 112-1 sends a notification to the AP 104 indicating that the STA 112-1 intends to perform a MAC address rotation” ; [NOTE: Regarding the words “first”, “second”, “third”, etc., throughout Applicant’s claims, such words are being interpreted as labels having little patentable weight, and not intended to impose numerical or sequential requirements on their objects or order of execution on their acts”]).
Conclusion
/Paul Skwierawski/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439
/LUU T PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439