Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "1416" and "1417" have both been used to designate the floor in figure 54. Examiner suggested change would be to have 1416 lead line touching the end wall. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With respect to claim 11, “a first end wall” and “a second end wall” are vague and indefinite as to whether such first and second end wall is referring to “the end wall” recited in claim 1 as it appears to be claiming three end walls in total.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Greer (US Patent no. 11684186).
With respect to claim 1, Greer discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (440 and 444, figure 11) comprising a rear surface (rear surface of 440) configured to abut against a wall and a front surface (S1, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE) opposite the rear surface, the front surface comprising at least one recess (R1) having a floor (F) that is recessed relative to the front surface (S1) and at least one end wall (EW) that extends from the floor (F) to the front surface (S1) at least one ledge (410) comprising a rear edge, an upper surface, and a lower surface, the at least one ledge positioned within the at least one recess (R1) of the apron so that the rear edge of the at least one ledge interfaces with the floor of the at least one recess of the apron and a rear portion of at least one of the upper and lower surfaces of the at least one ledge interfaces with the at least one end wall of the at least one recess (figure 11); and wherein interfacing surfaces of the at least one ledge and the apron are adhesively bonded together (Greer in column 5, lines 31-34, discloses “FIG. 11 shows the platform 410 supported by the second wall 444 of the adapter 440. As described herein, the platform 410 can be coupled to the second wall 444 using any number of techniques, such as adhesive strips, “ ).
With respect to claim 2, Greer discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the apron (440 and 444 assembly) comprises a peripheral edge that extends between the front (S1, SEE MARKUP ABOVE) and rear surfaces (450, FIGURE 13), the peripheral edge comprising a bottom edge portion (P3), a top edge portion (P1), a first side edge portion (P2), and a second side edge portion (P4), and wherein the recess (R1 see markup above) extends along an entirety of a length of the apron from the first side edge portion (P2) to the second side edge portion (P4).
With respect to claim 3. Greer discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 2 as advanced above, wherein the at least one recess of the apron extends either from the top edge portion (P1) of the peripheral edge to the at least one end wall (EW) or from the bottom edge portion of the peripheral edge to the at least one end wall.
With respect to claim 9, Greer discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the apron and the at least one ledge are formed from solid surface material (Greer in column 5, lines 55-58, discloses “ Each component can be made of any number of material such as wood, metal, plastics, composites, glass, ceramics or other materials that provide the structural integrity required to fulfill the device's intended purpose “).
With respect to claim 10, Greer discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above, further comprising: the apron comprising a top edge (P1) and a bottom edge (P3); and the at least one recess comprising a first recess (R2) and a second recess (R1), the first recess (R2) being located closer to the bottom edge (P3) than the second recess, and the second recess (R1) being located closer to the top edge (P1) than the first recess.
With respect to claim 11. Greer discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 10 as advanced above, further comprising: the first recess (R2) extending from the bottom edge (P3) of the apron to a first end wall (bottom surface of 444); and the second recess (R1) extending from the top edge (P1) of the apron to a second end wall (EW).
Claims 1-3 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cotton, Jr. (US Patent no. 6588159)
With respect to claim 1, Cotton, Jr discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (212, figure 1) comprising a rear surface (rear surface of 212) configured to abut against a wall and a front surface (inner elongated surface of 212, figure 1) opposite the rear surface, the front surface comprising at least one recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) having a floor (vertical surface of the L-notch at the lower end of apron 212) that is recessed relative to the front surface and at least one end wall (horizontal surface of L-notch at lower end of apron 212) that extends from the floor (vertical surface of the L-notch at the lower end of apron 212) to the front surface at least one ledge (210) comprising a rear edge, an upper surface, and a lower surface, the at least one ledge positioned within the at least one recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) of the apron (212) so that the rear edge of the at least one ledge interfaces with the floor of the at least one recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) of the apron (212) and a rear portion of at least one of the upper and lower surfaces of the at least one ledge (210) interfaces with the at least one end wall of the at least one recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212); and wherein interfacing surfaces of the at least one ledge and the apron (212) are adhesively bonded together (Cotton, Jr. discloses in column 4, lines 38-54, “First, the kerf-and-spline connection will be explained with reference to FIGS. 2, 3 and 4. Each jamb member is formed with kerf 234 (see FIG. 3). The kerf is basically a groove, preferably a rectangular-profiled groove. The kerf can be formed by any conventional groove forming technique, such as cutting the kerf out of the jamb member (during jamb member fabrication or at a later time), or by extruding the jamb members to have kerfs.
