Drawings
The drawings correction received on 7/6/2026 are approved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cotton, Jr. (US Patent no. 6588159). Cotton, Jr. discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (212, figure 1) comprising a planar rear surface configured to abut against a wall, a planar front surface opposite the planar rear surface, an upper edge, and a lower edge; the front surface of the apron comprising a first recess (top L-shaped recess receiving end of top ledge 206) and a second recess (bottom L-shaped recess receiving end of bottom ledge 210), the second recess located between the first recess and the lower edge of the apron (212); a first ledge (206) adhesively bonded (column 4, lines 38-54) to the apron (212) within the first recess, the first ledge (206) comprising an upper support surface configured to support items thereon (structures above 206 are supported thereon) and a lower surface opposite the upper support surface, the first ledge (206) having a first height measured between the upper support surface and the lower surface; a second ledge (210) adhesively bonded (column 4, lines 38-54) to the apron within the second recess, the second ledge comprising an upper support surface configured to support items thereon and a lower surface opposite the upper support surface; and wherein a distance between the upper support surface of the second ledge and the lower surface of the first ledge is greater than the first height of the first ledge.
Note: Cotton, Jr. discloses in column 4, lines 38-54, “First, the kerf-and-spline connection will be explained with reference to FIGS. 2, 3 and 4. Each jamb member is formed with kerf 234 (see FIG. 3). The kerf is basically a groove, preferably a rectangular-profiled groove. The kerf can be formed by any conventional groove forming technique, such as cutting the kerf out of the jamb member (during jamb member fabrication or at a later time), or by extruding the jamb members to have kerfs.
Splines 222 are inserted into each kerf 234 such that a portion of each spline 222 resides in kerf 234, and a portion of each spline 222 protrudes from kerf 234. Splines 222 are shaped to mate with the kerfs 234. In this preferred embodiment, the splines have a long, rectangular prismatic shape, in order to better mate with the rectangular profile kerfs 234. The splines 222 are secured into the kerfs by force fit and/or friction fit. Alternatively, adhesive could be used to augment the connection between kerfs 234 and splines 222“.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greer (US Patent no. 11684186) in view of Cotton, Jr. (US Patent no. 6588159).
With respect to claim 1, Greer discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (440 and 444, figure 11) comprising a rear surface (rear surface of 440) configured to abut against a wall and a front surface (S1, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE) opposite the rear surface, the front surface comprising at least one recess (R1) having a floor (F) that is recessed relative to the front surface (S1) and at least one end wall (EW) that extends from the floor (F) to the front surface (S1) at least one ledge (410) comprising a rear edge, an upper surface, and a lower surface, the at least one ledge positioned within the at least one recess (R1) of the apron so that the rear edge of the at least one ledge interfaces with the floor of the at least one recess of the apron and a rear portion of at least one of the upper and lower surfaces of the at least one ledge interfaces with the at least one end wall of the at least one recess (figure 11); and wherein interfacing surfaces of the at least one ledge and the apron are adhesively bonded together (Greer in column 5, lines 31-34, discloses “FIG. 11 shows the platform 410 supported by the second wall 444 of the adapter 440. As described herein, the platform 410 can be coupled to the second wall 444 using any number of techniques, such as adhesive strips, “ ). Additionally, Greer discloses the at least one ledge (444, figure 10) being supported by the apron (440) in a cantilevered manner such that the front edge of the at least one ledge forms an unattached free edge of the at least one ledge.
However, Greer does not disclose the apron comprising a thickness measured from the rear surface of the apron to the floor of the recess and the recess comprising a depth measured from the floor of the recess to the front surface of the apron, the thickness being greater than the depth.
