DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1, 3, 6-16, 25, 27, and 29-40 are pending in this office action. Claims 2, 4-5, 17-24, 26 and 28 are cancelled. All pending claims are under examination in this application.
Priority
The current application filed on January 21, 2025 is a continuation of abandoned application 17/312,579. The abandoned application was a 371 of PCT/US2019/065474 filed December 10, 2019, which in turn claims domestic priority to a provisional patent application 62/777,486 filed on December 10, 2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on January 23, 2025 is acknowledged. A signed copy of the document is attached to this office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 8, and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6: The text “wherein” appears twice. Please delete one.
Claim 8: Please amend the claim body text to read, “…copper with at least one additional…”.
Claim 30: Please amend the claim body text to read, “…implantable medical device is surgically implanted…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-16, 25, 27, and 29-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiagarajan et al. (WO2016/160983A1) in view of Ogle et al. (WO01/12246A1), Schierholz (WO2017/134049A1), Sugino et al. (EP3424467A1).
[The Examiner is going to introduce each reference and then combine them where appropriate to reject the instant claims. For ease of examination, the Examiner relied upon EP3424467A1 as an equivalent English translation of the Japanese publication JPWO2017/150534A1. All citations henceforth to Sugino et al. are locations in the European Patent Application.]
1. Thiagarajan et al.
Thiagarajan et al. is regarded as being the prior art closest to the subject-matter of the present application as it teaches the application of antimicrobial agents to medical devices (see title). Thiagarajan et al. disclose invasive medical devices including a substantially non-eluting antimicrobial treatment. One or more external and/or internal surfaces of the medical device include a substantially non-eluting copper-coated surface that assists in preventing microbial colonization of the coated surface. This in turn reduces the incidence of infection to the patient originating from the medical device. In one embodiment, a catheter assembly is disclosed and comprises an elongate catheter tube that defines at least one lumen, at least one extension leg including a luer connector, and a bifurcation hub including at least one fluid passageway that provides fluid communication between the extension leg and the lumen. A substantially non-eluting copper coating is disposed on a surface of at least one of the lumen, the extension leg, the luer connector, and the fluid passageway. The coating is applied via an electroless deposition process. A water-shed coating is disposed on the copper coating (see abstract).
2. Ogle et al.
Ogle et al. teach medical devices with metal/polymer composites (see title). Ogle et al. disclose medical devices that are formed from metal/poylmer composites that have improved characteristics. The metal/polymer composites have a relatively thick metal coating with an average metal thickness of greater than about 3 microns. The composite has mechanical properties, such as mechanical strength, durability and resiliency, contributed by the metal coating. The metal/polymer composites can be formed by solution based or vapor based approaches. (see abstract).
Furthermore, Ogle et al. disclose that a surgically-implantable device is not transcutaneous, and can be a shunt, a drainage tube, a ventricular assist device, an orthopedic implant. Ogle et al. also disclose the use of an electric power wire (i.e. a drive line for an internal device that receives power from an external source) for cardiovascular implants and any other implants that come in contact with the patient's body tissue (see page 6). Additionally, Ogle et al. disclose implants representing cardiovascular shunts, biological channels, and stents for urination (the implant that includes a lumen that is not exposed to external positive or negative pressure during use after implantation).
3. Schierholz
Schierholz teaches implantable medical products, a process for the preparation thereof, and the use thereof (see title). Furthermore, Schierholz discloses implantable medical products, comprising a basic body and an imidazole derivative in the form of its free base; wherein said basic body has on its polymeric surface a layer containing the imidazole derivative as an active ingredient, which displays an antithrombogenic, antiproliferative, anti-inflammatory or antiadhesive effect, or a combination thereof (see abstract).
4. Sugino et al.
Sugino et al. teach an antibacterial apparatus for in-vivo implantation (see title). Additionally, Sugino et al. disclose an antimicrobial interbody cage made of a first
material and a second material, wherein a body of the interbody cage comprises the second material; at least a part of the body of the interbody cage is coated with
the first material; at least a surface of the first material comprises an antimicrobial metal; at least a surface of the second material is nobler than the first material; an
electric circuit is formed between the first material and the second material when the device is implanted in vivo for use; and ions of the antimicrobial metal are eluted from the first material under a presence of an electrolyte to impart an antimicrobial property to a surface and/or a surrounding area of the first material (see abstract).