Splines 222 are inserted into each kerf 234 such that a portion of each spline 222 resides in kerf 234, and a portion of each spline 222 protrudes from kerf 234. Splines 222 are shaped to mate with the kerfs 234. In this preferred embodiment, the splines have a long, rectangular prismatic shape, in order to better mate with the rectangular profile kerfs 234. The splines 222 are secured into the kerfs by force fit and/or friction fit. Alternatively, adhesive could be used to augment the connection between kerfs 234 and splines 222“).
With respect to claim 2, Cotton, Jr discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the apron (212) comprises a peripheral edge that extends between the front (elongated interior surface of apron 212, figure 1) and rear surfaces (exterior surface with bracket 230 to be attached to a wall), the peripheral edge comprising a bottom edge portion (bottom edge portion of 212), a top edge portion (top edge portion 212), a first side edge portion (one side edge portion of 212), and a second side edge portion (second side edge portion of 212), and wherein the recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) extends along an entirety of a length of the apron (212) from the first side edge portion to the second side edge portion.
With respect to claim 3. Cotton, Jr discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 2 as advanced above, wherein the at least one recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) of the apron (212) extends either from the top edge portion of the peripheral edge to the at least one end wall (horizontal surface of L-notch at upper end of apron 212) or from the bottom edge portion of the peripheral edge to the at least one end wall (horizontal surface of L-notch at lower end of apron 212).
With respect to claim 9, Cotton, Jr discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above, wherein the apron (212) and the at least one ledge are formed from solid surface material (column 3, lines 52-62).
With respect to claim 10, Cotton, Jr discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above, further comprising: the apron (212) comprising a top edge and a bottom edge; and the at least one recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) comprising a first recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) and a second recess (L-shaped notch at the upper end of apron 212), the first recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) being located closer to the bottom edge than the second recess, and the second recess (L-shaped notch at the upper end of apron 212) being located closer to the top edge than the first recess.
With respect to claim 11. Cotton, Jr discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 10 as advanced above, further comprising: the first recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) extending from the bottom edge of the apron (212) to a first end wall (horizontal surface of L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212); and the second recess (L-shaped notch at the upper end of apron 212) extending from the top edge of the apron (212) to a second end wall (horizontal surface of L-shaped notch at the upper end of apron 212).
With respect to claim 12, Cotton, Jr discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 10 as advanced above, and further comprising: the at least one ledge comprising a first ledge (210, figure 1) coupled to the apron within the first recess (L-shaped notch at the lower end of apron 212) and a second ledge (206) coupled to the apron within the second recess (L-shaped notch at the upper end of apron 212) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greer (US Patent no. 11684186) in view of Schmitt (US Publication no 20100157528).
With respect to claim 4, Greer discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above; and wherein the at least one ledge (tray 410, figures 10 and 11) comprises a first side edge, a second side edge, and a front edge each extending between the upper and lower surfaces of the at least one ledge (tray 410 of rectangular shape have the recited four edges 412, figure 10), and further comprising a perimeter rail (the upstanding walls of the tray about its edges 412, figure 10). However, Greer does not disclose the perimeter rail adhesively bonded to each of the first side edge, the second side edge, and the front edge of the at least one ledge.
Schmitt discloses a tray comprising a ledge (15, figures 1A-2A) comprising perimeter edges with a perimeter rail (panels 14, 16, ad 17, figure 1B) adhesively bonded to each of the first side edge, the second side edge, and the front edge of the at least one ledge (15, see paragraph “ [0033] Rabbet joints 36 and dado joints 37 are formed by routing, cutting or milling panels 12 and 14-18 at sufficient depth to accommodate the joined panel width, typically with a joint tolerance of about half the panel thickness. Joints 36 and 37 are secured using glue, epoxy or other adhesives, which are applied either by pre-gluing, dipping or by capillary action. Door stop 29 is formed similarly to panels 12, 14-18 and 22, and similarly attached to a wall panel such as side panel 17.”). Using adhesives has the well-known purpose of providing a permanent bond.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have connected the perimeter rails to the ledge of the shelf of Greer such that the perimeter rail adhesively bonded to each of the first side edge, the second side edge, and the front edge of the at least one ledge as taught to be desirable by Schmitt for the well-known purpose of providing a permanent bond.
