DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the Specification filed on 01/21/2025, page 1, paragraph [0001], line 2, after the year “2024,” there is missing a new U.S. Patent Number 12,682,726.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tran [US 2012/0086345]
Claim 1. A passive laser detector (see Fig. 3, para [0073]), comprising:
a plurality of wide frequency range detectors which detect illumination by a high-intensity electromagnetic radiation source (see Fig. 3, para [0039, 0073, 0098, 0102]);
a detector processor interoperably coupled to the plurality of wide frequency range
detectors (the controller 18A, microprocessor 3203 and processor, see Figs. 1, 4, abstract, para [0038, 0039, 0059, 0073, 0076]),
wherein the detector processor continuously monitors a background signal of ambient electromagnetic radiation illumination (see Figs. 1-3, 5A-C, abstract, para [0012, 0013, 0038, 0048, 0050, 0094-0097, 100]),
wherein the detector processor implements a defined hardware/software interface used to decode, as decoded commands, one or more commands encoded in a modulation of the high-intensity electromagnetic radiation source (the programmable software processor and MCU controls optical communication using encoding and decoding system, see Figs. 1, 4, para [0059, 0060, 0065-0070, 0093]);
a computer that processes and initiates the decoded commands (the monitoring and controlling of commands and/or messages by the microcontroller, microprocessor 3203, see Figs. 1, 3, 5A, para [0076, 0088, 0098]); and
an interface to a geospatial/collaborative communication software system, wherein status of initiation of the decoded commands is reported by the computer (the interface for optical emitter/detector for reporting data information using the decoding system, see Fig. 1, para [0058-0060, 0068-0076]).
Claim 2. The passive laser detector of claim 1, wherein the detector processor compares incoming signals that exceed the background signal, and wherein the detector processor generates an illumination alert with respect to determined non-spurious signals that exceed a background signal (read upon the TI MSP430F20x3 microcontroller is used to drive an LED. The LED is used both as an indicator or night light and an ambient room light sensor. The voltage generated by the LED is measured using a built-in 16 bit sigma delta converter. A LED voltage reading is obtained every 200 ms. Based on predefined "Min" and "Max" reference values, the active duty cycle for lighting ballasts is adjusted according to the current light conditions. The darker the ambient light is, the more the ballasts will be set so that room will be illuminated. The microcontroller/LED is exposed to darkness for a short moment in order to calibrate the LED's offset voltage. A very low frequency oscillator (VLO) is used to clock a timer which is used for both PWM generation to adjust LED brightness but also to derive the timings. A calibration process can be implemented to accommodate for variations in VLO frequency, see Fig. 5A, para [0097]). The signal light and SIT-TEL pulsed light communication system may be electrically coupled to a controller used to modulate, pulse, or encode, the light generated from the light sources to provide for various patterns or types of illumination to transmit messages. (See para [0088]).
Claim 3. The passive laser detector of claim 1, wherein, upon generation of the illumination alert: a plurality of light emitting diodes illuminate to indicate detection of and direction of the high-intensity electromagnetic radiation source (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, and the LED alarms, messages and reports, see Figs. 5, 6, para [0088-0091, 0098]);
a speaker emits tone (see para [0057, 0081-0083, 0098]) or voice output; or haptics provides haptic sensory feedback (see para [0098]).
Claim 4. The passive laser detector of claim 1, wherein the plurality of wide frequency range detectors is arranged to provide a horizontal overlapping detection field-of-view (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, and including the crossing optical signal, see Fig. 2, para [0070]).
Claim 5. The passive laser detector of claim 1, wherein the plurality of wide frequency range detectors provides a horizontal overlapping detection field-of-view (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, and including the crossing optical signal, see Fig. 2, para [0070]).
Claim 6. The passive laser detector of claim 1, wherein the detector processor determines that illumination by the high-intensity electromagnetic radiation source has occurred (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, see Figs. 1-4).
Claim 7. The passive laser detector of claim 6, wherein the detector processor determines a general directionality of the high-intensity electromagnetic radiation source (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, and including directional, see Fig. 5A, para [0072, 0092, 0096]).
Claim 8. The passive laser detector of claim 1, wherein a plurality of passive laser detectors is communicatively coupled to provide alerts to all passive laser detectors upon generation of the illumination alert (as cited in respect to claims 1 and 3 above).
Claim 9. The passive laser detector of claim 8, wherein the communicative coupling is encrypted (see para [0040, 0041]).
Claim 10. The passive laser detector of claim 1, wherein the decoded commands are provided in a global positioning system (GPS)-denied geographic area (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, and including the GPS, see para [0111]).
Claim 14. The passive laser detector of claim 1, wherein the decoded commands are for delivering a package (read upon the commodity is delivered, see Fig. 1, para [0155]).
Claim 15. The passive laser detector of claim 1, wherein the geospatial/collaborative communication software system is Civilian Android Team Awareness Kit (CivTAK) or Android Team Assault Kit (ATAK) (read upon the cellular network for voice and data transmission such as iPhone and android software, see Figs. 7, 8, para [0110]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran [US 2012/0086345] in view of Husain [US 2022/0077951]
Claim 12. Tran fails to disclose wherein the decoded commands provide navigation commands for an aircraft. However,
Tran teaches that the smart building system for use in a building can include a heater & transceiver 10, an HVAC system with transceiver 12, a light fixture 14, an LED-based light 16, a controller 18A. The controller 18A communicates with one or more light relays or repeaters 20. The HVAC system 12 can include known HVAC components, such as a heater, an air conditioner, fans, a thermostat, and ductwork. (See Fig. 1, para [0032]).
A micro-controller, microprocessor, ASIC or the like 3203 is provided for program control that can transmit/receive data to/from BPL communication network 3201 through BPL transceiver 3202. Microprocessor 3203 in an embodiment may respond to commands received on this network 3201 to manipulate enable circuitry 3204, and may also issue commands or send data to network 3201 if needed. If the transmit portion of enable circuitry 3204 is enabled, these commands/data will also be passed to the optical link (see para [0076]).
Husain suggests that as a non-limiting example, the classification model(s) 146 may be trained to distinguish military devices types from commercial/civilian device types. To illustrate, military device types include military vehicles (e.g., aircraft, watercraft, spacecraft, or landing and navigation aircraft), military personal radio equipment (e.g., beacons, handheld radios, satellite phones), some types of radar transmitters (e.g., targeting radar), among other examples (see Figs. 1, 9A, para [0044, 0085-0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add or implement the used of aircraft classification model of Husain to the smart building system of Tran for expanding applications and uses of the optical communication systems for controlling the landing and navigation of an aircraft without changing operation functions of the optical system and to provide the same results.
Claim 12. The passive laser detector of claim 1, wherein the decoded commands provide landing commands for an aircraft (as the combination between Tran and Husain in respect to claim 11 above).
Claim 13. Tran fails to disclose wherein the decoded commands are for dropping an explosive device on a target. However, according to the combination of the aircraft landing and navigation between Tran and Husain in respect to claims 11 and 12 above, and furthermore, Husain suggests that as a specific use case example, the device 102 can be used to counter improvised explosive devices (IED). For example, some IEDs include a radio receiver connected such that the IED detonates responsive to receiving a signal from a remote radio transmitter. A variety of transmitter/receiver configurations can be used depending on availability and range. In an IED detection use case, the device 102 can be programmed (e.g., by configuring the SDR instructions 130 and the response instructions 132) to detect a large number of different types of transmitters based, for example, on availability in a particular geographic area and effective detection range of each transmitter (see Figs. 1-8, para [0080, 0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add or implement the used of explosive device of Husain to the smart building system of Tran for expanding applications and uses of the electromagnetic and/or optical communication systems for controlling the explosive and/or weapon without changing operation functions of the optical system and to provide the same results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Phillips et al discloses the desired frequency spectrum would be essentially "white light" having no discrete frequency content, thus a straight horizontal line, and no .DELTA..nu. spacing, which would theoretically eliminate such ambiguities or "ghost images" in the return signal auto-correlation function and theoretically extend the possible range depth to infinity. Generating such a pure "white light" spectrum from a laser source with a bandwidth compatible with available detector technology is impractical for the ladar application of this invention. However, the smaller the spacing .DELTA..nu. becomes, the closer the frequency comb spectrum comes to the ideal "white light" spectrum and the less significant the ambiguities become. [US 5,835,199]
Harves et al discloses a user interface device 10 can include a local processor 34. By local it is meant that the local processor 34 is separate from the host processor 26 of the computer 4 or 1810. The local processor 34 may be provided with instructions to wait for commands or requests from the computer 4 decode the command or request, handle/control input and output signals according to the command or request, control sensors of user interface device 10 for imaging a real world environment in proximity to interface device 10, communicate with other user interface devices, and/or supplement host processor 26 for generation of and interaction within a virtual reality environment using the laser electromagnetic radiation. [US 2018/0173323]
Leung et al discloses the soliton-based nonlinear optical processes are instrumental in supercontinuum generation and they are facilitated by operating the laser(s) in the anomalous dispersion region of the nonlinear media. Indeed, the group velocity dispersion (GVD) can be made anomalous at a visible wavelength with an appropriate taper waist dimension (e.g., diameter). So, a laser(s) within the spectral region of the sensor of the measurement apparatus can be used to enhance performance, e.g. efficiency, noise, spectral coverage, etc.. [US 2019/0154910]
Anderson et al discloses the atom-based raster imager for RF-EM field and phase at high-speed and high-resolution includes an atomic vapor, raster-scanned O-EM laser beam, and detector. The raster imager is configured to spatially-scan an O-EM beam to selectively read out the phase and amplitude of one or more RF-EM fields emitted one or more sources, such as an antenna or antenna array, from Rydberg atoms located in 1D or 2D. [US 2022/0196716]
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
10/07/2026