DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the Application filed on 01/21/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 17 and 20 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Martin (US 20260161675 A1).
As to claim 1, Martin discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving user input relating to a content creation task involving generation of content including one or more content items ("For example, the fourth portion 4540 corresponds to a query section which can include one or more user interface elements for submitting or providing a query to the notebook application 3100 with respect to the source content. For example, the fourth portion 4540 includes a plurality of user interface elements 4542 which correspond to suggested questions or actions that are related to the source content. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based on information included in the source content. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based additionally on dialogue history (e.g., prior questions or queries), user data (e.g., preferences of the user, user attributes, etc.), and other contextual information. The fourth portion 4540 may further include a text entry box 4544 by which a user can provide an input (e.g., via a keyboard, via a voice input, etc.) to query the notebook application 3100. The fourth portion 4540 may further include a user interface element 4546 which indicates the number of items of content which comprise the source content. For example, in FIG. 4E, user interface element 4546 indicates three sources were relied upon by the notebook application 3100 to generate the summary section 4512," Martin paragraph 0170; "Referring to FIG. 4F, an example user interface screen illustrates an input question and output response relating to the source content. For example, in FIG. 4F the notebook application 3100 is further configured to present for display a sixth user interface screen 4600 in response to receiving a query (e.g., a text query input via the text entry box 4544 of FIG. 4E). For example, sixth user interface screen 4600 includes a first portion 4610 which corresponds to a dialogue section, a second portion 4620 which corresponds to a sources section, and a third portion 430 which corresponds to a notes section (e.g., a scratchpad)," Martin paragraph 0171; "Referring to FIG. 4G, an example user interface screen includes an example notes section (scratchpad) for a project, according to examples of the disclosure. For example, in FIG. 4G the notebook application 3100 is further configured to present for display a seventh user interface screen 4700 in response to receiving a selection of the second user interface element 4618 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 4F) that, when selected, causes the response to be saved as a note 4712 to the third portion 4710 which corresponds to the notes section (e.g., a scratchpad) which can include one or more notes that may be generated via various methods as described herein (e.g., automatically generated by the notebook application 3100 in response to the selection of second user interface element 4618, etc.)," Martin paragraph 0175, starting content creation by uploading source content and generating notes (i.e., tags));
based at least on the user input, prompting a generative machine learning model to determine one or more suggested concept tags for the content creation task ("For example, the first portion 4610 includes a prompt area 4612 that corresponds to the text query and a response area 4614 that corresponds to the response to the text query. In some implementations, the notebook application 3100 is configured to generate the response by implementing one or more machine-learned models in response to receiving the text query as an input and with reference to the source content 3400," Martin paragraph 0172, content of note tags generated by machine learning models);
outputting the one or more suggested concept tags on a user interface ("For example, FIG. 6A illustrates a portion of a first user interface screen of a notebook application, according to one or more example embodiments of the disclosure. For example, in FIG. 6A a first portion 6110 and a second portion 6120 of a user interface screen are shown. First portion 6110 corresponds to a notes section (e.g., a scratchpad) which can include a plurality of notes that may have been generated via various methods as described herein (e.g., automatically generated by the notebook application 3100, manually entered by a user, automatically generated by the notebook application 3100 in response to the selection of a user interface element which corresponds to an action to be performed, etc.). For example, the first portion 6110 may indicate how a particular note is created (e.g., as a saved response, as written note which is written by a user, as a document generated from other notes, etc.)," Martin paragraph 0187, displayed notes (i.e., tags) which are used to generate content);
receiving a selection of a selected concept tag from the one or more suggested concept tags via the user interface ("For example, the second portion 6120 includes a plurality of user interface elements 6122 which correspond to suggested questions or actions that are related to the source content or plurality of notes. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based on information included in the source content and/or based on the information displayed in the first portion 6110. The second portion 6120 may further include a text entry box by which a user can provide an input (e.g., via a keyboard, via a voice input, etc.) to query the notebook application 3100," Martin pargraph 0188; "In the example of FIG. 6A, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to dynamically change user interface elements in the second portion 6120 based on (in response to) the selection of one or more notes 6112 from among the plurality of notes provided in the first portion 6110. For example, as indicated in FIG. 6A one or more notes may be selected via a user input (e.g., via a drag input, via selecting checkboxes, etc.) and in response to the selection of the one or more notes, the actions may include actions for creating content (e.g., creating a study guide, creating an outline, creating a spreadsheet, creating a presentation, etc.), suggesting related ideas, etc., based on the selected notes 6114," Martin paragraph 0189, selecting note tags via drag input and then selecting an action to create content), the selected concept tag being associated with a selected property having multiple possible values ("For example, the fourth portion 4540 corresponds to a query section which can include one or more user interface elements for submitting or providing a query to the notebook application 3100 with respect to the source content. For example, the fourth portion 4540 includes a plurality of user interface elements 4542 which correspond to suggested questions or actions that are related to the source content. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based on information included in the source content. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based additionally on dialogue history (e.g., prior questions or queries), user data (e.g., preferences of the user, user attributes, etc.), and other contextual information. The fourth portion 4540 may further include a text entry box 4544 by which a user can provide an input (e.g., via a keyboard, via a voice input, etc.) to query the notebook application 3100," Martin paragraph 0170, all note tags have a question/query property that is suggested to the user or user editable);