Combination of Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al.
Regarding instant claim 1, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach an antimicrobial implantable medical device. The necessary citations within Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. that correspond to instant claim 1 are compiled within Table I.
Table I
Instant Claim 1
Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. Citation
an antimicrobial implantable medical device, comprising:
Thiagarajan et al. disclose an antimicrobial implantable medical device (see title and abstract within Thiagarajan et al.).
an implantable medical device
Thiagarajan et al. disclose an implantable medical device (see title and abstract within Thiagarajan et al.).
and an electroless deposition layer of an antimicrobial metal in the form of an elemental metal or alloy thereof, wherein the antimicrobial metal is selected from copper, silver, zinc, gold, tin, or a combination thereof, wherein the electroless deposition layer is from 0.0005 mm to 1 mm in thickness and is applied to an exterior surface of at least a portion of the implantable medical device to form the antimicrobial implantable medical device,
Thiagarajan et al. disclose the use of an antimicrobial metal (elemental copper or its alloy; see paragraph [00050] within Thiagarajan et al.) that is applied to the exterior surface by the process of electroless deposition (see paragraph [00034] within Thiagarajan et al.). Thiagarajan et al. disclose a copper coating for antimicrobial purposes (see paragraph [00047] within Thiagarajan et al.). Thiagarajan et al. fails to disclose alternative antimicrobial metals. However, Olge et al. disclose several antimicrobial metals.
Ogle et al. disclose the metal coating comprises an antimicrobial metal selected from the group consisting of silver, gold, platinum, palladium, iridium, copper, tin, lead, antimony, bismuth and zinc (see claim 4 within Olge et al.).
Furthermore, Thiagarajan et al. disclose a thickness of the copper surface is from 0.8 mm to 2.6 mm (see paragraph [00037] within Thiagarajan et al.).
wherein when the antimicrobial implantable medical device is surgically implanted, the electroless deposition layer is located to be positioned i) within a body tissue or ii) traversing the body tissue of a subject,
Thiagarajan et al. disclose one or more external and/or internal surfaces of the medical device include a substantially non-eluting copper-coated surface that assists in preventing microbial colonization of the coated surface (see paragraph [00026] within Thiagarajan et al.). Furthermore, Thiagarajan et al. disclose at least a portion of the device to be disposed within the body of a patient so as to provide a conduit or other invasive access to the patient. Examples of such an indwelling medical devices include a catheter or an implantable access port, both for providing central venous access (see paragraph [00025] within Thiagarajan et al.). Finally, Thiagarajan disclose that an invasive medical device is understood to include medical devices that are partially inserted or fully implanted into the
body of a patient, either temporarily or permanently (see paragraph [0025] within Thiagarajan et al.). Also see paragraphs [00042-00046] and [00051] within Thiagarajan et al.
wherein the exterior surface has a surface roughness introduced by chemical etching, mechanical abrasion, physical etching, plasma treatment, or combination thereof, and wherein the antimicrobial metal is applied to the exterior surface having the surface roughness.
Finally, Thiagarajan et al. disclose electroless deposition includes, in the present embodiment, process first including a cleaning of the surfaces on which deposition is to occur, before physically masking the parts of the medical device not desiring to be coated…the surface to be coated is prepared by mechanically etching the surface via silicon carbide high-pressure sand blasting, though other etching procedures can be employed, including chemical etching in one embodiment (see paragraph [00034] within Thiagarajan et al.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thiagarajan et al. with the teachings of Olge et al. The motivation to combine the two references would be to create an implantable medical device coated with different antimicrobial metals by electroless deposition.
Regarding instant claim 3, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach wherein the antimicrobial metal includes an antimicrobial metal fiber or filament positioned at least partially at the exterior surface.
Thiagarajan et al. disclose implantable medical devices located inside the body tissue or intersecting the body tissue, including an antimicrobial metal layer on both sides (with all sides) of the human body tissue at the required distance (see paragraphs [00025], [00042-00044] and [00047] within Thiagarajan et al.). Also, by definition a catheter (see abstract within Thiagarajan et al.) can exist at least partially at the exterior surface of a subject (see PTO-892 NPL U).