Cotton, Jr. discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (212, figure 1) comprising a planar rear surface configured to abut against a wall, a planar front surface opposite the planar rear surface, an upper edge, and a lower edge; the front surface of the apron comprising a first recess (top L-shaped recess receiving end of top ledge 206) and a second recess (bottom L-shaped recess receiving end of bottom ledge 210), the second recess located between the first recess and the lower edge of the apron (212); a first ledge (206) adhesively bonded (column 4, lines 38-54) to the apron (212) within the first recess, the first ledge (206) comprising an upper support surface configured to support items thereon (structures above 206 are supported thereon) and a lower surface opposite the upper support surface, the first ledge (206) having a first height measured between the upper support surface and the lower surface; a second ledge (210) adhesively bonded (column 4, lines 38-54) to the apron within the second recess, the second ledge comprising an upper support surface configured to support items thereon and a lower surface opposite the upper support surface; and wherein a distance between the upper support surface of the second ledge and the lower surface of the first ledge is greater than the first height of the first ledge; wherein the apron (212, figure 1) comprising a thickness measured from the rear surface of the apron to the floor of the recess (the thickness of the vertical wall defined the L-shaped recess receiving edge of 206, figure 1) and the recess comprising a depth (horizontal portion of the L-shaped recess, figure 1) measured from the floor of the recess to the front surface of the apron, the thickness being greater than the depth. Such provision has the well-known advantage of providing a thicker vertical support.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the apron of Greer such that the apron comprising a thickness measured from the rear surface of the apron to the floor of the recess and the recess comprising a depth measured from the floor of the recess to the front surface of the apron, the thickness being greater than the depth as taught by Cotton, Jr. to provide the thicker vertical apron for a stronger vertical wall support.
With respect to claim 2, Greer and Cotton, Jr. combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the apron (440 and 444 assembly) comprises a peripheral edge that extends between the front (S1, SEE MARKUP ABOVE) and rear surfaces (450, FIGURE 13), the peripheral edge comprising a bottom edge portion (P3), a top edge portion (P1), a first side edge portion (P2), and a second side edge portion (P4), and wherein the recess (R1 see markup above) extends along an entirety of a length of the apron from the first side edge portion (P2) to the second side edge portion (P4).
With respect to claim 3. Greer and Cotton, Jr. combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 2 as advanced above, wherein the at least one recess of the apron extends either from the top edge portion (P1) of the peripheral edge to the at least one end wall (EW) or from the bottom edge portion of the peripheral edge to the at least one end wall.
With respect to claim 9, Greer and Cotton, Jr. combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the apron and the at least one ledge are formed from solid surface material (Greer in column 5, lines 55-58, discloses “ Each component can be made of any number of material such as wood, metal, plastics, composites, glass, ceramics or other materials that provide the structural integrity required to fulfill the device's intended purpose “).
With respect to claim 10, Greer and Cotton, Jr. combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above, further comprising: the apron comprising a top edge (P1) and a bottom edge (P3); and the at least one recess comprising a first recess (R2) and a second recess (R1), the first recess (R2) being located closer to the bottom edge (P3) than the second recess, and the second recess (R1) being located closer to the top edge (P1) than the first recess.
With respect to claim 11. Greer and Cotton, Jr. combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 10 as advanced above, further comprising: the first recess (R2) extending from the bottom edge (P3) of the apron to a first end wall (bottom surface of 444); and the second recess (R1) extending from the top edge (P1) of the apron to a second end wall (EW).
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greer (US Patent no. 11684186) in view of Cotton Jr. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schmitt (US Publication no 20100157528).
With respect to claim 4, Greer and Cotton, Jr. combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above; and wherein Greer discloses the at least one ledge (tray 410, figures 10 and 11) comprises a first side edge, a second side edge, and a front edge each extending between the upper and lower surfaces of the at least one ledge (tray 410 of rectangular shape have the recited four edges 412, figure 10), and further comprising a perimeter rail (the upstanding walls of the tray about its edges 412, figure 10). However, Greer does not disclose the perimeter rail adhesively bonded to each of the first side edge, the second side edge, and the front edge of the at least one ledge.
Schmitt discloses a tray comprising a ledge (15, figures 1A-2A) comprising perimeter edges with a perimeter rail (panels 14, 16, ad 17, figure 1B) adhesively bonded to each of the first side edge, the second side edge, and the front edge of the at least one ledge (15, see paragraph “ [0033] Rabbet joints 36 and dado joints 37 are formed by routing, cutting or milling panels 12 and 14-18 at sufficient depth to accommodate the joined panel width, typically with a joint tolerance of about half the panel thickness. Joints 36 and 37 are secured using glue, epoxy or other adhesives, which are applied either by pre-gluing, dipping or by capillary action. Door stop 29 is formed similarly to panels 12, 14-18 and 22, and similarly attached to a wall panel such as side panel 17.”). Using adhesives has the well-known purpose of providing a permanent bond.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have connected the perimeter rails to the ledge of the shelf of Greer and Cotton, Jr. combined such that the perimeter rail adhesively bonded to each of the first side edge, the second side edge, and the front edge of the at least one ledge as taught to be desirable by Schmitt for the well-known purpose of providing a permanent bond.
