DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 01/21/2025.
Claims 1-19 are currently pending and have been examined below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
In figure 3, where is the cable deflection region? Is the cable deflection region behind the operating region 44?
Claim Objections
Claims 16-17 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In lines 2-3 of claim 16, “the vehicle” should read --a vehicle--. Note that this issue is also present in claim 19.
In line 18 of claim 17, “and_stabilizing said” should read --and stabilizing said--.
Appropriate correction is required. Above provides non-limiting examples, the applicant(s) must find and correct all issues similar to those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-10, and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furuyama et al. (US 6616216) (hereinafter “Furuyama”).
Claims 1 and 17
(Furuyama discloses)
“A door module (figures 1-6 and 13) of a vehicle door (1), the door module comprising:” (claim 1);
“A vehicle door (1), comprising a door module (figures 1-6 and 13) including:” (claim 17);
a carrier plate (13; figure 5) mounted inside the vehicle door, said carrier plate having an outer edge (13a);
a cable window regulator (5) having at least one guide rail (7), said cable window regulator being mounted onto said carrier plate (figure 5);
a door structure (2) being separate from and configured to be joined to said carrier plate (figure 5), said door structure having a receiving contour (2b; figure 13);
said guide rail having a cable deflection region (Annotated figure 13 below) extending beyond said outer edge of said carrier plate (Annotated figure 13 below);
said cable deflection region having a joining contour (9) protruding from and being formed in one piece with said cable deflection region (Annotated figure 13 below), said joining contour being permanently form-lockingly inserted in said receiving contour as a door subassembly of the vehicle door upon assembling the vehicle door (figures 3-4 and 13);
said joining contour configured to be inserted in said receiving contour in a rail longitudinal direction of said guide rail (Annotated figure 13 below; the joining contour is inserted and moved along the rail longitudinal direction to lock with the receiving contour), said rail longitudinal direction being oriented approximately parallel to a vehicle height direction (figures 3-4); and
said joining contour engaging behind said receiving contour and holding and stabilizing said cable deflection region in a direction perpendicular to said cable deflection region (Annotated figure 13 below) (claims 1 and 17).
Annotated figure 13
Claim 4
(Furuyama discloses) The door module according to claim 1 , wherein at least said cable deflection region is an injection-molded part (note that this was interpreted as product-by-process limitation; see MPEP 2113).
Claim 5
(Furuyama discloses) The door module according to claim 4, wherein said joining contour is injection-molded without a slide (note that this was interpreted as product-by-process limitation; see MPEP 2113).
Claim 6
(Furuyama discloses) The door module according to claim 1 , wherein said joining contour has a T-shaped cross-sectional shape (lines 52-57 of col. 7).
Claim 7
(Furuyama discloses) The door module according to claim 6, wherein said T-shaped cross-sectional shape of said joining contour includes:
a vertical T-shaped limb (Annotated figure 13 above) engaging form-lockingly in a guide slot (vertical narrow slot of 2b; figure 13) of said receiving contour, and
a horizontal T-shaped limb (Annotated figure 13 above) engaging behind said receiving contour (Annotated figure 13 above).
Claim 8
(Furuyama discloses) The door module according to claim 1 , wherein said joining contour has two bearing surfaces facing one another for said door structure (Partial Annotated figure 13 below), and said receiving contour has a mating surface form-lockingly gripped between said bearing surfaces (Annotated figure 13 above).
Partial Annotated figure 13
Claim 9
(Furuyama discloses) The door module according to claim 8, wherein said mating surface has a stepped contour encompassed by said bearing surfaces (figure 13 only shows a small portion of the receiving contour, however figure 7 shows a stepped contour of the mating surface of the receiving contour).
Claim 10
(Furuyama discloses) The door module according to claim 8, wherein at least one of said bearing surfaces has a free end side with a lead-in portion (Partial Annotated figure 13 above).
Claim 12
(Furuyama discloses) The door module according to claim 1 , wherein said joining contour has a reinforcing rib (Partial Annotated figure 13 above).
Claim 13
(Furuyama discloses) The door module according to claim 1 , wherein said joining contour is engaged behind said receiving contour in a vehicle transverse direction (Annotated figure 13 above).
Claim 14
(Furuyama discloses) The door module according to claim 1 , wherein said joining contour is hooked behind said receiving contour (figure 13).
Claims 15 and 18
(Furuyama discloses)
“The door module according to claim 1” (claim 15);
“The vehicle door according to claim 17” (claim 18);
wherein said form-locking insertion of said joining contour into said receiving contour produces a mechanical coupling between said cable deflection region and said door structure mechanically stabilizing said cable deflection region regarding forces occurring during operation (see entire assembly in figures 3-4).
Claims 16 and 19
(Furuyama discloses)
“The door module according to claim 1” (claim 16);
“The vehicle door according to claim 17” (claim 19);
wherein said form-locking insertion of said joining contour into said receiving contour is present during operation of the vehicle (figures 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuyama, as applied to claims 1, 4-10, and 12-19 above, in view of Staser et al. (US 7882658) (hereinafter “Staser”).
Claim 2
(Furuyama discloses) The door module according to claim 1.
Furuyama is silent regarding wherein said cable deflection region has a bearing point without screws or bolts, and a cable deflection pulley is rotatably mounted on said bearing point.
(However, Staser teaches) wherein a cable deflection region (deflection region shown in Staser figure 16) has a bearing point (22) without screws or bolts (Excerpt 1 from col. 10 below discussing the pulley is held via features such as 36 and 38), and a cable deflection pulley (24) is rotatably mounted on said bearing point.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the cable deflection region of Furuyama with the bearing point without screws or bolts as taught by Staser, with a reasonable expectation of success, for limiting the loose fastening parts as such limiting the use of assembly tools such as screw driver while also eliminating the risk of the screws or bolts from loosening overtime.
Excerpt 1
Claim 3
(Furuyama, as modified above, discloses) The door module according to claim 2, wherein said joining contour is disposed on a side of said cable deflection region opposing said bearing point (see figures 4 and 6 showing the bearing point of Furuyama at the front and the joining contour at the back).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuyama, as applied to claims 1, 4-10, and 12-19 above.
Claim 11
(Furuyama discloses) The door module according to claim 8.
Furuyama is silent regarding wherein said joining contour is at least partially resilient.
However, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice, therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the joining contour of Furuyama such that it is at least partially resilient, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the predictable benefits of dampening vibration and noise while also providing sealing capabilities with the receiving contour.
Conclusion
/PATRICK B. PONCIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/CATHERINE A KELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619