Regarding instant claim 6, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach wherein the device has no access to blood flow.
Medical devices having no access to blood flow include: (tissue and surface implants) breast implants, orthopedic implants, cochlear implants, dental implants, and urinary catheters; or (non-invasive external devices) mechanical ventilators, external defibrillators, blood pressure cuffs, and pulse oximeters (see PTO-892 NPL X). Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. disclose several of these devices (see page 6, lines 13-28 within Olge et al.; and see abstract within Thiagarajan et al.).
Regarding instant claim 7, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach wherein the exterior surface having the surface roughness includes a polymer.
Thiagarajan et al. disclose the surface to be coated is prepared by mechanically etching the surface via silicon carbide high-pressure sand blasting, though other etching procedures can be employed, including chemical etching in one embodiment (see paragraph [00034] within Thiagarajan et al.). Furthermore, Olge et al. disclose the use of both hydrophobic and hydrophilic polymers (stable to the metal deposition process) as part of the coating process (as a substrate or coating; see page 9, lines 3-34; and page 10, lines 1-24 within Olge et al.).
Regarding instant claim 8, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach wherein the antimicrobial metal is elemental copper, or wherein the antimicrobial metal is an alloy of greater than 50 wt% elemental copper and at least one additional elemental metal.
Thiagarajan et al. disclose that the antimicrobial metal is elemental copper or its alloy (see paragraph [00050] within Thiagarajan et al.).
Combination of Thiagarajan et al., Olge et al., and Schierholz
Regarding instant claims 9 and 11, Thiagarajan et al., Olge et al., and Schierholz teach wherein the implantable medical device is a tympanostomy tube, a shunt, a cerebral shunt, an external ventricular drain, a ventricular assist device, an orthopedic implant, a sensory or neurological implant, a sinus drainage device, a cochlear implant, or a hernia mesh with the proviso that with respect to the shunt, the cerebral shunt, the external ventricular drain, and the sinus drainage device, an interior lumen thereof is uncoated with the electroless deposition layer; and wherein the implantable medical device is a surgically-implantable device that is not transcutaneous, residing and wherein the antimicrobial metal resides when implanted completely beneath a skin surface of the body of the subject.
Olge et al. disclose implanted devices include, without limitation, prostheses such as pacemakers, electrical leads such as pacing leads, defibrillators, artificial hearts, ventricular assist devices, anatomical reconstruction prostheses such as breast implants, artificial heart valves, heart valve stents, pericardial patches, surgical patches, coronary stents, vascular grafts, vascular and structural stents, vascular or cardiovascular shunts, biological conduits, pledgets, suture, annuloplasty rings, stents, staples, valved grafts, dermal grafts for wound healing, orthopedic spinal implants, orthopedic pins, intrauterine devices (IUDs), urinary stents, maxial facial reconstruction plating, dental implants, intraocular lenses, clips, sternal wires, bone, skin, ligaments, tendons, and combinations thereof (see page 6, lines 13-28 within Olge et al.; also see abstract within Olge et al.). Furthermore, Thiagarajan et al. disclose the catheter (medical device) to drain biological fluids (see abstract within Thiagarajan et al.). Also, Schierholz discloses the use of neurological implants (see page 9, paragraph 2 within Schierholz).
Combination of Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al.
Regarding instant claim 10, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach the wherein the implantable medical device is a surgically-implantable transcutaneous device.
Thiagarajan et al. disclose the implantable medical device is a surgically-implantable transcutaneous device (see paragraph [00042] within Thiagarajan et al.).
Combination of Thiagarajan et al., Olge et al., and Schierholz
Regarding instant claim 12, Thiagarajan et al., Olge et al., and Schierholz teach wherein the implantable medical device is a tympanostomy tube or a cochlear implant.
Schierholz discloses the use of cochlear implant electrodes (see page 9, paragraph 2).
Combination of Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al.
Regarding instant claim 13, Thiagarajan et al. and Ogle et al. teach wherein the implantable medical device is a shunt, an external ventricular drain, or a sinus drainage device, with the proviso that an interior lumen thereof is uncoated with the electroless deposition layer.