With respect to claim 5, Greer, Cotton, Jr., and Schmitt combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 4 as advanced above; and wherein Schmitt discloses the perimeter rail comprises a first side rail (16) that is adhesively bonded to the first side edge of the at least one ledge (15), a second side rail (17) that is adhesively bonded to the second side edge of the at least one ledge (15), and a front rail (14) that is adhesively bonded to the front edge of the at least one ledge (figure 2A shows the rabbet joints 36 of each side panels to ledge 15 and is adhesively bonded as discussed above in claim 4).
With respect to claim 6. Greer, Cotton, Jr., and Schmitt combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 5 as advanced above; and wherein Schmitt discloses each of the first side rail (16), the second side rail (17), and the front rail (14) comprises a front surface, a rear surface opposite the front surface, and an elongated opening (30, Schmitt discloses “[0020] Ventilation holes (or vent holes) 30 are typically round openings, as shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B, but are sometimes formed as ovals, slots, rectangles, or other shapes”) extending between the front and rear surfaces. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the sidel rails of Greer such that they have elongated openings for ventilation purposes as taught to be desirable by Schmitt.
With respect to claim 7. Greer, Cotton, Jr., and Schmitt combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 4 as advanced above; and wherein Greer discloses the perimeter rail is coupled to the first side edge, the second side edge, and the front edge of the at least one ledge and protrudes upwardly beyond the upper surface of the at least one ledge (figure 11), and wherein the apron (440 and 444, figure 11) is coupled to the rear edge of the at least one ledge (410, figure 11)and protrudes upwardly beyond the upper surface of the at least one ledge (figure 11).
With respect to claim 8. Greer, Cotton, Jr and Schmitt combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 4 as advanced above; and wherein Schmitt discloses the reactive adhesive is an epoxy and wherein interfacing surfaces of the at least one ledge and the perimeter rail are milled prior to applying the epoxy thereon (see paragraph [0033] in Schmitt).
Claims 13-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greer (US Patent no. 11684186) in view of Cotton, Jr. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crandall (US Publication no.2016/0095437).
With respect to claim 13, Greer and Cotton, Jr. combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above, except for further comprising an epoxy adhesive coating applied onto at least one of the floor of the at least one recess and the rear edge of the apron.
Crandall teaches in a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (tenons 50 and 62, figure 7); a ledge (shelf 42); wherein the apron and the ledge are configured to be coupled together along a multiplane interface (the cuboid shape of tenons 50 and 62 engage recess 38 and 40) ; and wherein an epoxy adhesive (see paragraph [0039]) is applied onto at least one of the apron (tenons 50 and 62) and the ledge (shelf 42) along the multiplane interface (tenons 50 and 62 are cuboid shape which interfaces multiplane recess (38 and 40, figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have made the connection of Greer and Cotton, Jr combined such that the adhesives are of epoxy type as such adhesive is conventional and well-known in the art as demonstrated by Crandall and applying to the apron and ledge along multiplane interfaces as taught to be desirable by Crandall for securing the apron and ledge together.
With respect to claim 14, Greer, Cotton, Jr. and Crandall combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 13 as advanced above. Greer and Crandall combined as advanced above would have further provided the epoxy adhesive applied onto at least one of the end wall of the at least one recess and the rear portion of the at least one of the upper and lower surfaces (450, figure 13 in Greer) of the ledge that interfaces with the at least one end wall of the at least one recess for secure connection between the multiplane interfaces.
With respect to claim 15. Greer discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (440 and 444, figures 11-13) comprising a rear surface (450, figure 13) configured to abut against a wall, a front surface (S1, see examiner’s markup above) opposite the rear surface, a lower edge (P3), and an upper edge (P1), the apron formed from a brittle material (Greer in column 5, lines 55-58, discloses “ Each component can be made of any number of material such as wood, metal, plastics, composites, glass, ceramics or other materials that provide the structural integrity required to fulfill the device's intended purpose “ where glass, ceramics are classic brittle material); a ledge (410) configured to protrude from the wall and comprising an upper surface, a lower surface, a rear edge, and a front edge, the ledge formed from the brittle material (glass, ceramic, see Column 5, lines 55-58 discussion above); wherein the apron comprises a recess (R1, see markup above) within which a rear-most portion of the ledge (410) nests; and adhesive located on exposed surfaces of the recess to adhesively bond the apron and the ledge to one another (Greer in column 5, lines 31-34, discloses “FIG. 11 shows the platform 410 supported by the second wall 444 of the adapter 440. As described herein, the platform 410 can be coupled to the second wall 444 using any number of techniques, such as adhesive strips”).