With respect to claim 5, Greer and Schmitt combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 4 as advanced above; and wherein Schmitt discloses the perimeter rail comprises a first side rail (16) that is adhesively bonded to the first side edge of the at least one ledge (15), a second side rail (17) that is adhesively bonded to the second side edge of the at least one ledge (15), and a front rail (14) that is adhesively bonded to the front edge of the at least one ledge (figure 2A shows the rabbet joints 36 of each side panels to ledge 15 and is adhesively bonded as discussed above in claim 4).
With respect to claim 6. Greer and Schmitt combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 5 as advanced above; and wherein Schmitt discloses each of the first side rail (16), the second side rail (17), and the front rail (14) comprises a front surface, a rear surface opposite the front surface, and an elongated opening (30, Schmitt discloses “[0020] Ventilation holes (or vent holes) 30 are typically round openings, as shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B, but are sometimes formed as ovals, slots, rectangles, or other shapes”) extending between the front and rear surfaces. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the sidel rails of Greer such that they have elongated openings for ventilation purposes as taught to be desirable by Schmitt.
With respect to claim 7. Greer and Schmitt combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 4 as advanced above; and wherein Greer discloses the perimeter rail is coupled to the first side edge, the second side edge, and the front edge of the at least one ledge and protrudes upwardly beyond the upper surface of the at least one ledge (figure 11), and wherein the apron (440 and 444, figure 11) is coupled to the rear edge of the at least one ledge (410, figure 11)and protrudes upwardly beyond the upper surface of the at least one ledge (figure 11).
With respect to claim 8. Greer and Schmitt combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 4 as advanced above; and wherein Schmitt discloses the reactive adhesive is an epoxy and wherein interfacing surfaces of the at least one ledge and the perimeter rail are milled prior to applying the epoxy thereon (see paragraph [0033] in Schmitt).
Claims 13-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greer (US Patent no. 11684186) in view of Crandall (US Publication no.2016/0095437).
With respect to claim 13, Greer discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above, except for further comprising an epoxy adhesive coating applied onto at least one of the floor of the at least one recess and the rear edge of the apron.
Crandall teaches in a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (tenons 50 and 62, figure 7); a ledge (shelf 42); wherein the apron and the ledge are configured to be coupled together along a multiplane interface (the cuboid shape of tenons 50 and 62 engage recess 38 and 40) ; and wherein an epoxy adhesive (see paragraph [0039]) is applied onto at least one of the apron (tenons 50 and 62) and the ledge (shelf 42) along the multiplane interface (tenons 50 and 62 are cuboid shape which interfaces multiplane recess (38 and 40, figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have made the connection of Greer such that the adhesives are of epoxy type as such adhesive is conventional and well-known in the art as demonstrated by Crandall and applying to the apron and ledge along multiplane interfaces as taught to be desirable by Crandall for securing the apron and ledge together.
With respect to claim 14, Greer and Crandall combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 13 as advanced above. Greer and Crandall combined as advanced above would have further provided the epoxy adhesive applied onto at least one of the end wall of the at least one recess and the rear portion of the at least one of the upper and lower surfaces (450, figure 13 in Greer) of the ledge that interfaces with the at least one end wall of the at least one recess for secure connection between the multiplane interfaces.
With respect to claim 15. Greer discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (440 and 444, figures 11-13) comprising a rear surface (450, figure 13) configured to abut against a wall, a front surface (S1, see examiner’s markup above) opposite the rear surface, a lower edge (P3), and an upper edge (P1), the apron formed from a brittle material (Greer in column 5, lines 55-58, discloses “ Each component can be made of any number of material such as wood, metal, plastics, composites, glass, ceramics or other materials that provide the structural integrity required to fulfill the device's intended purpose “ where glass, ceramics are classic brittle material); a ledge (410) configured to protrude from the wall and comprising an upper surface, a lower surface, a rear edge, and a front edge, the ledge formed from the brittle material (glass, ceramic, see Column 5, lines 55-58 discussion above); wherein the apron comprises a recess (R1, see markup above) within which a rear-most portion of the ledge (410) nests; and adhesive located on exposed surfaces of the recess to adhesively bond the apron and the ledge to one another (Greer in column 5, lines 31-34, discloses “FIG. 11 shows the platform 410 supported by the second wall 444 of the adapter 440. As described herein, the platform 410 can be coupled to the second wall 444 using any number of techniques, such as adhesive strips”).
However, Greer does not disclose the adhesive is an epoxy adhesive coating located on exposed surfaces of the recess to adhesively bond the apron and the ledge to one another.
Crandall teaches in a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (tenons 50 and 62, figure 7); a ledge (shelf 42); wherein the apron and the ledge are configured to be coupled together along a multiplane interface (the cuboid shape of tenons 50 and 62 engage recess 38 and 40) ; and wherein an epoxy adhesive (see paragraph [0039]) is applied onto at least one of the apron (tenons 50 and 62) and the ledge (shelf 42) along the multiplane interface (tenons 50 and 62 are cuboid shape which interfaces multiplane recess (38 and 40, figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have made the connection of Greer such that the adhesives are of epoxy type as such adhesive is conventional and well-known in the art as demonstrated by Crandall and applying to the apron and ledge along multiplane interfaces as taught to be desirable by Crandall for securing the apron and ledge together.
With respect to claim 16. Greer and Crandall combined discloses a wall-mountable shelf according to claim 15 as advanced above, wherein Greer discloses the brittle material is a solid surface material and wherein Crandall teaches the use of the epoxy adhesive coating that is known to be brittle once cured.
With respect to claim 18, Greer discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (440 and 444, figures 11-13) comprising a first exposed surface (F, the floor of apron) lying in a first plane and a second exposed surface (EW, end wall) lying in a second plane that intersects the first plane; a ledge (410) comprising a first exposed surface (BS, rear surface of ledge 410) lying in a third plane and a second exposed surface (LS, lower surface of 410) lying in a fourth plane that intersects the third plane; an adhesive coating (450) located on at least one of: the first and second exposed surfaces of the ledge; and wherein the first and second exposed surfaces of the apron interface with the first and second exposed surfaces of the ledge, respectively, to couple the apron to the ledge.
However, Greer does not disclose the adhesive coating is an epoxy adhesive coating located on at least one of: (1) the first and second exposed surfaces of the apron; and (2) the first and second exposed surfaces of the ledge.
Crandall teaches in a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (tenons 50 and 62, figure 7); a ledge (shelf 42); wherein the apron and the ledge are configured to be coupled together along a multiplane interface (the cuboid shape of tenons 50 and 62 engage recess 38 and 40) ; and wherein an epoxy adhesive (see paragraph [0039]) is applied onto at least one of the apron (tenons 50 and 62) and the ledge (shelf 42) along the multiplane interface (tenons 50 and 62 are cuboid shape which interfaces multiplane recess (38 and 40, figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have made the connection of Greer such that the adhesives are of epoxy type as such adhesive is conventional and well-known in the art as demonstrated by Crandall and applying to the apron and ledge along multiplane interfaces as taught to be desirable by Crandall for securing the apron and ledge together.
With respect to claim 19, Greer and Crandall combined discloses a wall-mountable shelf according to claim 18 as advanced above, wherein the first and second planes are perpendicular to one another (Planes defined by EW and F are perpendicular), and wherein the third and fourth planes are perpendicular to one another (planes defined by BS and LS are perpendicular).
With respect to claim 20, Greer and Crandall combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 18 as advanced above, wherein the apron comprises a recess (R1) having a floor (F, see examiner’s markup above) which forms the first exposed surface (F) of the apron and an end wall (EW) which forms the second exposed surface (EW) of the apron, and wherein the ledge (410) comprises a rear surface (BS) which forms the first exposed surface (BS) of the ledge and an upper surface or a lower surface (LS) which forms the second exposed surface (LS) of the ledge.
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton, Jr. (US Patent no. 6588159) in view of Crandall (US Publication no.2016/0095437).
With respect to claim 13, Cotton, Jr discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 1 as advanced above, except for further comprising an epoxy adhesive coating applied onto at least one of the floor of the at least one recess and the rear edge of the apron.
Crandall teaches in a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (tenons 50 and 62, figure 7); a ledge (shelf 42); wherein the apron and the ledge are configured to be coupled together along a multiplane interface (the cuboid shape of tenons 50 and 62 engage recess 38 and 40) ; and wherein an epoxy adhesive (see paragraph [0039]) is applied onto at least one of the apron (tenons 50 and 62) and the ledge (shelf 42) along the multiplane interface (tenons 50 and 62 are cuboid shape which interfaces multiplane recess (38 and 40, figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have made the connection of Cotton, Jr such that the adhesives are of epoxy type as such adhesive is conventional and well-known in the art as demonstrated by Crandall and applying to the apron and ledge along multiplane interfaces as taught to be desirable by Crandall for securing the apron and ledge together.
With respect to claim 14, Cotton, Jr and Crandall combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 13 as advanced above. Cotton, Jr and Crandall combined as advanced above would have further provided the epoxy adhesive applied onto at least one of the end wall of the at least one recess and the rear portion of the at least one of the upper and lower surfaces (upper surface of 210 and lower surface of 206, figure 1 in Cotton, Jr ) of the ledge that interfaces with the at least one end wall (the horizontal portion of the L-recess on the top or bottom of 212) of the at least one recess for secure connection between the multiplane interfaces.
With respect to claim 15. Cotton, Jr discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (212, figure 1) comprising a rear surface configured to abut against a wall (exterior surface jamb 212 is configured to mount to a wall surface), a front surface (inner surface of 212 receiving jambs 206 and 210, figure 1) opposite the rear surface, a lower edge (lower edge of 212, figure 1), and an upper edge (upper edge of 212, figure 1), the apron formed from a brittle material (Cotton, Jr in column 1, lines 58-63, discloses “ However, new types of materials are being used to make fascia members and jamb members. Such new materials include composite materials, such as composite materials formed of epoxy and finely divided wood pulp, particles or fibers. Many of these new materials can be easily cracked or otherwise compromised by formation of a nail hole or a screw hole “ where the composite material is a brittle material easily cracked and thus Cotton, Jr. provides use of adhesive for their connection); a ledge (210, figure 1) configured to protrude from the wall and comprising an upper surface, a lower surface, a rear edge, and a front edge, the ledge formed from the brittle material (the composite material, see Column 1, lines 58-63 discussion above); wherein the apron comprises a recess (L-notch, figure 1 at the lower end of jamb 212) within which a rear-most portion of the ledge (210) nests; and adhesive located on exposed surfaces of the recess to adhesively bond the apron and the ledge to one another (Cotton, Jr. discloses in column 4, lines 38-54, “First, the kerf-and-spline connection will be explained with reference to FIGS. 2, 3 and 4. Each jamb member is formed with kerf 234 (see FIG. 3). The kerf is basically a groove, preferably a rectangular-profiled groove. The kerf can be formed by any conventional groove forming technique, such as cutting the kerf out of the jamb member (during jamb member fabrication or at a later time), or by extruding the jamb members to have kerfs.
Splines 222 are inserted into each kerf 234 such that a portion of each spline 222 resides in kerf 234, and a portion of each spline 222 protrudes from kerf 234. Splines 222 are shaped to mate with the kerfs 234. In this preferred embodiment, the splines have a long, rectangular prismatic shape, in order to better mate with the rectangular profile kerfs 234. The splines 222 are secured into the kerfs by force fit and/or friction fit. Alternatively, adhesive could be used to augment the connection between kerfs 234 and splines 222“).
However, Cotton, Jr does not disclose the adhesive is an epoxy adhesive coating located on exposed surfaces of the recess to adhesively bond the apron and the ledge to one another.