receiving user input designating a particular value for the selected property associated with the selected concept tag ("For example, if a user inputs a question (e.g., 'How did the Cold War affect American foreign policy?) via the text entry box 4544 as described with respect to FIG. 4E, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to provide the sixth user interface screen 4600 and to generate a response as indicated in the response area 4614," Martin paragraph 0172);
prompting the generative machine learning model to generate a particular content item based at least on the particular value for the selected property ("For example, as indicated in FIG. 6A one or more notes may be selected via a user input (e.g., via a drag input, via selecting checkboxes, etc.) and in response to the selection of the one or more notes, the actions may include actions for creating content (e.g., creating a study guide, creating an outline, creating a spreadsheet, creating a presentation, etc.), suggesting related ideas, etc., based on the selected notes 6114. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate a note which corresponds to an outline of the content from the selected notes 6114, in response to receiving a selection of user interface element 6122a which corresponds to the action of creating an outline and saving the outline to a note. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to implement one or more machine-learned models to generate the note which corresponds to the selected notes 6114, in response to receiving a selection of a user interface element which corresponds to an action of creating content with respect to the selected one or more notes and saving the content as a note," Martin paragraph 0189, ML model that generate content based on the selected note tags that were generated based on question/query values); and
outputting the particular content item generated by the generative machine learning model via the user interface ("The notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the generated note 6214 based on the selected notes 6114, by implementing one or more machine-learned models, where the selected notes 6114 may correspond to source content (e.g., source content selected by a user and used as an input for generating the note), and in response to receiving a selection of a user interface element (e.g., user interface element 6122a) which corresponds to an action of summarizing the selected notes 6114 to the generated note 6214. FIG. 6B illustrates the generated note 6214 which has been saved to the first portion 6210 which includes one or more other notes 6212," Martin paragraph 0191; Martin Figure 6B 6214, generated content displayed to the user).
As to claim 2, Martin further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the content is a slide deck ("For example, as indicated in FIG. 6A one or more notes may be selected via a user input (e.g., via a drag input, via selecting checkboxes, etc.) and in response to the selection of the one or more notes, the actions may include actions for creating content (e.g., creating a study guide, creating an outline, creating a spreadsheet, creating a presentation, etc.), suggesting related ideas, etc., based on the selected notes 6114. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate a note which corresponds to an outline of the content from the selected notes 6114, in response to receiving a selection of user interface element 6122a which corresponds to the action of creating an outline and saving the outline to a note. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to implement one or more machine-learned models to generate the note which corresponds to the selected notes 6114, in response to receiving a selection of a user interface element which corresponds to an action of creating content with respect to the selected one or more notes and saving the content as a note," Martin paragraph 0189; “For example, in some implementations the computing system may be configured to receive source content from the user. For example, the user may upload source content (e.g., documents, imagery, sound files, websites, videos, presentations,” Martin paragraph 0057; Martin Figure 4F “Pax Americana Slides”, can create a presentation (i.e., a slide deck) that includes slides).
As to claim 3, Martin further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the generated content item is an outline having content for multiple slides of a slide deck ("For example, as indicated in FIG. 6A one or more notes may be selected via a user input (e.g., via a drag input, via selecting checkboxes, etc.) and in response to the selection of the one or more notes, the actions may include actions for creating content (e.g., creating a study guide, creating an outline, creating a spreadsheet, creating a presentation, etc.), suggesting related ideas, etc., based on the selected notes 6114. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate a note which corresponds to an outline of the content from the selected notes 6114, in response to receiving a selection of user interface element 6122a which corresponds to the action of creating an outline and saving the outline to a note. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to implement one or more machine-learned models to generate the note which corresponds to the selected notes 6114, in response to receiving a selection of a user interface element which corresponds to an action of creating content with respect to the selected one or more notes and saving the content as a note," Martin paragraph 0189, can create a presentation (i.e., a slide deck) from multiple note tags or an outline for multiple note tags).
As to claim 4, Martin further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the user input is a narrative describing the content to be generated ("For example, if a user inputs a question (e.g., 'How did the Cold War affect American foreign policy?) via the text entry box 4544 as described with respect to FIG. 4E, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to provide the sixth user interface screen 4600 and to generate a response as indicated in the response area 4614," Martin paragraph 0172).
