Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 11, 12, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 12, and 18 recite the limitation “training a diffusion model using the target image each depicting the target individual”. The target image is singular, i.e. the independent claims establish that “a target image” is obtained, whereas the word “each” suggests there may be more than one target image, conflicting with the independent claim limitation establishing that the target image is singular. That is, claims 5, 12, and 18 are indefinite because “each” suggests there should be a plurality of target images depicting the target individual rather than only one target image. Depending claim 6 does not clarify this issue and is similarly rejected.
For purposes of applying prior art, the claims will be read as though they did not recite “each”, i.e. “training a diffusion model using the target image
Claims 11 and 17 recites the limitation "the at least one of the attributes of the at least one individual depicted in the input image being mirrored". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The “mirror at least one of the attributes depicted in the input image” limitation is introduced in claims 12 and 18, such that although claim 6, depending from claim 5, has proper antecedent basis, claims 11 and 17, depending from claims 10 and 16, respectively, lack sufficient antecedent basis.
For purposes of applying prior art, claims 11 and 17 will be treated as depending on claims 12 and 18, respectively, corresponding to the scope of similar claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-10, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 11,854,203 B1 (hereinafter Gafni).
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a method implemented in a computing device, comprising: obtaining an input image depicting at least one individual; obtaining a target image depicting a target individual” are taught by Gafni (Gafni, e.g. abstract, cols 4-12, discloses a system for performing context aware human generation for adding a target person to an existing captured photo of one or more people. Gafni, e.g. col 4, line 10 - col 5, line 10, teaches that each output image is generated using a first input image depicting at least one person and a second input image depicting a target person to be inserted into the first input image, corresponding to the claimed input image depicting at least one individual and target image depicting a target individual. Finally, Gafni’s system is implemented using a computing device, which comprises a processor executing instructions stored on a non-transitory medium/memory as further required by similar independent claims 7 and 13, e.g. Gafni, col 13, line 5 - col 15, line 17, describes the computing device used to implement the system.)
The limitation “obtaining a location within the input image for inserting the target individual” is taught by Gafni (Gafni, e.g. col 5, lines 12-65, teaches that the computing device generates a source segmentation mask for the one or more persons in the first input image, and uses the source segmentation mask to generate a target segmentation mask for the target person in the context of the first image, wherein each segmentation mask comprises a semantic pose map channel and a face channel, each pixel thereof indicating a semantic pose label of background or a part of a person. That is, the target segmentation mask identifies the location within the input image, i.e. the non-background labeled pixels, for inserting the target individual. Further, Gafni, e.g. col 5, lines 31-34, col 7, lines 1-15, indicates that the user may provide a bounding box indicating the location for inserting the target person, but that the computing device may determine the bounding box when the user does not provide the bounding box. That is, both the bounding box and the generated target segmentation mask correspond to the claimed obtained location within the input image for inserting the target individual.)
The limitation “determining attributes of the at least one individual depicted in the input image” are taught by Gafni (As noted above, Gafni, e.g. col 5, lines 12-65, teaches that the computing device generates a source segmentation mask for the one or more persons in the first input image, wherein the segmentation mask comprises a semantic pose map channel and a face channel, each pixel thereof indicating a semantic pose label of background or a part of a person. Further, Gafni, e.g. col 8, line 45 - col 9, line 37, describes rendering the target person into the first image with not only a new pose, but a new facial expression, indicating that the face channel corresponds to a facial expression. That is, the source segmentation map semantic pose map channel and face channel correspond to the claimed attributes of the at least one individual depicted in the input image, wherein with respect to depending claims 3 and 4, the pose map channel includes a pose of each individual, the shape of each segment group making up the body, upper and lower body clothing, shoes, and contextual details, and the face channel includes an expression of the individual.)