Ogle et al. disclose the use of the implanted device, vascular or cardiovascular shunts (see page 6, lines 20-21 within Olge et al.) and the percutaneous device, drainage tubes (see page 6, line 31 within Olge et al.). A skilled artisan would understand that an interior lumen thereof is left uncoated with the electroless deposition layer (see abstract within Thiagarajan et al.).
Regarding instant claim 14, Thiagarajan et al. and Ogle et al. teach further comprising a protective coating applied on top of the electroless deposition layer.
Olge et al. disclose the use of both hydrophobic and hydrophilic polymers (stable to the metal deposition process) as part of the coating process (as a substrate or coating; see page 9, lines 3-34; page 10, lines 1-24 within Olge et al.). These polymers can be used to apply a protective coating on top of the electroless deposition layer.
Regarding instant claim 15, Thiagarajan et al. and Ogle et al. teach wherein protective coating includes a wax, a hydrophilic polymer, or a hydrophobic polymer.
Olge et al. disclose the use of both hydrophobic and hydrophilic polymers (stable to the metal deposition process) as part of the coating process (as a substrate or coating; see page 9, lines 3-34; page 10, lines 1-24 within Olge et al.).
Regarding instant claim 16, Thiagarajan et al. and Ogle et al. teach wherein the implantable medical device is a ventricular assist device, a cardiovascular implant, a cochlear implant, or a hernia mesh.
Ogle et al. disclose the use of the implanted devices including ventricular assist devices, and cardiovascular implants such as pacing leads, defibrillators, and artificial hearts (see page 6, lines 14-16 within Olge et al.).
Regarding instant claim 25, Thiagarajan et al. and Ogle et al. teach wherein electroless deposition layer has a thickness from 0.001 mm to 0.1 mm.
Thiagarajan et al. disclose a thickness (electroless deposition process) of the copper surface is from 0.8 mm to 2.6 mm (see paragraph [00037] within Thiagarajan et al.).
Regarding instant claim 27, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach wherein the implantable medical device is at a location where it is within the body tissue or traverses the body tissue such that the electroless deposition layer thereon extends beyond at least 0.5 cm on one or both sides of the body tissue.
Thiagarajan et al. disclose implantable medical devices located inside the body tissue or intersect the body tissue, including an antimicrobial metal layer on both sides (with all sides) of the human body tissue at the required distance. A certain distance of 0.5 cm can be selected experimentally under routine conditions by a person skilled in the art (POSITA; person having ordinary skill in the art) to prevent the appearance/spread of microbes.
Regarding instant claim 29, Thiagarajan et al. and Ogle et al. teach wherein the implantable medical device in operation includes a lumen that is not subjected to externally applied positive or negative pressure while in use after implantation.
Ogle et al. disclose the use of a catheter (see claim 13 and abstract within Olge et al.) that includes a lumen (space where bodily fluids travel) and is not subjected externally applied positive or negative pressure while in use after implantation.
Regarding instant claim 30, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach a method of ameliorating implantable medical device-related infection, comprising surgically placing the antimicrobial implantable medical device of instant claim 1 at least partially within the body of the subject, wherein the electroless deposition layer of the medical device is positioned for implantation at a location of within the body tissue or traversing the body tissue of a subject such that the antimicrobial metal at the exterior surface is in contact with the body tissue when the antimicrobial implantable medical device surgically implanted.
Thiagarajan et al. disclose a method of ameliorating implantable medical device-related infection, comprising surgically placing said implantable medical device at least partially within the body of a subject, wherein the antimicrobial metal layer of the medical device is positioned for implantation at a location of within the body tissue or traversing a body tissue (see paragraph [0002] and [00026]; also see method claims 19-30; and abstract within Thiagarajan et al.). Furthermore, see the discussions within instant claims 1 and 3 within Thiagarajan et al. for additional relevant rejection citations.
Combination of Thiagarajan et al., Olge et al., and Sugino et al.
Regarding instant claim 31, Thiagarajan et al., Olge et al., and Sugino et al. teach the method of ameliorating implantable medical device-related infection of instant claim 30, further comprising applying an electrical potential to the electroless deposition layer while the electroless deposition layer is positioned at the location.