However, Greer does not disclose wherein at least one of: the upper surface of the ledge and the upper edge of the apron form a continuous planar top surface of the wall-mountable shelf; and the lower surface of the ledge and the lower edge of the apron form a continuous planar bottom surface of the wall-mountable shelf; the adhesive is an epoxy adhesive coating located on exposed surfaces of the recess to adhesively bond the apron and the ledge to one another.
Cotton, Jr discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (212, figure 1) comprising a rear surface configured to abut against a wall (exterior surface jamb 212 is configured to mount to a wall surface), a front surface (inner surface of 212 receiving jambs 206 and 210, figure 1) opposite the rear surface, a lower edge (lower edge of 212, figure 1), and an upper edge (upper edge of 212, figure 1), the apron formed from a brittle material (Cotton, Jr in column 1, lines 58-63, discloses “ However, new types of materials are being used to make fascia members and jamb members. Such new materials include composite materials, such as composite materials formed of epoxy and finely divided wood pulp, particles or fibers. Many of these new materials can be easily cracked or otherwise compromised by formation of a nail hole or a screw hole “ where the composite material is a brittle material easily cracked and thus Cotton, Jr. provides use of adhesive for their connection); a ledge (210, figure 1) configured to protrude from the wall and comprising an upper surface, a lower surface, a rear edge, and a front edge, the ledge formed from the brittle material (the composite material, see Column 1, lines 58-63 discussion above); wherein the apron comprises a recess (L-notch, figure 1 at the lower end of jamb 212) within which a rear-most portion of the ledge (210) nests; and adhesive located on exposed surfaces of the recess to adhesively bond the apron and the ledge to one another (Cotton, Jr. discloses in column 4, lines 38-54, “First, the kerf-and-spline connection will be explained with reference to FIGS. 2, 3 and 4. Each jamb member is formed with kerf 234 (see FIG. 3). The kerf is basically a groove, preferably a rectangular-profiled groove. The kerf can be formed by any conventional groove forming technique, such as cutting the kerf out of the jamb member (during jamb member fabrication or at a later time), or by extruding the jamb members to have kerfs.
Splines 222 are inserted into each kerf 234 such that a portion of each spline 222 resides in kerf 234, and a portion of each spline 222 protrudes from kerf 234. Splines 222 are shaped to mate with the kerfs 234. In this preferred embodiment, the splines have a long, rectangular prismatic shape, in order to better mate with the rectangular profile kerfs 234. The splines 222 are secured into the kerfs by force fit and/or friction fit. Alternatively, adhesive could be used to augment the connection between kerfs 234 and splines 222“); and wherein at least one of: the upper surface of the ledge (210) and the upper edge of the apron (212) form a continuous planar top surface of the wall-mountable shelf; and the lower surface of the ledge and the lower edge of the apron form a continuous planar bottom surface of the wall-mountable shelf (figure 1).
Crandall teaches in a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (tenons 50 and 62, figure 7); a ledge (shelf 42); wherein the apron and the ledge are configured to be coupled together along a multiplane interface (the cuboid shape of tenons 50 and 62 engage recess 38 and 40) ; and wherein an epoxy adhesive (see paragraph [0039]) is applied onto at least one of the apron (tenons 50 and 62) and the ledge (shelf 42) along the multiplane interface (tenons 50 and 62 are cuboid shape which interfaces multiplane recess (38 and 40, figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have made the connection of Greer such that wherein at least one of: the upper surface of the ledge and the upper edge of the apron form a continuous planar top surface of the wall-mountable shelf; and the lower surface of the ledge and the lower edge of the apron form a continuous planar bottom surface of the wall-mountable shelf for a shelf without peripheral wall is old and well-known in the art as taught by Cotton, Jr. and such that the adhesives are of epoxy type as such adhesive is conventional and well-known in the art as demonstrated by Crandall and applying to the apron and ledge along multiplane interfaces as taught to be desirable by Crandall for securing the apron and ledge together.
