DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/21/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2/1, 5/4 are objected to because of the following informalities: “one of at least half”. It is believed to be a typographical omission and applicant meant to recite “at least half”? Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 19/18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is not clear what applicant means by “wherein the rotor, the stator, the power module section, the first channel, and second channel are configured as layers in between the rotor and the capacitor section”? How can the rotor be in between layers of itself?
To advance prosecution of case on merits, examiner interprets it to mean (in accordance to para 48 of applicant’s USPGPUB (US 20250246973) which states “wherein the stator, the power module section, the first channel, and second channel are configured as layers in between the rotor and the capacitor section”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 2022/0021267).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi et al. teaches:
An electric motor (abstract) comprising:
a rotor (40);
a stator (50);
a power module section (601,602, paras 697-700) having one or more power modules of an inverter (600);
a first channel (545) arranged in between the stator (50) and a first side of the power module section (601,602) for conveying a coolant in between the stator (50) and the first side of the power module section (para 711); and
a second channel (623) arranged at a second side of the power module section (601,602 by numeral 603) for conveying a coolant alongside the second side of the power module section (para 713);
wherein the first side is located opposite of the second side (Fig 61).
Takahashi et al teaches the invention as discussed above, but in different embodiments.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of combining the teachings of Takahashi et al. to make applicant’s above claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine Takahashi et al.’s teachings to make applicant’s invention as discussed above.
The motivation to do so would be based on desired cooling (paras 6-7), cost (para 590), weight (para 413) and efficiency (para 196)
Regarding claim 2/1, Takahashi et al teaches the invention as discussed above, except wherein the first channel extends around one of at least half of a circumference of the power module section and the stator.
However, since Takahashi et al. discloses a housing member with a coolant passage in the circumferential direction (para 7), a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of modifying it wherein the first channel extends around one of at least half of a circumference of the power module section and the stator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Takahashi et al.’s wherein the first channel extends around one of at least half of a circumference of the power module section and the stator.
The motivation to do so would be based on desired cooling (paras 6-7), cost (para 590), weight (para 413) and efficiency (para 196).
Regarding claim 3/2, Takahashi et al teaches wherein the rotor, the stator, at least part of the power module section, at least part of the first channel, and at least part of the second channel are arranged coaxial to each other (Figs 1,61).
Regarding claim 4/1, Takahashi et al teaches wherein the electric motor further comprises a capacitor section (604, Fig 61, para 713) having a capacitor of the inverter, wherein the second channel (623) is arranged in between the capacitor section (604) and the second side of the power module section (601,602 by numeral 603) for conveying the coolant between the capacitor section and the second side of the power module section.
Regarding claim 5/4, Takahashi et al teaches the invention as discussed above, except wherein the second channel extends around one of at least half of a circumference of the power module section and the capacitor section.
However, since Takahashi et al. discloses a housing member with a coolant passage in the circumferential direction (para 7), a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of modifying it wherein the second channel extends around one of at least half of a circumference of the power module section and the capacitor section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Takahashi et al.’s wherein the second channel extends around one of at least half of a circumference of the power module section and the capacitor section.
The motivation to do so would be based on desired cooling (paras 6-7), cost (para 590), weight (para 413) and efficiency (para 196).
Regarding claim 7/4, Takahashi et al teaches wherein the rotor, the stator, at least part of the power module section, at least part of the first channel, at least part of the second channel, and at least part of the capacitor section are arranged coaxial to each other (Figs 1 and 61).
Regarding claim 12/1, Takahashi et al teaches wherein the one or more power modules comprises a semiconductor chip (para 698).
Regarding claim 13/1, Takahashi et al teaches wherein the rotor at least partially surrounds the stator and the stator at least partially surrounds the power module section (Figs 1, 61).
Regarding claim 14/1, Takahashi et al teaches wherein the stator at least partially surrounds the rotor and the power module section at least partially surrounds the stator (Figs 1.61).
Regarding claim 15/1, Takahashi et al teaches wherein the rotor is configured as an external layer of the electric motor (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 16/4, Takahashi et al teaches wherein the capacitor section (604) is configured as a core of the electric motor.
Regarding claim 18/1, Takahashi et al teaches the invention as discussed above, except wherein the stator, the power module section, the first channel, and second channel are configured as layers in between the rotor and the capacitor section.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of modifying Takahashi et al.’s device wherein the stator, the power module section, the first channel, and second channel are configured as layers in between the rotor and the capacitor section, since it would depend on cost, cooling, weight.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Takahashi et al.’s wherein the stator, the power module section, the first channel, and second channel are configured as layers in between the rotor and the capacitor section.
The motivation to do so would be based on desired cooling (paras 6-7), cost (para 590), weight (para 413) and efficiency (para 196) and available space surrounding adjacent components.
Regarding claim 19/18, Takahashi et al teaches the invention as discussed above, except wherein the layers comprising the rotor, the stator, the power module section, the first channel, and second channel are extending in a radial direction of the electric motor.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of modifying Takahashi et al.’s device wherein the layers comprising the rotor, the stator, the power module section, the first channel, and second channel are extending in a radial direction of the electric motor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Takahashi et al.’s wherein the layers comprising the rotor, the stator, the power module section, the first channel, and second channel are extending in a radial direction of the electric motor.
The motivation to do so would be based on desired cooling (paras 6-7), cost (para 590), weight (para 413) and efficiency (para 196) and available space surrounding adjacent components.
Regarding claim 20, Takahashi et al. teaches:
A vehicle (pre-amble, patentable weight not given) comprising an electric motor (abstract), wherein the electric motor comprises:
a rotor (40);
a stator (50);
a power module section (601,602, paras 697-700) having one or more power modules of an inverter (600);
a first channel (545) arranged in between the stator (50) and a first side of the power module section (601,602) for conveying a coolant in between the stator (50) and the first side of the power module section (para 711); and
a second channel (623) arranged at a second side of the power module section (601,602 by numeral 603) for conveying a coolant alongside the second side of the power module section (para 713);
wherein the first side is located opposite of the second side (Fig 61).
Takahashi et al teaches the invention as discussed above, but in different embodiments.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of combining the teachings of Takahashi et al. to make applicant’s above claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine Takahashi et al.’s teachings to make applicant’s invention as discussed above.
The motivation to do so would be based on desired cooling (paras 6-7), cost (para 590), weight (para 413) and efficiency (para 196).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8-11 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In claim 6/4 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein at least part of the capacitor section is one of surrounded by the stator and surrounding the stator, is one of surrounded by the rotor and surrounding the rotor, is one of surrounded by the power module section and surrounding the power module section, is one of surrounded by the first channel and surrounding the first channel, and is one of surrounded by the second channel and surrounding the second channel.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 8/1 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the electric motor further comprises an electric motor module, wherein the electric motor module comprises at least three electric motor segments, each one of the electric motor segments comprising at least one core portion of the stator, at least a portion of the first channel, at least a portion of the second channel, and one of the power modules, wherein the electric motor module is configured such that each one of the electric motor segments provides one of three phases of alternating current of the electric motor module.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Claims 9-11 are also allowable for depending on claim 8.
In claim 17/8 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the electric motor segment has conical shape from the rotor towards the capacitor section.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for details.
NAISHADH N. DESAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/NAISHADH N DESAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834