Sugino et al. disclose an antimicrobial implant device of the present invention is an implant device made of a first material and a second material, wherein at least a surface of the first material comprises an antimicrobial metal; at least a surface of the second material is nobler than the first material; an electric circuit is formed between the first material and the second material when the device is implanted in vivo for use; and ions of the antimicrobial metal are eluted from the first material under a presence of an electrolyte to impart an antimicrobial property to a surface and/or a surrounding area of the first material. The antimicrobial implant device disclosed by Sugino et al. is made of at least two materials, and simply because these two materials are contacted in vivo, a short circuit occurs to form an electric circuit (see paragraphs [0010] and [0015] within Sugino et al.). Additionally, please see the discussion and citations within instant claim 30 for the necessary rejection text.
Combination of Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al.
Regarding instant claim 32, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach the method of ameliorating implantable medical device-related infection of instant claim 30, wherein the implantable medical device is a transcutaneous device, and the method further comprises leaving a margin of at least 0.5 cm outside of the body beyond the location of insertion through the cutaneous tissue.
Please see the discussion of instant claim 30 above within Thiagarajan et al. Furthermore, Thiagarajan et al. disclose the use of a transcutaneous device (see paragraph [0026] within Thiagarajan et al.). A POSITA would under routine experimental conditions find an optimal margin of at least 0.5 cm outside the body (similar to the instant claim 27 discussion) beyond the location of insertion through the cutaneous tissue.
Regarding instant claim 33, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach a method of manufacturing an antimicrobial implantable medical device comprising:
introducing surface roughness to an exterior surface of an implantable medical device, wherein the implantable medical device is a tympanostomy tube, a shunt, a cerebral shunt, an external ventricular drain, a ventricular assist device, an orthopedic implant, a sensory or neurological implant, a sinus drainage device, a cochlear implant, or a hernia mesh; and
sealing off an interior lumen of the implantable medical device when the implantable medical device is in the form of the shunt, the cerebral shunt, the external ventricular drain, or the sinus drainage device to prevent metal deposition within its interior lumen; and
applying an electroless deposition layer at a thickness from 0.0005 mm to 1 mm to the surface roughness at the exterior location at least at a location where the antimicrobial implantable medical device is positionable i) within a body tissue or ii) traversing the body tissue of a subject, wherein the electroless deposition layer is in the form of an elemental metal or alloy of the elemental metal, and wherein the elemental metal includes copper, silver, zinc, gold, tin, or a combination thereof.
Please see the discussion and citations within instant claims 1, 9, and 11 for the necessary rejection text. A skilled artisan (POSITA) using the scope of the device would create the claim limitations for the process of manufacture of the antimicrobial medical device. A skilled artisan (POSITA) would monitor all the medical device catheters (or shunts; rerouting bodily fluids) and seal off any internal lumen to prevent metal deposition within its interior lumen as a common protocol.
Regarding instant claim 34, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach the method of instant claim 33, wherein the electroless deposition layer includes the copper as the elemental metal and is formed using a copper salt source material which in solution is reduced to metallic copper in the presence of a reducing agent which in turn gets oxidized and the metallic copper atoms are deposited on the external surface in the bath to generate the electroless deposition layer of the copper or an alloy of the copper.
Thiagarajan et al. disclose using copper as the preferred antimicrobial metal in the coating process by electroless deposition (see abstract and claim 1 both within Thiagarajan et al.). In addition, Thiagarajan et al. disclose the bifurcation hub (16) is then placed in a liquid copper chloride bath where an auto-catalytic reaction forms the relatively thin, uniform coating (42) on the unmasked portions of the hub as a result of an oxido-reduction reaction (electroless deposition; see paragraph [00035] within Thiagarajan et al.).
Regarding instant claim 35, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach the method of claim 33, wherein the exterior surface of the implantable medical device includes a polymer surface, and wherein the method further includes a preliminary step of introducing surface roughness to the polymer surface by chemical etching, mechanical abrasion, physical etching, or plasma treatment.
Please see the discussion and citations within instant claims 1 and 7 for the necessary rejection text.
Regarding instant claim 36, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach the method of claim 33, further comprising applying a protective coating applied on top of the electroless deposition layer.