With respect to claim 16. Greer, Cotton, Jr, and Crandall combined discloses a wall-mountable shelf according to claim 15 as advanced above, wherein Greer discloses the brittle material is a solid surface material and wherein Crandall teaches the use of the epoxy adhesive coating that is known to be brittle once cured.
Claims 1-3, 9-17 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bale et al ( US 5704495 A)) in view of Cotton, Jr. (US Patent no. 6588159).
With respect to claim 1, Bale discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (6, figure 12) comprising a rear surface configured to abut against a wall and a front surface(32) opposite the rear surface, at least one ledge (10 or 8) comprising a rear edge, a front edge opposite the rear edge, an upper surface, and a lower surface, the at least one ledge being supported by the apron (6) in a cantilevered manner such that the front edge of the at least one ledge forms an unattached free edge of the at least one ledge.
Cotton, Jr discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (212, figure 1) comprising a rear surface (rear surface of 212) configured to abut against a wall and a front surface (inner elongated surface of 212, figure 1) opposite the rear surface, the front surface comprising at least one recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) having a floor (vertical surface of the L-notch at the lower end of apron 212) that is recessed relative to the front surface and at least one end wall (horizontal surface of L-notch at lower end of apron 212) that extends from the floor (vertical surface of the L-notch at the lower end of apron 212) to the front surface at least one ledge (210) comprising a rear edge, an upper surface, and a lower surface, the at least one ledge positioned within the at least one recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) of the apron (212) so that the rear edge of the at least one ledge interfaces with the floor of the at least one recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) of the apron (212) and a rear portion of at least one of the upper and lower surfaces of the at least one ledge (210) interfaces with the at least one end wall of the at least one recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212); and wherein interfacing surfaces of the at least one ledge and the apron (212) are adhesively bonded together (Cotton, Jr. discloses in column 4, lines 38-54, “First, the kerf-and-spline connection will be explained with reference to FIGS. 2, 3 and 4. Each jamb member is formed with kerf 234 (see FIG. 3). The kerf is basically a groove, preferably a rectangular-profiled groove. The kerf can be formed by any conventional groove forming technique, such as cutting the kerf out of the jamb member (during jamb member fabrication or at a later time), or by extruding the jamb members to have kerfs.
Splines 222 are inserted into each kerf 234 such that a portion of each spline 222 resides in kerf 234, and a portion of each spline 222 protrudes from kerf 234. Splines 222 are shaped to mate with the kerfs 234. In this preferred embodiment, the splines have a long, rectangular prismatic shape, in order to better mate with the rectangular profile kerfs 234. The splines 222 are secured into the kerfs by force fit and/or friction fit. Alternatively, adhesive could be used to augment the connection between kerfs 234 and splines 222“); Cotton, Jr. additionally, discloses the front surface of (212) comprising at least one recess (L-shaped upper recess) having a floor that is recessed relative to the front surface and at least one end wall that extends from the floor to the front surface, the apron (212) comprising a thickness measured from the rear surface of the apron to the floor of the recess and the recess comprising a depth measured from the floor of the recess to the front surface of the apron, the thickness being greater than the depth (figure 1); the at least one ledge (210) positioned within the at least one recess of the apron so that the rear edge of the at least one ledge interfaces with the floor of the at least one recess of the apron and a rear portion of at least one of the upper and lower surfaces of the at least one ledge interfaces with the at least one end wall of the at least one recess ; and wherein interfacing surfaces of the at least one ledge and the apron are adhesively bonded together.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have made the apron, first and second ledges of Bale are separable such that the front surface of the apron comprising a first recess and a second recess, the second recess located between the first recess and the lower edge of the apron; a first ledge adhesively bonded to the apron within the first recess, and a second ledge adhesively bonded to the apron within the second recess as taught to be desirable by Cotton, Jr. since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlicnrnan, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
With respect to claim 2, Bale and Cotton, Jr combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein Cotton, Jr. teaches the apron (212) comprises a peripheral edge that extends between the front (elongated interior surface of apron 212, figure 1) and rear surfaces (exterior surface with bracket 230 to be attached to a wall), the peripheral edge comprising a bottom edge portion (bottom edge portion of 212), a top edge portion (top edge portion 212), a first side edge portion (one side edge portion of 212), and a second side edge portion (second side edge portion of 212), and wherein the recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) extends along an entirety of a length of the apron (212) from the first side edge portion to the second side edge portion.
