DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the limitation “a first regulating device” in claim 1 includes a generic/nonce term “device” coupled with function “regulating” or “pumping” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “a first regulating device” can be implemented in various ways, such as “a pump”, paragraph 1 of page 8, see figure 2. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof; and
the limitation “a second regulating device” in claim 1 includes a generic/nonce term “device” coupled with function “regulating” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “a second regulating device” can be implemented in various ways, such as “a flow control valve”, paragraph 2 of page 11, see figure 2. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Du et al. (CN115096020A).
Regarding claim 1, Du discloses a heat exchange system, comprising:
a compressor (1);
an evaporator (12), in which a refrigerant circulates (see figure 2);
a heat exchanger (the oil cooler 4), in which a heat exchange line (the line which connects the oil separator 2 and the heat exchanger 4) is arranged (see figure 2);
an inlet line (the line which connects the evaporator 12 and the heat exchanger 4), connected to the evaporator (12) and the heat exchange line (the line which connects the oil separator 2 and the heat exchanger 4; see figure 2);
a first regulating device (the cooling water pump 22), arranged on the inlet line (the line which connects the evaporator 12 and the heat exchanger 4) and used for pumping the refrigerant from the evaporator (12) into the heat exchange line (the line which connects the oil separator 2 and the heat exchanger 4); and
an outlet line (the line which connects the heat exchanger 4 and the inlet of the compressor 1), connected to a suction inlet of the compressor (1) and the heat exchange line (the line which connects the oil separator 2 and the heat exchanger 4; see figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN107014113A) in view of Du.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a heat exchange system, comprising:
a compressor (10);
an evaporator (50), in which a refrigerant circulates (see figure 1);
a heat exchanger (30), in which a heat exchange line (the line which connects the oil separator 20 and the heat exchanger 30) is arranged (see figure 1);
an inlet line (the line which connects the evaporator 50 and the heat exchanger 30), connected to the evaporator (50) and the heat exchange line (the line which connects the oil separator 20 and the heat exchanger 30; see figure 1); and
an outlet line (the line which connects the heat exchanger 30 and the suction of the compressor 10), connected to a suction inlet of the compressor (10) and the heat exchange line (the line which connects the oil separator 20 and the heat exchanger 30).
However, Chen fails to disclose a first regulating device arranged on the inlet line and used for pumping the refrigerant from the evaporator into the heat exchange line.
Du teaches a heat exchange system comprising a first regulating device (the cooling water pump 22) arranged on an inlet line (the line which connects the evaporator 12 and the heat exchanger 4) and used for pumping the refrigerant from the evaporator (12) into the heat exchange line (the line which connects the oil separator 2 and the heat exchanger 4; see figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the heat exchange system of Chen to incorporate the claimed first regulating device as taught by Du to regulate the supply of the fluid from the evaporator to the heat exchanger.
Reasons for Allowance
Claims 2-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reference Du or Chen taken alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed “second regulation device arranged on the outlet line” of the heat exchange system as required in claims 2-9. Also, the prior art of record fails to provide further teachings or motivation to modify the heat exchange system of Du or Chen to arrive the claim invention. Therefore, claims 2-9 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KUN KAI MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763