Please see the discussion and citations within instant claim 14 for the necessary rejection text.
Regarding instant claim 37, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach wherein the antimicrobial metal that forms the electroless deposition layer is copper or a copper alloy having greater than 50 wt% copper.
Please see the discussion and citations within instant claim 8 for the necessary rejection text.
Regarding instant claim 38, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach wherein applying an antimicrobial metal is carried out by dipping the exterior surface in a bath of divalent metal-containing bath that is reduced to a metallic metal.
Please see the discussion and citations within instant claim 34 for the necessary rejection text. Divalent copper is used within Thiagarajan et al. (see claim 28 within Thiagarajan et al.; and see PTO-892 NPL V). An example of electroless deposition uses the technique of dipping the exterior surface in a bath of divalent metal-containing bath that is reduced to a metallic metal (see PTO-892 NPL W).
Regarding instant claim 39, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach wherein the implantable medical device is the tympanostomy tube.
Please see the discussion and citations within instant claims 9, 11, and 12 for the necessary rejection text. A skilled artisan (POSITA) would expand the medical device lists of Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. to include a tympanostomy tube for ear surgery.
Regarding instant claim 40, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. teach further comprising sealing off an interior lumen of the implantable medical device when the implantable medical device is in the form of the tympanostomy tube to prevent metal deposition within its interior lumen. Please see the discussion and citations within instant claims 33 and 39 for the necessary rejection text. A skilled artisan (POSITA) would employ the same sealing off an interior lumen of the implantable medical device when the implantable medical device is in the form of the tympanostomy tube to prevent metal deposition within its interior lumen as with catheters, shunts, and stents.
Analogous Art
The Thiagarajan et al., Olge et al., Schierholz, and Sugino et al. references are directed to the same field of endeavor as the instant claims, that is, an antimicrobial implantable medical device, as disclosed within instant claim 1.
Obviousness Analysis
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antimicrobial coated medical device as disclosed by Thiagarajan et al., using the teachings of Olge et al., Schierholz, and Sugino et al. in order to arrive at the subject matter of the instant claims.
The Thiagarajan et al., Olge et al., Schierholz, and Sugino et al. references all have considerable overlap in the medical device arts. In this instance, Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. supply the template for the antimicrobial coated medical device, Schierholz discloses both neurological and cochlear implants, while Sugino et al. supplies support for the electrical potential to an implantable medical device. All references are directed to the application of medical devices and therefore constitute analogous art under MPEP §2141.01(a). A POSITA would have reasonably consulted the four references when seeking to develop an enhanced antimicrobial medical device.
Given these teachings, a POSITA would have been motivated to combine the template for the antimicrobial coated medical device disclosed by both Thiagarajin et al. and Olge et al. into both the neurological and cochlear implants disclosed by Schierholz, and the electrical potential to an implantable medical device set-up as disclosed by Sugino et al.
The modification constitutes a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain a predictable results [MPEP §2143(I)(B)].
The combination represents the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way [MPEP §2143(I)(C)].
The art provides a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, and the POSITA would have pursued the claimed configuration with a reasonable expectation of success [MPEP §2143(I)(E); KSR].
The combination of the antimicrobial medical devices taught by Thiagarajan et al. and Olge et al. along with the use of the necessary claim limitations taught by Schierholz and Sugino et al. would allow a research and development scientist (POSITA) to create the invention taught in the instant application.
Furthermore, the additional claim limitations taught by Olge et al., Schierholz and Sugino et al. would have been viewed by a POSITA as routine design optimizations or known modifications for antimicrobial medical devices. The motivation to combine the four references would be to create a variety of implantable medical devices coated with different antimicrobial metals by electroless deposition. Implementing these features in Thiagarajan et al.’s antimicrobial medical devices would not require more than ordinary skill or routine experimentation.
Accordingly, the combination of Thiagarajan et al., supplemented by Olge et al., Schierholz, and Sugino et al. provides all the elements of the claimed invention. The resulting enhanced antimicrobial medical device constitutes no more than the predictable outcome of combining familiar prior art components, and therefore the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN W LIPPERT III/Examiner, Art Unit 1615