The limitations “synthesizing a replicate of the target individual based on the attributes of the at least one individual; and inserting the synthesized replicate of the target individual into the input image based on the location to generate a modified image” are taught by Gafni (Gafni, e.g. col 7, line 20 - col 9, line 37, figure 3, describes using a second machine learning model to generate a third image comprising the target person with a new pose and optionally new facial expression using the target segmentation mask, where as discussed above, the target segmentation mask is generated based on the source segmentation mask comprising the attributes of the individual(s) in the first image, i.e. the third image generated by the second machine learning model, 330 in figure 3, is the claimed synthesized replicate of the target individual based on the attributes of the at least one individual. Further, Gafni, e.g. col 9, lines 4-37, describes generating the output image by compositing the third image into the first image using a blending mask which is based on the target segmentation mask, e.g. col 7, lines 57 - 66, where, as discussed above, the target segmentation mask is defined at the obtained location for inserting the target individual, i.e. the output image generated by the compositing operation corresponds to the claimed modified image generated by inserting the synthesized replicate of the target individual into the input image based on the location.)
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “wherein obtaining the location within the input image for inserting the target individual further comprises automatically determining whether to insert the target individual to the right or to the left of the at least one individual in the input image” is taught by Gafni (As discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, Gafni, e.g. col 5, lines 31-34, col 7, lines 1-15, indicates that the user may provide a bounding box indicating the location for inserting the target person, but that the computing device may determine the bounding box when the user does not provide the bounding box, i.e. the bounding box may be automatically determined, and by extension, the target segmentation mask generated based on the automatically determined bounding box would also be automatically determined. Further, as discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, both the bounding box and the generated target segmentation mask correspond to the claimed obtained location within the input image for inserting the target individual, i.e. Gafni teaches automatic determination for both of the mappings. Finally, Gafni, e.g. figures 1-2 shows an example where the bounding box/target segmentation mask is to the left of the at least one individual, but Gafni does not indicate any limitation on the relative placement of the target individual relative to the at least one individual, i.e. one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the system could determine the bounding box/target segmentation mask is to the right of the at least one individual, analogous to the training example of figure 5.)
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the limitations “wherein the attributes of the at least one individual depicted in the input image comprise at least one of: an expression of the at least one individual, a gaze of the at least one individual, a pose of the at least one individual, a body shape of the at least one individual, clothing worn by the at least one individual, accessories worn by the at least one individual, or environmental lighting depicted in the input image” and “wherein the attributes of the at least one individual depicted in the input image further comprise at least one of: contextual details depicted in the input image and emotions depicted in the input image” are taught by Gafni (As discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, Gafni, e.g. col 5, lines 12-65, teaches that the computing device generates a source segmentation mask for the one or more persons in the first input image, wherein the segmentation mask comprises a semantic pose map channel and a face channel, each pixel thereof indicating a semantic pose label of background or a part of a person. Further, Gafni, e.g. col 8, line 45 - col 9, line 37, describes rendering the target person into the first image with not only a new pose, but a new facial expression, indicating that the face channel corresponds to a facial expression. That is, the source segmentation map semantic pose map channel and face channel correspond to the claimed attributes of the at least one individual depicted in the input image, wherein with respect to the limitations of claims 3 and 4, the pose map channel includes a pose of each individual, the shape of each segment group making up the body, upper and lower body clothing, shoes, and contextual details, and the face channel includes an expression of the individual. It is noted that the face expressions in the face channel correspond to both the expression of the at least one individual attribute in claim 3, and the attribute of the emotions depicted in the input image as in claim 4, as different facial expressions correspond to different emotions. Further, the semantic pose segment groups indicate semantic context, as noted by Gafni, col 4, lines 10-14, i.e. the segment group labels correspond to attributes comprising contextual details depicted in the input image as in claim 4.)
Regarding claims 7 and 13, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 8 and 14, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claim 2 above.
Regarding claims 9, 10, 15, and 16, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claims 3 and 4 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 11, 12, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 11,854,203 B1 (hereinafter Gafni) as applied to claims 1, 7, and 13 above, and further in view of “Wish You Were Here: Context-Aware Human Generation” by Oran Gafni and Lior Wolf (hereinafter Wolf).
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “training a diffusion model using the target image line 31, Gafni does not explicitly teach that the second machine learning model is trained using the input target image and target segmentation mask generated based on the claimed attributes.) However, this limitation is taught by Wolf (Wolf, e.g. abstract, sections 1, 3-6, describes the same system disclosed by Gafni, i.e. the references are authored by the same two inventors and describe the same system for inserting a target person into another photograph using semantic context, although each reference focuses on different details. Wolf, sections 3, 3.2, 4, describe the multi-condition rendering network (MCRN) corresponding to Gafni’s second machine learning network, e.g. Gafni figure 3 is the same as Wolf figure 3(a). Further, Wolf, e.g. section 4, paragraph 1, figure 3(b), teaches that the MCRN is trained for each target person separately using the sub-images from the target image and the semantic map p, i.e. as claimed, Wolf’s MCRN is a diffusion model which is trained using the target image depicting the target individual and based on the attributes of the at least one individual depicted in the input image, i.e. the semantic map p, corresponding to Gafni’s target segmentation mask. That is, while Gafni indicates that a variety of training techniques are possible, Gafni does not describe details of training the second machine learning model, thereby motivating one of ordinary skill in the art to use Wolf’s separate/per-person MCRN training technique for Gafni’s second machine learning model.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Gafni’s system using Wolf’s separate/per-person MCRN training technique for Gafni’s second machine learning model because Gafni does not describe details of training the second machine learning model and Wolf does describe details of training a corresponding machine learning model, thereby motivating one of ordinary skill in the art to use Wolf’s disclosed training details. As noted above, Wolf, e.g. section 4, paragraph 1, figure 3(b), teaches that the MCRN is trained for each target person separately using the sub-images from the target image and the semantic map p, corresponding to Gafni’s target segmentation mask, where the target segmentation mask is generated based on the source segmentation mask comprising the attributes of the individual(s) in the first image, i.e. in the modified system, as claimed, Gafni’s second machine learning model is a diffusion model which is trained using the target image depicting the target individual and based on the attributes of the at least one individual depicted in the input image, i.e. Gafni’s target segmentation mask.
The limitation “performing inpainting on a region in the input image using the diffusion model based on the location to fill in the region in the input image with the replicate of the target individual and to mirror at least one of the attributes of the at least one individual depicted in the input image in the replicate of the target individual” is taught by Gafni (As discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, Gafni, e.g. col 7, line 20 - col 9, line 37, figure 3, describes using the second machine learning model to generate a third image comprising the target person with a new pose and optionally new facial expression using the target segmentation mask, and further, Gafni, e.g. col 9, lines 4-37, describes generating the output image by compositing the third image into the first image using a blending mask which is based on the target segmentation mask, e.g. col 7, lines 57 - 66. That is, the target segmentation mask comprises the claimed region(s) based on the obtained location, where the region(s) are inpainted with the third image of the target person rendered by the second machine learning/diffusion model, corresponding to the claimed inpainting. Further, the third image of the target person rendered by the second machine learning/diffusion model mirrors the attributes of the individuals in the input image, i.e. the new pose and expression are defined to match the attributes/semantic context of the individuals in the first image, as in Gafni, cols 5-6, e.g. as in the example of figures 1-2, the target person is rendered with a pose aligned with the individuals in the first input image.)
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “wherein the at least one of the attributes of the at least one individual depicted in the input image being mirrored is specified using textual input or is selected by artificial intelligence” is taught by Gafni (Gafni, e.g. col 5, line 12 - col 6, line 67, describes generating the source and target segmentation masks, where, as discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, the source segmentation map semantic pose map channel and face channel correspond to the claimed attributes of the at least one individual depicted in the input image. Gafni, e.g. col 5, lines 21-25, col 6, lines 3-6, 23-33, teaches that the source segmentation mask may be generated using one or more pre-trained machine learning models, i.e. the pose attributes of the individual(s) in the input image being mirrored are specified using artificial intelligence.)
Regarding claims 11 and 17, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claim 6 above.
Regarding claims 12 and 18, the limitations are similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) and are met by the references as discussed in claim 5 above.
Conclusion
/ROBERT BADER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611