Crandall teaches in a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (tenons 50 and 62, figure 7); a ledge (shelf 42); wherein the apron and the ledge are configured to be coupled together along a multiplane interface (the cuboid shape of tenons 50 and 62 engage recess 38 and 40) ; and wherein an epoxy adhesive (see paragraph [0039]) is applied onto at least one of the apron (tenons 50 and 62) and the ledge (shelf 42) along the multiplane interface (tenons 50 and 62 are cuboid shape which interfaces multiplane recess (38 and 40, figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have made the connection of Cotton, Jr such that the adhesives are of epoxy type as such adhesive is conventional and well-known in the art as demonstrated by Crandall and applying to the apron and ledge along multiplane interfaces as taught to be desirable by Crandall for securing the apron and ledge together.
With respect to claim 16. Cotton, Jr and Crandall combined discloses a wall-mountable shelf according to claim 15 as advanced above, wherein Cotton, Jr discloses the brittle material is a solid surface material and wherein Crandall teaches the use of the epoxy adhesive coating that is known to be brittle once cured.
With respect to claim 17. Cotton, Jr and Crandall combined discloses a wall-mountable shelf according to claim 15 as advanced above, wherein Cotton, Jr discloses the apron (212, figure 1) comprises the recess (L-shaped notch at lower end of 212), the recess extending from the lower edge of the apron (212) to an end wall surface (the horizontal surface of the L-shaped notch at the lower end of 212), and wherein the rear-most portion of the ledge (210) nests within the recess so that the rear edge of the ledge interfaces with a floor of the recess and a rear-most portion of the upper surface of the ledge interfaces with the end wall surface of the recess.
With respect to claim 18, Cotton, Jr discloses a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (212, figure 1) comprising a first exposed surface (vertical surface of L-notch located at lower end apron 212, figure 1) lying in a first plane and a second exposed surface (the horizontal surface of L-notch in apron 212 acting as an end wall) lying in a second plane that intersects the first plane; a ledge (210) comprising a first exposed surface ( vertical rear surface of ledge 210) lying in a third plane and a second exposed surface (horizontal upper surface of 210) lying in a fourth plane that intersects the third plane; an adhesive coating (see column 4, lines 38-54) located on at least one of: the first and second exposed surfaces of the ledge; and wherein the first and second exposed surfaces of the apron interface with the first and second exposed surfaces of the ledge, respectively, to couple the apron to the ledge (connection of 212 and 210, figure 1).
However, Cotton, Jr does not disclose the adhesive coating is an epoxy adhesive coating located on at least one of: (1) the first and second exposed surfaces of the apron; and (2) the first and second exposed surfaces of the ledge.
Crandall teaches in a wall-mountable shelf comprising: an apron (tenons 50 and 62, figure 7); a ledge (shelf 42); wherein the apron and the ledge are configured to be coupled together along a multiplane interface (the cuboid shape of tenons 50 and 62 engage recess 38 and 40) ; and wherein an epoxy adhesive (see paragraph [0039]) is applied onto at least one of the apron (tenons 50 and 62) and the ledge (shelf 42) along the multiplane interface (tenons 50 and 62 are cuboid shape which interfaces multiplane recess (38 and 40, figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have made the connection of Cotton, Jr such that the adhesives are of epoxy type as such adhesive is conventional and well-known in the art as demonstrated by Crandall and applying to the apron and ledge along multiplane interfaces as taught to be desirable by Crandall for securing the apron and ledge together.
With respect to claim 19, Cotton, Jr and Crandall combined discloses a wall-mountable shelf according to claim 18 as advanced above, wherein the first and second planes are perpendicular to one another (Planes defined by vertical surface of L-notch and horizontal surface of L-notch are perpendicular), and wherein the third and fourth planes are perpendicular to one another (planes defined by the rear vertical edge surface of jamb 210 and upper surface of 210 are perpendicular).
With respect to claim 20, Cotton, Jr and Crandall combined discloses the wall-mountable shelf according to claim 18 as advanced above, wherein the apron comprises a recess (L-notch at the lower end of 212, figure 1) having a floor (vertical surface of the L-shape) which forms the first exposed surface of the apron and an end wall (horizontal surface of the L-notch) which forms the second exposed surface of the apron, and wherein the ledge (210) comprises a rear surface (rear vertical edge of 210) which forms the first exposed surface of the ledge and an upper surface or a lower surface (of the jamb 210) which forms the second exposed surface of the ledge.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The remaining prior art of record wall mountable accessory of interest.
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc