DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 01/21/2025 and 03/19/2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Double Patenting
a) Claims 5-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,444,075 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claims 1 and 4 recite substantially the same image processing apparatus and method as the instant independent claims 5 and 8, including storing capturing position and direction information, external apparatus position information, capture propriety setting information, and performing masking when capture is denied and the external apparatus is within the camera’s angle of view. Claims 6 and 9 are further taught by patented claims 1 and 4, which require masking when the external apparatus position is within the angle of view. Claims 7 and 10 are rendered obvious by patented claims 2 and 5, which recite masking a part of a person within the relevant region.
b) Claims 5-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,972,591 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claims 1 and 2 recite the same system as instant claim 5, acquiring and capturing image, obtain capturing position and direction, obtain external apparatus position and capture propriety information, and mask based on the apparatus position when capture is denied.
19/032,542 11,972,581 B2
5
1, 2
6
1, 2
7
3
8
1, 2
9
1, 2
10
3
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (US 2006/0028558 A1)
Regarding claims 5 and 8, Sato discloses an image processing apparatus comprising:
a camera; (figure 4)
a storage; (figure 1)
a controller; and (figure 1)
a display, (figures 6-8)
wherein the camera is configured to capture an image, (figures 6-8)
wherein the storage is configured to:
store a capturing position information and a capturing direction information in accordance with the image, and (paragraphs 64 and 112; Sato determines the camera’s position and direction of the optical axis for the image capturing operation using GPS and a gyro sensor)
store a capturing propriety information which including an external apparatus position information and a setting information relating to capture propriety, (paragraphs 60, 62, 65 and 89; Sato’s communication terminal 200 supplies positional information of the subject and terminal together with restriction information such as photographing is prohibited. The terminal’s positional information and restriction information may be registered at a server.)
wherein the controller is configured to: detect an object in accordance with the external apparatus position information relating to the capturing position information and the capturing direction information, (paragraphs 64-66 and 70; Sato calculates the image capturing area from the camera position and direction, compares that area with the subject’s position information, and determines the position at which the subject appears in the image.)
in case that the setting information indicates denial for capturing, perform a masking process for the image to the object, and (paragraphs 67-70; When the restriction information indicates that the subject is prohibited from being photographed, Sato designated the subject region as a capturing prohibited region and performs mosaic processing, replacement, painting, or deletion of that region.)
in case that the setting information indicates permission for capturing, not perform the masking process for the image to the object, (paragraphs 66, 87 and 98; Sato teaches that when capturing is permitted or no restriction applies, the apparatus does not restrict the image and captures the image as it is.)
wherein the display is configured to display the image. (paragraphs 103-104; Sato teaches temporarily storing the processed picture in memory and presenting it on a display, and further describes displaying information regarding subjects having image capturing restrictions.)
Regarding claims 6 and 9, Sato discloses the claimed invention wherein the controller, in case that the external apparatus position is included in a range of angle of view when the camera captured the image, is configured to perform the masking process for the image. (paragraphs 64 and 66-70; Sato calculates the image capturing area using the camera’s position, optical axis direction, and viewing angle, compares that area with the positional information of the subject and communication terminal and when the subject is within the capturing area and photography is prohibited, performs mosaic or other masking processing on the corresponding region.)
Regarding claims 7 and 10, Sato discloses the claimed invention wherein the controller is configured to perform the masking process for the image to a part of the object in the range. (paragraph 75; Sato teaches that only a face region of a subject may be processed in mosaic or replaced with another image, thereby masking only a part of the object or person within the image capturing range.)
Conclusion
/BOBBAK SAFAIPOUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665