DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to the claims filed 1/20/2025. Claims 1 – 20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 6/11/2025 and 10/24/2025 are acknowledged by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2, 5 – 7, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent to Mahawalli et al. (4,315,523).
Regarding claim 1, examiner notes the claim does not define the “return outlet” and “return flow path” back to the source of the inlet flow. Examiner maintains under broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, a valve with one inlet and two outlets would read on the claim.
Mahawalli et al. disclose a housing assembly (1, 12 Fig. 1) defining an inlet (IN, Fig. 1), a return outlet (9, Fig. 1), a dispensing outlet (7, Fig. 1), a return flow path extending from the inlet (IN, Fig. 1) to the return outlet (9, Fig. 1), and a dispensing flow path extending from the inlet (IN, Fig. 1) to the dispensing outlet (7, Fig. 1); and a diaphragm drip check comprising a plunger (5 with coating, Fig. 1) and a diaphragm (4, Fig. 1) retained within a sensing chamber sealed from the dispensing flow path, at least one magnet (5, Fig. 1) coupled to the diaphragm and generating a magnetic field, and a sensing assembly (6a, 6b, Fig. 1), wherein the plunger is operatively coupled to the diaphragm such that deflection of the diaphragm causes corresponding displacement of the plunger, and wherein the sensing assembly comprises a printed circuit – electronics for the sensors 6a/6b - board and at least one sensor, the printed circuit board positioned on the housing assembly such that the at least one sensor is affected by the at least one magnet as the plunger is displaced within the sensing chamber.
Regarding claim 2, disclose at least one sensor is a Hall effect sensor (Col. 3, Line 65 – Col. 4, Line 7).
Regarding claims 5 – 7, disclose Hall effect sensors used to determine the flow (Col. 3, Line 65 – Col. 4, Line 46).
Regarding claim 10, examiner is interpreting the chambers 12a and 12b to meet this limitation. Examiner maintains when the diaphragm is in the center position the chambers will be same size.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 14 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by US Patent to Mahawalli et al. (4,315,523) in view of US Patent Application Publication to Grimm et al. (2019/0232304).
Regarding claims 11 and 18, Mahawalli et al. disclose precise flow control system comprising a housing assembly (1, 12 Fig. 1) defining an inlet (IN, Fig. 1), a return outlet (9, Fig. 1), a dispensing outlet (7, Fig. 1), a return flow path extending from the inlet (IN, Fig. 1) to the return outlet (9, Fig. 1), and a dispensing flow path extending from the inlet (IN, Fig. 1) to the dispensing outlet (7, Fig. 1); and a diaphragm drip check comprising a plunger (5 with coating, Fig. 1) and a diaphragm (4, Fig. 1) retained within a sensing chamber sealed from the dispensing flow path, at least one magnet (5, Fig. 1) coupled to the diaphragm and generating a magnetic field, and a sensing assembly (6a, 6b, Fig. 1), wherein the plunger is operatively coupled to the diaphragm such that deflection of the diaphragm causes corresponding displacement of the plunger, and wherein the sensing assembly comprises a printed circuit – electronics for the sensors 6a/6b - board and at least one sensor, the printed circuit board positioned on the housing assembly such that the at least one sensor is affected by the at least one magnet as the plunger is displaced within the sensing chamber.
Mahawalli et al. do not disclose a fluid storage tank; a manifold fluidly coupled to the fluid storage tank; a fluid transport device configured to effect fluid flow of a fluid from the fluid storage tank to the manifold; and a plurality of three-way valve assemblies connected in fluid communication with the manifold.
However, Grimm et al. teach a fluid storage tank (12, Fig. 1); a manifold [para. 4] fluidly coupled to the fluid storage tank; a fluid transport device (84, Fig. 3) configured to effect fluid flow of a fluid from the fluid storage tank to the manifold; and a plurality of three-way valve assemblies (52, Fig. 3) connected in fluid communication with the manifold.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the application to have adapted the valve disclosed by Mahawalli et al. with the system taught by Grimm et al. as means of precisely controlling the flow of spray fluid.
Regarding claims 14 – 17, and 19 - 20 in the combination Mahawalli et al. disclose a printed circuit – electronics for the sensors 6a/6b - board and at least one sensor, the printed circuit board positioned on the housing assembly such that the at least one sensor is affected by the at least one magnet as the plunger is displaced within the sensing chamber. Further Mahawalli et al. disclose Hall effect sensors used to determine the flow (Col. 3, Line 65 – Col. 4, Line 46).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 – 4, 8 – 9, 12 – 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication to Grimm et al. (2006/0273189) and (20130269578) both disclosing fluid spraying.
/UMASHANKAR VENKATESAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753