Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 is rejected for being a duplicate of claim 5. Applicant is advised to amend or delete claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-21, 24-25, 28-29 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wahl et al (US Pat. 5,759,990).
Regarding claims 1, 5-6, 9, Wahl et al. teach a surface softening composition comprising water, solvent, at least 25% by weight of softener active and wherein the composition is non-shear sensitive (Examples 21-22 have principal solvent/water ratios and softener active/solvent ratios as claimed and taught to provide non-shear sensitivity) [Abstract and Examples 20-22].
Regarding claims 2-4, Wahl et al. teach softener active has a fatty acid iodine value in the claimed range [4:12-14].
Regarding claims 7-8, Wahl et al. are silent regarding the claimed properties. However, given Wahl et al. teach such similar softening compositions made of such similar materials (same solvent, softener) in such similar quantities, the claimed properties are necessarily inherent to the softening composition of Wahl et al. The present specification teaches the water activity is directly related to the water concentration and solvent/water ratio and Wahl et al. teach such similar water concentration and solvent/water ratio, the claimed water activity is necessarily inherent to Wahl et al.
Regarding claims 10-13, Wahl et al. teach viscosity in the claimed range [2:30-32]. Given Wahl et al. teach such similar softening compositions made of such similar materials (same solvent, softener) in such similar quantities, the claimed property is necessarily inherent to the softening composition of Wahl et al.
Claim 14, Wahl et al. teach about 2% to about 80% softener active, by weight of the surface softening composition [Example 21].
Regarding claim 15, Wahl et al. teach at least 5% solvent, by weight of the surface softening composition [Examples 21-22].
Regarding claims 16-17, Wahl et al. teach almost the same solvent as the present invention and including TMPD, 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol and 1,3-propanediol, 2-methyl-2-isopropyl -c7, n-BO and therefore the claimed ClogP is inherent to Wahl et al.
Regarding claims 18-21, Wahl et al. teach the solvent is TMPD or 1,2 hexanediol [Examples 21-22 and 3:19-20].
Regarding claim 24, Wahl et al. teach the softener active comprises a quaternary ammonium compound [6:43-50].
Regarding claim 25, Wahl et al. teach the softener active with the claimed a and b structures and limitations [1:34-2:67].
Regarding claims 28-29, Wahl et al. teach softener active that is identical or substantially identical to that of the instant invention. While the phase transition temperatures is not disclosed, the phase transition temperature is an inherent physical property of a given softener active and since such identical or substantially identical softener actives are taught, the softener active of Wahl et al. would reasonably be expected to possess the same phase transition temperature. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 31-32, Wahl et al. teach softener actives that contain ester moieties including N,N-di(acyloxyethyl)-N.N-dimethylammonium chloride [6:3-14]. Wahl et al. also teach DEQA softener active is preferably present in diester form with at least 80% of the DEQA being diester and up to 20% being monoester.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-23, 26-27 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wahl et al (US Pat. 5,759,990).
Regarding claims 22-23, Wahl et al. teach softener active concentrations of 2-80% and principal solvent concentrations below 40%. These ranges encompass compositions having softener active : solvent ratios in the claimed range such as 64% softener active and 8% solvent or 12% softener active and 30% solvent. Therefore, given Wahl et al. teach the claimed ratios, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed ratios in order to affect viscosity, stability and processability of the softening composition.
Regarding claim 26, Wahl et al. teach softener active having the claimed formula [2:1-10] and teaches chloride as the counterion and methyl sulfate as a suitable softener compatible counterion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute methyl sulfate for chloride in the compound because Wahl et al. teaches both as suitable counterions for the same softener actives and such would have been predictable use of known alternatives with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 27, Wahl et al. teach inclusion of multiple softener actives including monooleyl trimethyl ammonium chloride as a preferred mono-long-chain quaternary ammonium compound in order to improve dispersibility and provide additional softening benefits [22:46-50]. This meets (h) in claim 27.
Regarding claim 33, Wahl et al. teach aqueous softening compositions for treating textile during home laundering. Although Wahl et al. do not expressly say the treated textile has one or more plies, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat textile articles with one or more plies such as clothing because such articles are conventional articles used in home laundering.
Regarding claim 34, Wahl et al. teach a method of providing textile fabrics and treating them with aqueous softening compositions during the rinse cycle of home laundering. Such laundering brings the softening composition into contact with exposed surfaces of the textile and therefore Wahl et al. teach applying fabric softening composition to at least one surface of a textile fibrous structure to impart softness.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wahl et al (US Pat. 5,759,990) in view of Sajic et al. (PG Pub. 2006/0264352).
Regarding claim 7, Wahl et al. teaches the importance of maintaining low viscosity and recovering acceptable viscosity after freeze/that exposure, but are silent regarding the specific temperature stability claimed. However, Sajic et al. teaches viscosity stability during storage at various temperatures is a property that is important in fabric softening compositions and also shows compositions that have a small viscosity change after storage and therefore teaches it as a results effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the temperature stability of the compositions in Wahl et al. in order to minimize the viscosity changes during temperature exposure and have a reasonable expectation of success in improving storage stability and maintaining performance and arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wahl et al (US Pat. 5,759,990) in view of Frankenbach et al. (WO 1999027050).
Regarding claim 30, Wahl et al. teach biodegradable diester quaternary ammonium softener active DEQA8 which comprises unsaturated fatty acyl groups. Wahl et al. teach cis-unsaturation lowers the melting point of softener active and improves fluidity and processability. Although Wahl et al. does not disclose that DEQA8 is amorphous, Frankenbach et al. teach using amorphous fabric softener actives with no significant endothermic phase transition between -50 degrees Celsius and 100 degrees Celsius in order to improve fluidity, handling and stability. Frankenbach et al. also teach the unsaturated ester-linked softener actives of Wahl et al. are suitable materials for fabric softening compositions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the amorphous softener active of Frankenbach et al. in Wahl et al. in order to improve fluidity, handling and stability and arrive at the claimed invention.
Prior Art Not Used but Relevant
US Pat. 6,992,057 teaches quaternary softening compositions.
Conclusion
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789