As to claim 5, Martin further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 4, further comprising:
based at least on the selected concept tag, prompting the generative machine learning model to determine an additional suggested concept tag for the content creation task (“The notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the generated note 6214 based on the selected notes 6114, by implementing one or more machine-learned models, where the selected notes 6114 may correspond to source content (e.g., source content selected by a user and used as an input for generating the note), and in response to receiving a selection of a user interface element (e.g., user interface element 6122a) which corresponds to an action of summarizing the selected notes 6114 to the generated note 6214. FIG. 6B illustrates the generated note 6214 which has been saved to the first portion 6210 which includes one or more other notes 6212,” Martin paragraph 0191, can generate an additional note tag from the selected note tags and then the user could select that additional note tag to create content); and
modifying the particular content item or generating a new content item with the generative machine learning model based at least on another particular value, selected by the user, for the additional suggested concept tag (“The notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the generated note 6214 based on the selected notes 6114, by implementing one or more machine-learned models, where the selected notes 6114 may correspond to source content (e.g., source content selected by a user and used as an input for generating the note), and in response to receiving a selection of a user interface element (e.g., user interface element 6122a) which corresponds to an action of summarizing the selected notes 6114 to the generated note 6214. FIG. 6B illustrates the generated note 6214 which has been saved to the first portion 6210 which includes one or more other notes 6212,” Martin paragraph 0191, can generate an additional note tag from the selected note tags and then the user could select that additional note tag to create content).
As to claim 10, Martin further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving user input requesting to manually create a new concept tag; and creating the new concept tag in response to the user input ("First portion 6110 corresponds to a notes section (e.g., a scratchpad) which can include a plurality of notes that may have been generated via various methods as described herein (e.g., automatically generated by the notebook application 3100, manually entered by a user," Martin paragraph 0187, user can manually generate the note tags used to generate the content).
As to claim 11, Martin further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving user input designating a reference tag, the reference tag identifying an external document ("As illustrated in FIG. 4D, the notebook application 3100 is further configured to present for display a fourth user interface screen 4400 in response to the selection of one of the plurality of selectable user interface elements that correspond to locations where the source content can be uploaded from, described with respect to FIG. 4C. The fourth user interface screen 4400 includes a first portion 4410 having a plurality of selectable items of source content (e.g., a plurality of documents, images, videos, etc.). For example, first user interface element 4412 corresponds to a first selected document, second user interface element 4414 corresponds to a second selected document (e.g., a portable document format file), and third user interface element 4416 corresponds to a third selected document. FIG. 4D illustrates that the user can curate or select particular items of source content which can be used for creating a notebook or project and which can be relied upon by one or more machine-learned models as input data for organizing content, managing content, creating content, etc," Martin paragraph 0165, user can select external documents); and
prompting the generative machine learning model to generate the particular content item based at least on the external document ("Further, user interface element 4714 may be configured to be selectable such that in response to user interface element 4714 being selected, a list of the items of content (citations) from the source content used for generating the response can be provided for display," Martin paragraph 0175, a note tag can be generated from an external document and thus any content item generated based on the note tag is also generated based on the external document).
As to claim 12, Martin further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 11, further comprising:
receiving a user selection of a selected portion of the external document; and prompting the generative machine learning model to generate the particular content item based at least on the selected portion of the external document ("Second portion 5120 corresponds to a source content section (e.g., a source guide or context window) which can include one or more sources 5122 (e.g., items of content which comprises the source content 3400 relied upon by the one or more machine-learned models for generating the information included in the one or more notes 5112). In some implementations, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate a note which is saved to the first portion 5110 as a note based on a selection of at least a portion of the information from an item of content which is provided in the second portion 5120. For example, FIG. 5A illustrates selected text 5124 (e.g., highlighted text) that has been selected by a user," Martin paragraph 0181, generate a note tag based on a selected portion of the external document and then that generated note tag can be used to generate content).
As to claim 13, Martin further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
prompting the generative machine learning model to suggest one or more images for the content creation task; receiving a user selection of a suggested image; and including the suggested image in the particular content item ("In some implementations, in response to source content being provided to the notebook application 3100, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to automatically generate (e.g., using one or more machine-learned models, one or more generative machine-learned models, semantic retrieval technologies, etc.), a graphical image (e.g., an emoji, an icon, etc.) or graphical animation which corresponds to or represents the source content. In some implementations, the graphical image or graphical animation may be overlaid on a folder which is provided as a user interface element that, when selected, causes the folder to open and display the contents of the folder to the user," Martin paragraph 0195; "For example, the computing device may include a database (e.g., machine-learned model data store 370) which is configured to store a plurality of generative machine-learned models respectively associated with a plurality of different types of content or a plurality of different types of documents (e.g., different genres or subjects, different kinds of content including imagery, videos, and text, different types of content including outlines, reports, spreadsheets, resumes, PRDs, etc.)," Martin paragraph 0225; " FIG. 6B illustrates the generated note 6214 which has been saved to the first portion 6210 which includes one or more other notes 6212. Further, in some implementations after the generated note 6214 is saved to the first portion 6210, the plurality of user interface elements 6122 from FIG. 6A may be configured to dynamically change back to a previous state," Martin paragraph 0191, generated content can include generating image documents which can then be displayed as a note tag and selected for use to generate a presentation).
As to claim 15, Martin further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the user input identifying an image that the user wishes to modify ("The fourth user interface screen 4400 includes a first portion 4410 having a plurality of selectable items of source content (e.g., a plurality of documents, images, videos, etc.)," Martin paragraph 0165).
As to claim 16, Martin further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 15, the one or more suggested concept tags being output by a vision language model by analyzing the image ("Further, user interface element 4714 may be configured to be selectable such that in response to user interface element 4714 being selected, a list of the items of content (citations) from the source content used for generating the response can be provided for display," Martin paragraph 0175, a note tag can be generated from an external image).
As to claim 17, Martin discloses a system comprising:
a processor (“In one or more example embodiments, a computing device for generating, organizing, managing, and creating content is provided. For example, the computing device includes: one or more memories configured to store instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to perform operations,” Martin paragraph 0005); and
a storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the system (“In one or more example embodiments, a computing device for generating, organizing, managing, and creating content is provided. For example, the computing device includes: one or more memories configured to store instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to perform operations,” Martin paragraph 0005) to:
receive user input relating to a content creation task involving generation of content including one or more content items ("For example, the fourth portion 4540 corresponds to a query section which can include one or more user interface elements for submitting or providing a query to the notebook application 3100 with respect to the source content. For example, the fourth portion 4540 includes a plurality of user interface elements 4542 which correspond to suggested questions or actions that are related to the source content. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based on information included in the source content. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based additionally on dialogue history (e.g., prior questions or queries), user data (e.g., preferences of the user, user attributes, etc.), and other contextual information. The fourth portion 4540 may further include a text entry box 4544 by which a user can provide an input (e.g., via a keyboard, via a voice input, etc.) to query the notebook application 3100. The fourth portion 4540 may further include a user interface element 4546 which indicates the number of items of content which comprise the source content. For example, in FIG. 4E, user interface element 4546 indicates three sources were relied upon by the notebook application 3100 to generate the summary section 4512," Martin paragraph 0170; "Referring to FIG. 4F, an example user interface screen illustrates an input question and output response relating to the source content. For example, in FIG. 4F the notebook application 3100 is further configured to present for display a sixth user interface screen 4600 in response to receiving a query (e.g., a text query input via the text entry box 4544 of FIG. 4E). For example, sixth user interface screen 4600 includes a first portion 4610 which corresponds to a dialogue section, a second portion 4620 which corresponds to a sources section, and a third portion 430 which corresponds to a notes section (e.g., a scratchpad)," Martin paragraph 0171; "Referring to FIG. 4G, an example user interface screen includes an example notes section (scratchpad) for a project, according to examples of the disclosure. For example, in FIG. 4G the notebook application 3100 is further configured to present for display a seventh user interface screen 4700 in response to receiving a selection of the second user interface element 4618 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 4F) that, when selected, causes the response to be saved as a note 4712 to the third portion 4710 which corresponds to the notes section (e.g., a scratchpad) which can include one or more notes that may be generated via various methods as described herein (e.g., automatically generated by the notebook application 3100 in response to the selection of second user interface element 4618, etc.)," Martin paragraph 0175, starting content creation by uploading source content and generating notes (i.e., tags));
based at least on the user input, prompt a generative machine learning model to determine one or more suggested concept tags for the content creation task ("For example, the first portion 4610 includes a prompt area 4612 that corresponds to the text query and a response area 4614 that corresponds to the response to the text query. In some implementations, the notebook application 3100 is configured to generate the response by implementing one or more machine-learned models in response to receiving the text query as an input and with reference to the source content 3400," Martin paragraph 0172, content of note tags generated by machine learning models);
output the one or more suggested concept tags on a user interface ("For example, FIG. 6A illustrates a portion of a first user interface screen of a notebook application, according to one or more example embodiments of the disclosure. For example, in FIG. 6A a first portion 6110 and a second portion 6120 of a user interface screen are shown. First portion 6110 corresponds to a notes section (e.g., a scratchpad) which can include a plurality of notes that may have been generated via various methods as described herein (e.g., automatically generated by the notebook application 3100, manually entered by a user, automatically generated by the notebook application 3100 in response to the selection of a user interface element which corresponds to an action to be performed, etc.). For example, the first portion 6110 may indicate how a particular note is created (e.g., as a saved response, as written note which is written by a user, as a document generated from other notes, etc.)," Martin paragraph 0187, displayed notes (i.e., tags) which are used to generate content);
receive a selection of a selected concept tag from the one or more suggested concept tags via the user interface ("For example, the second portion 6120 includes a plurality of user interface elements 6122 which correspond to suggested questions or actions that are related to the source content or plurality of notes. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based on information included in the source content and/or based on the information displayed in the first portion 6110. The second portion 6120 may further include a text entry box by which a user can provide an input (e.g., via a keyboard, via a voice input, etc.) to query the notebook application 3100," Martin pargraph 0188; "In the example of FIG. 6A, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to dynamically change user interface elements in the second portion 6120 based on (in response to) the selection of one or more notes 6112 from among the plurality of notes provided in the first portion 6110. For example, as indicated in FIG. 6A one or more notes may be selected via a user input (e.g., via a drag input, via selecting checkboxes, etc.) and in response to the selection of the one or more notes, the actions may include actions for creating content (e.g., creating a study guide, creating an outline, creating a spreadsheet, creating a presentation, etc.), suggesting related ideas, etc., based on the selected notes 6114," Martin paragraph 0189, selecting note tags via drag input and then selecting an action to create content), the selected concept tag being associated with a selected property having multiple possible values ("For example, the fourth portion 4540 corresponds to a query section which can include one or more user interface elements for submitting or providing a query to the notebook application 3100 with respect to the source content. For example, the fourth portion 4540 includes a plurality of user interface elements 4542 which correspond to suggested questions or actions that are related to the source content. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based on information included in the source content. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based additionally on dialogue history (e.g., prior questions or queries), user data (e.g., preferences of the user, user attributes, etc.), and other contextual information. The fourth portion 4540 may further include a text entry box 4544 by which a user can provide an input (e.g., via a keyboard, via a voice input, etc.) to query the notebook application 3100," Martin paragraph 0170, all note tags have a question/query property that is suggested to the user or user editable);
receive user input designating a particular value for the selected property associated with the selected concept tag ("For example, if a user inputs a question (e.g., 'How did the Cold War affect American foreign policy?) via the text entry box 4544 as described with respect to FIG. 4E, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to provide the sixth user interface screen 4600 and to generate a response as indicated in the response area 4614," Martin paragraph 0172);
prompt the generative machine learning model to generate a particular content item based at least on the particular value for the selected property ("For example, as indicated in FIG. 6A one or more notes may be selected via a user input (e.g., via a drag input, via selecting checkboxes, etc.) and in response to the selection of the one or more notes, the actions may include actions for creating content (e.g., creating a study guide, creating an outline, creating a spreadsheet, creating a presentation, etc.), suggesting related ideas, etc., based on the selected notes 6114. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate a note which corresponds to an outline of the content from the selected notes 6114, in response to receiving a selection of user interface element 6122a which corresponds to the action of creating an outline and saving the outline to a note. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to implement one or more machine-learned models to generate the note which corresponds to the selected notes 6114, in response to receiving a selection of a user interface element which corresponds to an action of creating content with respect to the selected one or more notes and saving the content as a note," Martin paragraph 0189, ML model that generate content based on the selected note tags that were generated based on question/query values); and
output the particular content item generated by the generative machine learning model via the user interface ("The notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the generated note 6214 based on the selected notes 6114, by implementing one or more machine-learned models, where the selected notes 6114 may correspond to source content (e.g., source content selected by a user and used as an input for generating the note), and in response to receiving a selection of a user interface element (e.g., user interface element 6122a) which corresponds to an action of summarizing the selected notes 6114 to the generated note 6214. FIG. 6B illustrates the generated note 6214 which has been saved to the first portion 6210 which includes one or more other notes 6212," Martin paragraph 0191; Martin Figure 6B 6214, generated content displayed to the user).
As to claim 18, Martin further discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the particular content item comprises text generated by the generative machine learning model (“For example, as indicated in FIG. 6A one or more notes may be selected via a user input (e.g., via a drag input, via selecting checkboxes, etc.) and in response to the selection of the one or more notes, the actions may include actions for creating content (e.g., creating a study guide, creating an outline, creating a spreadsheet, creating a presentation, etc.,” Martin paragraph 0189).
As to claim 19, Martin further discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the particular content item comprises at least one of a static image, a video, or audio generated by the generative machine learning model (“For example, as indicated in FIG. 6A one or more notes may be selected via a user input (e.g., via a drag input, via selecting checkboxes, etc.) and in response to the selection of the one or more notes, the actions may include actions for creating content (e.g., creating a study guide, creating an outline, creating a spreadsheet, creating a presentation, etc.,” Martin paragraph 0189; “In some implementations, in response to source content being provided to the notebook application 3100, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to automatically generate (e.g., using one or more machine-learned models, one or more generative machine-learned models, semantic retrieval technologies, etc.), a graphical image,” Martin paragraph 0195).
As to claim 20, Martin discloses a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform acts (“In one or more example embodiments, a computing device for generating, organizing, managing, and creating content is provided. For example, the computing device includes: one or more memories configured to store instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to perform operations,” Martin paragraph 0005) comprising:
receiving user input relating to a content creation task involving generation of content including one or more content items ("For example, the fourth portion 4540 corresponds to a query section which can include one or more user interface elements for submitting or providing a query to the notebook application 3100 with respect to the source content. For example, the fourth portion 4540 includes a plurality of user interface elements 4542 which correspond to suggested questions or actions that are related to the source content. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based on information included in the source content. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based additionally on dialogue history (e.g., prior questions or queries), user data (e.g., preferences of the user, user attributes, etc.), and other contextual information. The fourth portion 4540 may further include a text entry box 4544 by which a user can provide an input (e.g., via a keyboard, via a voice input, etc.) to query the notebook application 3100. The fourth portion 4540 may further include a user interface element 4546 which indicates the number of items of content which comprise the source content. For example, in FIG. 4E, user interface element 4546 indicates three sources were relied upon by the notebook application 3100 to generate the summary section 4512," Martin paragraph 0170; "Referring to FIG. 4F, an example user interface screen illustrates an input question and output response relating to the source content. For example, in FIG. 4F the notebook application 3100 is further configured to present for display a sixth user interface screen 4600 in response to receiving a query (e.g., a text query input via the text entry box 4544 of FIG. 4E). For example, sixth user interface screen 4600 includes a first portion 4610 which corresponds to a dialogue section, a second portion 4620 which corresponds to a sources section, and a third portion 430 which corresponds to a notes section (e.g., a scratchpad)," Martin paragraph 0171; "Referring to FIG. 4G, an example user interface screen includes an example notes section (scratchpad) for a project, according to examples of the disclosure. For example, in FIG. 4G the notebook application 3100 is further configured to present for display a seventh user interface screen 4700 in response to receiving a selection of the second user interface element 4618 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 4F) that, when selected, causes the response to be saved as a note 4712 to the third portion 4710 which corresponds to the notes section (e.g., a scratchpad) which can include one or more notes that may be generated via various methods as described herein (e.g., automatically generated by the notebook application 3100 in response to the selection of second user interface element 4618, etc.)," Martin paragraph 0175, starting content creation by uploading source content and generating notes (i.e., tags));
based at least on the user input, prompting a generative machine learning model to determine one or more suggested concept tags for the content creation task ("For example, the first portion 4610 includes a prompt area 4612 that corresponds to the text query and a response area 4614 that corresponds to the response to the text query. In some implementations, the notebook application 3100 is configured to generate the response by implementing one or more machine-learned models in response to receiving the text query as an input and with reference to the source content 3400," Martin paragraph 0172, content of note tags generated by machine learning models);
outputting the one or more suggested concept tags on a user interface ("For example, FIG. 6A illustrates a portion of a first user interface screen of a notebook application, according to one or more example embodiments of the disclosure. For example, in FIG. 6A a first portion 6110 and a second portion 6120 of a user interface screen are shown. First portion 6110 corresponds to a notes section (e.g., a scratchpad) which can include a plurality of notes that may have been generated via various methods as described herein (e.g., automatically generated by the notebook application 3100, manually entered by a user, automatically generated by the notebook application 3100 in response to the selection of a user interface element which corresponds to an action to be performed, etc.). For example, the first portion 6110 may indicate how a particular note is created (e.g., as a saved response, as written note which is written by a user, as a document generated from other notes, etc.)," Martin paragraph 0187, displayed notes (i.e., tags) which are used to generate content);
receiving a selection of a selected concept tag from the one or more suggested concept tags via the user interface ("For example, the second portion 6120 includes a plurality of user interface elements 6122 which correspond to suggested questions or actions that are related to the source content or plurality of notes. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based on information included in the source content and/or based on the information displayed in the first portion 6110. The second portion 6120 may further include a text entry box by which a user can provide an input (e.g., via a keyboard, via a voice input, etc.) to query the notebook application 3100," Martin pargraph 0188; "In the example of FIG. 6A, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to dynamically change user interface elements in the second portion 6120 based on (in response to) the selection of one or more notes 6112 from among the plurality of notes provided in the first portion 6110. For example, as indicated in FIG. 6A one or more notes may be selected via a user input (e.g., via a drag input, via selecting checkboxes, etc.) and in response to the selection of the one or more notes, the actions may include actions for creating content (e.g., creating a study guide, creating an outline, creating a spreadsheet, creating a presentation, etc.), suggesting related ideas, etc., based on the selected notes 6114," Martin paragraph 0189, selecting note tags via drag input and then selecting an action to create content), the selected concept tag being associated with a selected property having multiple possible values ("For example, the fourth portion 4540 corresponds to a query section which can include one or more user interface elements for submitting or providing a query to the notebook application 3100 with respect to the source content. For example, the fourth portion 4540 includes a plurality of user interface elements 4542 which correspond to suggested questions or actions that are related to the source content. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based on information included in the source content. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based additionally on dialogue history (e.g., prior questions or queries), user data (e.g., preferences of the user, user attributes, etc.), and other contextual information. The fourth portion 4540 may further include a text entry box 4544 by which a user can provide an input (e.g., via a keyboard, via a voice input, etc.) to query the notebook application 3100," Martin paragraph 0170, all note tags have a question/query property that is suggested to the user or user editable);
receiving user input designating a particular value for the selected property associated with the selected concept tag ("For example, if a user inputs a question (e.g., 'How did the Cold War affect American foreign policy?) via the text entry box 4544 as described with respect to FIG. 4E, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to provide the sixth user interface screen 4600 and to generate a response as indicated in the response area 4614," Martin paragraph 0172);
prompting the generative machine learning model to generate a particular content item based at least on the particular value for the selected property ("For example, as indicated in FIG. 6A one or more notes may be selected via a user input (e.g., via a drag input, via selecting checkboxes, etc.) and in response to the selection of the one or more notes, the actions may include actions for creating content (e.g., creating a study guide, creating an outline, creating a spreadsheet, creating a presentation, etc.), suggesting related ideas, etc., based on the selected notes 6114. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate a note which corresponds to an outline of the content from the selected notes 6114, in response to receiving a selection of user interface element 6122a which corresponds to the action of creating an outline and saving the outline to a note. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to implement one or more machine-learned models to generate the note which corresponds to the selected notes 6114, in response to receiving a selection of a user interface element which corresponds to an action of creating content with respect to the selected one or more notes and saving the content as a note," Martin paragraph 0189, ML model that generate content based on the selected note tags that were generated based on question/query values); and
outputting the particular content item generated by the generative machine learning model via the user interface ("The notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the generated note 6214 based on the selected notes 6114, by implementing one or more machine-learned models, where the selected notes 6114 may correspond to source content (e.g., source content selected by a user and used as an input for generating the note), and in response to receiving a selection of a user interface element (e.g., user interface element 6122a) which corresponds to an action of summarizing the selected notes 6114 to the generated note 6214. FIG. 6B illustrates the generated note 6214 which has been saved to the first portion 6210 which includes one or more other notes 6212," Martin paragraph 0191; Martin Figure 6B 6214, generated content displayed to the user).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin (US 20260161675 A1) in view of Jow et al. (US 20250322571 A1, hereinafter Jow).
As to claim 6, Martin further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the selection of the selected concept tag involves dragging ("For example, as indicated in FIG. 6A one or more notes may be selected via a user input (e.g., via a drag input, via selecting checkboxes, etc.) and in response to the selection of the one or more notes, the actions may include actions for creating content (e.g., creating a study guide, creating an outline, creating a spreadsheet, creating a presentation," Martin paragraph 0189).
However Martin does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the user interface includes a selection area, the one or more suggested content tags are initially displayed outside the selection area, and the selection of the selected concept tag involves dragging the selected concept tag into the selection area.
Jow teaches a limitation wherein the user interface includes a selection area, the one or more suggested content tags are initially displayed outside the selection area, and the selection of the selected concept tag involves dragging the selected concept tag into the selection area ("While displaying the additional selectable options 608e through 608f, the electronic device 500 receives a drag input using contacts 628a through 628b (e.g., a dragging motion using a finger remaining in contact with the touch screen) directed towards dragging selectable options 608d and 608e, respectively, to be used to influence generation of the automatically-generated visual content. As a result, the electronic device 500 displays selectable options 608d and 608e as recognized concepts 620b and 620c, respectively, in FIG. 6E. Alternatively, in some embodiments, the electronic device 500 receives a selection input towards selectable option 608d and 608e to add them as recognized concepts," Jow paragraph 0265).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Martin to move note tags into selection areas as taught by Jow. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that it would be more visually obvious which note tags are selected for content generation and which are not thus resulting in greater ease of use for the user.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin (US 20260161675 A1) in view of Jow et al. (US 20250322571 A1, hereinafter Jow) in further view of Ruotsalo et al. (US 20150088871 A1, hereinafter Ruotsalo).
As to claim 7, Martin as modified by Jow discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 6, however neither Martin nor Jow appear to explicitly disclose the selection area being circular.
Ruotsalo teaches the selection area being circular (“Interaction and feedback. The user can provide relevance feedback for the intents by dragging a keyword on the intent radar (closer to center means higher relevance) or by clicking a keyword under a document (assigns full relevance). Also intuitively, negative relevance feedback can be simply indicated by the user by dragging a keyword outside the radar i.e. the inner and outer circles,” Ruotsalo paragraph 0142; Ruotsalo Figure 4 circle and dragging items into the circle).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Martin to display the selection area as a visible circular area as taught by Ruotsalo. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that it is more visually obvious where the user needs to drag a note tag to include it in content generation, thus resulting in greater ease of use for the user.
As to claim 8, Martin as modified by Jow and Ruotsalo further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 6, further comprising:
outputting the multiple possible values for the selected property in a menu adjacent to the selected concept tag ("For example, the fourth portion 4540 corresponds to a query section which can include one or more user interface elements for submitting or providing a query to the notebook application 3100 with respect to the source content. For example, the fourth portion 4540 includes a plurality of user interface elements 4542 which correspond to suggested questions or actions that are related to the source content. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based on information included in the source content. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based additionally on dialogue history (e.g., prior questions or queries), user data (e.g., preferences of the user, user attributes, etc.), and other contextual information. The fourth portion 4540 may further include a text entry box 4544 by which a user can provide an input (e.g., via a keyboard, via a voice input, etc.) to query the notebook application 3100," Martin paragraph 0170; Martin Figure 4G 4712, all note tags have a question/query property with displayed suggested values for the question/query property where they are displayed below the note tags).
As to claim 9, Martin as modified by Jow and Ruotsalo further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, further comprising:
prompting the generative machine learning model to suggest the multiple possible values for the selected content tag; and populating the menu with the multiple possible values suggested by the generative machine learning model ("For example, the fourth portion 4540 corresponds to a query section which can include one or more user interface elements for submitting or providing a query to the notebook application 3100 with respect to the source content. For example, the fourth portion 4540 includes a plurality of user interface elements 4542 which correspond to suggested questions or actions that are related to the source content. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based on information included in the source content. For example, the notebook application 3100 may be configured to generate the suggested questions or actions based additionally on dialogue history (e.g., prior questions or queries), user data (e.g., preferences of the user, user attributes, etc.), and other contextual information. The fourth portion 4540 may further include a text entry box 4544 by which a user can provide an input (e.g., via a keyboard, via a voice input, etc.) to query the notebook application 3100," Martin paragraph 0170; "In some implementations, the computing system is configured to implement a semantic retrieval method (e.g., clustering) and one or more machine-learned models (e.g., one or more LLMs) to generate a summary, key topics, and suggested queries (e.g., questions) to produce a document guide for content identified or indicated by the user (e.g., based on a body of text found in the content)," Martin paragraph 0056, all note tags have a question/query property with displayed suggested values for the question/query property generated by a machine learning model).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin (US 20260161675 A1) in view of Gadelha et al. (US 20250166307 A1, hereinafter Gadelha).
As to claim 14, Martin discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, however Martin does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation further comprising:
displaying a moveable user interface element for selecting the particular value from a range; and receiving the user input designating the particular value via the moveable user interface element.
Gadelha teaches displaying a moveable user interface element for selecting the particular value from a range; and receiving the user input designating the particular value via the moveable user interface element ("Referring to FIG. 5, user interface 500 displays a prompt box to receive text prompt 505 from, for example, a user. For example, text prompt 505 states ‘A beautiful gingerbread castle over a green castle.’ Then, the user may adjust the depth guidance (e.g., the adherence parameter) by adjusting the slider of depth control element 520. In some cases, for example, the depth control element 520 is referred to as ‘Depth Strength.’ In some cases, the higher the value of depth strength, the more depth guidance is introduced to the system (e.g., the first image generation model)," Gadelha paragraph 0062).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Martin to display a depth control element as a slider as taught by Gadelha. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could have more ways to control how strictly the model adheres to Martin’s user specified query/question thus resulting in greater utility for the finished product.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20240126981 A1 to Shahinian et al. discloses systems and methods for machine-learning-based presentation generation and interpretable organization of a presentation library where a deep learning model can generate slides for a presentation deck based on a user prompt;
US 20220366153 A1 to Li et al. discloses automated script generation and audio-visual presentations where a slide deck can be created by an artificial intelligence model;
Automatically Generating Engaging Presentation Slide Decks to Winters et al. discloses using machine learning models to automatically generate a slide deck from source content and prompts; and
DOC2PPT: Automatic Presentation Slides Generation from Scientific Documents to Fu et al. discloses generating individual slides from source content using a machine learning model.
/DANIEL SAMWEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171