With respect to claim 3. Bale and Cotton, Jr combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 2 as advanced above, wherein Cotton, Jr. teaches the at least one recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) of the apron (212) extends either from the top edge portion of the peripheral edge to the at least one end wall (horizontal surface of L-notch at upper end of apron 212) or from the bottom edge portion of the peripheral edge to the at least one end wall (horizontal surface of L-notch at lower end of apron 212).
With respect to claim 9, Bale and Cotton, Jr combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein Cotton Jr. teaches the apron (212) and the at least one ledge are formed from solid surface material (column 3, lines 52-62).
With respect to claim 10, Bale and Cotton, Jr combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above, Cotton, Jr. teaches further comprising: the apron (212) comprising a top edge and a bottom edge; and the at least one recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) comprising a first recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) and a second recess (L-shaped notch at the upper end of apron 212), the first recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) being located closer to the bottom edge than the second recess, and the second recess (L-shaped notch at the upper end of apron 212) being located closer to the top edge than the first recess.
With respect to claim 11. Bale and Cotton, Jr combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 10 as advanced above, Cotton, Jr. teaches further comprising: the first recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) extending from the bottom edge of the apron (212) to a first end wall (horizontal surface of L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212); and the second recess (L-shaped notch at the upper end of apron 212) extending from the top edge of the apron (212) to a second end wall (horizontal surface of L-shaped notch at the upper end of apron 212).
With respect to claim 12, Bale and Cotton, Jr combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 10 as advanced above, and Cotton, Jr. teaches further comprising: the at least one ledge comprising a first ledge (210, figure 1) coupled to the apron within the first recess (L- shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) and a second ledge (206) coupled to the apron within the second recess (L-shaped notch at the upper end of apron 212).
With respect to claim 21, Bale discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (6, figure 12) comprising a planar rear surface configured to abut against a wall, a planar front surface (32) opposite the planar rear surface, an upper edge, and a lower edge; a first ledge (10) connected to the apron (6) within the first recess, the first ledge (10) comprising an upper support surface configured to support items thereon and a lower surface opposite the upper support surface, the first ledge having a first height measured between the upper support surface and the lower surface; a second ledge (8) connected to the apron within the second recess, the second ledge (8) comprising an upper support surface configured to support items thereon and a lower surface opposite the upper support surface; and wherein a distance between the upper support surface of the second ledge and the lower surface of the first ledge is greater than the first height of the first ledge
However, Bale does not disclose the front surface of the apron comprising a first recess and a second recess, the second recess located between the first recess and the lower edge of the apron; a first ledge adhesively bonded to the apron within the first recess, and a second ledge adhesively bonded to the apron within the second recess.
Cotton, Jr. discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (212, figure 1) comprising a planar rear surface configured to abut against a wall, a planar front surface opposite the planar rear surface, an upper edge, and a lower edge; the front surface of the apron comprising a first recess (top L-shaped recess receiving end of top ledge 206) and a second recess (bottom L-shaped recess receiving end of bottom ledge 210), the second recess located between the first recess and the lower edge of the apron (212); a first ledge (206) adhesively bonded (column 4, lines 38-54) to the apron (212) within the first recess, the first ledge (206) comprising an upper support surface configured to support items thereon (structures above 206 are supported thereon) and a lower surface opposite the upper support surface, the first ledge (206) having a first height measured between the upper support surface and the lower surface; a second ledge (210) adhesively bonded (column 4, lines 38-54) to the apron within the second recess, the second ledge comprising an upper support surface configured to support items thereon and a lower surface opposite the upper support surface; and wherein a distance between the upper support surface of the second ledge and the lower surface of the first ledge is greater than the first height of the first ledge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have made the apron, first and second ledges are Bale separable such that the front surface of the apron comprising a first recess and a second recess, the second recess located between the first recess and the lower edge of the apron; a first ledge adhesively bonded to the apron within the first recess, and a second ledge adhesively bonded to the apron within the second recess as taught to be desirable by Cotton, Jr. since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlicnrnan, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
With respect to claim 22, Bale and Cotton, Jr. combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 21 as advanced above wherein Bale discloses the apron (6), the first ledge (10), and the second ledge (8) are formed from solid surface material, and wherein each of the first and second ledges (10 and 8) is supported by the apron in a cantilevered manner.
