DETAILED ACTION
Office Action Summary
Claims 1-15 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 USC § 102.
Claims 3, 5, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahmed et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication No: 2023/422027 A1) (Art furnished in IDS dated 1/21/2025) hereinafter referred to as Ahmed.
As per claims 1, 8 and 15, Ahmed teaches … transmitting, to a communication device, a public key over a first wireless channel and over a second wireless channel different from the first wireless channel; (Ahmed, figure 6, item 602)
receiving from the communication device: a first signal carrying the public key over the first wireless channel; and a second signal carrying the public key over the second wireless channel; (Ahmed, figure 6, item 602)
estimating a first channel response based on the public key and the first signal; estimating a second channel response based on the public key and the second signal; and (Ahmed, paragraph 44)
determining the secret key based on the first channel response and the second channel response. (Ahmed, figure 6, item 608)
As per claims 2 and 9, Ahmed teaches … wherein: the public key is transmitted over the second wireless channel and the first signal is received over the first wireless channel, and after the public key is transmitted over the second wireless channel and the first signal is received over the first wireless channel, the public key is transmitted over the first wireless channel and the second signal is received over the second wireless channel. (Ahmed, figure 6, item 602, it would be inherent that a key cant be received before it is transmitted.)
As per claims 4 and 11, Ahmed teaches … wherein the first channel response and the second channel response H2 are based on the following relations: … wherein Y1 refers to the first signal, Y2 refers to the second signal, X refers to the public key, and … refers to a square norm operation. (Ahmed, figure 6, teaches the transmission and response, the mathematical equation is a mere design choice)
As per claims 6 and 13, Ahmed teaches … wherein a predefined bit sequence is generated as the public key. (Ahmed, paragraphs 5 and 25)
As per claims 7 and 14, Ahmed teaches … wherein the secret key is used for authenticating, encrypting and/or decrypting communication with the communication device. (Ahmed, paragraphs 5 and 25)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 10 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed in view of Prasidh et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication No: 2022/150063) (Art furnished in IDS dated 1/21/2025) hereinafter referred to as Prasidh.
As per claims 3 and 10, Ahmed does not teach … wherein the secret key is determined by convolution of the first channel response and the second channel response.
However, Prasidh teaches wherein the secret key is determined by convolution of the first channel response and the second channel response. (Prasidh paragraph 32)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ahmed with the method of Prasidh, because using multiple channels increases security.
As per claims 5 and 12, Ahmed does not teach … wherein the first wireless channel and the second wireless channel refer to different frequency bands.
However, Prasidh teaches wherein the first wireless channel and the second wireless channel refer to different frequency bands.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ahmed with the method of Prasidh, because using multiple channels increases security.
Other Art of Record
Liu et al. (US 2023/0319557) teaches ([0029] The terminal device may perform channel estimation by using a least square method, a minimum mean square error method, or the like. In this implementation, the least square method is used as an example. It is assumed that a frequency domain response corresponding to a first sent encrypted reference signal PRS generated by an access network device (for example, a base station) is X(k), and k is a subcarrier sequence number. Because the terminal device encrypts the first reference signal by using the pilot key Ks to obtain the PRS, X(k) is known to the terminal device. Assuming that a frequency domain response of an encrypted reference signal (that is, a first received encrypted reference signal) received by the terminal device is Y(k), a formula for performing channel estimation by the terminal device to obtain a downlink channel estimation value is as follows) AND ([0034] According to a second aspect, an embodiment of this disclosure provides another authentication method, where the method includes: An access network device receives a second received encrypted reference signal, where the second received encrypted reference signal includes a signal received by the access network device when a second sent encrypted reference signal sent by a terminal device is transmitted through a channel, the second sent encrypted reference signal is obtained by using a pilot key and a second reference signal, and the pilot key is obtained by using a private key of the terminal device and a public key on a network device side, or the pilot key is obtained by using a private key on the network device side and a public key of the terminal device; the access network device performs channel estimation by using the second received encrypted reference signal and the second sent encrypted reference signal, to obtain uplink channel state information; and the access network device sends channel authentication information to a first network device, where the channel authentication information is for verifying whether a message received by the access network device from the terminal device is valid or invalid, and the channel authentication information is obtained by using the uplink channel state information.)
Conclusion
/SIMON P KANAAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407