With respect to claim 23, Bale and Cotton, Jr. combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 21 as advanced above, wherein Bale and Cotton, Jr. combined discloses the upper support surface of the first ledge (10-Bale, 206-Cotton, Jr.) is flush with the upper edge of the apron (6-Bale, 212-Cotton, Jr.), wherein the lower surface of the second ledge (8-Bale, 210-Cotton, Jr.) is flush with the lower edge of the apron, wherein the first ledge has a first length measured from the planar front surface of the apron to a first distal edge of the first ledge and the second ledge has a second length measured from the planar front surface of the apron to a second distal edge of the second ledge, the first length being greater than the second length.
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bale (US 5704495 A) in view of Cotton, Jr. (US Patent no. 6588159) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crandall (US Publication no.2016/0095437).
With respect to claim 13, Bale and Cotton, Jr combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above, except for further comprising an epoxy adhesive coating applied onto at least one of the floor of the at least one recess and the rear edge of the apron.
Crandall teaches in a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (tenons 50 and 62, figure 7); a ledge (shelf 42); wherein the apron and the ledge are configured to be coupled together along a multiplane interface (the cuboid shape of tenons 50 and 62 engage recess 38 and 40) ; and wherein an epoxy adhesive (see paragraph [0039]) is applied onto at least one of the apron (tenons 50 and 62) and the ledge (shelf 42) along the multiplane interface (tenons 50 and 62 are cuboid shape which interfaces multiplane recess (38 and 40, figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have made the connection of Bale and Cotton, Jr combined such that the adhesives are of epoxy type as such adhesive is conventional and well-known in the art as demonstrated by Crandall and applying to the apron and ledge along multiplane interfaces as taught to be desirable by Crandall for securing the apron and ledge together.
With respect to claim 14, Bale, Cotton, Jr and Crandall combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 13 as advanced above. Bale, Cotton, Jr and Crandall combined as advanced above would have further provided the epoxy adhesive applied onto at least one of the end wall of the at least one recess and the rear portion of the at least one of the upper and lower surfaces (upper surface of 210 and lower surface of 206, figure 1 in Cotton, Jr ) of the ledge that interfaces with the at least one end wall (the horizontal portion of the L-recess on the top or bottom of 212) of the at least one recess for secure connection between the multiplane interfaces.
With respect to claim 15. Bale discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (6, figure 12) comprising a rear surface configured to abut against a wall, a front surface opposite the rear surface, a lower edge, and an upper edge, a ledge (10, figure 12) configured to protrude from the wall and comprising an upper surface, a lower surface, a rear edge, and a front edge.
However, Bale does not disclose the apron formed from a brittle material, the apron comprising a recess having a floor that is recessed relative to the front surface and at least one end wall that extends from the floor to the front surface; wherein the apron comprises a recess within which arear-most portion of the ledge nests; and an epoxy adhesive coating on portions of at least one of the recess and the rear- most portion of the ledge located on exposed surfaces of recess to adhesively bond the apron and the ledge to one another; and wherein at least one of: the upper surface of the ledge and the upper edge of the apron form a continuous planar top surface of the wall-mountable shelf; and the lower surface of the ledge and the lower edge of the apron form a continuous planar bottom surface of the wall-mountable shelf.
Cotton, Jr discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (212, figure 1) comprising a rear surface configured to abut against a wall (exterior surface jamb 212 is configured to mount to a wall surface), a front surface (inner surface of 212 receiving jambs 206 and 210, figure 1) opposite the rear surface, a lower edge (lower edge of 212, figure 1), and an upper edge (upper edge of 212, figure 1), the apron formed from a brittle material (Cotton, Jr in column 1, lines 58-63, discloses “ However, new types of materials are being used to make fascia members and jamb members. Such new materials include composite materials, such as composite materials formed of epoxy and finely divided wood pulp, particles or fibers. Many of these new materials can be easily cracked or otherwise compromised by formation of a nail hole or a screw hole “ where the composite material is a brittle material easily cracked and thus Cotton, Jr. provides use of adhesive for their connection); a ledge (210, figure 1) configured to protrude from the wall and comprising an upper surface, a lower surface, a rear edge, and a front edge, the ledge formed from the brittle material (the composite material, see Column 1, lines 58-63 discussion above); wherein the apron comprises a recess (L-notch, figure 1 at the lower end of jamb 212) within which a rear-most portion of the ledge (210) nests; and adhesive located on exposed surfaces of the recess to adhesively bond the apron and the ledge to one another (Cotton, Jr. discloses in column 4, lines 38-54, “First, the kerf-and-spline connection will be explained with reference to FIGS. 2, 3 and 4. Each jamb member is formed with kerf 234 (see FIG. 3). The kerf is basically a groove, preferably a rectangular-profiled groove. The kerf can be formed by any conventional groove forming technique, such as cutting the kerf out of the jamb member (during jamb member fabrication or at a later time), or by extruding the jamb members to have kerfs.
Splines 222 are inserted into each kerf 234 such that a portion of each spline 222 resides in kerf 234, and a portion of each spline 222 protrudes from kerf 234. Splines 222 are shaped to mate with the kerfs 234. In this preferred embodiment, the splines have a long, rectangular prismatic shape, in order to better mate with the rectangular profile kerfs 234. The splines 222 are secured into the kerfs by force fit and/or friction fit. Alternatively, adhesive could be used to augment the connection between kerfs 234 and splines 222“). Additionally, Cotton, Jr. teaches the apron (212) comprising a recess (L-recess receiving end of 206, figure 1) having a floor that is recessed relative to the front surface and at least one end wall that extends from the floor to the front surface; wherein the apron comprises a recess within which arear-most portion of the ledge nests; and an epoxy adhesive coating on portions of at least one of the recess and the rear- most portion of the ledge located on exposed surfaces of recess to adhesively bond the apron and the ledge to one another; and wherein at least one of: the upper surface of the ledge and the upper edge of the apron form a continuous planar top surface of the wall-mountable shelf; and the lower surface of the ledge and the lower edge of the apron form a continuous planar bottom surface of the wall-mountable shelf (figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have made the apron, first and second ledges of Bale separable such that the front surface of the apron comprising a first recess and a second recess, the second recess located between the first recess and the lower edge of the apron; a first ledge adhesively bonded to the apron within the first recess, and a second ledge adhesively bonded to the apron within the second recess as taught to be desirable by Cotton, Jr. since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlicnrnan, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
However, Bale and Cotton, Jr combined does not disclose the adhesive is an epoxy adhesive coating located on exposed surfaces of the recess to adhesively bond the apron and the ledge to one another.
Crandall teaches in a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (tenons 50 and 62, figure 7); a ledge (shelf 42); wherein the apron and the ledge are configured to be coupled together along a multiplane interface (the cuboid shape of tenons 50 and 62 engage recess 38 and 40) ; and wherein an epoxy adhesive (see paragraph [0039]) is applied onto at least one of the apron (tenons 50 and 62) and the ledge (shelf 42) along the multiplane interface (tenons 50 and 62 are cuboid shape which interfaces multiplane recess (38 and 40, figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have made the connection of Bale and Cotton, Jr combined such that the adhesives are of epoxy type as such adhesive is conventional and well-known in the art as demonstrated by Crandall and applying to the apron and ledge along multiplane interfaces as taught to be desirable by Crandall for securing the apron and ledge together.
With respect to claim 16. Bale, Cotton, Jr and Crandall combined discloses a wall-mountable shelf according to claim 15 as advanced above, wherein Cotton, Jr discloses the brittle material is a solid surface material and wherein Crandall teaches the use of the epoxy adhesive coating that is known to be brittle once cured.
With respect to claim 17. Bale, Cotton, Jr and Crandall combined discloses a wall-mountable shelf according to claim 15 as advanced above, wherein Cotton, Jr discloses the apron (212, figure 1) comprises the recess (L-shaped notch at lower end of 212), the recess extending from the lower edge of the apron (212) to an end wall surface (the horizontal surface of the L-shaped notch at the lower end of 212), and wherein the rear-most portion of the ledge (210) nests within the recess so that the rear edge of the ledge interfaces with a floor of the recess and a rear-most portion of the upper surface of the ledge interfaces with the end wall surface of the recess.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Greer, applicant argues that the amendment has overcome Greer, as discussed above, Cotton, Jr. teaches the amended limitation as discussed above. Regarding Cotton, Jr. for newly submitted claim 21, applicant argues that the upper ledge does not support item. Examiner’s disagrees, Cotton, Jr. upper surface 206 inherently is supporting the items on top thereof.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The remaining prior art of record wall mountable accessory of interest.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc